BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

HOW TO EXPLAIN HEALING

Posted by anthonynorth on July 13, 2008

So the guy lays his hands on you and you’re healed. Great! Life continues in full health, which is, in effect, a miracle. Which is why so many people are suspicious of healing.
But CAN it work? Can we rationalize a means of explanation? Well, the first hint is given by many healers when they say they don’t heal. What they do is give the patient the authority to heal themselves.

This offers an interesting angle.

We already know that a person can seem to feel better by a pure act of faith. This is known as the ‘placebo effect’, and can have up to a 30% effect on an ailment.
Hormones could also be crucial to an understanding. Many bodily functions are controlled by hormones, but it has been shown that the mind can also have an effect. We seem to have a distinct mind-body mechanism within ourselves.

The autonomic nervous system is also worth study.

This covers the ‘machine like’ function of your body. But phenomena such as vegal inhibition has shown that an attitude of mind can interrupt the system.
The discipline of biofeedback is important here. By concentrating on equipment that shows blood pressure, for instance, the discipline can teach the person how to control such function through intention.

Such abilities suggest a new understanding is required.

I’ve used the term ‘psycho-physicality’ to describe a borderland between ‘physical’ and ‘mental’ illness, showing that the two can actually merge, with mind having a definite effect on the physical.
Now, much healing is known as ‘faith’ healing. And what is faith if not a total belief that something can work, thus allowing ‘mind’ dominion over the body? However, I think we can take the concept much further than this.

We actually live in three realities.

We can look in the mirror and see ourselves as skin and bone. Below this reality there is our cellular form. And below this, we are all reducible to subatomic fuzz.
This third reality is thought to be one of ‘information’ – a kind of ‘software’. Could interaction at this level of reality in some way re-program what occurs further up the reality scale?
Some medical techniques already tamper at this level of reality, such as radiotherapy. And as these realities must, at some level, have an effect on each other, we could argue that what we can do at the level of ‘information’ could rise up the chain.
A further fact about these three realities is that as we move down the chain, we access greater ‘communality’, the subatomic being indistinguishable from the universe. Could this permit information to pass from one person to another, such as from healer to patient, thus affecting the program?
This is, of course, highly speculative. But to think of ourselves in terms of mind-body interaction, combined with the idea of ‘software’ at the root of our health, could open up new areas of research into both health, and healing in general.

© Anthony Norh, July 2008

25 Responses to “HOW TO EXPLAIN HEALING”

  1. I think you’re preaching to the choir on this one, Anthony. I realized how pervasive the mind-body connection is when I went on vacation and all my orthopedic issues vanished — and haven’t returned, seven months later. Hmmm.

  2. Twilight said

    I agree, AN – this is ripe for research.

    The effect works in the other direction, doesn’t it? I think this direction is already accepted. I.E. that a stressed state of mind can cause physical debility or illness, or bring the immune system to a low enough level so that infection is more likely to occur.

    If that much is accepted, then it seems logical that the effect could work the other way too – to bring about improvement.

  3. I think there is also the level of spirit what and wherever that is.

  4. insomniac said

    Howdy Anthony,

    True that these areas are ripe for research, but that has been true for many years. In fact, that was how healing was done before scientific medicine came along with their pills, poisons and procedures.

    If they can’t package it or do it with one of their machines, they can’t make a buck off of it. It seems to me that it is in the financial interest of the status quo NOT to study the mind body connection.

    cheers,
    jim

  5. Hi Susan,
    That’s interesting. I’ve heard of things happening like this before. Of course, the medical profession would just shake their heads and act dumb.

    Hi Twilight,
    Indeed. And as a chronic fatigue sufferer I’m well aware of the idea that stress could have been an initial cause. If so, I’m living proof of the relationship – my idea of psycho-physicality.

    Hi Sandy,
    I often think that ‘spirit’ and the ‘subatomic’ realm could be the same thing, simply approached from different knowledge systems. What was once thought of as belief could well be the science of the future.

    Hi Jim,
    I think you’re absolutely right. The pharmaceutical industry has, I think, a lot to answer for healthwise. And not just in healing. Consider the amount of herbal research that COULD be done, if not for them.

  6. Chris said

    Good Morning Anthony,
    Another stretch of the imagination (at least on my part!) relative to two of your thoughts.
    “we access greater ‘communality’, the subatomic being indistinguishable from the universe.” and a portion of your response to Sandy, “I often think that ‘spirit’ and the ‘subatomic’ realm could be the same thing,”.

    According to a portion of the ‘Quantum Theory’, energy is held to be emitted and absorbed in tiny, discrete parts.
    When an electron changes from one allowed level to another, a quantum (quanta) of energy is emitted or absorbed whose frequency is directly proportional to the energy difference between the two levels.

    Given that our own bodies are actually constructed from these very same subatomic particles (which can also display wavelike properties) which are emitting or absorbing quanta’s of energy, could these be what connect us to the rest of the universe, including human beings (I think that most of us know about auras),could this process possibly be the ‘information transfer medium’?

