BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  

PREMONITION ALERT!!!

Posted by anthonynorth on February 11, 2009

time The aircraft crashed into the field before my eyes. I’d been lazily strolling down a country lane when the jet fighter thundered overhead. And a couple of seconds later I saw the disaster.
Well, actually, I hadn’t. I’d imagined it. I’d seen images, but they were within my own mind. Yet, a couple of hours later I turned on the news and there, not fifty miles from my location, a jet fighter of the same type had crashed.

Was it the same fighter that had flown over me?

halloween-3I don’t know, but chances were high. And there was little doubt I had had a premonition of disaster. Now, I won’t tell you the type of aircraft, or when it happened.
As with most anecdotes, it is unproveable, and I mention it simply as an example of one of my many experiences, and the thought patterns following the event. You see, I didn’t go all mystical. I went all rational.

First of all, I knew the jet type intimately.

I’m ex-RAF and worked for 18 months on a squadron that flew the type. My office was in the hangar, and I walked past them dozens of times a day.
I saw them fly dozens of times a day, and knew many of the aircrew. And the simple fact was, I knew how the jet sounded, acted, and where the dangers lay. So the question is: did I unconsciously note there was something wrong with that jet, thus producing the mind image?

This is the most likely explanation.

If, of course, it was the same jet I saw. This is a totally rational explanation. And if such pre-knowledge can happen to me, it must happen to hundreds of people every day – which is an unused resource.
Researchers are slowly drawing back the shadows of precognition. We now know electromagnetism can affect the mind, and some attribute it to pre-knowledge of earthquakes, etc, as known to be sensed by animals, and some humans.

mobile Knowledge intuited unconsciously can easily produce a premonition.

Such knowledge can come from anything from subliminally smelling the hint of gas, to a fleeting conversation heard days ago, but triggered by something new. Two and two come together and a flash of pre-knowledge can be the result.
Why isn’t this vast pool of pre-knowledge being used to save lives? Okay, a premonitions bureau has been tried from time to time, without much success. Any information received was too late.
This is no longer the case. Now we have mobile phones and instant communication. Of course, many such premonitions are spurious, and such a bureau would be inundated by hoax calls. But I’m convinced that a dedicated network of researchers and operators would eventually find a pattern in the nature of calls coming in, allowing them to issue suitable alerts.
Once that happened there is the possibility of a real pre-knowledge intelligence ability, especially regarding the rise in premonitions surrounding major disasters. And if ever shown to work, it would destroy the notion that there is no value in parapsychology.
Of course, everyone would need to know the number of the network so as to contact it straight away. Now what catches the attention? The US emergency number is 911; the UK has 999. I know. How about 666?

© Anthony North, February 2009

45 Responses to “PREMONITION ALERT!!!”

  1. I think you are so right, Anthony. I think we have lost our sense of connection to this world and the ability of our mind and instincts to connect with it in myriad ways.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I’m convinced we connect unconsciously, and unknowingly. It is as if we’ve become entrapped within the senses, without knowing there is more to our attentive abilities.

  3. chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Premonition alert, very good call, its about time we all woke up. I can feel a coffee-black mode (not from, you from me) impending.

  4. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for that. You see, the premonitions are percolating already 😉

  5. Rose said

    Morning Tony.

    See, I knew, before I even got here that you’d be talking about this subject.

    Spooky. 🙂

    Rose

    xo

    P.S.

    Has the snow melted yet?

  6. paisley said

    the only problem i have with the premise of premonitions,, is how many i have that never come true!!!!!

  7. Dogran said

    It’s interesting to see your views on this. I remember having a long discussion with a friend of mine who was convinced she’d had a premonition but was struggling with it because she didn’t believe in “all that psychic rubbish”.

    I remember explaining to her that – at least as far as I was concerned – precognition was, like so many other things, paranormal but not supernatural. I’m a very great believer in that difference: ‘paranormal’ I consider to be some sort of natural phenomenon that at present we’ve no good explanation for. Whereas I don’t accept the idea of ‘supernature’ because as far as I’m concerned anything that exists or happens is natural by definition.

