BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    October 2008
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

HOW TO EXPLAIN MEDIUMS

Posted by anthonynorth on October 16, 2008

A medium is a person who seems to connect with something ‘other’. In its most popular interpretation, we are dealing with Spiritualism, and the ability of the medium to contact the afterlife, usually through a ‘spirit guide’.
They often get bad press nowadays, thought of as frauds. Typically they indulge in ‘cold reading’, where they can either lead the person on to disclose more than they think, or they intuit information from what a person says.

But cold reading can be seen in two ways.

It can be intentional or non-intentional. In other words, it is quite possible for a medium to indulge in the practice without realizing exactly what they are doing. So whilst some are obviously fraudulent, an identical mechanism can equally be behind a medium who genuinely doesn’t know how they are accessing the information.
The same can be said for other areas of mediumship. The ‘spirit guide’ can so obviously be seen as fraudulent. Yet, we know of ‘multiple personality’, where the mind can fragment into various characters. It is therefore quite possible for spirit guides to be fragmented personalities, without the obvious consent of the medium.

Do mediums contact the ‘other’?

Well, I suppose we have to decide what the ‘other’ is. And one obvious means of explanation is that they contact something ‘other’ than themselves. Indeed, they often talk of a ‘voice’ inside their heads.
One possible explanation for this comes from the ‘split-brain’ concept. We know that we have a left and right brain, the former dealing with rationality, the latter with inspiration, emotion, artistry. And it has been suggested often that the one can seem to interact with the other as if a voice.

There seem to be ‘mechanisms’ the medium can use.

But these still tell us little about whether they really contact the ‘other’. We DO know that a medium seems to go into a trance, which is seen as a descent into the inner mind. If we bring into the discussion such concepts as Jung’s ‘collective unconscious’, then we can argue the deeper we go into the mind, the more communal it becomes, thus connecting with ‘other’.
We can also learn a great deal by looking at mediumship throughout history. Contact with ‘other’ is first identified in the tribal shaman. Christian mystics seem to have a similar ability. Spiritualism eventually appeared, contacting the dead. And the modern expression of mediumship comes in the Channeller, who seems to contact discarnate entities.

This suggests the ‘other’ changes over time.

But is there a connection? I think there is. For in each case the medium seems to connect with the contemporary cultural expression of our dreams and desires. Contacting nature, God, the dead, or higher spiritual or extraterrestrial masters ape our ideas of our spirituality at any one time in history.
I suggest, therefore, that the ‘other’ could well be our culture – itself a form of entity above the individual, and the guiding process to who we are. The medium could well be in touch with the spark of zeitgeist that is us. But what process is behind this ability?
Studies of many mediums show that they suffered adversity at some point in their lives. This is also true with the average Christian mystic. As for the shaman, some argue they are similar to borderline schizophrenics. And people who suffer such adversity often cut themselves off psychologically from the physical world and descend into the deep mind. And is it not when we are in the deeper mind that we dream of ‘other’?
Of course, I could be wrong, and mediums do exactly what it says on the tin.

© Anthony North, October 2008

27 Responses to “HOW TO EXPLAIN MEDIUMS”

  1. she said

    i love watching john oliver off “haunting evidence”

  2. Hi She,
    Thanks for the comment. I’ve heard of the programme, but haven’t watched it.

  3. she said

    watch it!! it’s amazing.

  4. Twilight said

    This is a source of constant puzzlement to me, AN. Your theory is tempting.
    I tend to think that some mediums (not all) are mind readers, though they probably don’t realise it.

    Last year there was a very interesting TV show here in the US – “Psychic Challenge” – a group of mediums were given a variety of tests, week by week.
    Typing the show’s name into Google will bring up the show’s website :

    Lifetime’s new reality competition features 16 unique individuals from across the country who claim to have the gift of clairvoyance. They’re going to battle it out for the coveted title of America’s #1 Psychic. In each episode, contestants must prove their abilities by participating in carefully designed tests like searching for a man hidden in a hospital, doing a reading for someone without knowing their identity, precisely identifying specific details of an investigation at a murder scene and much more. The competitors are awarded points based on the number of successful predictions they make. At the conclusion of each episode,… More

    I’m not sure whether clairvoyance and mediumship are the same, but most of the contestants were mediums, I think. It was amazing to see the level of accuracy some of them could achieve – but their skills were patchy – inconsistent. that seems to be the problem in all tests of anything paranormal doesn’t it?

