BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,467 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2009
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

TONY ON TOLERANCE

Posted by anthonynorth on May 28, 2009

Including Friday Flash 55, Totally Optional Prompts and Three Word Thursday.
Have you had a go yet?

houses-of-parliament3

POLLY TICKS

Tolerance

Why is tolerance so difficult to achieve? I suppose because some
things we shouldn’t be tolerant about – murder, theft, rape, etc.
But in addition, what we judge as acceptable behaviour depends very
much on our knowledge, which also provides moral values. Hence, it
is so easy for our knowledge to class as immoral something that
shouldn’t be. We should always be aware of this intolerance.

My Columnists

EDITORIAL

This post is in two parts – newspaper and
magazine. Read either or both. It is also
a debating platform, so do join in. Don’t
forget to call again tomorrow.

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Eye On the World – Choose an Essay

newsflash

Inde-Politics & Socio-Capitalism

BRIT NEWS: Dept of Transport gathering
data on Heathrow runway critics while hushing
around in their jackslippers. Orwell does another turn.

HEALTH NEWS: Survey of surveys of tea says 3 cups a day lessens
risk of heart trouble and has possible anti-cancer effect. That makes
me immortal, then.

MAD BRITS: Health & Safety leaflet says wear earmuffs
when working with pigs as the noise can be
damaging. So loud it can make you
squeal, I guess.

Call back Sunday for more NewsFlash

alpha-ghost-3

PSI-WORLD

A small step into the dark

My Unexplained Sub-Domain

SONG OF THE DEAD

Wail of the Banshee, a frightening song,
Heard it!? Won’t be long,
Before you’re gone …
Sing another song

Wail of the loved, a sorrowful dirge,
Made it!? You’re on the verge,
With the dead you merge …
Sing another song

Wail of the frightened, a haunting tune,
Seen it!? It’s a full moon,
A ghostly croon ….
Sing another song

FLASH 55 – THE MESSAGE
Word meanings below

The medium picked up the pen, and let the spirit in. Amanuensis
was the plan. She was tyro, but soon scribbled away. By her, the
niddering stood, hoping to get an answer – why he felt so incomplete.
Suddenly the medium wrote the truth. Showed him what he had
written. At that, his ghost was gone.

Niddering – wretch
Amanuensis – person who writes what another dictates
Tyro – a beginner

VAMPIRE’S DILEMMA

So much pain, no respite,
To inflict, such delight;
But no more – it just isn’t right!

No matter how much I fight,
It’s no good, I cannot bite!
Must find a dentist who won’t take flight

© Anthony North, May 2009

pen

SCRIBBLERS’ NEWS

Check out my Writers’ Tips posts

Keep up with the latest prompts and writing
news. Let me know of any new sites.

One Single Impression
The present prompt is: dropped
Heads or Tails
The prompt is: starting with ‘A’
Poefusion
You can usually find a poetry prompt here
Manic Monday
The word is: memorial
Poetry Train
Link any poem here

TONY’S MUSE DIARY

I recall when I first appeared in this mind. Him Outside had recently
come down with cfs and was searching for answers ‘cos the medics
couldn’t provide them. He picked up a book – Mankind In Amnesia by
Immanuel Velikovsky – and began reading. It was a book about
mankind repressing memories of catastrophe in the deep past. He’d
never read anything like this before, and even though the theory is
rubbish, it introduced him to all kinds of concepts – concepts that
have kept him going for over 25 years. And it introduced him to me,
‘cos up I popped into his mind and said hello. And there was a lot of
empty space in there, I can tell you.

CAMPAIGN TRAIL
Keep up on alternative news or join a campaign.
Together bloggers can make a difference.
Friends of the Earth
Campaigning for the environment
Liberty
Promoting human rights in the UK

Call back Sunday for more prompts
and campaigns

Follow me on Twitter

44 Responses to “TONY ON TOLERANCE”

  1. Quilly said

    I don’t know how you do those Flash 55s. I can’t even say “ouch” in just one word! You did a good job of using the 3WT words, though!

