BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

THURSDAY THIRTEEN #4 – Hows To Sci Fi

Posted by anthonynorth on March 19, 2008

READ MY ULTIMATE MAGAZINE POST – Something posted most days – keep visiting!
What’s on today: A How list on Science Fiction, inspired by a Thursday Thirteen meme. Have you had a go yet? … PLUS … News of my Think Tank. And some of my recent posts. Why not come back again to read them when it’s quiet?
YOU KNOW IT’S THE WRITE WAY

I dedicate this post to Arthur C Clarke – he will be missed!

beta-astronaut-ship.jpgINTRODUCTION

After last week’s list on how to rule the world, some people suggested I begin a Think Tank. Well, in the spirit of the post, I’ve done just that. Find information on it here. My six ‘guest’ writers and members will be entertaining and enlightening readers on most posts from now on 🙂
And so to this week’s list. Plenty of ‘hows’ on science fiction. In the list I try to get inside the mind of the writer and show how the best science fiction comes about. Some of their ‘devices’ may surprise you.

THIRTEEN HOWS TO SCI FI

13. It has a degree of snobbery, especially in the UK. REAL Sci Fi buffs call it SF. Got that?!! SF. So, 12 more things about Sci Fi …

12. Sci Fi writers can be total crackpots and get away with it. My favourite, Philip K Dick, was a prime example. Totally paranoid.

11. It’s my weakest area of writing, so I devour it a lot. A kind of learning curve – not sure whether it’s working, though.

10. Sci Fi writers can become visionaries of science without actually doing much. Think Azimov and his Three Laws of Robotics.

9. Sci Fi is a catch all genre. You can write romance, adventure, horror, crime, satire – you name it, as long as it’s got a bit of ‘science’ in it.

beta-control.jpg

8. It is the new home of prophecy. You know, the guys who used to be seen as crackpots, but now, with a touch of science, are seen as visionaries.

7. Sci fi films become cheaper. This is because CGI replaces actors as the central pulling power. In this, Sci Fi bad, bad, bad.

6. Space Opera is popular. This is often based on myth and stereotype. That’s why it’s so good. Think Matrix and dream as cycberspace – Hero as Christ.

5. Star Wars actually had advice from mythologist Joseph Campbell. Myths are ancient, you see, and we all have fragments within our mind. Hence the word, the image, bypasses the conscious and tickles the unconscious.

beta-ship-orbit.jpg

4. Star Trek: TNG did the stereotype thing to perfection. Think the bridge, and compare to bridge of a pirate ship. Then Picard, the bald headed skipper. To his left the Spanish looking lady; to his right, the dashing hero. Above, the monstrous pirate, Worf.

3. Oh, and don’t forget Pinocchio. Sorry, I mean Data.

2. Often, Sci Fi becomes so good and popular that we don’t think of it as Sci Fi at all. The best examples are Frankenstein and 1984.

1. Now you know all about Sci Fi, get reading, and writing. As the man said: Engage.

(c) Anthony North, March 2008

typewriter4.jpgSOME OF MY RECENT POSTS

Surrealife – Poem and story about surrealism, plus TWAC on the place of computers in this madness.

Branches of Life – An eco kind of poem, plus Guru Tony on Religion.

Spellbound – A different take on the title, plus PT on God Stuff

Doing Wrong – A short short story about? Well, click it and see.

How To Write Twisty Tales – What you need to know about twists, plus a twisty poem.

On Destiny – A short essay asking: is destiny real? And a poem about jealousy.

******************************

Have you tried my current affairs blog?

EYE ON THE WORLD

Stay informed! Super short comments! Now give me yours!
Latest Posts:

Goodbye Arthur

History of Britain – Christianity

******************************

23 Responses to “THURSDAY THIRTEEN #4 – Hows To Sci Fi”

  1. I learned to enjoy SF because I wasn’t naturally drawn to it. Asimov was a genius. So especially was Madeline L’Engle! God bless, Anthony.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I’m a bit of a buff myself.

  3. WendyWings said

    I learnt a LOT more about SF then I used to when I worked for a site called thefandom. One of my good friends is Bill Shatners webmaster. We did some great interviews with people like Stan Lee and George Takai.
    Have a great Thursday !

  4. Chelle Y. said

    The only “Sci-Fi” I have ever liked was “Star Wars!”

  5. Lilibeth said

    I never cared much for sci fi, but you are right about any genre being able to adapt to it. I’ve read comedy, Western, detective, and theological sci fi.

  6. Sue said

    Ever since I watched the first series of Star Trek as a kid I’ve loved sci fi 🙂 Great list idea!

  7. Frankenstein predates the genre. Sure it fits in but it was written as a Gothic horror novel.

    Happy TT.