  5. Hi Twilight,
    Capturing paranormal talents in tests is a nightmare. But there are two possibilities here. If it is mind phenomenon, then there is equal difficulty in psychology and psychiatry. If it is a ‘real’ phenomenon, there has to be a working theory in science to place the data alongside.
    And herein lies the problem – and the reason I spend so much time on theorising on the paranormal. Trying to work out a theory which allows the data to be properly analysed.
    I suspect all such talents will eventually form part of a holistic theory, with clairvoyance and mediumship being different examples of it.

  6. This issue is a mystery to me. I’m not sure if I believe or not. On the one hand I find it unbelievable, but on the other it has possibilities. Kind of scary at the same time as well. Have a great day and weekend. Off to the boat for a long weekend. 🙂

  7. Spiricom said

    The universe is infinitely larger than anyone can realise, and there are certainly sections of extended spectrum which can be accessed via the alpha state. Mediums if they are genuine will invoke this extended spectrum more easily than others whislt in a conscious state. Everybody enters this spectrum in sleep state. There are undoubtedely charlatans who make claims out of play acting. The best guide is to go to a governing body to get the approved list of mediums already tested. Space is short here, so please feel free to visit me on E-Bay as member Spiricom0. I will then be able to send you the latest version of ‘Spiritualism Explained’, an interactive CD-ROM. You can send an e-mail to peteup@hotmail.com or an international text to +44 7830 735640.

  8. Hi Sandee,
    To me, it isn’t a matter of belief, but the simple questions of (1) does the anecedotal evidence stand up to scrutiny, and (2) are there theories that can be applied.
    I think the jury is still out 😉

    Hi Spiricom,
    Thanks for that input.

  9. Like many others I don’t know whether I believe in being able to talk to the other side, but then again I would also like to think that there is something after this life, so it is possible. The thought that I have a dead loved one watching over me to be quite honest frightens the life out of me. Just think about it, no secret would be unknown to them, (and I have a few I would prefer I alone knew).

  10. Hi Little Old Me,
    Yes, I can see your point 🙂 But it remains a fascinating subject.

  11. Selma said

    I am ambivalent about mediums. I have met one who was definitely making everything up but then I met another who was totally accurate. I don’t know what to believe!

  12. Hi Selma,
    A very difficult subject. But they’ll keep on ‘communicating’, and researchers will keep on thinking about it 😉

  13. wskipsey said

    I rather like C.G.Jung’s views in ‘Memories Dreams Reflections’ based on his experience as a professional analyst. Chilling stuff.
    Waldo.

  14. Hi Waldo,
    Of course, Jung had all the attributes of a medium himself, if he’d decided to go down that road.

  15. njguy said

    I used to think, like many, that Mediums were full of shit. That they were taking advantage of people in pain, grieving a loss. Looking for a quick, dishonest buck. So like most, I had a knee jerk reaction to their claims.

    But at the same time, I would say, in all honesty, I just don’t know if Mediums are real or not. I’ve never researched the subject – and that is a key difference between someone who doesn’t know and a Skeptic. A skeptic can say it doesn’t exist, no way, now how, without ever researching the subject a bit. Their opinion is based in what they feel, not what they’ve learned.

    Then one day I picked up a book written by a very well known, very well respected PhD, Gary Schwartz. Well that opened the door. It’s a real eye opener. I then downloaded his further studies (done at the University of Arizona), and the more I read, the more I understood, that some people have a gift most of us couldn’t even dream of.

    After researching (and that includes reading both sides of every argument / discussion), I set up an appointment w/ well known Medium George Anderson. Well Folks, the rest is history. Now I’m a Medium advocate. Know I can say, without hesitation, Mediums are real.

    If you’re a close minded Skeptic, don’t bother responding to my Post. I’ve already read everything you could possibly think of from the “expert” skeptics. Unless you have something intelligent to say, and you can back it up w/ data, I’m not interested. I’m not concerned with your feelings. I’m only interested in what exists and is proven.

    I would recommend Gary’s book, The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death to anyone interested in starting to learn about this area. I also suggest you read about ms. Piper. One of the best known Mediums, ever, who was studied by dozens of Skeptics, year after year, and was never found to be a fraud.