  2. Hi Quilly,
    Thanks for that. I guess you could call me a minimalist writer – either that, or just plain lazy 🙂

  3. I will have to ask my dentist how he handles patients that bite. Very amusing, that part! I agree with Quilly, you’re good at cutting things to the bone but still having them make sense. A true talent!

  4. Tolerance is a slippery slope. When I had kids, I fully intended to be the most tolerant parent I could be without neglecting them. Bit mistake. I tried to let my babies set their own rhythm. Didn’t work. Sleep deprived and going out of my mind, I put my kids on the clock, and everyone became much happier immediately, including the three month old. Every time I’ve backed away from that ridged control, they have made me regret it. I still believe in approaching life with as much tolerance as possible, but there are limits.

  5. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,

    I cannot resist this re Tolerance:
    ‘…to class as MORAL something that shouldn’t be. We should always be aware of this TOLERANCE.’
    I was motivated by the first thought that came to mind- the trouble here in the US with gangs. The members grow up in an environment that tolerates that behavior, thus making it acceptable.

    ‘Song of the Dead’- well done, like the layout
    BMuse is on a roll- had a good laugh. 🙂

  6. Lisa said

    Liked your song Anthony, I could hear it being sung. So you were a guitarist, pretty cool. Do you still play?

  7. Dr. John said

    I used to do short stories with Quilly’s words but now the story is out of control.
    Enjoyed yours.

  8. bettygram said

    Putting the two together was a good choice. I liked the vampire with the sore tooth.

  9. Hi Southlakesmom,
    Thanks for that. A kind comment. Much appreciated. If the dentist tells you, let me know. I tend to run away from THEM 🙂

    Hi Alice,
    A good point. I personally think freedom has to have a touch of unfreedom – a framework by which to assist in discovering yourself. Left to your own devices, you only find your desires.

    Hi Linda,
    Yes, I agree. Too much acceptance of such behaviour can breed it – allows it to become a norm. And people follow norms.

    Hi Lisa,
    Thanks for that. I still pick up an acoustic now and again, but it’s a long time since i played electric. Sometimes I miss it.

    Hi Dr John,
    Many thanks. They are always such interesting words, aren’t they?

  10. Hi Bettygram,
    Many thanks. Yes, at times you’ve just got to feel sorry for the vampires, poor things 😉

  11. Twilight said

    I haven’t read Immanuel Velikovsky’s book, AN, but I’ve had a look at Wikipedia’s entry for him. His theories, though outlandish, have been put forward in a milder way more recently, haven’t they? I can’t remember exactly but something connected with Egyptologists saying that the timescale of civilisation’s progress we use now is badly flawed….?

  12. Brenda ND said

    I wonder the same thing. Why is tolerance so difficult to achieve?

  13. Sometimes people are stuffing things down your throat that just tastes terrible. It’s that up in your face stuff that makes me crazy sometimes. It’s almost as if everyone has to think the exact same way about everything. That’s just not possible. I may not agree with someones life choices, but everyone has the right to their own choices. Just don’t try to convince me that your choices are better than mine. Live and let live, as I’m not in your face about your choices. Just saying.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  14. Hi Twilight,
    Yes, there have been various theories concerning civilisation’s timescale less outlandish than Velikovsky’s. I’ve joined in myself with my idea of a fisheries revolution thousands of years before the agricultural revolution. Mindst you, no academic Egyptologist will accept any of this. They’ve pulled up the drawbridge around their ivory tower, I’m afraid, and lambasted anyone suggesting such a thing as a pseudoscholar.

    Hi Brenda,
    It’s such a minefield, isn’t it? As I say, I’m sure the main reason is basically two layers of morality – one that is definite, and the other based on a particular knowledge system. They need separating.

    Hi Sandee,
    Completely agree. Let people live as they want, but there should also be a sense of manners, behaving in public in a way that is basically acceptable to all. In private – in clearly signposted places – hey, be yourself!

  15. Thom said

    Great use in 3WT. I wish I could do it in 55 words but I get going and just can’t seem to stop and then the rambling starts LOL Excellent my friend 🙂

  16. Hi Thom,
    Thanks for that. I read yours and didn’t notice any rambling. I’m just lazy 🙂

  17. ordinarilyjustme said

    I do so love the lyrics. I look forward to browsing your site to see what else there is. I definitely like how eclectic your blog is. It keeps it interesting.

