BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

IS THERE ANYBODY THERE?

Posted by anthonynorth on October 28, 2007

beta-obe.jpg This essay is on Spiritualism, and I doubt if any subject has had so many essays written with the same title. This is because the question is fundamental to the practice. When a medium attempts to contact the dead, she asks a double-edged question.
So IS there anybody there? Is the question a general inquiry as to if anyone has come through yet, or is it more fundamental? Or is it a skeptical inquiry, trying to decide whether there could be anyone there in the first place?

GLADYS LEONARD

A typical medium was Gladys Leonard. When her mother died, Gladys opened her eyes one night and found her standing by the bed. It wasn’t a shock to her, for she had been having heaven-like visions since she was a child.
But it was the final piece of the jig-saw which turned this Lancashire woman into one of Britain’s most famous Spiritualist mediums. Going on to work for forty years with her spirit guide, Feda, her greatest fame came during World War One, when she would contact the war dead.
Amongst those she spoke to was the recently departed Raymond Lodge, son of Society for Psychical Research founder Sir Oliver Lodge. Of course, she was often accused of being a fraud. But despite repeated investigations by private detectives, when she died in 1968, Gladys Leonard’s reputation was intact.

ROOTS OF SPIRITUALISM

Despite claims to the contrary, the medium is the world’s oldest profession. Identified from the earliest known pre-history he, or she, can be identified as the instigator of hysterical tribal ritual, known throughout history as the shaman, witch-doctor or medicine man. However, in the Spiritualist medium, the talent came into its own. But how did Spiritualism begin?
Fundamental to the beginnings of Spiritualism was American clairvoyant Andrew Jackson Davis. During the 1840s he toured America arguing that upon bodily death the spirit remained alive and moved into another existence. Hence, since it was not dead, communication with the living should be possible.

THE FOX SISTERS

Davis set the scene. Then, in 1848, two daughters of a farmer called Fox, from Hydesville, New York State, claimed to have contacted the spirit of a dead pedlar through a code of rappings.
Such spirit contact was not rare, and there is even evidence that this contact was fraudulent. However, showman PT Barnum heard of the case and took the two sisters to New York.
Becoming a sensation, within weeks housewives by the hundred began organising their own sitting room séances, no doubt spurred on by recent controversies that began modern feminism, and Spiritualism had been born.

FRAUDULENT MEDIUMS

Spiritualist mediums have always come in for claims of fraud. Escapologist Harry Houdini dedicated much of his time to attacking Spiritualism. Alternatively, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was an avid believer, even writing a huge history of Spiritualism in 1926.
One sceptical answer to their ability to glean information is ‘cold reading’. Through a series of clever questions and psychological prompting it is argued most clients can be induced to believe that messages can come from the afterlife when infant they have provided the information themselves.
Several mediums were caught cheating. Typical was surgeon’s wife, Mina Crandon, who, as Margery the Medium, turned her American home into a form of psychic circus with regular seances during which physical phenomena would manifest and she would contact the dead through her spirit guide, her deceased brother.
During one seance her ‘brother’ provided his spirit-fingerprint in wax. It turned out to be the print of a previous client.

SPLIT-BRAIN CONCEPT

Is there any physiological phenomena that could account for mediumship – in particular, the voices that are said to manifest in the medium’s head?
We are all prone to a disturbing physiological anomaly known through the ‘split-brain concept’. First identified in the 1930s when surgeons cut the nerve fibres connecting the two cerebral hemispheres of the brain to restrict the electric storm of epilepsy to one half of the brain, it was discovered that the two hemispheres had separate functions, the operation leading to a lack of co-ordination in the patient.
On-going research led to an understanding that the left hemisphere is responsible for logical function, whilst the right hemisphere seems to be the seat of emotion and insight. In the main, we are left brain people, but when emotion or intuition rises to dictate our illogical actions, this is the effect of the right brain.
This effect is most noticeable when we do something wrong and feel guilty. We all know the analogy of the little voice of conscience at the back of the mind. This right brain effect is thought not to be an analogy in particularly fantasy prone people.
Rather, more open to right brain influence, these people are thought to hear a real voice, similar to the voice heard in schizophrenia. However, rather than being perceived as coming from the mind, it is perceived as coming from some outside source.

APPROACHING AN ANSWER?

