BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,487 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

I WASN’T LAZY

Posted by anthonynorth on October 1, 2007

axeman.jpg When I was in my teens I was often accused of being lazy. I worked in my father’s newsagent shop – a business I was eventually supposed to part inherit, but decided I didn’t want it. But it seemed I was rarely in it.
In actual fact, one week out of two I wasn’t in the shop during normal working hours. I was up at four o’clock in the morning, working on the paper rounds, and then from five o’clock in the evening until we shut.

But this wasn’t all I was doing.

No, I was lead guitarist in the best rock band in the area – well, I would say that, wouldn’t I? Apart from the occasional gig, we also practiced three times a week in a hay loft above a barn behind a pub in a sleepy village.
There was no heating in the loft, so in winter it was rather cold. I used to argue I learnt my manic stage antics here as a means of keeping me warm so my shaking fingers could feel the fret board.

And then those awful ladders.

Entry to the loft was via a vertical, fixed ladder and through a small hatch, or opening the hay doors and leaning ladders up to them. Going to and from a gig involved sliding drum kit, heavy speaker cabinets and the rest up and down these ladders.
It was a tiring affair, especially at two o’clock in the morning, in the dark, after a gig. And finished, I’d often get home just in time to open the shop and begin the paper rounds.
Lazy? I don’t think you CAN be lazy over something you love.

© Anthony North, October 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

8 Responses to “I WASN’T LAZY”

  1. I would get all kinds of pissed off when my dad said I was lazy. Then I had my own child and REALLY found out what lazy looked like…

  2. Which you know was tongue-in-cheek, right?

  3. anthonynorth said

    Hi OB,
    Been there, got the T-shirt. I’ve said it to my own kids, and I guess it’s aimed at getting them more animated than ever.
    I realised a long time ago that growing up is when you hear your own parent’s words coming out of your mouth to your kids.
    And I can tell you, it’s scary 🙂

  4. tobeme said

    Good point, we are never lazy when we are passionate about what we are doing.

  5. anthonynorth said

    Hi Tobeme,
    Welcome. And the sadest thing is when a person never finds what they love.

  6. renaissanceguy said

    Amen, Anthony. I have seen few people sadder than the person who hates his work and has never found his true calling in life.

  7. Lazy often equals: Failure to walk to the path that other people set out for you.

    That came out a tad more Blank verse poetry than I expected.

  8. anthonynorth said

    Hi AJ,
    Nevertheless, you maybe explain it perfectly. Is the impression of laziness a failure to live up to the expectations of you in others?
    I think you may be right.
    By the way, welcome.

Leave a comment