    Find out for yourself. All the data you need is out there. You just have to explore it on your own.

  16. Hi Njguy,
    You’ve committed the cardinal sin, here, of automatically assuming I’m not aware of Schwartz, and have not read up on Piper. The former is doing excellent work, and the latter was as close as James ever got to his ‘white crow’.
    I don’t deny the abilities of mediums – merely ask: what are those abilities. Some of the researchers who studied Piper argued that her main guide, Phinuit, was more like a secondary personality – something another great medium, Garrett, accepted of her own guides. Piper herself thought that her information came through a form of ESP rather than contact with the dead.
    This is the problem – they could well contact the dead for all I know, but there is no way of accurately measuring or theorising upon it. So I work with the knowledge we have, hoping that some day it will be nudged further into the darkness of the subject.
    Working with such knowledge, my own ideas revolve around a kind of ’emergence’ arising from the abilities we know we have. I write about it in greater detail here:

    TELEPATHY AND COMMUNITY

    You may find it interesting.

  17. ooosyadady said

    Hi AN i have read your work for some time now and have been a very big fan and impressed at your knowledge and open mindedness. I always say that there are 3 types of ppl who are interested in the paranormal. They are the fanatical believer, the debunker and the skeptic.

    The first 2 in my opinion are equally damaging to the understanding of the paranormal as they appear to collate evidence that strengthens there particular point of view and twist it to come to a conclusion that best suits there preconceived ideas, not necercerally correct but a conclusion that they are happy with.

    The skeptic on the other hand collates the evidence from all aspects and areas trys to understand it and comes to a conclusion based on the evidence presented to them, again not necercerally correct but a conclusion that they are comfortable with. This is why although being a practicing medium within the spiritualist national union in the UK i consider myself a skeptic.

    I believe 100% in the survival of consiousness after the point of physical death. Unfortunatly i cannot prove this or know entirley what it actualy is but believe we can communicate with it. When i work even before the change in the law i always started by saying “what i am about to do i believe is communicating with the after life. I cannot prove this sadly i can just give evidence, it is upto you what you do with this evidence all i ask is to open your mind”

    This caused criticism from other mediums who think they could prove it. All i can say is be wry of anyone who says they can prove it, for although there is a chance they could be genuine they would appear not to understand it to well.

  18. Savannah said

    Aloha! Darn, I was hoping this blog was going to tell me how I do it. But I don’t seem to fit the bill – I never go into trance, I’ve talked to a whole lot of “dead” people who I never knew, nor knew anyone who knew them – (spontaneous mediumship??) so I was hoping you were going to identify how it happens. But, darn, just another article claiming all the most far fetched reasons for it that one could think of… and missing the most simple and most obvious… that is, maybe we really are contacted by the expired, (as I have never summoned one myself) or by extraterrestrials, or spirit guides. Come on you guys – grow up- just cuz it doesn’t happen to you doesn’t mean it isn’t real. 🙂

  19. Bill Grote said

    As someone who has studied, taught and given readings to complete strangers from the podium. I can say that there is something to spiritualism. I never did research or was concious of any mind-reading of the individuals I read for.

    It was as though I entered a light trance and images and thoughs flowed in through a doorway in the back of my mind. The hard part (as a beginning spiritualist) was sharing these images and thoughts to the person. Sometimes they made no sense to me, but made sende to the person receiving the reading.

    Having been in study groups and attending many readings I saw many readings given by others that were spot on, and detailed, while others were vauge and way off. I feel there is something to spiritualism, but I cannot claim to fully understand it.

  20. Hi Ooosyadady,
    Thanks for your kind words at the beginning, there. Proof is such a difficult thing in this field – more so than most. I hope I don’t ever totally discount anything, but feel the most comfortable with rationalising what appears to happen with what we can rationally conceive can happen.
    This can sometimes make me appear too much of a sceptic to some, but whatever ideas I come up with are simply works in progress – a problem of the limitations of what we can know at this moment.
    I think that makes sense 😉
    Hope to hear from you again.

    Hi Savannah
    I don’t say it isn’t real. But to automatically accept it can only be a belief. This is so because our knowledge, at present, cannot explain it in those terms.
    I’m a researcher, not a religionist.

