BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

TONY ON CHURCH, FAREWELL & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on July 4, 2008

Including Writers’ Island, which sadly finishes today. Hence, the poem.

Welcome to my Friday magazine post.
There has been a split amongst Anglicans. Some conservatives have launched a new global Church to save it from secularism and pluralism. Although not a practicing Anglican, I find this disheartening.

There are 70 million Anglicans worldwide.

It could so easily be a global force for good. Sadly, though, the problem is my beautiful but irritating fellow Brits. We don’t ever seem to do anything – until we have to; then the world tends to shake. We are a people of compromise in everything.
Thus, leadership of the Anglican Church is the same as leadership of the Church of England – the Archbishop of Canterbury. And too much of our compromise is annoying proper religious people in the world.

There is an answer.

Canterbury should be removed as leader of the national Church, with the Archbishop of York taking that role. This leaves us English to be wishy washy, discussing flower arranging over tea, whilst Canterbury builds the global Church Anglicanism should become.
This sense of compromise also explains why Globalisation is destroying Britain and its institutions. Britain, you see, can never be extreme. This is why communism and fascism failed here, as do all fanaticisms – in the end.
Globalisation realizes this. Hence, it panders to our sense of compromise and complacency – which is also why it is the greatest threat my country has ever faced. Told that British traditions are wrong, the silent majority compromises, even though they know they are right.
Until we say no. And then, this vile globalization will end.
Happy Fourth of July to all my friends across the pond. Next magazine post, Monday.

(c) Anthony North, July 2008

GOOD ISLAND

I sail the sea of my conceptual mind,
searching for ideas, concepts to find,
poems to write, stories to tell,
human enigmas upon which to dwell;
I anchor, often, by Good Island, true,
peopled by like minds who always view,
the written word as a noble cause,
with ideas to make us occasionally pause;
Good Island is a marvellous place,
of writers and thinkers full of grace,
writing and sharing, it is their way,
forever finding new thoughts that stray,
until, sadly, it goes away;
So Rob, many thanks, best wishes, and good day

(c) Anthony North, July 2008

******************************

GONE – Fiction

It feels good. I can’t tell you how good it feels. For so long it’s been with us – all of us. Clinging to us, restricting what we do.
Of course, it was Pete who came up with the solution. ‘We catch it,’ he said. ‘We collect it all up.’ He produced a box. ‘And we place it all in here.’
At first, we looked at him, astounded – we thought he was mad. But he insisted. Which immediately presented the problem of how to collect it all up.
‘Well, it always begins with a wish – a hope that we can do it.’
So that’s what we did. We wished it to be so, and in no time at all, it was banished to the box, and Pete firmly taped it up.
We looked from one to the other. Said: ‘What now?’
Pete collected lots and lots of stones. ‘We stone it,’ he said. So, there were we, repeatedly pummeling the box with stones.
Soon we were exhausted, and in a way refreshed, changed, as if we had said farewell. And when Pete took out the battered box and set it alight, we knew there would be a celebration, for it had finally gone. And we would forever be grateful to Pete for allowing us to conquer our fear.

© Anthony North, July 2008

21 Responses to “TONY ON CHURCH, FAREWELL & MORE”

  1. Very good Anthony and a farewell to the Writers Island we can be proud of. Religion could be such a force for good, but instead has turned a collective back on the problems of the world and quarrels about social issues.

    Rose

    xo

  2. Hi Rose,
    Thanks for that. As for religion, yes it holds many problems, as it always has. One day it may be right. I always live in hope. I’m an optimist … or is that naive?

  3. Not naive, you have hope for humans and that’s a very good thing.

    Rose

    xo

  4. Hi Rose,
    Many thanks. Those are lovely words.

  5. Brian said

    Hello Anthony, I’m briefly in control of the keyboard. 😉

    Thanks for the ‘prompt’ post and I have been struck lately how little good there is being reported. It’s up to us to seek the good answers, it can’t possibly be this hard, can it?

