BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

STORYTELLING AND THE PARANORMAL

Posted by anthonynorth on December 3, 2008

Have you tried my current affairs? Stay informed.
Also, fiction and poetry.

alpha-haunted-house Two of my main areas of writing are the short story and the paranormal. As a writer of fiction I allow my imagination to wander, whereas the paranormal essayist tries to use rationality in order to theorise on the unexplained.
Whilst both areas can deal with ghosties and ghouls and other creepy things, you would have thought the two disciplines were otherwise unrelated. Yet I’ve come to understand there is an amazing linkage between storytelling and the paranormal.

vampire-3 Dracula is a perfect example.

Not long after the novel was published, many cases began to appear taking elements of the novel. It was as if a little bit of fiction had crept into paranormal reality.
I’ve written before of how alien abductors seem to bow to cultural impulses. Known as ‘cultural tracking’, it is as if our appreciation of what an alien looks like and does owes something to the way we relate to it through story and culture.

I think a similar impulse can be found in the paranormal.

Take the classic scenario for past life regression, where a hypnotized person can go back to previous lives. Yet usually this happens best with a therapist who believes in reincarnation.
It is almost as if a form of ‘transference’ has occurred, with the ideals of the therapist actually passed on to the subject. Indeed, ‘false memory syndrome’ suggests a similar form of infection between therapist and subject.

The process can be traced back to the ancient campfire.

Here, the tribal shaman would be more like a storyteller than a mystic, recounting magical tales of gods and demons. But did he relate what had happened, or create what was soon to be?
The campfire storyteller was most likely the original source that became the great myths of antiquity. From these came legends and finally folklore. And the early literature of the paranormal seems to echo such tales.

ghosts The poltergeist is a classic example.

We can trace examples of the poltergeist going back centuries. Yet we do not see it as a poltergeist, but as a troublesome fairy, having its wicked paranormal way with a household.
Today, the phenomena can be very similar, but it is of a more sinister nature, and if an entity is seen, it is most likely to come from the local graveyard. Culture has impinged upon the subject and provided subtle transformation.
In the modern world psychology has devised subjects such as semiotics, which tell us how symbols around us have power to affect our behaviour. You’re hungry and you see the label on a can of soup and salivate. But this response is to an image of expectation rather than the sight or smell of food.
And it is the role of the storyteller to provide images and scenarios within culture in order to entertain and educate us. But the above suggests that maybe his role is more fundamental than this.
Perhaps the storyteller also exists to place that little bit of control over our cultural psyche, producing our myths of tomorrow, and regulating our behaviour by doing so.
Of course, I am not saying that the storyteller creates the paranormal. Clearly, other ‘mechanisms’ exist for phenomena. But I am suggesting that such mechanisms bend to the storyteller’s whim.
Perhaps, if we understood this, we would have a better understanding of the prompters and machinations behind the human condition.

© Anthony North, December 2008

20 Responses to “STORYTELLING AND THE PARANORMAL”

  1. I agree with you on this one. I’m the first one to say I don’t understand most of this, but I do believe that our culture and the storytellers shape the now and the future.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  2. Hi Sandee,
    Yes, it is usually the case. We ARE our story.

  3. Fascinating, marvelous stuff. We often talk about this.

    Have you seen Australia, the film? There is a line about being a story.

  4. Hi Fullbodytransplant,
    Thanks for that. I haven’t seen this film yet. I must do so.

  5. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    I agree with you (again!).
    The storyteller does not create the paranormal, he/she ‘creates’ the expectation and thats when your “consensus reality” kicks in.
    If our “consensus reality” was one of positivity then that may well be where it leads us, to a positive outlook.
    There is so much ‘doom and gloom’ out there it is no wonder that so many of our children are suffering from major depression. Two of my own nephews don’t even want to ‘step outside’. Maybe the “machinations behind the human condition” are simply a case of pessimism and optimism ‘slugging it out’?
    Another really interesting post Anthony, thanks!