It is attractive to place this ‘outside’ voice within mediumistic talents. However, in doing so, we face a further possibility. We must return to the practice of cold reading.
It is always assumed that the medium practices cold reading as a blatant fraud, and no doubt in many cases it is. But we must also consider the possibility that, once the ‘outside’ voice is heard in the mind, the medium is genuinely persuaded that the voice is from beyond the grave, and her ability to cold read provides ‘genuine’ information from this same source.
This idea seems to fit into the mentality of many mediums, in that they genuinely believe in the phenomenon, and also have a natural perceptiveness to the moods and problems of the sitter. Indeed, it has often been noted that a good medium is an excellent bereavement counselor. Hence, they would naturally pick up signals as in cold reading.
So we can perhaps conclude that Spiritualism does not really deal with the dead, but anomalies of the human mind. Of course, there is much more to mediumship than this – and I will no doubt be returning to the subject from time to time – but at this stage I think we can say, no, there isn’t really anybody there.

© Anthony North, October 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Find many more mysteries on my Mysteries page, above.

18 Responses to “IS THERE ANYBODY THERE?”

  1. Hello Anthony,
    Spiritualism is a subject that I find rather fascinating as well. I think we can safely say “no there isn’t really anybody there”,but then there are the stories that can’t always be explained. As a child I loved to listen when my Grandmother told of her visits to the Spiritualist Meetings.
    Unfortunately I have never been to a meeting but I was told that the medium would sit quietly for a while and then relate the message she had received for someone in her audience.
    Once she had something for Grandma. It was from an Airman, and he wanted to say thankyou for the flowers. Sorry she was mistaken, Grandma told her, she had’nt known any RAF men who had been killed in WWII.
    On her return home her husband told her he had been to the Churchyard that afternoon to put some flowers on his mothers’grave,but the vase wouldn’t hold all of them so he put the rest in a jar on Jack Davies’s.
    Yes, he was a rear gunner, the son of an old neighbour long forgotten who didn’t make it all the way back.

  2. anthonynorth said

    Hi Diamondsandrust,
    A marvellous story, there. Yes, there IS much more to say about Spiritualism, and this is more an opening statement on the subject. And yes, if ESP is possible, then we can easily say some mediums have access to it.
    Alternatively, I’ll be dealing, eventually, with many fraudulent mediums, who used whole networks of informers to collect ‘intelligence’ on the area they were about to hold meetings – the people who’d attend, what they were doing that day. Some of them would have been worthy intelligence agents.

  3. Techne said

    Anthony,

    Rather provocative of you to say, “..no, there isn’t really anybody there,” but given the context of your essay it’s not out of place either.
    I am divided on this issue. On the one hand there is certainly no lack of frauds and self-deception in this field. On the other hand so much of what we accept as “normal” and “fact” is simply unproven and unexamined because it is assumed to be true. For example, no one, has ever seen a thought directly although they are rumored to exist. Why? Because something is so common about “thoughts” because of personal experience with whatever they are that we just assume their fact status. But I have never seen your “thoughts” directly (writing does not count as proof here.) I am unaware of any scientific process that can isolate and directly observe a thought (even brainwaves and scan-patterns are not the thing itself, they are measuring an activity).
    My point is, if everyone experienced these “voices” there would be no question of their existence; no need for proof. Their fact status would be assumed. What we seem to object to is “inequality” of experience, therefore proof is needed (perhaps rightly so).
    I once went to a medium just to see what would happen. I thought at worst it would be entertaining, at best I might truly find something. Either way it was not expensive.
    The medium told me not to talk; he would do the talking. I sat back as he recounted past, present and future, in detail, with specific situations, right down to literal thoughts I had at the time (which I remember). Quite a bit of what he described I have never told anyone. He described interior, subjective states of mind from my childhood accurately.
    As a test I asked him about my grandfather, who I learned had died the day before (I didn’t even know he was ill), and I had no information surrounding the details of his death. The information he gave me matched the details I discovered later.
    The medium claimed he was getting this info from not only guardian spirits around me, but from particular relatives as well (whom he described).
    Does this prove communication with the dead? Absolutely not. But it does prove, at least to me, that SOMETHING is going on that our sciences, cannot or will not comprehend or explore adequately with their present tools and attitudes. And all of the fakes and nauseating profiteers out there don’t help matters much.
    Finding the balance between knowing what to believe and accept as a result of one’s personal experiences, and relying on the findings of “experts” and “authorities” as the arbiters of reality, seems to be the real problem to me, whether we are talking politics, religion, global warming or spiritualism. Relying exclusively on either approach is dangerous not only to the individual, but to the greater whole.

