BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,469 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    September 2010
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

KINSHIP

Posted by anthonynorth on September 25, 2010

Microfiction Monday, ABC Wednesday, more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

cults-1

GURU TONY

Microfiction: The tanker sailed without me.
I’d gone green, you see. It crept upon me
slowly. We all have our reasons. Mine
began with sea sickness.

KINSHIP

Kinship is a vital aspect of society. In feudal times, marriage and
extended kinship was the anchor to power. Even in Mafia, such ‘kinship’
is at the heart of its success. Sadly, though, kinship is being degraded
nowadays. We are all ‘individuals’ instead. This is an error, for as well
as being a way to power in the past, it is also a defence against
power. It was a level of influence between state and individual. With
family in decline, the influence of the state becomes total.

I’m now on Facebook

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: As Britain’s party
conference season begins we’ll see
a glimpse of the new round of politics. A
coalition govt announces its spending review in
October. Is it necessary or ideology? Unions are becoming
vocal. Labour’s new leader will soon be known. Interesting times.

GREEN NEWS: UK Energy Secretary says there is an important place
for nuclear power. No, no, no!!! Big Biz is only in the green dabate to
prove alternatives inadequate so they can go totally nuclear. It has to
as Big Biz requires big, expensive systems to exist. Alternatives are
cheaper and small biz friendly, so Big Biz would be out.

CRIME NEWS: UK watchdog blames retreat of police from streets
for rise in anti-social behaviour. It’s more than that. The
police removed themselves from community, allowing
yobs to rule, and people to think of police as
other than them. They have failed
to do their job.

mummy

READ WITH MUMMY

The Magazine Post with a gentle hint of horror

One Single Impression
Friday Flash 55Writer’s Island
One Shot Wednesday

MONUMENT

A monument to all the ghostie tales,
Lightning flash, ectoplasmic trails,
All our horrors turned to stone,
Don’t sleep by here unless you atone,
Nightmares will come and ghosts will flock
Afterlife, entombed within the rock

FLASH 55 – THE SÉANCE

Fiction: ‘I’m telling you, it was rubbish,’ said Jenny as she returned
home to her husband. ‘The medium went into a trance and made
contact, but I knew it wasn’t right. The messages were all wrong.’ ‘So
she was a fake,’ he said. Which was true. Her husband hadn’t been
contacted by anyone since his death.

WHIMSY

Scratch your cheek, tug your hair,
Whenever it’s done, don’t despair,
Don’t know it’s happening ’til it’s done,
That’s why it’s so much fun,
And immediately you decide you did imbue,
When it was me, the ghostie behind you

© Anthony North, September 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

151 Responses to “KINSHIP”

  1. Trisha said

    loved them all, as always. your wit is beyond words. kinship is very thought provoking. i can feel the truth hidden in it.

  2. Hi Trisha,
    Many thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated.

  3. Thanks for a jolly good read, specially the News Flashes. I agree absolutely about kinship.

  4. Hi Vivinfrance,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked the post.

  5. systematicweasel said

    Love this post, it reminds me that Halloween is around the corner, lol! Awesome work! =)

    -Weasel

  6. Jeeves said

    Love them all. Esp guru tony. Everyone has reasons! Indeed!

  7. Hi Weasel,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jeeves,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  8. Cheong said

    Hi Anthony,

    A great read, as usual. 🙂
    I agree with you about kinship too. Perhaps, the more technologically advanced we are, and a more greater reliance on machines, kinship is swept to the sides.

    The Seance is, well, spine-tingling. 🙂

  9. Hi Cheong,
    Thanks for that. And you’re right. Technology is a big part of it.

  10. Mary said

    Hi Anthony, I enjoyed your whimsy!

  11. Hi Mary,
    Many thanks for that.

  12. Great poem and funny, Anthony!

  13. Hi Diane,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  14. james said

    kinship, another example of societies expanding ego.

