BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

TONY ON CRIME, STRIPE & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on July 7, 2008

Including Manic Monday and ReadWritePoem.
Have you had a go yet?

Welcome to my Monday Magazine post.
I actually agree with a senior police officer, who has said that Brit gang culture and violence cannot be solved by policing alone. This is so true, and I think an answer can be found by looking at the 18th century crimewave that so damaged Britain.

The times were quite specific.

It occurred at a time when religion was in decline and capitalism was first becoming the central ethic of society. In other words, social movements were very similar to today. So if the cause is similar, could the solution be found here, too?
The crimewave ended following a three-pronged attack – targeted zero-tolerance policing, mass re-moralising from outside government (Methodism, etc), and a total transformation of society through new institutions and ideas.
Of course, the last two would have to be very different to those in the 18th century, but it gives a clue how fundamental the problem is, and where answers could lie. I suggest they lie in a resurgence of ideas on community, and a move away from globalization.

An interesting question has been posed to me.

I get into quite a few deep debates on my Sunday and Tuesday essay posts, mainly because I tend to take a ‘middle ground’ stance on most things.
Does this make me a good moderator, or do I simply like a good argument? Well, there must be a certain amount of Ego in any writer, but my main concern tends to be this: I think any extreme stance is always counter-productive.
Which leads to another problem. You could say I’m fanatical about this middle ground, which makes me extreme, too. Which is, of course, a contradiction. And I think this explains me perfectly.
All of life leads to contradiction in the end. So best, I think, to cancel out these contradictions as much as we can. And the best way to do this is to take a more moderate stance. So yes, I may well like a good argument, but only in terms of my ideas. In all other things, I prefer a quiet life.
Tomorrow’s essay looks to what, exactly, the ‘individual’ is. Next Magazine post, Wednesday.

© Anthony North, July 2008

TO THE LIGHT

The light I crave, I need it so,
within it, we can really glow,
The light is what we all desire,
from ignorance, fear, we can retire;
To find the light is to make your mark,
to begin, enshroud yourself in dark,
concentrate on nothing at all,
’til alien thoughts seem to install;
Now you’re approaching a different place,
interwoven in ethereal lace,
connections come from you, to where?
realities, truths, end of despair;
You are now the Starchild, the ultimate glowing,
light is complete, you have total knowing,
but grasp it, you will simply not do,
its a truth only glimpsed,
too magnificent,
for me or you

(a) Anthony North, July 2008

******************************

STRIPES – Fiction

I hated him. I can tell you that without any doubt whatsoever. I hated him, and I hated those stripes that allowed him to do it.
‘Come on, move it!!’ he’d scream as we were pushed beyond the pain barrier. ‘Get off the grass!!’ he’d shout as he ran up to us, fuming – and then 50 press-ups. Come on, man, we’d only walked on the grass!
Then there’d be ‘left, left, left’ for hour upon monotonous hour. And then the taunting in the dormitory. ‘You ain’t got no mother. Not now. You ain’t human. You’re a machine. MY machine.’
Maybe that was it. Strip down the character and build something new – as if he was Dr Frankenstein or something. Or maybe Dracula, sucking all life from us before returning to his coffin.
I hated him. Oh, yes, I hated him. I responded to his commands – any commands – like an automaton, but – damn him.
Of course, I was young – didn’t understand. But I learnt on the day I grew up, in the mountains.
‘DOWN!!!’
How do I explain it? In my mind’s eye, I saw it all. I stared at the bullet as it whizzed towards me. At one point, I even thought it had my name on it – and I remember thinking, no. And as it approached, the sound of it, lancing through the air, as if a Banshee warning of impending doom. And as it was about to smack my flesh, the movement of my head, and the feeling of heat as it whizzed past, harmlessly.
I was Superman that day, dodging bullets. Yet, in reality, I just dived for cover – instinctively – as trained.
Well, I’ve got the stripes now. And I’m gonna make real sure the grunts hate me. ‘Cos they’re gonna live!!!!

© Anthony North, July 2008

32 Responses to “TONY ON CRIME, STRIPE & MORE”

  1. Gemma said

    Really enjoyed your stripes post. There certainly can be a use for automated reaction to a stimulus! It may save your life!

  2. Hi Gemma,
    Indeed. Although it is only in the military that it should be a conditioned response. Outside such dangers, it’s always better to move as far away from being an automaton as possible.

  3. Jane Doe said

    Another great post! ‘To the Light’ is a beautiful poem, one of your best, I think. Have a great week!

  4. Hi Jane,
    Thanks for that. I’m glad you like it. And you have a great week, too.

  5. Society could use a good dose of Methodism, I think. Of all the Christian traditions, this one is most loyal to the Gospel of compassion and good works.

  6. Hi Sandy,
    Very true. My wife, Yvonne, is Anglican (Church of England), but spends as much time at our local Methodist chapel as she does at church.
    They’re so friendly, helpful.

  7. johemmant said

    I enjoyed stripes very much, it’s well written and bang on, I’ll be bound.

  8. Anthony, I don’t think religion solves anything. And as for crime on the rise it isn’t here in the US. Crime rates have fallen. I live in one of the safest cities in the world – New York City! I think things get better when religion goes away. I hope you’re not insulted by this but it’s what I think. 🙂

  9. Simonne said

    To the Light is great, I really enjoyed it. And Stripes has you all over it, it’s wonderfully thought out 🙂

  10. Brian said

    You always make people think Anthony, that’s a very good trait to have.

  11. Hi Jo,
    Thanks for that. I never ducked a bullet, or took part in a hot war, but it is partly based on experience. I was in the UK forces during the Cold War, and I did get my stripes.