    Information received by psychic means is simply information that’s come to us in ways so subtle that we don’t really notice we’re receiving it. Just as you wonder if you – with your in-depth experience – subconsciously picked up on something ‘not quite right’ about the fighter you saw, so I think that, for example, people who are strongly empathic have the ability to read others in ways that most of us just can’t (or won’t) manage. I don’t think this detracts from the fascination of psychical or other paranormal phenomena; but I do think it’s important to stress that ‘believing’ in the paranormal (as opposed to denying it) doesn’t necessarily entail becoming totally credulous, as some sceptics like to suggest.

  8. And good morning to you Rose,
    You mean you don’t know 😉
    Yes, it’s gone where I am, but others still have it, whilst others are now knee deep in water.

    Hi Paisley,
    Good point, and I’ll write an essay on this. I’ve put it on my list, so can’t predict when it’ll appear. Maybe a month or so.
    One way it can work is like this: you’re shopping in a city. You’ll be in the vicinity of thousands of conversations. You do not not hear these. You simply don’t realise you have, and they’re in the unconscious. One of them was about someone at a specific place.
    A couple of days later, you decide to go there tomorrow – maybe even influenced by this conversation. That night, your mind works like a search engine and connects the conversation to your intent, and you dream of the place, complete with the information you’ve already heard of someone being there.
    This is a premonition, but it is only a probability. The people in the conversation could have got it wrong, or the person decided not to go. So the premonition ends up wrong.

  9. Hi Dogran,
    Thanks for that, and I totally agree with you about the difference between ‘paranormal’ and ‘supernatural’. Indeed, you might find my comment, above, interesting.

  10. Twilight said

    Another fascinating topic AN! Our brains are such amazingly complex, and as yet under-researched, mechanisms that it’s not hard to imagine they are capable of doing a little mild time travel and reporting back to us. Your theory is a good alternative though, and it’s one I’ve often thought about myself with respect to intuition. I guess intuition could be described as the close cousin of premonition.

    When I have an intuition about something I always wonder whether it’s because I’ve picked up information over time and stored it, then collated it at a particular time. The “particular time” is the key though….and the reason why, at that partuclar time it all surfaces. 🙂

  11. Hi Twilight,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I’m sure intuitions are related. As for the particular time, as I’ve said in a comment above, I suspect, if correct, all these little bits of info are selected similar to a search engine.
    A related factor sparks it off, and up pop all these little bytes of communality.

  12. I can see where this could indeed happen. Your analogy made perfect sense to me. We are such creatures of habit that any variation would be a signal to us whether or not we truly acknowledged it. You always make me think about things in a different light or for the first time. Thank you for that.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  13. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. Most of the paranormal can have quite simple, rational answers if looked at sensibly. And I’m pleased I’m doing my job by putting concepts and ideas before people.

  14. bundleocontradictions said

    Fascinating post. That’s one of the reasons I struggle w/ some of the dreams I have. I often feel the urge to contact the people I’ve dreamed about to make sure they’re okay, even if I haven’t spoken w/ them in years. Hm…maybe my last dream spells rocky encounters in my personal life in the near future…

  15. Hi Bundleocontradictions,
    This is the thing about dreams. When people start to record them, an amazng number of possible precognitive dreams occur.

  16. chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    I like that concept on ‘incorrect’ premonitions. It reminds me of the g.i.g.o. principle. If the ‘data’ inputted in the first place is erroneous, then so will be the ‘solution’ found by the ‘search engine’, however, access to quality data inputted results in a ‘relevant solution’ (outcome).

  17. Hi Chris,
    Yes, I guess that’s about right. I find it interesting how so much of such psycho-sociology, collective unconscious, call it what you will, fits so perfectly into internet terminology. Maybe we’re unconsciously building a shadow in the material world.

  18. chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Yes, maybe we are mirror-imaging ‘reality’. There is a post on U-M today in relation to gut instinct that you may find interesting.

