BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    March 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

THE NEW SUPERBEINGS

Posted by anthonynorth on March 4, 2009

cults-1 We are so used to living in a material world, ruled by pragmatism, relying solely on the individual, and leaving knowledge to science alone, that we forget that more collective psychologies may have a bearing on our lives.
Indeed, I’m convinced that ‘mechanisms’ exist throughout human experience that are just as prevalent today as in the past. It is just that our worldview is so short sighted that we do not even consider such esoteric elements.

Researchers such as Jung and Campbell knew this.

greek-warrior1 In their work on myths and archetypes, they identified specific personality traits that exist in myth. But more than this, they also appeared in our dreams.
Myths, it seems, were our dreams writ large – the first ‘media’, as it were. And the relationship between myth and us does not stop here. Indeed, it is fundamental to who we are.

Why did myths have such an effect on people?

Because those archetypal gods were actually aspects of our own psychology. In heroes such as Hercules we see an exaggerated form of the striving of the human.
Hence, myths get under our skin, because we intuitively know they are us. In some myths, such as Oedipus, we even find great human drama played out, and in this way, they become symbols of taboo.

This is the power of myth in action.

Through the storyteller, elements of our psychology and action are symbolised, and they become powerful controlling devices – moral theatre, to be exact.
But myths are even more than this. For instance, if myths out human psychology, then we can assume that the elements of myth should be eternal. After all, we seem to have been peculiarly human for a long time.

delta-woman I think they actually are eternal.

And this transfers from early myth-media to the modern. Change is not fundamental, but simply culture deep. We can see this in the mythological expression of womanhood.
In the deep past she was Aphrodite, a sexual and fertile being. The sexuality was taken away in the Virgin Mary. In modern times, the archetype was reborn in the Marilyn Monroe type, and we see the image still in the supermodel.
What we see here is a continual psychological controlling model using a definite archetype, changed only by the culture expressing it at a particular time. And in each case, womanhood aspired to be as the myth-media expressed it.
Hence, there are continually created cultural gods, or superbeings, refashioned for every age, which control so many elements of our action and psychology. Yet this powerful force is ignored by academe.
As such, we have no idea of correctly gauging just how virulent their influence really is. But we do have an indication from the latest myth-media ‘superbeing’ – an archetype that seems to live in an ‘other world’ to us, constantly revered, and making us aspire to be like them.
We call them celebrities.

© Anthony North, March 2009

40 Responses to “THE NEW SUPERBEINGS”

  1. I think myths are pure wisdom in the context of mysteries we’ll never solve. Every time I read one, I think, “of course.” I think it’s enough not to know everything but respect that there is more to know.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    A good way to treat knowledge – with respect and humility.

  3. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    Once again you have managed to relate so much varied content in a short piece. I’m hooked on this series- looking forward to the next part.
    Two sayings I like come to mind- do not know the authors- “the only thing constant is change” & “the more things change, the more they remain the same”. Seemingly disparite but probably arising from a common truth.
    I know I will be returning to comment on your last paragraph on femaleness. Although I do not consider myself a feminist- as the meaning is too extreme for my tastes- I am quite naturally pro female.

  4. Hi Linda,
    Thanks for that. Yes, as I see it, the only thing that ever changes in a historic sense is culture. Underneath, the same processes are going on, often unnoticed.
    By the way, this is my normal Wednesday essay, and quite separate to the Masocology series. The next part of that will be next Tuesday. Sorry for the confusion here.

  5. Twilight said

    It’s almost as though humans need to be able to see themselves in something and relate to it, in order to explain themselves. Even Snow White’s 7 dwarfs were tiny archetypes….Happy, Dopey, Bashful…etc. LOL! No doubt tiny kids would start relating to one or other of them.

    Astrology’s ancient roots rely heavily on myth to explain its principles, and were it not for the fact that it actually works, a lot of the time, I’d have said it is pure myth in itself. But it’s not, there’s more to it.

  6. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    My fault- I was looking forward to part II & should have noted that was not noted 🙂
    I will reread anew.
    I am curious tho as to why you think humans evolved from a goddess to god form of worship. Confidence that arose from more sophisticated forms of agriculture?