  15. Hi James,
    Or DNA.

  16. amanda said

    Anthony you whimsy is adorable, a ghostie? so cute, very whimsical

  17. pamela said

    Anthony we can only hope!
    Excellent post!
    Pamela

  18. Hi Amanda,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it 🙂

    Hi Pamela,
    We can indeed. Many thanks.

  19. Amity said

    a beautiful rendition of the prompt Anthony…:) quite eerie though …:)

  20. Hi Amity,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I go eerie now and again.

  21. shakira said

    I have your piece on Kinship.
    Awesome, Anthony.

    hugs
    shakira

  22. Hi Shakira,
    Thanks for that. Good to hear from you again.

  23. kimmy said

    on KINSHIP: sadly here in the Philippines, kinship is the reason for prolonged stay of a politician in power. they built political dynasty which rooted from their great-grandparents and passed on to the new generation. it doesn’t matter whether other people outside of their clan no longer like how they run things, they still win on elections.

  24. That’s a wonderful, haunting monument to “monument”!

  25. Hi Kimmy,
    Yes, this is the bad side of it. But once that form of power is beaten, family strangely also becomes a form of freedom. A double-edged sword.

    Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  26. I loved your take on the “monument” prompt…wonderful!

  27. Ah, what a take on prompt.. Monument.. Anthony.. you scared me.. some how not much in to tales of ghosts.. somehow..But then I enjoyed it and did visualise how it would be to spend a night there alone..

    Well thanks a lot for your constant support..

  28. Bill said

    Poor Guru Tony, I think he should have taken some Anti Seasickness Tablets then he might have not missed the ship. Sounds as if Jenny finally realises what her Husband already knew. Lets hope it wasn’t important what the Mortals on the Other Side need to find out. I guess the old adage “You get what you Pay for” rings true here. Have a great week Anthony, my Microfiction is scheduled to post in about 8 hours.

  29. Twilight said

    Regarding kinship, AN – I’m not sure if I agree with you here – at least not in the way I think you mean: blood-ties ? As I see it, blood-ties tend to block out any who are “not of the kin” and set up barriers which could otherwise be helpful in the greater scheme of things.

    Kinship between all humans, though, would be the best aim we could ever have – but unlikely to come to pass, unless and until we are visited by non-humans, to make use see that we truly are all “kin”.

  30. Hi Sweetest In The Gale,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Ramesh Sood,
    I do like an occasional foray into spooky, I must admit.

    Hi Bill,
    Thanks for the comment. Yes, there are many types of green.

    Hi Twilight,
    Yes, that’s how it works regarding power, but as a defence against power, the young individual can have influence from media AND kin, including parents. Without that, I’m sure the young are too open to single influences.

  31. sandra.if said

    interesting ideas on monuments Anthony…!!

  32. Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for that.

  33. systematicweasel said

    Wonderful take on Monument! =)

    -Weasel

  34. Hi Weasel,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  35. Pat said

    Ha ha..At first I thought “gone green” meant became an environmentalist, but then I understood it meant seasickness. Very clever, Anthony.

  36. Hi Pat,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  37. Ah! Seasickness would be enough to keep ME on the shore.

  38. Hi EG Wow,
    Yes, me too.

  39. 1sojournal said

    Hi Anthony, I really liked the seance piece, but the votes still out on kinship. I understand what you are saying, just think that ingrown can be a dangerous power as well. Kinship with all that is human would be another thing altogether and well worth working toward.

    Elizabeth

  40. Chilling monument – makes the hair on my neck rise and shiver. I know those ghostie places and they rock. 🙂

  41. suz said

    as usual…terrifc

  42. quilly said

    I don’t suppose I should be giggling at the poor girl’s seasickness, but I just couldn’t help it.

  43. Ellie said

    Sea sickness; I’ve suffered that a few times! A brilliant take on the picture!

    Have a lovely week x

  44. Hi Elizabeth,
    Yes, certainly there can be a dark side to many families but often nowadays this is used to degrade everything about family. I guess we need to restore a balance here.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. yes, I know of such places, too.