  19. Hi Chris,
    It’s good to know science is trying to catch up with pseudoscholars – and I bet they’ll try to take the credit 🙂
    Now all they have to do is ditch the word ‘brain’, and use ‘mind’ instead – something much more far reaching.

  20. chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Yep. If we can get them out of the brain ditch of ‘funnel’ thinking that they’ve gotten themselves ‘stuck’ in and redivert them into the ‘mind-mapping channel’ then maybe there is hope for a more holistic approach yet.
    Its funny, quite a bit of scientific investigation I’ve been reading about seems to be moving down paths that you have already covered, broadly speaking, and it seems to be confirming many of your ‘concepts’.
    Of course they’ll take the credit, but pseudoscholars don’t mind, after all, philosophers are seekers of truth, not fame……. aren’t they? 🙂

  21. Hi Chris,
    Absolutely. Though every philosophy should have a by-product 😉
    No, I won’t be a hypocrite – of course any writer wants a touch of fame. Infact, it’s the best kind. People can know your name, but easily forget what you look like. So you can be well known and live fairly normally.
    Now that makes sense.

  22. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    Re: “How about 666?” How about 666.org – although I would avoid 666 due to bad biblical press associated with it 🙂
    This would be a perfect project for some internet database wizs
    to pull together. Let the premonitionee enter their info, which could be key word scanned & accumulated in a searchable database.
    Back in my public accounting days, we did a similar project for a client involved in litigation. Back then, we key worded documents by hand & the resultant info was sent to the Phillipines for batch entry into a database. Wow, that shows my age! 😉
    Maybe someday it will happen- the internet can be such a useful tool- it only takes imagination (& know how).

  23. Hi Linda,
    This is it. It CAN be done. And then the patterns analysed over time, hopefully to the point that probabilities can arise, immediately, and warnings given.
    I still like 666, though. Beastly, I know 😉

  24. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    I’m not a church goer (don’t like dogma) but I suppose one might scare off some interesting data 😉

  25. Hi Linda,
    Awww … alright then 🙂

  26. Jane Doe said

    I firmly believe that precognition is a gift some people have, and maybe everyone could have if they knew how to develop it, though I don’t believe those that truly have it advertise on television and have 800 numbers. So much of our brain is unused, as far as current science knows, and I believe that it is from those areas that precognitive awareness occurs, though that is just a guess on my part as I am not well versed in the science of the brain.

    There have been many, many times I’ve thought of somebody and then the phone rings and it’s them. Or times when I haven’t spoken to or thought of a person in ages, then one day they come to mind and soon after they call or email or whatever.

  27. Hi Jane Doe,
    Thanks for that. Those experiences are so very common.

  28. Travis said

    Such a bureau might be feasible if some didn’t carry the idea of precognition too far into the realm of outlandishness so that many others consider it all to be hooey.

    Dang but that’s a clunky sentence! You know what I mean though?

    I watch some of these paranormal programs on tv, and they over-dramatize so much until it seems like a joke. And I find myself rolling my eyes, not taking it seriously, and changing the channel.

  29. Hi Travis,
    I feel the same. There are too main elements to the ‘paranormal’ – the experiences of ordinary people and show biz. Believe me, there is a world of difference between the two.

  30. Jamie said

    The limbic brain works just fine if people pay attention to it. All those animal “senses” are there to read. Sometimes the nightime dream machine dredges them up in the form of premonitions or wild complete acts of artistic creation.

  31. Hi Jamie,
    You’ve hit the nail on the head there with the creativity element of this process. It has given us so much of cultures past.

  32. I like the way you played with the prompt!

  33. Hi Deborah,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  34. t'mara said

    you are right anthony. this is why i started studying remote viewing. i want my generalized “feelings” and vague premonitions to be reliable, timely and recognizable as premonitions. i want to be a TRAINED clairvoyant. have you ever tried r/v-ing? feeling the way you do you should try it. we’ve been doing it for almost two years now. we researched everytjhing on the web and in print, and slowly phase by phase developed our own templates and techniques. remote viewing is the poetic speech of psi, so it takes training and study to understand your results. the wealth of information that is available is amazing. this is a skill that can be trained and developed.