  18. Hi Ordinarilyjustme,
    Thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated, and I look forward to seeing you again.

  19. I like your song! The rhymes work well; they’re nice and fresh!

  20. Hi Linda,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  21. Lou said

    Another talented 55! But I had to stop and mull over the tolerance poem. I have been thinking about that, and you really made a point.

  22. Hi Lou,
    Thanks for the kind words. Yes, tolerance is a strange and deep issue.

  23. Dr. John said

    Wow! One story for Quilly’s words and the same story for the flash 55 . Now that’s creativity.

  24. Niddering? Cowardly….nah, not you.

    Glad the ghost disappeared. I thought maybe I’d have to inform you about Ghost Busters.

    Come on over. Scroll down below my Show n Tell or use the link provided at the beginning of my Friday Blog to read my 55. Have a great weekend.

  25. Fandango said

    Holy Dragon! Two things in one. We do Quilly’s words you know. If only it were so easy to get rid of ghosts.
    A good 55.
    Ours os posted

  26. Tsk. Beginning writers always think their words have to be golden right off the bat.

    As to the freedom thing, I think of it as the difference between floating in space and standing on the ground.

  27. Hi Dr John,
    Thanks for that. Or, as I’ve said before – laziness 🙂

    Hi Hootin’ Anni,
    Oh, I’ve had dealings with Ghost Busters before. Nice song, though 😉

    Hi Fandango,
    Many thanks. Them ghosts can be scared off – especially if you ignore them. They don’t like that.

    Hi Alice,
    True, but eventually the floaters have to ground themselves 😉

  28. Cat said

    The 55 was great – loved it – the vampire poem just after it was – by far my favorite – although I admit it could be because of my closet love for the twilight series books!

  29. Hi Cat,
    Many thanks for that. I’m a lover of the darker fiction myself.

  30. Pat said

    Thank you for including the meanings of the words used in your creative 55. I doubt that my (inadequate) dictionary would include them, and I would then have to rely on google and wikipedia, for probably less than accurate definitions.

    Well done!

  31. Hi Pat,
    Thanks for that. Yes, the words from the 2nd prompt I’ve used here can be a bit tricky 🙂

  32. Jessie said

    My first visit — you have a lot going on here. I’ll be back.

    Thanks for stopping by — please come around again.
    🙂

  33. Poor vampire!

  34. Hi Jessie,
    Thanks for that. Look forward to seeing you again.

    Hi Sandy,
    Yes, poor cuddly thing 😉

  35. G-Man said

    Tony, I feel very honoured that we getting all this wonderful reading entertainment for free!
    Thank You so very much also for visiting other 55 contributers and being so positive. You are a very talented gentleman…
    have a Marvelous Week-End…G

  36. Hi G-Man,
    Many thanks for the kinds words. I just love doing these prompts. They’re fun, and they keep the writer honed. So it’s good exercise.

  37. paisley said

    i love the vampire poem,, but the whole pot is interesting…

  38. Hi Paisley,
    Thanks for that. Something to get your teeth into? Apart from the vampire, of course 🙂

  39. Travis said

    I think tolerance must always be combined with respect and knowledge, as well as accountability and responsibility for our behavior and choices. And we need teachers and mentors to learn these things.

  40. Hi Travis,
    Couldn’t agree with you more. So much has been lost in recent years.

  41. mona said

    I wouldn’t call we Indians as more tolerant, but we certainly are more resilient. Women are tolent though….

    It has been a ghost post all the way I see 😀 Love the 55ve. but the vampire’s dilemma takes the cake!

  42. Hi Mona,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated. Though make it a soft sponge cake – don’t want to hurt the vampire’s tooth 😉

  43. Anthony great 55, creative use of those words. Your vampy poem is very cute. 🙂

  44. Hi Eaton,
    Thanks for that. Yes, i keep doing poems about loveable vampires. Obviously, I’ve never met one 😉

Leave a comment