  7. Hi Twilight,
    Yes, we need a reflection, but the frightening thing is, so often, the power base reflects back at us what it wants us to see.
    A powerful force of control – and we’re ignoring it.

  8. Hi Linda,
    Your query shows the close relationship between this and the Masocology series, ‘cos my answer will fit both.
    Basically, Ego is very masculine, whereas the feminine is less about power, but connectedness. Further, the goddess is very much about the environment, whereas Egoistic religious forms concentrated more on society, which HAD to be patriarchal as power-urges rose.
    At least, that’s how I see it.

  9. Culture deep is right on the money. This changes often as well. We may not agree with it, but it happens nonetheless. I just never thought of it this way before. Very well put.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  10. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. Yes, culture is a subtle thing. It hides so much of how things really work.

  11. Hi Tony, sometimes I think we see what we want to see, regardless!

  12. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    I find interesting the change of the hyped ideal woman from the 50’s Marilyn Monroe sex kitten types- to the supermodel now in vogue who is waif thin but sometimes artificialy enhanced. This happened when women’s lib took off.
    Most women will never be so thin & most men prefer a woman with alittle more flesh on her bones.
    I don’t like nor want to be either type- and I think most women feel as I do. So why in the world are these images pushed upon us? And to makes things even more insulting, its amazing what some of the men who supposedly entice these “ideal women” look & act like(as portrayed in the media) UGH! 😉

  13. Hi Andy,
    To a point, I agree – but it is always tinged by what society wants us to see, too, I’m certain.

    Hi Linda,
    I think what we’re dealing with is a natural process within any sentient society. As to its purpose, I just have to think through my life. As a kid I was Bond, having all sorts of adventures. Later, I was inspired by Hendrix and Jimmy Page, ending up spending £100s on albums, guitars, speakers, amplifiers.
    At 20, with a lull in my life, how much of an effect did my ‘action man’ fantasies of youth have on my decision to join the forces? Even now, my fiction is always inspired by Poe, and my non-fiction on writers such as Colin Wilson.
    These symbols make us aspire to do. Think of the stiff-upper-lip of the Brit gent who went on to forge an empire, or the present suicide bombers, and their symbols of afterlife. These images have a massive effect, for good or bad.
    Today, they’re used to fuel fads and fashions, but still confirming the ideology behind a society – namely, capitalism.
    Personally, I think this is a major element of how a society works, for the good or bad, and it is virtually ignored by academe. So without understanding of the process, who knows what damage it could ultimately do.

  14. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    I’m not trying to be negative, but, celebrities in many cases, with the media’s help, are extremely poor role models for children, it is usually the ‘unsung’ heroes who do the ‘hard yards’ that set the best example, they’re the real ‘Superbeings’.

    Patriarchal power urges seem to have gotten us into a ‘right mess’. Personally, I’d love to see some of the feminine nurturing side filter back into society, I’ve had enough of ‘Alpha male’ aggression, all it does is lead us down a path of destruction and the unempathetic fools can’t even see it.

  15. Hi Chris,
    I totally agree with you on both counts. Sadly, though, ‘superbeings’ appear in line with the ideologies of the powers that be.
    As for the last point, in many ways I think this is one of the main failures of feminism – rather than feminising the world with their freedoms, they entered the patriarchal world on men’s terms, diluting the overall feminine influence.

  16. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Yes. I think that ‘feminism’ focused on the male aspects rather than the female aspects. It seemed that the urge to compete was based on ‘fighting it out’ on the same turf rather than ‘softening’ masculine ‘dominance’ with feminine ‘influence’. It’s such a pity that, generally speaking, both sexes haven’t learnt to appreciate and value each other’s ‘differentness’.
    A little ‘mellowing’ and ‘maturation’ in and of society wouldn’t go astray.