    Hi Suz,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi Quilly,
    Yes, it really gets you, doesn’t it 😉

    Hi Ellie,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  45. Deborah said

    A wonderful read as always :o)

  46. Hi Deborah,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  47. zephyr said

    Microfiction 😀

    Kinship is so true. Too much individualism is harmful to everyone, most of all to the individual.

    Mummy section was too spooky!

  48. A sincerely held “green” conviction! Love it!

  49. shakira said

    I meant to say I “LOVE” your piece on Kinship…man, am I rusty?
    Came back for MM and ah….seasick…
    well done!
    Have you a great week!
    hugs
    shakira

  50. Hi Zephyr,
    Thanks for that, and you’re right.

    Hi Kelley,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Shakira,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  51. Jim said

    Very fitting for Halloween (I think that is not a big day for the Brits??).

    I liked the rhyme, you are real good at that. But the warning was the best:
    “Don’t sleep by here unless you atone,
    Nightmares will come and ghosts will flock”.

    Sounds like Purgatory right there in the graveyard to me. 🙂
    ..

  52. Hi Jim,
    Thanks for that. Halloween is becoming bigger all the time over here. It used to only be the pagans who celebrated it, but commerce saw an opportunity.
    Happy Samhain 😉

  53. Jim said

    Sad, Tony and the Lady. Nice short tale though.
    I’m sure it is better for both that she stay, poor thing.
    ..

  54. Hi Jim,
    You could be right.

  55. Mama Zen said

    Creepy 55! I love it!

  56. Hi Mama Zen,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  57. jabblog uk said

    Going green because of seasickness – LOL!!

  58. Akelamalu said

    Seasickness is a good enough reason to miss the boat!

  59. Hi Jabblog,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated 🙂

    Hi Akelamalu,
    Yes, it certainly is. And I bet the others on the boat are glad, too.

  60. There is no decline in kinship in our family! Without mine I’d be nowhere. I wonder how much of the degradation is due to people having to travel further and wider to find “success”, though.

    Wonderful microfiction. How awful to end a career due to the green.

  61. Thom said

    Seasickness…it’s horrible or so I understand. But I guess it’s better to be green that way than with envy 🙂

  62. john said

    The sea takes and the sea chooses…My 140 Hope your week goes well

  63. Loved your MM, Anthony. Very witty.

    You’re right: interesting times lie ahead politically.

    Your Flash 55 was superb. Great twist in the tale.

    Have a great week.

  64. Hi Mama Badger,
    Many thanks. Yes, there are many reasons for kinship decline – travel, media, and, I think, a kind of social ideology.

    Hi Thom,
    You’re so right.

    Hi John,
    That’s a good way to put it.

    Hi Michael,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  65. hope said

    I think that’s why cruises don’t interest me…don’t want to turn the same color as my green eyes. Well done.

  66. Hi Hope,
    Thanks for that. Always best to test the colour in a rowing boat first, I think.

  67. I’ve been lucky enough to sail a lot and not experience sea sickness, the colour green! Hope the lady gets a second chance…Cheers!

  68. Hi Sylvia,
    Thanks for the comment. Much appreciated.

  69. ladynimue said

    that was scary poem on monument !! ad a really clever 55 fiction 🙂

  70. Hi Ladynimue,
    Many thanks for that. Glad you liked them.

  71. So early? I was going to write about a word related to kinship. Very nice post. Now that I have read yours, I still see that mine is different enough.
    Sad about the decline of the family.
    I believe in the power of family ties, myself. Unfortunately it doesn’t help much, If I am the only one who does.
    I haven’t posted mine yet. But I will get to it soon!
    Best wishes,
    Anna
    This is last week’s. I’ll return with the new post, when it’s ready.
    Anna’s J-word (abc-Wed rd-7)

  72. Hi Anna,
    Yes, it means nothing if we don’t all accept it, does it? A good point.

  73. A very insightful post for the K Day, Anthony. It has been sad for me to watch the serious decline in any interest in kinship, family, etc. And, sadly, the influence of government/state increases. Wonder where that will leave us in the end???? Have a great week — regardless!