  21. Hi Bill,
    Thanks for that honest appraisal. I go into more detail of what I think could be occuring in the link to comment #16 above. You may find it interesting.

  22. Michael said

    Hi Anthony,

    Having been training in the sciences and being a successful businessman, I do not fit the profile of a medium and indeed do not consder myself one. But I do consider myself a successful occultist and have some first hand experience of mediumship.

    In my experience I am able to invoke entities – one in particular – to the extent that in trance I apparently speak a foreign language similar to Hebrew. Of course, intentionally allowing posession, I observe from the astral plane and so am not aware of the physical manifestation although my wife assures me I appear markedly different.

    I myself have no conclusive explanation and often wonder whether it is merely a facet of subconscious personality; perhaps an overflow from the collective subconscious.

    The consculsion of my analysis so far is that the collective consciousness may have actually created sentient entities of various kinds – from Isis and Osiris to Krishna – and these entities are every bit as real as you and I, although most do not currently manifest in the physical world.

    Many of these entities rely on us to exist: the energy we pour in through belief systems sustains them. And this is how it is possible to make a pact with Jesus or Azazel or even Mary.

    Michael

  23. Hi Michael,
    Thanks for that interesting comment. I suspect we are not that far apart in explaining such things. I wrote about a related subject a while ago, highlighting my own ideas, and a very interesting debate followed on entities. You may find it interesting, here:

    A DEMON CALLS

  24. njguy said

    Thanks Anthonynorth. I really appreciate the response and interesting link.

    I certainly understand what you’re saying and why you need to say it. I respect that. But I’m still not sure I understand it. Since you’ve read Schwartz and know about Piper then you know the type of information Mediums are capable of getting about their sitters. So if mediumship is a figment or manifestation of our own minds, I still don’t understand WHERE the information is coming from. How does someone conjure specific information about a person sitting next to, across from, over the phone with, and so on…

    A collective consciousness? I think that’s an extreme long shot. There’s too much documented research that shows Mediums are normally corrected by, wherever or whoever is sending them information. If a collective consciousness exists, is it capable of being “interactive?” Everything I’ve read about it makes it seem like a huge hard drive floating in the universe. One that collects everything that happens, all the time. But I’ve never seen any research about it being able to interact or correct the viewer/listener.

    As far as mind-reading, how does someone know all about the sitter, including things the sitter doesn’t know. Where did the information come from. I would find it hard to believe that it’s merely a coincidence. It happens too much.

    So again, where does the information come from.

    I know your rallying cry – if it’s not proven by science, or defined by science, you can’t say it’s real. Again, I’ll respect that. But since I don’t find myself held back with those same restraints, I can say very plainly, life continues after your body dies. Some people can communicate with whatever remains after the body has been turned to something else. I certainly can’t, but in this case, I don’t have to personally experience it to believe it.

  25. Hi Njguy,
    I suspect that an answer to your main question will eventually come from a form of emergence of so many different factors, including coincidence, the communality I speak of, etc. And even then, it will only be theoretical.
    You’re not exactly right in the first sentence of your last paragraph. I DO consider things beyond defined science, but only by nudging that science on a step or two.
    You see, to me knowledge can be of three kinds. Scientific, belief or philosophical. The first two seem to me to be the extremes of the quest, with philosophy being the middleground, looking at the other two, and seeing what can be said rationally about the state of knowledge at the moment.
    Certainly I don’t think there will be absolute answers to anything in the long run. Knowledge seems to be like that – always something new to discover. And I certainly don’t deal in ‘truth’. For instance, you could well be right about life after death. I simply don’t know. But if we accept it, what then?

  26. baz said

    hi anthony

    as always i try to find a solution that benifits mankind, therefore i am again of the opinion that mediumship is another way of showing us we are not alone. its so much easier to maintain a happy countenance with the hope that mediums bring of something better. as for your speculations, i think it doesn’t matter how the medium delivers the message, even if by fraud. its the effect of the hope they instill in people that allows them to go forward with confidence accomplishing the tasks we’re here for.

    remember you are god

    baz

  27. Hi Baz,
    Yes, I see your point of them as messengers in a wider meaning. But I’ll carry on theorising away. Even if we ever get an answer, you can guarantee it will leave another, greater mystery in its wake.
    It’s the fun of knowledge.

Leave a comment