  17. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    Hi Chris also. As a female who entered into a male dominated profession (at that time), I can tell you that we did what was expected of a professional in that field & the game rules were dominated by men. So you played that game.
    Trust me- it was difficult enough to get reasonable maternity leave & not have your career influenced by the fact that you were a woman with “other responsibilities”. I’m afraid in the real world at that time- trying to soften male dominance would only have cost you your career.
    That’s the truth guys- unfortunately.
    Oh yeah, I was also voted “best legs” in the office- what an honor! We were not allowed to wear pants suits- only suits with skirts- they were deemed unprofessional. When I announced I was leaving the firm I switched to wearing pants suits to the office, & received alot of high 5’s from the female staff. 😉

  18. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Hi Linda.
    I know the problem. Back in the ’90’s when I was working with Coca-Cola in N.Z. I had predominantly a male sales team (150 of them), with only one ‘masculine’ female who was ‘one of the boys’.
    I changed this male environment to one of mixed sales divisions because the inter-mixing of the sexes provided a more ‘balanced’, realistic, work, ‘home’.
    I did this under some pretty heavy critique from my other male work peers. One comment stays fixed permanently in my recall. “You can’t hire women, they’ll get pregnant.”

    Anyhow, my team became the peak performer out of Australia and N.Z., consistently. I remember a couple of years later that mixed gender teams became a company ‘requirement’. The ‘gentleman’ that made the disgusting comment above, even started gloating about the number of women he was introducing into his team!

    Unfortunately that ‘old boys’ network syndrome still exists, the legal profession comes immediately to mind.

    By the way, congratulations on your ‘honour’, all of us males know that looks are more important than brains when it comes to performance! 🙂

  19. Linda G said

    Hi Chris
    (OK Anthony??)
    Let me tell you it is a challenge when your both attractive & intelligent. Usually the assumption is they can’t be present in one package.
    FYI- I did have the nicest legs & I didn’t need a “vote” to know it. 🙂

  20. Hi Linda & Chris both,
    I think one of the main problems is that not enough ‘feminine’ archetypes appeared. I can only speak for the UK here, but the ultimate role model was Thatcher, who totally immersed herself in ‘masculine’ culture.
    We did have one marvellous beacon in Anita Roddick. She set up cosmetics firm Body Shop and changed many aspects of male dominated consumerism. The Wiki link says it better than me as to her achievements:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anita_Roddick

  21. Hi Linda,
    That last comment popped in while I was commenting. Taking a scientific viewpoint, where’s the proof? 😉

  22. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    The proof was in the males I came into contact with & their reaction to me. I can flirt & enjoy it, so it was interesting. But when the president of a company interrupts a business conversation (re a recent company acquisition) to tell you what beautiful eyes you have- I immediately wondered why he was trying to disarm me.
    There are of course the more mundane things like photos & degrees…;)

  23. Hi Linda,
    I concede the debate 🙂

  24. Chris said

    Hi Linda and Anthony,
    Not sure who to respond to first here, but, following the old adage, “Ladies come first”, many of the company presidents, or the equivalents, that I came into contact with, are the most ‘brainwashed’ of all, by capitalistic marketing (I still ‘believe’ in ‘ethical capitalism’ mind you). So many of them suffered from ‘director’s couch syndrome’ it was sad, they were still childish bullies in men’s bodies and quite a few of them were pyscopaths with a complete lack of empathy. My gut feel was that they were, quite often, over-compensating for an inferiority complex, and their key objective was to ‘score’, so that they could tell the ‘boys’ of their ‘achievement’ to self-confirm their prowess. The term pathetic comes immediately to mind.
    Anthony, I agree with you and Linda, the ‘girls’ who first climbed the ‘ladders of success’ (pah!) were simply overwhelmed by an entrenched system of male bastardry at the time, and, resorted to whatever means necessary to ‘progress’, but, thats not to say it can’t change, femininity quite often has a way of overcoming male stupidity and unwarranted arrogance.