  6. yhen said

    nice story! 😉

  7. Hi Chris,
    I think this is excactly how it works. Our story decides our mentality, so if that story is gloomy, so are we – eventually.
    I’m starting to work on a number of pieces showing how paranormal understanding can move into philosophy, including morality, politcs, knowledge, etc. I’ll be following this line a lot.
    Not sure when they’ll appear – maybe a month or two. Have to work them out properly, and they’re in line after my more current ideas.

  8. Twilight said

    I agree with you up to a point, AN. I don’t think this is the whole paranormal story. It could account for much – maybe most – of what we hear and read about.
    I feel sure there’s something else though. You have said, I note, that “other ‘mechanisms’ exist for phenomena” – it’s not easy to say which phenomena though.

    Also, we could play the game of “which came first hen or egg” – did the old storyteller and shaman dream up tales out of thin air, or from experiences of their own or others, handed down, modified, embroidered?

  9. Ah, transference… The damage it can do. I enjoyed this very much. Thanks for this, Anthony.

  10. Hi Twilight,
    A good analysis. Yes, things were eperienced in the deep past – the mechanisms are not for this post – but in order to explain we get interpretation, and it is here that ‘form’ is given to experience. This becomes a kind of feedback loop, with the interpretation making it more likely it will be experienced again, AS interpreted.
    At least, that’s what I think went on, and to a certain extent still does.

    Hi Sandy,
    Many thanks. Yes, transference is a powerful thing, often causing a great deal of trouble. It should be studied more closely – much more closely. Particularly in terms of false memory syndrome.

  11. paisley said

    despite an ever present desire to believe in the paranormal,, all my attempts at luring such creatures of the night into my all to human existence have failed… so i guess i am going to have to rely on you my friend to take me there…….

  12. Hi Paisley,
    From my experience, unless you are a well practiced adept, the one guarantee of never experiencing anything is to actively look for them.
    They are always very uncooperative little imps.

  13. animar said

    Oh Tony, you know your way to my heart with posts like these;-)

    I hope you’re having a great December now I’m away to enjoy your other articles.

    Take Care
    Anita Marie

  14. Hi Anita Marie,
    Thanks for that. Yes, that link with storytelling is definitely there – and I can see why you enjoy the idea. Keep writing ’em 😉

  15. herbie said

    I write too..

    My stories are not planned ( I write narrative poetry ) and do not believe they are stories as such because I feel them as energy that shifts my own level of awarness.

    This is hard to explain but I feel basically the will of the teller can call upon and bring into certain essences which when put into material form i.e. word can bring into other ” possibilties ” for changing reality i.e. the close to the source the more powerful the story beceoms and its impact on culture.

    I beliver this was far more powerful in yesteryears because ideas were still being fresh and new ,whereas as now they’re retold mostly or irrelevant through technology.

    Joseph Campbell work it excellent source for this.

  16. Hi Herbie,
    I’m a big fan of Campbell. He understood the process very well. Mindst you, storytelling is far from dead.
    Click Home on this blog. You’ll find loads of it.

  17. Me said

    “Whilst both areas can deal with ghosties and ghouls and other creepy things, you would have thought the two disciplines were otherwise unrelated.”

    Uh… no. Just the reverse, actually.

    “Yet I’ve come to understand there is an amazing linkage between storytelling and the paranormal.”

    It’s about time.

    My biggest criticism of paranormal circles is that so few of the zealous “I’ll believe anything” wing seems impervious to this simple, blatantly obvious fact. It’s why most books and website on the subject are so easy to dismiss, and why legitimate inquiries can rarely be taken seriously anymore. Too many people approach such subjects using their imaginations instead of their wits.

  18. Hi Me,
    If you think I am putting the paranormal down to storytelling, full stop, I suggest you read the post again. I am merely saying that storytelling can have an effect on the nature of the phenomena.
    The mechanisms behind the subject are something completely different.

  19. Graham Priestley said

    Anthony, have you ever written for Fortean Times magazine? If not then you should give it some thought. The FT readers would love your articles. 🙂

  20. Hi Graham,
    No I’ve never appeared in FT, though their site has linked to my posts now and again.

Leave a comment