    Sylvia

  74. Hi Sylvia,
    Thanks for that. I’m hopeful that eventually balance will be restored between person, family and state. It has to be.

  75. Reader Wil said

    You are already preparing yourself for Haloween, aren’t you? Well the weather inspires us to write ghostly stories. Yet I believe that Great Britain is more “spirited”than we are, which I am sorry for. I like ghost stories! Spirited is of course not the right word, I should say “spiritminded”.Well anyway…Great post, Anthony!

  76. MorningAJ said

    Kinship’s important but I think you can build kin that isn’t necessarily blood ties. (as in my K this week! http://morningaj.blogspot.com/2010/09/abc-wednesday-k-is-for-kisses-for.html )

  77. very eerie loved the monument poem

  78. Amanda said

    sorry that one above is me I was using my browser for another blog I run got the ID’s all messed up Anthony!

  79. Hi Reader Wil,
    Thanks for that. Some say Britain is the ‘ghost capital of the world.’

    Hi MorningAJ,
    Thanks for that. I’ll take a look.

    Hi Amanda,
    So easily done 😉

  80. moondustwriter said

    I love the way you are able to keep things thematic – wow do you have a rolodex in your mind???

    The Seance is a funny 55
    I entirely agree about kinship – even blogsphere can have that or not

    I’m sorry you were sea sick on the high seas of the cyber ocean

    sorry I never made it here last week.

    I need to borrow you blogging energy pills

    Moon smiles for the guru

  81. Hi Moondustwriter,
    Many thanks for the kind words. I enjoy doing themed fiction/poetry each week. It helps the creative juices to flow, I find.

  82. dustus said

    Enjoyed reading your thoughts on kinship. The 55 Seance was my favorite this week—very well done short fiction!

  83. Hi Dustus,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  84. Gay Cannon said

    Green seasickness…get that! Kinship, been in my thoughts a lot lately too. Kids grown,moved and apart. That feeling they were always there 2 weeks home from the hospital hasn’t left me but they have and I’m nostalgic about it. Police are very much “other” here. So much so that it’s a thin line in some cases between the police and the outlaws. Big business seems to be in triumphant mode. I despise Wal-Mart even as I’m forced to shop there. But for great writing and fun, I loved the ghostie 🙂 Thanks, Gay @beachanny

  85. Hi Gay Cannon,
    Many thanks for the comment. Yes, most of my kids are grown and left now. Things become very different.

  86. I find the whole gay marriage/adoption issue fascinating. people who WANT kinship are denied it.

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

    BTW,I got some weird blog award, and I gave it to you, but pls don’t feel obliged; I was just giving kudos. http://www.rogerogreen.com/2010/09/27/roger-answers-your-questions-scott-and-anne-marie/

  87. Hi Roger,
    Not in the UK. Gay marriage and adoption is fully legal here.
    To me comments are reward enough, but many thanks for the thought.

  88. Interesting piece on kinship. It never occurred to me that the weaker family ties become the stronger the state may become.

  89. Hi EG Wow,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it certainly seems that way to me.

  90. “Monument” and “Whimsy” – I like the “gentle” horror tone – my take on horror tends towards the gut-wrenching, so it’s nice to see someone who writes not only with able wit, but keep it fresh. Natural-effective humor isn’t easy to put out day after day, but if this work is any indication, I’ll be reading a lot more of your work. Good pieces!

  91. Poets provoke and you have done a great job at it..One shot to you

  92. Hi Steve,
    Many thanks for those kind words. I do a weekly post, varying over four weeks from horror to crime, to sci fi to general. Look forward to seeing you again.