  7. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    I just had another thought.
    If an electron has the apparent capability of being spread out over its entire orbit simultaneously, thereby effectively bypassing the speed of light, then does that mean that at a subatomic level our very own bodies are travelling faster than the speed of light?

    Now that thought is either very interesting or very scary or both!!

    Cheers,
    Chris

  8. Hi Chris,
    I like both these ideas – there are many ways to work on the possibilities of ‘transfer’, most given a wide berth by many.
    The cytoskeleton of the cell is also interesting, in that it seems to resonate. Some researchers have argued that this becomes, a) a form of on/off switching system similar to a computer, and, b)so minute at one end of the resonation that it could ‘connect’ with subatomic information.
    Such a system would allow transfer to the cellular level – i.e. life.

  9. Selma said

    A friend of mine recently went on retreat in the US where she had hands laid on her by a Native American shaman. She has had trouble with her spine for about three years and since the healing hands episode has been significantly better. Mind over matter? Who can say. This is an incredibly interesting topic.

  10. Hi Selma,
    Another interesting case. It happens time after time – and time after time it’s ignored by too many researchers. I don’t think we’re dealing with miracles here – simply mind-body relationships not yet understood.

  11. Brian said

    When I cup my hands together about three to four inches apart and move them gently apart I can feel an energy field. When moving my hands back and forth but not touching, the field is like trying to press repelling magnets together, that liquid feel of opposing forces that slid off each other. The energy is elastic yet the closer together my hands are, the stronger the resistance.

    It is energy in the form of heat and those on the receiving end say they can feel that heat from a foot away or more. Up close but not touching their skin, they describe it as hot as a heating pad or hot water bottle. It is healing energy and I’ve had this for a long time, but it comes from me not an external source and using it will quickly drain me. It also doesn’t work on me at all, thus my CFS and arthritis remain.

    Is this something that is all in my mind and others? No. I once offered to use the heat on a friend at work who said her shoulders hurt. So, in front of many witnesses, she turned her back and I started the energy flow and placed my hands at least six inches away from her shoulders. She instantly shrieked and jumped forward saying ‘It’s hot!’ and wouldn’t let me try again. Which is one of the reasons this is the first time I’ve ever written about this.

  12. Hi Brian,
    Yvonne once knew a vicar who was into faith healing groups, and she joined them for a while. She has a history of psychic events – that’s one of the things that first prompted my interest in the subject.
    During such sessions, people reported this self-same heat source from the hands. Since then, I’ve heard so many people tell me the same thing.
    As for those sessions, some felt a lot better. Some soon regressed, others didn’t. In other words, you’re experiences fit exactly into the pattern – even being unable to gain benefits yourself.
    Thanks for telling us about this. There IS something to all this thart science is ignoring.

  13. Grace said

    When one of the ladies I work with confided she had been diagnosed with breast cancer, I immediately asked her if I could send Reiki to her.

    I did just that, that next morning during my meditations…and promptly forgot about the whole thing until just last week. She comes to visit her once a month, and couldn’t wait to tell me the news.

    When they did the MRI, one of the suspicious lumps was gone completely (much to the doctors shock and confusion), and the other two had shrunk considerably. Both were considered benign. She has a lumpectomy/biopsy scheduled for a few weeks now, and we both believe the doctors will discover another benign.

    I didn’t touch her. I didn’t even speak to her (or pray with her). All I know is that “Something” happened to destroy the illness in her body and create new health.

    Whatever you want to call that “Something”, I’m extremely grateful for It. It’s shown up time and time again in my own life, in the lives of my loved ones, and in the lives of virtual strangers to whom I’ve asked that It be sent.

    🙂 Isn’t it all AMAZING?

  14. Hi Grace,
    Thanks for that. And it fits a pattern perfectly. There are hundreds of such cases. Doctors are always shocked, but medical science simply says that such remissions occur, and usually not involving any healing at all. Then, they ignore the subject. It doesn’t fit the paradigm, but it is enough to disqualify healing.
    Well, sorry, no it doesn’t disqualify healing! As I pointed out in the essay, many healers say they give authority to the person to heal themselves – in other words, they enforce an attitude of mind. Such an attitude of mind could equally be created by the person without healing, but it is still part of the same phenomenon. A phenomenon that – as I say – is ignored.
    It shouldn’t be.

  15. Yeah, I like this, I believe that we can ‘tune in’ to our immortal eternal self and bring healing to our temporal bodies if and when we need to.

  16. Hi Sweet Talking Guy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, that is a common belief, which often seems to work. And it’s a shame it is virtually ignored by science.

  17. Leroy Glinchy said

    I believe in faith healing, but I don’t like it to be explained. I feel that an explanation can kind of diminish it. It will go away if you look too much into it. That is, it won’t be faith healing, just plain boring healing. Patents will be issued and prescriptions required. Joy.