    Techne

  4. anthonynorth said

    Hi Techne,
    All I ever do on this blog is give my opinion. It is not idle opinion – i.e. on a whim – but an opinion come to through years of research and thought. If I give a definite opinion, as I did here, then it is purely because I cannot see how a thing can be possible at the state of knowledge at this time; or there are adequate other means of explanation.
    In this sense, you are quite right – what is a ‘thought’? Do I have them? Do you? Is a thought personal to the person? Or can a thought be a communal, even species, thing? To examine these questions would take us way past what we can rationally know, and as you know I tread that path warily.
    In particular, to what extent could a thought be transcendant? If we accept clairvoyance, a thought upon death could answer the main element of your case above. Again, this is upon death, not after.
    It is a fascinating subject that I’m often pondering on. Afterlife fascinates me, yet I hope it will be a long time before I’m in a position to experience it directly.
    I can think of no other subject that the enquiring mind shies away from experiencing. Its veil is mystifying indeed.

  5. Techne said

    Anthony,

    If and when you are in a position to experience the afterlife directly, you realize that those of us who look forward to your essays will be expecting (hoping for) some sort of continuity to slake our ongoing thirst for intelligent discourse.

    “Beyond the Blog” will have to become “Blog from the Beyond”…but if there’s anything to the EVP and ITC phenomena then this shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

    Like yourself, I also hope that is a long way off for you (and me too!) 🙂

    Techne

  6. anthonynorth said

    Hi Techne,
    I’ll work on it. But when I go, watch out for charlatans 🙂
    Here’s to a long life.

  7. renaissanceguy said

    Good work, Tony. You have done so much excellent research.

    To me there is clearly something or someone “out there,” but I would hazard a guess that 95% of the claims of contact with that force are false. I’m a Christian, as you know, and I would even admit that most claims by so-called Christians of hearing from God or receiving miracles are fraudulent.

    I think that one problem in gathering proof is that any real examples of supernatural experiences are beyond scientific ways to verify them, and they can often be explained in more natural and ordinary ways. I think that the ones that are real are signs to the individual and not meant to be “proof” to the outside world.

    Fortunately, the frauds are often easy to detect. It’s funny how people still believe anyway.

  8. anthonynorth said

    Hi Renaissanceguy,
    Yes, ‘proof’ of anything paranormal is almost impossible to scientifically verify. This is why I always approach the subject one step at a time, working with known phenomena and extending it just slightly to see what it discloses.
    And yes, proof is usually a very personal thing to the person experiencing it. It is through personal disclosure of this sort that spirituality, of all kinds, is confirmed.

  9. red pill junkie said

    Well, after the intense debate currently held regarding Climate Change back at the ol’ Daily Grail “trenches”, it’s rather nice to relax with an EASIER subject, like the possibility of life beyond death 😉

    “Despite claims to the contrary, the medium is the world’s oldest profession”

    Exquisite statement. Especially when you consider that the OTHER oldest profession deals with that some people call.. the little death 🙂

    Well, I’ll leave with one question: What’s your take on Instrumental Transcommunication (using electronic devices to try and record or detect the “voices” of discarnate entities)?

  10. anthonynorth said

    Hi Red,
    Yes, it got quite intense on ‘the dark side’ yesterday. I love The Daily Grail – you can really get stuck in 🙂
    I must admit, instrumentation and discarnate voices is one area I haven’t really dealt with. I think I’m going to have to take a look, for a future post.

  11. Adam said

    Hi Anthony

    I can’t say I’ve ever encountered the dead, but I have encountered non-physical beings – an angel and a demon – on two separate occasions. I have tried to explain them in reductionist terms, but there’s definitely a lot we don’t know about our brains and minds and I’m not convinced that the materialist/reductionist paradigm is sufficient to explain all the phenomena people have reported.

    Do my experiences confirm my own beliefs? Yes, but I can’t really use them as data for other people to draw metaphysical conclusions – I’ve no objective evidence to share with them. And that’s always the problem of any reported paranormal experience.