  93. Hi Kodjo Deynoo,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  94. Interesting take on kinship…provocative, as always. I’ll sit down and think about this. 🙂

  95. brian said

    ha-ha-haunting rhyme…smiles. would be rather fun to be a ghos and mess with people…lol. nice one shot!

  96. signed .............bkm said

    love you write on Kinship and the decline of the family…state and individual….and the state becomes the influence….here in the states…the individual concept is so strong…heaven forbid we accept the state that we are currently in….blessings Anthony….bkm

  97. Lily said

    very good post for today’s letter K! You are so thoughtful and funny too.

  98. Didn’t see your name in the 3WW list last few times… so just dropped by to see how you are.

    and as always, enjoyed some great reads!

    Hv a good day!

  99. Talon said

    Whimsy was great – a ghost having fun? The imagery was stellar, Anthony!

  100. PattiKen said

    It was the ghostie all along??? And here I thought I’d had a sudden and unusual flash of brilliance. 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my place. I really appreciate it.

  101. ninotaziz said

    Kinship, lost not found
    Nuclear power, underground
    Ghosts not staying down

    Definitely…
    Halloween coming around

  102. Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that 🙂

    Hi Brian,
    Many thanks. Mindst you, I’d rather stay alive.

    Hi Bkm,
    The state seems to be going wrong throughout the west at the moment, doesn’t it?

    Hi Lily,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  103. Hi Just Someone,
    Thanks for that. No, I’ve had to cut out 6 prompts in all for the time being. Commitments to other things. But hope to be back eventually.

    Hi Talon,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

    Hi PattiKen,
    Thanks for that. Yes, always blame the ghostie 😉

    Hi Ninotaziz,
    Yes, not long to go.

  104. Reader Wil said

    ‘ghost capital of the world”! I like that!!! LOL

  105. suzicate said

    Lots of good stuff today, but love the Flash Fiction 55…her husband hadn’t been contacted since his death, ha the medium exposed!

  106. Chris G. said

    The Seance was delightful. Quite entertaining. An intriguing take on kinship as well. It is so true, the world is moving so to individuals–isolation. Thoughtful as always, Anthony!

  107. Hi Reader Wil,
    Many thanks 🙂

    Hi Suzicate,
    Thanks for that. Indeed 😉

    Hi Chris,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  108. Anthony, loved both your OSI poem and WI poem.
    I my self hate Halloween. Although most of my poetry is on the dark side or in the shade so to speak. I just can’t get into all the bell ringing and candy. It makes one fat and crazy. Well written and very clever.

    Melanie

  109. Hi Melanie,
    Thanks for that. Yes, modern day Halloween seems to me to be just another spendfest. Not what it really means.

  110. great post as always friend, fav part is…

    Microfiction: The tanker sailed without me.
    I’d gone green, you see. It crept upon me
    slowly. We all have our reasons. Mine
    began with sea sickness.

  111. Hi William,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  112. afterlife within a rock? powerful imagery there, Anthony sir! nice OSI/Oneshot!

    My One Shot!

    btw, hope you’re doing good. this is the shortest post of yours I’ve come across in a while!

  113. Claudia said

    i started to scratch my head when reading this – then i looked behind…ghosty…

  114. nessa said

    The ghosties have you in their clutches this week. very ephemeral.

  115. Loved the microfiction, tanker. Green is the word (I have some dramamine if you need to borrow some!).

    Glad to meet you, blog poet to blog poet. Write on!! 🙂

  116. The Seance gave me goose bumps.
    Loved Kinship. Individuality is one-dimensional without it.
    And Whimsy — the perfect title for this fun one shot.

  117. Hi Leo,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it will be this short for a while. Having to find time to work on my books. Editing is very time consuming, I’m afraid.

    Hi Claudia,
    Yes, you never know.

    Hi Nessa,
    Yes, they’re on an ectoplasmic role 😉

    Hi Terresa,
    Thanks for that, and welcome.