    As for my own skillz, I am known as a faith healer…for computers. I don’t even need to lay hands on them just my presence is enough. All the time people would ask me for help with their computer. They’d try to show me what went wrong, and the problem was completely fixed. They never had that problem again. They could try a million things, and it would not work, but a minute in my presence, and the computer behaved again.

    Other times I tried the to do the thing they were failing at on their computer, and of course it worked for me. I didn’t do anything different than what they did. After that things worked for them.

    My explanation is compassion for the computers. Computers can sense when they are disrespected and act accordingly. Show us all a little love even machines!

  18. raykil said

    I really enjoyed your post, and it came across very strong to me. I feel however, that there is an interatction that goes on which is deeper than the patient just allwing. I have seen life energy work where a person did not believe it it would. And yet there is the quantum level of infinte possibilties. Pick one, and it is yours…

  19. Hi Leroy,
    I understand your concern – it’s shared by many. But if I know anything about knowledge, I’d suggest it is infinite. When we gain one understanding, other mysteries surface to require us to go forever deeper. There will be no end to knowledge, I’m sure.
    As for computer healing, have you thought that it might be the effect of psychokinesis? If it exists, of course.

    Hi Raykil,
    A good point. And you could well be right. However, when dealing with what we ‘know’ to be happening, we should often think in terms of what can be known consciously, and what is known to the unconscious.
    Think of an annoying intuition you try to grasp consciously. Where has it come from? I sometimes think the unconscious knows what’s going on better than we think.

  20. Some pseudo-Christian teachers claim they have the gift of healing. One of these is Benny Hinn, whom I used to watch on tv. Healing through prayer is possible, if it is God’s will. False teachers will tell you it depends on how much faith you have, and if you’re not healed it is your fault, but then sometimes those false teachers die of cancer.

    Healing is dealt with in Matthew 8 and 9. Here are some excerpts.

    Matthew 8:1-13
    When he {Jesus} came down from the mountainside, large crowds followed him. A man with leprosy came and knelt before him and said, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.” Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately he was cured of his leprosy. Then Jesus said to him, “See that you don’t tell anyone. But go, show yourself to the priest and offer the gift Moses commanded, as a testimony to them.”

    When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed and in terrible suffering.”
    Jesus said to him, “I will go and heal him.”
    The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. 9For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

    When Jesus heard this, he was astonished and said to those following him, “I tell you the truth, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven. But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

    Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that very hour.

    You can read more for yourself at http://www.biblegateway.com.

    8:5-13

  21. kirstypark said

    I was recently reading a book on prayer by Philip Yancey and something he talked about was how we already have healing built into our bodies. Just how our bodies function to protect us and heal us is a miracle.

    He turned that around to suggest that when we pray we ask God to help our bodies in its process of healing. So going through cancer treatment and it being successful and problem free should be as much a testimony as anything else.

    There have been many studies that support the idea that prayer aids healing. Maybe many people just have a skewed view of healing? Is it a wham bam from Heaven that knocks you off your feet or a gift that you access every day? The second certainly seems to ring of gratitude which as it happens has also proved to be helpful for our health.

  22. LuRain Penny said

    Howdy,

    I been interested in research indicating the DNA changes according to circumstance, re-ordering in the presence of grief, trauma, stress and conversely love, nourishment and attitude.

    The code is malleable. We can shuffle the deck.

    It appears we have much more control over our state of health than we have been led to believe.

    This is not a glib assessment, it takes tremendous power of will to alter entrenched conditions; physical, emotional, and mental.

    Believing in limitless possibility is obviously more effective than having no faith in inherent abilities.

    Miracle happens.

    Thanks for the chance to share.

    Love,

    LuRain
    x

  23. Hi Andrea,
    Everyone’s definition of ‘false’ teachers varies. To me, it is anyone who claims an absolute truth over others.

    Hi Kirstypark,
    There is beginning to be research on the power of prayer and healing. Personally, I think if healing works one way because of a belief, any belief will do, including prayer.

    Hi LuRain Penny,
    I would say miracles happen only because we don’t yet understand them. Once we do, different names apply. It would be interesting to see if there IS evidence of changes in DNA due to mind.
    I suspect there may be such a possibility.

  24. Graham Priestley said

    “Some pseudo-Christian teachers claim they have the gift of healing. One of these is Benny Hinn, whom I used to watch on tv. Healing through prayer is possible, if it is God’s will. False teachers will tell you it depends on how much faith you have, and if you’re not healed it is your fault, but then sometimes those false teachers die of cancer.”

    http://whatstheharm.net/faithhealing.html

    Let us hope that there is a just god and it sends some carcinoma to the “faith healers” mentioned in the link I’ve just posted. Alternatively some credulous people need to wise up.

  25. Hi Graham,
    Yes, there are many false healers, from all faiths, but I wouldn’t wish harm upon anyone.

Leave a comment