  35. Hi T’mara,
    I’ve never tried it, but I’ve certainly researched it. It seems to me to be a mild, and trainable, form of OBE.

  36. JohnSmith said

    The purpose of attention is to make things happen. If we assume that we are not always completely aware of our attentions/thoughts, then it is perfectly acceptable to admit that we are aware of things we are not conscious of or should I say not paying attention to.
    I firmly believe that if I could control my thoughts completely and at will I would be capable of many so-called impossible things. I do not find it unrealistic for a person involved so much with aviation and the military to have had this knowledge beforehand. The innocent are not so innocent are they?
    I, at one time, decided to make a song in my head. I was a bit younger and had most certainly fewer resposibilities than I do now. I made up the song with words and everything right from inside my mind, no notes-nothing. It sounded great and I was slightly impressed as I thought that it could actually make it as a real song knowing all along it was just a flight of fancy.
    The very next day I heard this song on the radio and the dj said specifically that it had never aired before. I was slightly miffed as i thought that I had personally created it but come to find out maybe I was just hearing it ahead of time. I do like the second reasoning more as I know I will never make a songwriter much less an artist in any classical sense.
    Like I said if we were in control of the mess we call a mind and were more intune with our bodies as a whole, whole landscapes of information would open up to anyone who bothered.

  37. Hi John,
    Thanks for that comment, and I suspect you may be right about controlling our thoughts in this way.

  38. josie said

    I get premonition for as long as i can remember i had some that saved my life but i had one that is so disterbing when i have them they go in a way that i been there before and it is leading up to the death of my husban and i am scared and i am getting that gut fealing that i had that i had before that i didn’t go on this road that day adn saved my self from a car accadent and now im having that fealing again.

  39. Hi Josie,
    Thanks for that comment. Remember, it is often difficult to tell the difference between ‘premonitions’ and unconscious fears for the future.

  40. aeschmann said

    anthony,you have a good explanation
    unfortunately, not all the time we have the explanation at hand
    let me explain why i say that
    i am romanian,and back in the summer of 1989 i had a series of repetitive dreams
    briefly,i foresaw in my dreams a war,then something crippling and twisting the minds of romanians
    now,years after, i understand what i saw.
    according to your explanation,i’ve had a premonition based on informations i had at the time.
    anthony,what information could have a teenager about a so called revolution and the twists that romanian life will take ?
    my point is that is something more than informations we detain.
    i don’t have answers,but i still have questions
    and,keep going,good luck

  41. Hi Aeschmann,
    Thanks for that.
    I’ve looked into many of the ‘premonitions’ such as yours and it is interesting to compare with political commentary at the same time. The results seem to show clearly rational fears caused by a changing world.
    Certainly, I know many pundits here in the UK realised that war and turmoil in this area would be an inevitability of the break up of the Warsaw Pact. Hence, could it be that your premonitions were based on the fears you sensed around you?

  42. Glenda said

    Hi, wow it has been a while since I visited! On prems… Deep subject… As a young girl I had a couple of disturbing ones which came true, both were of relatives both of whom I was not particularley close anyhow the dreams were of death, one a child the other an adult… I blamed myself for quite a while wondering if I could have prevented the events, of course I know I couldn’t.. Still feel terrible just recalling those ones…. Now as an adult I still have the odd prem, I don’t know why, it just happens……

  43. Hi Glenda,
    Thanks for sharing that – and welcome back.

  44. Bethw303 said

    Does anyone else get incredibly hot when they are having a premonition? Or feel sick at times?

  45. ricky said

    There would plenty of people who would have had similar experiences. I would request you to not keep your premonitions to yourself, share it with the world and people who are researching on this subject. If you believe you foresaw an incident then record it at Central Premonitions Registry, refer the link below:-
    http://mainportals.com/precog.shtml

Leave a comment