    Hi Belinda,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  118. you are so spot on again my friend about kinship…and as for the police well said..my father was a copper and spent nearly 30 years walking the streets..was so respected…where are they now? cheers and have a great week pete

  119. Hi Pete,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I remember as a kid knowing the local Bobbies. My parents had a newsagent’s shop. Several times during the night they’d check the doors, and by opening time at 5am, in they came for a cuppa. A different world now.

  120. It is a bit sad about the police retreating when perhaps they should be more visible. Is it due to lack of funding?

    entertaining, as always!

    xo

  121. Hi Jannie,
    Thanks for that. No, the main problem is that about 30 years ago they abandoned walking the beat as a priority and disappeared into their cars. Then came increasing specialisation to the point that there were too few normal police to interact with the community.

  122. Shashi said

    Well all of them touched me and enjoyed the vivid style of yours… specially when you said, you can only sleep if you are atoned… Liked it.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    I will great if you connect with me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay to read daily #FreeHaiku on love, life and longing

  123. Hi Shashi,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  124. You only have to watch Carry on Constable (1960) to catch a glimpse of a very different policing world.Thanks for reading and commenting on And binding with briars our joys and desires. Hope your week goes well.

  125. Hi Me A Writer,
    You do indeed. An enjoyable film, too.

  126. Beth said

    Nice to see your work again Anthony! Read with mummy lol made me laugh! x

  127. Hi Beth,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  128. brian said

    nice 55. she has got the inside scoop…smiles.

  129. Hi Brian,
    Thanks for that. She certainly has.

  130. Another eerie and hauntingly excellent piece of work for us 55’rs Anthony.

    Here is my 55 link

  131. Hootin’ Anni,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  132. Nessa said

    Rabbit, rabbit!

    Your 55 is very funny with a great twist.

  133. What a 55er!

    Here is my Haibun in 55 words!

  134. patti said

    Loved it- I adore a scary movie or story- can’t get enough!

  135. Hi Nessa,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Gautami,
    I do like doing my twisty tales.

    Hi Patti,
    Many thanks. Yes, I like them, too – as long as there’s no gore.

  136. Akelamalu said

    Of course the husband in your 55 would know the medium was a fake!

  137. Hi Akelamalu,
    You’ve got a point there.

  138. Trisha said

    loved the monument and whimsy 🙂

  139. Hi Trisha,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  140. I’m not sure if your 55 makes me think more of the Twilight Zone tv show, or the movie Psycho.

  141. Hi Alice,
    Either will do for me 🙂

  142. I love the diversity.. thanks

  143. joanny said

    Hard to pick a favorite 55 er — they are all clever, witty and and with a thought provoking twist.

    Cheers,
    Joanny

  144. Claudia said

    what weird 55 anthony…how do you always get this ideas…? loved it

  145. Hi Vodka Logic,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Joanny,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Claudia,
    Thank you. I guess it’s just my warped sense of humour 🙂

  146. the seance was very cute, i guess they could tell she was a fake.

  147. Monkey Man said

    Police taken off the streets??? That’s insane. Presence is everything. Is it budget? Loved all the ghostly reads. Fun stuff as we near All Hallows Eve.

  148. Hi Cleanandcrazy,
    Thanks for that. Indeed.

    Hi Monkey Man,
    Many thanks. No it isn’t budget – it was a new – and mad – strategy begun some 30 yrs ago. Put them in cars, and specialise in fighting certain types of crime. They forgot that it all starts with anti-social behaviour on the streets.

  149. I laughed out loud at the microfiction — what a way to go green ROFL

  150. pieceofpie said

    interesting headlines… over here the headlines read we’ve come outta the slump but why doesn’t anybody have a job… or stimulus pkg for bridges that go nowhere… we’re neck n neck… individuals or a village… which shall we pick… or what shall we end up with… glad to have stopped by… renee

  151. Hi Susan,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it 🙂

    Hi Pieceofpie,
    Many thanks. This is the problem with Recessions. Just as we think it’s over, pay back comes, cuts are made, jobs are lost, double dip looms …

Leave a comment