BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

TONY ON GREEN, YOBS & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on June 20, 2008

Including Sunday Scribblings and Writers’ Island.
Have you had a go yet?

Welcome to my Friday Magazine post.
It is being reported that Britain is set to fail its own renewable energy targets. I’m not surprised by this. It was always inevitable, mainly because it was nothing but pure spin. This was due to the fact that the UK did meet CO2 reduction targets early on.

This was, however, a con.

Oh yes, the targets WERE met. But this was thanks to Maggie Thatcher, and her destruction of the UK coal industry in the 1980s. Obviously, with coal gone, our power stations would be cleaner.
This is a typical story in the way western governments and Big Biz manipulate the green agenda. Show what they are doing in any way they can, but actually plotting AGAINST green behind the scenes. If they really did pursue a green agenda, they’d be putting themselves out of business.

The United Nations has condemned Britain, again.

This time it is for the punitive youth justice system which vilifies teenagers as yobs. And for once, I’m in agreement with the UN. Yes, Britain has many teenagers totally out of control, but the reality remains that most are perfectly well adjusted kids who do not deserve the tag.
Those who do should have the full weight of the law thrown against them, but the reality is they only get cautions and anti social behaviour orders, which many class as an award that increases street cred.
And meanwhile, the remainder – the law abiding ones – are legislated against as if they are as bad as the bad ones. Typical, of course, of a government that treats everyone equally, regardless of behaviour. And with such an amoral message being sent out, how long before they really ARE as bad as the minority?

Just a quick note: My links until now have been on Eye On the World, but now that I don’t use it much, I’ve decided to move my most regular reads to the Blogroll, left, along with my main sub-domains. Why not take a look? I’ll be adding to it in due course.
Have a great weekend. Next Magazine post on Monday.

© Anthony North, June 2008

HAPPY ENDINGS

Happy endings, we love them so,
in a story we love to go,
from beginning to end in a frenzied haste,
providing the villain, he is displaced;
And hero and heroine, they come together,
after adventure, adversity, endeavour;
The writer’s job is thus to define,
the threads of life that do entwine,
people and circumstance, good or bad,
as long as we get that cruel cad;
But wait a mo, is this really so?
Must the bad guy always receive the blow?
Of course he must – it’s the way to end,
or belief we would have to suspend,
in the moral truth of good beating bad,
but isn’t this simply revenge?
So sad

(c) Anthony North, June 2008

******************************

MOMENT OF TRUTH – A Cass Nova Detective Thriller

It had been one of those cases. And DC Sandy Powell had been vital to me solving it. ‘Well I think it’s either Bob Mortimer or Chris Jones, guv,’ she had said.
It had begun with the discovery of the body of Roxy Sullivan. Shot through the heart, the killer had covered his tracks well. No DNA. Nothing. Looking into her past, she was a prostitute with form for blackmailing her clients, which just wasn’t nice.
We uncovered some dozen regular clients, and looking into their lives, it was obvious that Mortimer and Jones were both suitable candidates for blackmail, so they were our prime suspects. But how to prove one way or the other?
Enter, Molly Beavis. Of course, that wasn’t her real name. But as she said to Mortimer when she met him: ‘I’m not telling you my real name, ‘cos you’ll come after me. But I just want you to know, I know. You killed Roxy. I was her friend and she told me everything …’
That night I staked out Molly’s flat – she hadn’t done a very good job of covering her tracks. I didn’t have to wait long for the car to pull up, and Mortimer to get out. He looked up, saw Molly moving about through the window. He went in.
I burst into the flat just after the gun shot. The body was laid on the floor, half visible, half behind a curtain. Mortimer was about to fire at me, too, but changed his mind when it was clear I would take a shot first. He dropped the gun as two uniforms rushed in and took him away.
I went and knelt beside her still body – shook my head. ‘Okay, Sandy, theatricals over,’ I said.
Sandy kicked away the manikin Mortimer had shot and smiled. Our use of coercion may well have been questionable, but as she had given her ‘Molly’ speech to both suspects, we kind of knew we’d get our man.

