BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

HOW TO EXPLAIN GENETIC DIVINATION

Posted by anthonynorth on September 7, 2008

There are many forms of divination, ranging from Palmistry to Astrology, Numerology to the I Ching. And let us not forget ancients such as the Auguries, who used to read your fate from animal entrails.
I’ve always had a healthy skepticism for such practices. I’ve not condemned them, but thought human psychology can account for them. However, I want to explore the possibility of deeper mechanisms behind such practices.

I’ll begin with my healthy skepticism.

Rather than man’s fate being slave to outside forces, such as the position of planets at birth, I’ve seen divination as a form of therapy and advisor. It works like this.
A person consults a practitioner and through a two way system of suggestion, the subject intuits, himself, what his unconscious is really after. Thus his path seems to open up as if destined, whereas he has simply been given the confidence to follow his real inner desires.

I still thing this covers most of the subject.

But even I have to admit there are annoying gaps in the idea, especially if we take much of divination at face value. Consider Palmistry, which claims much of your future is already mapped out in the lines of your palm. How is this possible?
Let us consider genetics. Now, genetics does map out a great deal of your life from conception, including physical attributes, possibilities of future illnesses and, if correct, leanings towards certain behaviour. Could it be possible that such ‘predestination’ could affect you in a wider way, such as the patterning of lines on your palm? Basically, could the palm be a physical map of your basic genetic make-up?

Genetics could hold the key to other areas, too.

Indeed, I think if we can highlight a genetic answer to even one part of divination, it could rationally be seen as important to the rest as well.
I say this because one of the main problems with divination is the sheer number of contrary and conflicting ‘systems’. Surely it would be more rational to identify a common thread between them all.

I think genetics CAN be applied in this sphere.

Consider Astrology – in particular, the various character types associated with the houses of the Zodiac. Is this due to the position of planets, or a spin-off from our genetic make-up?
We understand behaviour in terms of nature or nurture. How we turn out as people is said to be dependent upon what element is ‘in our genes’, and how big a part environment and upbringing plays.
I’ve never been happy with this easy duality. I’ve always thought there was a third element – namely, culture. For as well as being affected by elements in our personal life, we are also very much identified by the wider community or culture to which we belong.
This cultural input is above our individuality, and extends back in time beyond our lives. And bearing in mind the ‘behavioural’ element of genetics, could culture, over many generations, have an effect on our genetic make-up itself?
If we are prepared to accept this as a possibility, then cultural behaviour can be genetic in itself – such as the idea that being born in a particular house of the Zodiac will result in certain behavioural patterns.
Could this explain why a person is a typical Arian or Taurus? I still think the processes of suggestibility are essential to divination, but could it be that the suggestibility is also deeply entrenched in our genes themselves?

© Anthony North, September 2008

10 Responses to “HOW TO EXPLAIN GENETIC DIVINATION”

  1. I agree that divination is really a spin-off of our genetic make-up, a way of understanding ourselves–mythology for the ordinary person.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Yes, I think this idea could be credible. And also, regarding palmisty, open to real scientific study.

  3. Brian said

    I do remember the first time I ever read a detailed report of how a Libra should behave and I was shocked at how many general traits I had that matched. The same thing happened with colors and other preferences. There is something collective at work that links people in ways not readily apparent.

  4. Well, I don’t know about this because I never believed in any of this. I always thought genes and culture was the predictor to much (or most) of me. It has remained true for almost 57 years. Having said that anything is possible and to study the possibilities would be interesting. I would also throw choices into this mix. I think we all have them to make and choosing wisely is essential. Have a great day Anthony. 🙂

  5. LindaG said

    Hi Anthony,

    I agree with Brian- except I’m A Sag. What’s even more interesting is when I discovered my Moon & Ascending signs. These signs sometimes contradictory traits to my birth sign seemed to explain why I was not really a true Sag. It’s all interesting but I am not a believer in preordained fate. Also-the western & eastern forms of astrology seem very different, even down to their “animal” representation for each house.

    I think you’ve really touched a truth in your paragraph under “healthy scepticism”. Earlier ,& in todays times- alternate, substitutions for visits to a therapist. Perhaps at times we may need an outside force to assist us in our quest for self realization. Too many “voices” in our heads at times? The need to not be “alone” in this life?

