BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    January 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Archive for January 5th, 2008

A WORD OR TWO ABOUT CRIME

Posted by anthonynorth on January 5, 2008

THE CRIME POST – AN OCCASIONAL MAGAZINE ON CRIME
What’s on today: Why I write about crime … PLUS … Do we really know what ‘evil’ is? An attempt to highlight the socio-psychology behind killer couples. And to finish off, a 19th century tale of detection.
IT WOULD BE CRIMINAL NOT TO READ IT

gun-1.jpgA WORD OR TWO ABOUT CRIME

I write a lot about crime, but my posts on the subject haven’t really taken off. I’m not sure why this is. Maybe it is because I speak a load of rubbish, or may it’s because people don’t really want to read about it any more.
This is a valid argument. We tend to only be interested in a particular ‘nasty’ in life when it isn’t assaulting us at the time. Hence, interest in reading about crime can be seen as a pursuit only when there isn’t much crime about.

It was different in 18th century Britain.

There was a crimewave at this time, and it was at this time, also, that the pamphlet became popular, narrating crimes. The reason for this is that the affluent thought their society was the ultimate.
So how could so much crime appear in a perfect society? It was a mind-state that continued into the Victorians. The fact that our interest is not so great today – fiction aside – could be because we realize that our society stinks.

Why do I write about crime?

I suppose it’s related to the above. As you’ve no doubt noticed, I write a lot about the paranormal, cults, conspiracy theories, etc. I do so not so much because of an interest in these subjects for the subject’s sake.
Rather, I feel that these areas are all reflections, in the extreme, of the normal. Hence, such subjects highlight the problems within ourselves and society. Crime, I think, fits into the same category. The criminal – as I attempt to show in the linked posts – offers a stark reflection of ourselves.

© Anthony North, January 2008

book1.jpgFROM THE ARCHIVES

EVIL

Evil can mean many things, but a supernatural influence is perhaps not one of them. As to the answer to evil, perhaps this has been known for millenia – but has been classed as ‘evil’ itself.
read here

THE GOD MAN

There is a recurring phenomenon in crime of the killer couple. What causes such couples to kill? And can we get to grips with a distinct psychology and sociology at work within the couple …
read here

______________________________________________________________________

Fiction Xtra – A SHOT IN THE DARK – meet my 19th century sleuth

In deciding to write about the adventures of my good friend Marmaduke Grey, I feel somewhat overawed. How does one express, in words, such absolute genius when my own mind is inferior to the task. Of course, this is not to denigrate my own abilities. Simply that, next to him, we are all inferior …
read more

If you liked this story click Fiction Page for more

______________________________________________________________________

Posted in Crime | 3 Comments »