  12. anthonynorth said

    Hi Adam,
    Thanks for that. I never attack peacefully held belief – that is a quality within the person and I wouldn’t dream of contradicting it. I also agree that the materialist/reductionist paradigm is deeply flawed – it places us in half a world. But as I’ve said before many times, if we are to take knowledge forward, we must do so within this paradigm, taking it one step at a time, simply peering into the dark. To not do so is to leave too many gaps in the continuation of knowledge.
    I’m quite prepared to accept that this step by step process could well take us, eventually, into what would otherwise be called supernatural realms.

  13. Barbara said

    Hi
    I read with a sigh, all the talk of fraud, but as a proud to be Spiritualist medium myself, I must agree that a lot of it goes on. Some are down right dishonest in a bid to make money from vulnerable people. Others are self deluded into believing that what is in their head must be ‘from the other side’. I find it comes about through lack of proper teaching and understanding.
    There is only one way to find proof and that is to seek it for yourself. No amount of stories, second hand messages, are going to prove anything to you. You need something first hand from some one who knows nothing at all about you. You should never divulge to a ‘medium’ anything about yourself or indeed about why you want a reading. All you should add to the conversation is: Yes, No or ‘I do not understand’.
    If, after your reading you are impressed by the evidence given, then it is up to the individual to decide what, if anything to say. If you are not impressed by the accuracy of the sitting then you should not give the medium any fee or donation.
    As for cold reading, a lot of mediums are poorly educated and I find it strange that you think we are all so clever as to be able to do such a thing as ‘read a person’ in such a calculating way.
    I too am Christian in my upbringing and basic beliefs. What greater gift to have than to be able to tell of a life after death, in heaven and comfort the bereaved, by proving to them that they will meet with loved ones again in the afterlife.

  14. anthonynorth said

    Hi Barbara,
    Thanks for the comment. I always deal in any area of paranormality by taking just a small step into the darkness from existing knowledge. Where this approach will end up, no one knows, but if any form of general ‘acceptance’ is ever to come, it must come, not by ignoring our knowledge systems, but advancing them.
    This is why I can appear a sceptic to a believer, and a believer to a sceptic. But certainly, I don’t know the truth, and as such I never try to dissuade anyone from a peacefully held belief.

  15. Barbara said

    Hi Anthony

    I don’t consider the gifts I have to be paranormal. I just consider myself an average person who has become aware of senses that the other average persons have yet to become aware of. I firmly believe that someday everyone will be aware of their own latent sixth sense. Life will be so much easier to live, when there is the expectation of an afterlife in which we are all interlinked. Life is just a continual lesson to prepare for what comes later.
    Regards
    B

  16. anthonynorth said

    Hi Barbara,
    The word ‘paranormal’ can have many meanings. To me I use a literal interpretation, i.e. ‘beyond normal’. Certainly an average person can occasionally or regularly access such powers, which to me, at present, I see as an extension of psychology into a kind of communality.
    I’m not against the idea of higher consciousness – intelligence, even – and I think science has all the ingredients in their latest theories to approach the possibility. It just needs a fundamental mind-shift on their part.
    As a medium, perhaps you could help me. Like you, I accept that everyone has such abilities, but I’m intrigued about what brings them out to the point of regular mediumship. I suspect it begins with some form of crisis or adversity.
    Of course, I don’t want you to say anything you don’t want to, but would you say this could have been the course your abilities followed? My reasoning here is that something makes the person descend deep into the inner mind for enlightenment or protection, and accesses such abilities.
    I hope you don’t mind me asking, and I’ll understand if you don’t answer.

  17. Barbara said

    Hi Anthony

    Ask away by all means. I personally went searching to find answers to ‘life’ really. I could not accept that we are here for the proverbial ‘4 score years and ten’, then nothing! I asked myself ‘ ‘Why do we go through all the cycles of learning if not for a higher purpose. Or else, it would all be such a waste.
    I had young children and could not understand why they too would be here to go through the same, however pleasant cycles, without another purpose.
    We all have this gift and can all learn to use it/tap into it. It just takes time,effort and some dedication, with a little help from one who knows and is willing to help you.
    Hope this helps and I am willing to help you or anyone with a genuine interest.
    B

  18. anthonynorth said

    Hi Barbara,
    Thanks for that. I can understand this journey. I’ve been on it myself, and obviously found different answers. This happened when I came down with chronic fatigue syndrome, and the life-changes involved.
    I usually find there is a similar ‘trigger’ why people begin the journey – something in life that shocks the system.

Leave a comment