    I am not much of a believer in the practice of psychiatry, especially Freudian (too degrading to women)- either. Although I have not myself partaked of it- a family member of mine has & where it appears to have benefitted her, it has not benefitted those who surround her.

    In regards to genetics’ influence- what comes to my mind is accupuncture. A needle in the ear to help weight loss or smoking cessation. I can sense a possible confluence of this type of theraphy & divining methods such as palmistry. Some underlying truth that is currently beyond mans current grasp?
    What is also very interesting is the evolution of these forms of practice over time.

    Hanna gave us the rain we needed here. We’ve had much worse weather earlier this summer than she brought us yesterday. We’ve had odd storms this season- times are a changing!

    Thanks for another good exercise of the mind,
    Linda G

  6. Hi Brian,
    Yes, it seems to be happening, even though I’ve fought accepting this one.

    Hi Sandee,
    This has always been my problem with things like genetics. Behavioural elements are so easily another way to deny responsibility for your actions. In the end, we choose what we do – genetic dispositions just mean you’ve got to try harder.

    Hi Linda,
    I agree with what you say about psychiatry – at least the therapy part. It seems to me that a therapist tries to empower a person AROUND their problems, and a redefined ‘individual’ comes out, who seems to be the absolute centre of their world, usually to the detriment of friends and family.

  7. Twilight said

    Hmmmm! LOL! Where to begin? I could probably waffle on for pages, AN!
    Astrology is more than just the zodiac sign where the Sun lay as a person was born – it’s even more than where the Moon was positioned or which sign was rising above the horizon. It’s a dickens of a complicated subject when studied seriously, and it affects more than the individual. I don’t go along with a lot of the details myself, but I do believe in the basic principles, as you know.
    I’ve seen it work too often not to. Something is going on, but nobody knows what it is. Could it be a connection of movements in the heavens with our DNA?
    All life in the universe is linked – everything interconnected. Why wouldn’t humans and other lifeforms be affected in some way by luminaries and planets as they move in their courses, through cycles and seasons?

    Ones’ natal chart is simply a blueprint, not a prison sentence. All it provides is a rough idea of what kind of person you might turn out tobe, what talents you may be able to develop (if you put effort into it) what kind of mind you have, how you relate to others. Environment, family, genetics all come into it too, astrology is just one strand in a complex mesh.

    Prediction via astrology is only ever likely to work in connection with the orbits of the outer planets which move very slowly and remain in aspect to personal planets for a long time. All that can be foreseen is something like “a challenging period betweem such a year and such a year”, or “a time when your life is likely to take a new path”. In the end though free will supercedes the planets – if you don’t want to take the opportunity of a new path you ignore it – that’s all.

    they key to whether all this is just “psychological”, is that astrologers need an ephemeris (a kind of directoruy of planetary movements day by day, hour by hour) to do their job. They don’t just pull stuff out of thin air or intuit it.

    I’ll stop there…..lol!

  8. Hi Twilight,
    Yes, I’ve only recently begun to look seriously at astrology again after many years, mainly prompted by your good self. And this is my first immediate impression from my new look at it.
    Yes, there are gaps in our understanding, but as you know, I’m one of those people who has to try to work out a system. I guess I don’t believe in anything, but need to have a hint of some form of understanding before accepting something.
    Even the use of the word ‘psychology’ has got to be more for me. Your words regarding a connection between planets and DNA could be on the right track. In other words, does the universe have a psychology, or consciousness, which, as you know from previous essays, I’m convinced it does.
    This post is just cautious old me, taking one step at a time. Who know where I’ll end up …

  9. Selma said

    There is a great deal of credibility in your argument, particularly the part about suggestibility in the genes. I am extremely interested in your points and also in Twilight’s. Looking forward to further discussion.

  10. Hi Selma,
    Thanks for that. I haven’t looked at astrology in such a long time. Yes, I’m convinced there is nature, nurture AND culture, changing how we behave over many generations. But as far as I’m aware, science just does not grasp this third element. Yet evolution of behaviour seems to me to be as possible as evolution in a physical sense.

Leave a comment