  8. Hi WendyWings,
    That was an interesting comment. Thanks for that.

    Hi Chelle Y,
    Yes, Sci Fi isn’t for everybody.

    Hi Lilibeth,
    Yes, it’s so adaptable. Maybe that’s why I like it so much.

    Hi Sue,
    Thanks for that. Yes, Star Trek opened many people’s eyes to Sci Fi.

    Hi Pussreboots,
    True, but it concerned the errors of scientific progress. A classic Sci fi theme.

  9. lord said

    I like all types of sci-fi. I like the way you compared an old age wooden ships to a futuristic spaceships.

  10. Hi Lord,
    And don’t forget, the first ‘Enterprise’ WAS a sailing ship; a French vessel captured by the British Royal Navy and re-named as such in 1705.

  11. I have a fondness for SF – but only really good stuff that I like. Some of it is too… is too…. weird, I guess. One of my favorite ted.com vids is the editor from Discovery magazine. If you haven’t seen it, it’s interesting.

  12. Great list. I haven’t written any Sci-Fi yet, but I think it would be fun to creat all kinds of new tech stuff.
    Happy TT!

  13. People who don’t understand science fiction and look down on it annoy me. It was visionaries like Arthur C. Clark who pulled us kicking and screaming into this Space Age in which we now live.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  14. I stumbled upon your blog and I have to say it is quite interesting!
    As for this topic, I am not much of a writer but I am a good (maybe even GREAT) movie watcher! Sci-Fi (SF/Sci Fi) is one of my favorite genres! It is very adaptable and is very thought provoking!

  15. Good morning On a Limb With Claudia,
    Yes, that’s the thing with Sci Fi – it’s a catch-all genre, so includes the weirdest of stuff.

    Hi Nicole,
    I’ve written dozens of Sci Fi short stories, and even a short novella, but it always has a distinctly B-movie feel to it. And I’ve a feeling that wouldn’t endear itself to a modern audience.

    Hi SJR,
    It is very much a ‘cult’ audience thing, I think. Maybe one problem here is TV companies – especially in the UK – don’t plug Sci fi at prime time. There is an exception, at present, with the renewed popularity of Doctor Who, but that’s about it.

    Hi Whiteymcwheatbread,
    Welcome. And thankyou for your kind words about my blog. Yes, Sci Fi is often a vehicle for putting out the greatest of concepts.

  16. Robin said

    I just heard that Arthur C. Clarke died last night. I admit I didn’t love his books, but he was certainly a visionary.

  17. Alex Cull said

    I love science fiction & like your Star Trek/pirate ship comparison! Although I think Kirk and Janeway were probably more piratical than Picard & Co. Or at least they were a bit more, er, flexible when interpeting the Prime Directive.

  18. Another interesting T-13 topic. I like the way you arranged it as a ‘count-down’ of sorts. I enjoy some, but not all, Sci Fi … and confess to being a Trekkie from the beginning. I love the works of Madeleine L’Engle and Maria Doria Russell.
    Hugs and blessings,

  19. I’m a Star Trek and Firefly fantastic so I really appreciated this list. 🙂

    Happy TT!

    – Renee

  20. Neuromancer MADE me write. It was not voluntary.

  21. pjazzypar said

    The extent of my knowledge about Sci Fi is the Twilight Zone and The Outer Limits. Thanks for the enlightenment and for visiting my TT.

  22. Hullo, Anthony! Happy Thursday!

    Does it surprise you to hear I’m a big SF fan? I generally prefer fantasy, but there’s some really brilliant SF out there, especially the dystopic societies. (although those could be considered fantasy, too)

    Sometimes I wonder if SF really exists to push the boundaries of exploration, you know? The writers create these technologies and worlds, and then the scientists try to make them happen. Which is utterly cool, I think.

  23. Apologies to all for late replies but I’ve been off-line with tech problems for five days. But now I’m back – hopefully!

    Hi Robin,
    Yes, he will be missed. I have a weakness for his books, I must admit.

    Hi Alex,
    Ah! but what if Picard had such basic writers as Kirk, or if he’d been stuck in the Delta Quadrant with Neelix’s cooking? And don’t get me started on Seven Of Nine …. !!!!

    Hi Storyteller,
    I’m pleased you like it. I confess to being a bit of a Trekkie, but promise you won’t tell anyone else 🙂

    Hi Renee,
    Thanks for that. I aim to please 🙂

    Hi Fullbodytransplant,
    I believe you. Honest 😉

    Hi Pjazzypar,
    You’re welcome. Yes, Sci Fi isn’t for everyone.

    Hi Susan,
    Yes, I think that’s how it works. Writers make up what they can make up, and scientists go running after them, trying to keep up.

Leave a comment