    Linda, if you’ve got the best legs and beautiful eyes, I’m with Anthony, I concede the debate also.
    I used to have really nice legs too, trouble is, I’m a bloke! 🙂

  25. Hi Linda & Chris both,
    I’m male. I’m a capitalist. As a capitalist, I believe in the basic premise of it all. Go back to Smith and it could only exist within a moral framework to curb excess, and within a culture of service going as one with profit. We can see here where it has gone wrong, and why I could never support what it has become.
    As a male, I used to be a typical masculine male, until I came down with cfs. It was then I found my feminine side. Now, this is important. There is a difference between male and female, and masculine and feminine.
    Eastern philosophies remember this, with opposing forces of destruction and preservation forming balance. Masculine Ego only understands the former, feminine sympathy is all about the latter. One is individualistic, the other inclusive of all. It is this last factor that, for whatever reason, is swiftly disappearing as the ‘feminine’ is leaving western society.
    As for me, I have the most marvellous stumpy legs 😉

  26. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony & Chris,
    Don’t know what came over me yesterday. I usually don’t speak of those type of things which happened to me.
    I think your both correct re the early entrance of women into the “man’s world” of big business. I do not know if these men were trying to compliment me, disarm me, or even insult me. It was just part of my life at the time & I had to deal with it.
    It was strange sensation to be in a very staid business profession- proper behavior was expected & necessary at all times in dealing with clients- & learn to nonreact to those sort of situations.
    As for legs, they still are my best “feature”, albeit with 30 plus years more wear & tear. I’ve learned to enjoy aging gracefully & in a way its a relief.
    Aside- I once was in a relationship with a guy who had great legs- I really enjoyed seeing him in shorts- & they were the first thing I noticed about him the day we met. So I guess it works both ways- to this day I still appreciate nice legs. Silly, huh! 😉

  27. Hi Linda,
    Not silly at all. Only problem is, if I wear shorts, they still reach down to my ankles 🙂

  28. Chris said

    Hi Anthony and Linda,
    I don’t wear shorts anymore, it’s too embarrasing, my nephews keep laughing at me.
    Linda, I don’t agree with the term ‘aging gracefully’, I prefer to think of it more as, ‘maturing beautifully’.

    Anthony, that was a wonderful, wonderful comment about Western society. I think that you have pulled the ‘sledgehammer’ out again!

  29. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for that. I guess you have to use that masculine sledgehammer now and again to get the point over 🙂

  30. I actually think you missed something.

    Comic book superheroes. They are our modern myths.

    My blog is all about that, crossed over with trading card games. I always use the word myth to describe the superhero stories that we wallow in.

    Besides that, I adore your thoughts. Thanks.

  31. Hi Fullbodytransplant,
    Thanks for that. I suppose such heroes are a form of myth, but of a slightly different order. I’m thinking in particular of Superman, created by two American Jews at the time of the rise of Nazism, and taking into his being the Ubermerch, or Superman, the philosophy of Nietszche, and an important element in the growing thought processes of Nazism.
    In other words, the influence of the superman was a politic placed into culture to counter Nazism, all wrapped up in red, white and blue. This is political mythology as opposed to deep seated archetypal interaction thru the ages.
    Admittedly, I’m open to be more convinced by your argument. It IS appealing.

  32. Troy Huston said

    “Astrology’s ancient roots rely heavily on myth to explain its principles, and were it not for the fact that it actually works, a lot of the time, I’d have said it is pure myth in itself. But it’s not, there’s more to it.”

    Astrology works a lot of the time. Now there is a laughable statement. If astrology actually could predict the future any better than guesswork we’d be using it to predict disasters and economic fluctuations.
    Old myths don’t make for science, which relies on uncovering evidence of any theory that has been proposed. Astrology is the kind of outdated theory that belongs in the dark ages. But some people, mainly those who aren’t able to understand astronomy or many of the other sciences, still adhere to outmoded models of reality.

  33. Hi Troy,
    I have my own views on astrology which can be found here:

    ASTROLOGY

    Now, how can I take your comment seriously when you say ‘… actually could predict the future …’? Such a statement is a popular, but complete misunderstanding of what astrology is about.
    You further say: ‘science, which relies on uncovering evidence’. Quite true, but you haven’t used that principle here.
    You seem to be taking your evidence from media myth.

  34. Troy Huston said

    “Astrology’s ancient roots rely heavily on myth to explain its principles, and were it not for the fact that it actually works, a lot of the time, I’d have said it is pure myth in itself. But it’s not, there’s more to it.”