© Anthony North, June 2008

39 Responses to “TONY ON GREEN, YOBS & MORE”

  1. shyam said

    Hmmm… good beating bad IS revenge… and then the question arises, who defines what is good and what is bad? It’s all a question of perspective, yet again. Nice poem, gave me a new angle to things! 🙂

  2. Hi Shyam,
    Thanks for that. Ah, that moral maze. You’re right, much of it IS perspective. I’ll have to tackle it sometime. I’ve done so in the past, but maybe time for a new perspective.

  3. Reading your posts always makes me happy!

    can you please read me the end again?

  4. Interesting, Anthony, as always. More than a bit disturbing about the whole Green thing… maybe one day, people will get it. Hopefully before it’s too late.

  5. Hi Gautami,
    Now that’s good. It gives the writer purpose 😉

    Hi Susan,
    Yes, we haven’t yet begun to really understand what Green is. There are commonsense ways to do so, without destroying the west, or capitalism. Just by changing it – but Big Biz fears that change.

  6. paisley said

    i am usually one for the underdog,, not the villain necessarily mind you,, but i do so love it when the underdog takes the cake in the end…..

  7. Hi Paisley,
    I tend to agree with you. Although there is usually a sting in the tale. The underdog gorges himself, and soon he can be as bad as the ones who made him the underdog in the first place.
    It’s a strange world.

  8. Just Jen said

    I did the blog roll today too. i love it
    you are so right about the government, maybe we should vote for you? lol
    I’m in canada, wouldn’t work out too well 😉

  9. Hi Just Jen,
    I think one thing I can guarantee is I’ll never stand to be a politician. I’d have to moan at myself all the time 😉

  10. Robin said

    I’m a sucker for a happy ending. I’ll fret for days over an unhappy one, knowing full well that it’s only fiction.

  11. Hi Robin,
    You’re just exactly the type of reader a storyteller wants 🙂

  12. Constance said

    “The writer’s job is thus to define,
    the threads of life that do entwine”

    Awesome! – so true. 🙂

  13. This line about the way youth are treated struck a chord with me:

    Typical, of course, of a government that treats everyone equally, regardless of behaviour.

    This is so true. It seems to me to be the result of so many great efforts to empathize with the kids who don’t behave that we end up identifying with them and looking down our noses at the good ones.

    Feeling down about yourself? Go break a window and we’ll build you up….

  14. gilson said

    Wow… great poem! I guess people dwell in a certain level of predictability too.

  15. stan said

    The good guy always wins. But who is the good guy? And does that make the rest of us bad?

  16. lucy said

    great happy endings poem Anthony.
    I went the film route too!

  17. Good morning Constance,
    Thanks for that. And it goes way back to the oral traditions of the storyteller around the tribal fire, weaving myths and legends.

    Hi Sandy,
    I think you’ve nailed it. And do people really think it even helps the bad ones to see them in this way?

    Hi Gilson,
    Many thanks. Indeed we do.

    Hi Stan,
    A good point. I guess we’d have to define, absolutely, good or bad first. Philosophers have been getting in a muddle about that for millenia.

    Hi Lucy,
    That’s good. Which brings this present comment box to a happy ending, I suppose 🙂

  18. Gosh, the kids thing. What a complex subject. So often commentators try to divide todays youth into two catagories. Good / bad. But it aint like that. The majority of teenagers, and I say this as an employer of school and college kids – fall somewhere in the middle. Most teens are spirited and it’s in their nature to push the bounsries as far as they can. I was talking with one of my 17 years olds less than an hour ago about what she was doing after we closed the pub last night. Now this girl is from a good family. She is bright, articulate and oozes personality and likeability. She helps old people in her spare time and has various hobbies including riding her horse and painting. But last night ashe was in her car with 4 other kids smoking weed. Later they wandered round the streets of genteel Battle with a crowd of twenty or so others. I would say SHE is typical.

  19. I like your poem! But I don’t like stories that start with Once Upon A Time and end Happily Ever After!

    Thanks for the link to your conspiracy theory pages. I like a good conspiracy theory because fantasy is often far more entertaining than fact!