  6. Hi Brian,
    Now don’t be fighting, now 🙂
    I don’t think the problem is coming up with the answers. It’s getting people to listen.

  7. Yes, I’m sad about Writer’s Island, too. The poem and fiction sum it up beautifully.

  8. Travis said

    I loved your Gone story.

    As for globalization, it presents quite the challenge, doesn’t it? On the one hand, we try to be citizens of the world and tolerant of other beliefs and cultures. And yet on the other, we hold tightly to our own beliefs and cultures lest we lose them to a global ideal.

    There must be a balance somewhere that allows us to take pride in our nationalism without barring us from peaceful interaction with others and their own nationalism.

  9. Hi Susan,
    Yes, a shame, but best wishes to Rob. Writers’ Island was the first prompt site I used. I’ll miss it.

    Hi Travis,
    Thanks for that. You express my sentiments exactly. We have to learn to be proud in levels. I’m a Yorkshireman, an Englishman, a Brit, a European and a world citizen. Being proud of each does not conflict.
    More than this, such diversity is essential. Could nature or evolution work if not for total diveristy, taking every which way possible, finding the perfect balance? The rise of global sameness is, to me, devolutionary.

  10. Twilight said

    I wasn’t familiar with the Good Island to which youir your poem relates, AN, but I see you blog as another such island.

    Re the church of England/Anglican subject – Herr..umph! A bit of the ususal infighting going on there I see. It used to be chruch v. chapel when I was young, that was mainly what drove me away from the lot of it.

  11. Twilight said

    your blog – should hav e said

  12. Hi Twilight,
    Thanks for that lovely comment. It makes it all worthwhile.
    As for Anglicans, etc, ’twas always thus. But no matter what disputes there are, to me the important thing is to retain the overall authority of Canterbury. And not for any religious motives. The simple fact is there are 70 million like-minded people the world over, inter-mingling in many cultures. Good, I’m sure, can come out of their continued unity.

  13. Hi Anthony, I love the Good Island concept, I also have an island in my mind called Tiny Tree (anagram of eternity) where I go to meet like minded types and recharge my batteries.

  14. I admire the Anglican Union for its courage in discussing matters that are important to people. Where compassion and common sense trump tradition, I applaud the church. For me in the US, it is a vital institution.

  15. Hi SweetTalkingGuy,
    That sounds like a great place to be.

    Hi Sandy,
    I don’t think religions have ever had it so bad as at present. Finding a place in a secular world is difficult for them. There seems to be two strands developing – accepting all changes in society, and accepting none.
    The latter makes them appear remote, wrong. The former dilutes so much that sometimes they can’t even be the moral voice on any issues.
    Sometimes I wish they’d find that middle ground.

  16. Just Jen said

    i`d have to agree with you on this, same thing happening here in canada.
    I`m seeing it first hand and it isn`t pretty.
    I`m going to miss WI too and your poetry says it beautifully.

  17. Hi Just Jen,
    Many thanks. Yes, the onward march of globalisation gets everywhere, rather like a virus.

  18. texasblu said

    I’m just catching up… I think my tongue is hanging out. 😛 Lovely post tribute to Rob’s Writer’s Island – I’m looking forward to seeing what he has in store for the fall. 🙂

    Canterbury – now that’s something I have no knowledge of. :S

  19. Hi Texasblu,
    Yes, I’ll miss WI. It was fun.
    Canterbury goes back to the Dark Ages, when Gregory the Great sent a team of monks headed by St Augustine to Christianise the Brits. Seated at Canterbury, he began the office of the Archbishop of Canterbury. It’s one of the oldest ecclesiastical posts after the pope.

  20. fernanda veronica said

    HI anthony: i need to coment you ,that a friend of mine has a poltergheist infestation, we are not sure if it was,but reading your articles I think that they are,we also have a photo of the entity in the roof,and even it hurts mi friend ,I wish to send yoy a photo and a largest comment.Kisses FERNANDA

  21. Hi Fernanda,
    The best thing your friend can do is to contact a local paranormal group, if you have one. They are the best people to offer advice, etc.

Leave a comment