    How can I take you seriously when you say astrology works any of the time?
    You seem to be taking your evidence…er? Well there is no scientific evidence for astrology. Astrology in newspapers… now that is media myth!

    “You further say: ’science, which relies on uncovering evidence’. Quite true, but you haven’t used that principle here.”

    True, the point I was trying to make was that you state that astrology works. Where is your scientifically accepted evidence that it does?

    “Such a statement is a popular, but complete misunderstanding of what astrology is about.”

    Astrology doesn’t try to predict the future eh? Good, because it does as crappy a job as guesswork. You might want to actually read in some depth about astrology before you try to tell me that it doesn’t try to predict future events, amongst other things. You seem to be commenting on a subject that you have not researched enough.

  35. Hi Troy,
    Thank you for confirming my usual results in my repeatable experiment. First off, I gave you a link to my writings on astrology. If you had bothered to read it you would have discovered that I’m a relative sceptic concerning astrology.
    Where is your attitude to scientific discipline now? But no, you excelled in my experiment. You said: ‘How can I take you seriously when you say astrology works any of the time?’
    Well, if you go to comment #5, from where you got the quote from, you’ll discover it was not me, but one of my regular commenters. I will, of course, accept your apology. But I suggest that, if you want to champion the scientific message, you use it.

  36. Twilight said

    Troy Huston ~~~ Hi. I was the commenter who said that astrology works a lot of the time. when I wrote those words I was not referring to the predictive side of astrology. Astrology is more than that.
    It is possible to predict trends or cycles in life, not events.

    Astrology works in the assessment of personality in relation to the position of the planets at exact time and place of birth. From this, one can also deduce cycles or trends throughout life. Trends only – not detail.

    I am not a professional astrologer, I do not make a living from it, but have been interested and curious about it all my life. I am fairly sceptical about most other New Age subjects, but have found, over time, to my own satisfaction, that astrology works. Perhaps not to the extent that some would say, but to a certain extent. It is not provable by scientific methods – yet, I am well aware of that.

    What I find of interest is WHY it works – and I suspect that something to be discovered in the not too distant future will throw some light on that matter.
    Astrologers may be wrong in part, but I’m confident that the basic principle behind astrology will be validated.

    You obviously think differently – that is your right, as it is mine to think as I do.

  37. Troy Huston said

    “Hi Troy,
    Thank you for confirming that I’m always right about everything. First off, I gave you a link to my writings on astrology. If you had bothered to read it you would have discovered that I’m a relative sceptic concerning astrology.”

    Good. I have read it. Can you transfer some of your scepticism to Intelligent design?

    “Where is your attitude to scientific discipline now? But no, you excelled in my experiment. Ygor charge the generators!”

    Dude, I’m no one’s experiment. especially anyone that seems to think that Intelligent Design is worthy of anything but the waste paper basket. or that astrology isn’t about prediction.

    ” You said: ‘How can I take you seriously when you say astrology works any of the time?’
    Well, if you go to comment #5, from where you got the quote from, you’ll discover it was not me,”

    Whoops! Not enough caffeine, or was it that your opinion on ID in another post made me delirious.

  38. Hi Troy,
    Listen Dude, you’re quite right, you’re no one’s experiment. The experiment is open to anyone to enter. You did. You were made a fool of.
    Admit it. Be a man.

  39. brightgarlick said

    Hi Anthony :

    This is a nice summary of how myth functions. I like the metaphor Superbeings. What are the Superbeings of the modern world ?
    although I know that alien life is interacting with our planet, I wonder what the alien sterotype Mythology – says about our cultures and our need to believe. The big eyes, all knowing, super advanced species kind of sterotype that haunts paranormal circles and those who believe in abduction, rather than experience. How do these mythologies reflect the inner struggle between what is owned and what is disowned ?

    Thanks for the article !

  40. Hi Brightgarlick,
    Thanks for the comment. If you click THE UNEXPLAINED, top of site, you’ll find some pages with my views on aliens, UFOs, etc.

Leave a comment