  20. Hi Keith,
    You’re certainly right about teenagers pushing the boundaries, experiencing things, finding themselves. But is this a new phenomenon? I certainly know I pushed it in the early 70s, but was I bad?
    Yes, you’re right, of course. There’s a lot of grey in the subject.

  21. danni said

    love your poem – such a lark wrapping up a social conundrum — great stuff!!!

  22. Hi Danni,
    Thanks for that. Anything social is, I think, a bit of a conundrum. So many impulses, influences, etc.

  23. devil mood said

    Ooh a twist in the end! Your poems are superb, always …happy ending or sad ending, it doesn’t matter 😉

  24. jeques said

    Anthony,

    Happy ending for me would mean a win-win situation. The main character triumphant and the antagonist learning their lessons. An inspiring story serves to uplift the spirit. I would still want to give the villains a sense of redemption in the end because I’m a believer of goodness in everyone.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  25. Hi Devil Mood,
    Many thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jeques,
    A good thing to aim for in life. But it is rarely like that, unfortunately.

  26. Robin said

    “You’re just exactly the type of reader a storyteller wants”

    You know, I really am. It’s easy for me to turn on that “willing suspension of disbelief” (i.e. I’m a sucker) and very easily become emotionally involved with the characters, taking what the author says at their word, not looking too hard to parse the story (strange for an editor, isn’t it. I guess it’s the ultimate escape from my day job. Either that or I’m just shallow at heart. Probably the latter LOL.)

  27. Hi Robin,
    I’d certainly not say ‘sucker’. I think a reader trusts the writer to take her/him on a journey, safe in the knowledge that no harm can come in the end.
    They expect to indulge in safe emotion, safe fear, anger, even love, joy. A fictional journey to ‘exercise’ the mind, keep it fit and trim for what life really throws your way.

  28. Rambler said

    “but isn’t this simply revenge?
    So sad”

    It is sad.. somehow eye for an eye never seem like a solution to me 🙂

  29. Hi Rambler,
    Indeed not. But deep down we need something to show the difference between good and bad.
    If only we could really find it.

  30. Selma said

    I love your detective fiction. Have you submitted anything to a publisher?
    Great poem too. You’re right – we do need to show the difference between good and bad but it can be hard to define both states.

  31. Hi Selma,
    I’ve submitted all forms of writing to publishers, agents and TV companies over 25 years. Apart from a couple of books on the paranormal in the late 90s, nothing. Except a pile of rejections numbering over 1,000.
    Oh, and very broad shoulders 🙂

  32. Tammy said

    You nailed the BIG GREEN CON Anthony. Your poem gave me pause on revenge. Well done!

  33. Hi Tammy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I see nothing but good PR in ‘official’ measures on green issues. And underneath, situation normal.

  34. On Green Policy-sounds like the Democrats in my country, at least they pretend; the Bush Administration doesn’t even try to hide, they boldly rape the earh. I think I’m going to write “Teddy Roosevelt” in on the ballot; he was the last president who truly cared -and can you believe it- he was Republican!
    Thank You for the Post, I’m going to have to check out this blog more often.

  35. Hi Edward,
    You express the annoyance of most of the electorate throughout the west, there, I think.
    I’m pleased you liked the blog. I have something for everyone here. Look forward to seeing you again.

  36. pieceofpie said

    considering happy endings i always think of jane fonda’s they shoot horses don’t they… now that, was the first time i ever saw a movie end… with a questionable happy ending… it was a shock to realize that snow white and prince charming was a cartoon… even if i was over 20…

  37. Hi Pieceofpie,
    It’s certainly true that happy endings can come in many shapes and sizes. As for Snow White, I’m only 5ft 4in tall and my surname rhymes with dwarf. I’ve got seven children, so I often call my wife Snow 🙂

  38. Redness said

    Thought provoking poem Anthony … what drove the baddie to be that … Mmmm interesting!

  39. Hi Redness,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

Leave a comment