    Hi Mary,
    I’ve never yet been insulted by a concept, belief or stance. I sometimes get irritated by personal attack, which happens occasionally on my Sunday and Tuesday essays, but if people didn’t disagree with me, how can you have a debate?
    I think religion does have a purpose, and, like most things, it can have value. The problem comes with anything, not because of the thing itself, but the degree to which it can be taken.
    Yes, I’ve heard that NYC crime rate is down. It is slightly in the UK, but interestingly, below that figure, violent crime is on the increase. I wonder if that’s the same where you are.
    One thing that strikes me about your comment is, could it be that America still has a strong sense of itself. Sadly, that isn’t the case in the UK. We’re having a national crisis of confidence here, mainly due to over a decade of rule by a government that seems to hate its country.

    Hi Simonne,
    Many thanks. A comment like that makes it all worthwhile 🙂

    Hi Brian,
    Thanks for that. I see it like this. I like to think, so why shouldn’t other people? It sometimes gets lonely 🙂

  12. Mo said

    I was just thinking “I want to write a post that makes people think” and here I read yours. Trying not to have blog post envy…

    In other words – great post!
    cheers,
    mo

  13. Hi Mo,
    Thanks for that. ‘Tis the prompts and memes that make me do it. So it’s down to bloggers like you 🙂

  14. christine said

    Hi, Anthony

    Your poem To the Light has many interesting ideas, as usual. sometimesI wonder where those images in the dark come from too. You call them alien thoughts– maybe we are receiving transmissions from somewhere, it’s quite a mystery.

  15. Hi Christine,
    Yes, the images many report seeing on their way to Nirvana, etc, can be interesting. One thing that seems to link them is that they tend to be elements of the particular person’s culture, but exagerated, even demonised.
    An interesting mystery, indeed.

  16. Excellent post, thought provoking as ever – I like your thoughts about contradictions…

  17. Hi Crafty Green Poet,
    Many thanks. Yes, life is so often about contradictions, and I honestly think being less extreme is the answer to them.

  18. maryt said

    Anthony, I’d like to say here that my comment sounds rather harsh on second reading. I’m talking about organized religion and religion that I am familiar with. I am familiar with Catholicism and Lutheranism. I don’t know Methodism. I am certainly not against spirituality and compassion: the kind of spirituality, compassion and kindness Sandy Carlson practices and I’ve come to know through her blog “Writing in Faith.”

    Violent crime is down in the US and that is good. We should be having a crisis of confidence after 8 years of George Bush – I certainly am. I and many others are hoping for a win by Obama in November. We need a change, a real change of attitude and values.

  19. Love the stripes post. This is so true as well. Nothing better than being well trained as painful as that is. I also agree with your middle of the road approach. We are dealing with the same crime wave issues here. The police cannot make the difference here either. They are out numbered. Have a great day. 🙂

  20. pieceofpie said

    interesting post… it is mind boggling to imagine such a thing taking place… programs initiated to rebuild a crumbling society… first we would need to pass the house, then congress… that in itself spells defeat… we vote on something then a judge tears it down… we spend so much time taking one step forward and two steps back it’s all rather exhausting.. it would be a wonderful idea to place in communities but i cannot see america passing anymore laws giving government any more rights.. everybody has a say… and it appears nothing gets accomplished… it is an upsidedown universe… on a lighter note..haha… think your thoughts are spot on!!!… stripes, it’s all about making a man outta ya…

  21. Hi Mary,
    I must admit, I tend to separate religion from spirituality. I’d class myself as spiritual, but not religious. To me religion is a social codification, whilst spirituality is an inner knowing. A good religious system is, to me, one that allows that spirituality to flow, regardless of the codification.
    Hopefully Obama will win – I don’t say this because I particularly support him (he reminds me too much of Blair, here in the UK), but because America, and the world, needs a change. My fear is that the Democrats will remain split, thus allowing McCain in.

    Hi Sandee,
    Yes, I remember my own basic training, and how, at first, we hated the drill instructor. But amazingly, by the end, we had a deep respect for him. The mouth was furious, the heart true.
    As for the middle ground, it doesn’t mean people can’t have different opinions, as many think. It means you are sensible about those opinions, think them out, and accept there may be different opinions.
    It amazes me how many, on the extremes, are threatened by this.

    Hi Pieceofpie,
    The thing about the answers to the 18th century crimewave was that none of them were government inspired. The moralising came from the new religions. The new institutions came from philanthropist entrepreneurs. And the policing began with the Bow Street Runners of Henry Fielding. He was allowed to do it by Parliament to shut him up, sure that he would fail.
    The moral of the story is simple. Governments should be trusted with as little as possible.

  22. Katie said

    I really liked the line in your poem “to begin, enshroud yourself in dark”. I think you are saying here that in order to appreciate what light can do in our lives, we must experience darkness (pain, sorrow, evil, apathy, greed, addiction, and so on) and then consciously choose to surround ourselves with light. And I completely agree.

  23. Travis said

    Yes…I try to be moderate and tolerant. I don’t always succeed, but I do try. I think as I gain experience and maturity, I approach things with a less extreme view.

    Excellent stripes story!

  24. Good morning Katie,
    Thanks for that. The line you refer to actually has a double meaning. You’re quite right with your intepretation. Indeed, I’m a big believer that it is through adversity that people thrive. Just look at many of our greatest achievers, and the way life moulded them to the task.
    But also it can be seen in terms of meditation, where to begin you must shut off the outside world, turn off the light, and become as one with your inner mind.

    Hi Travis,
    Many thanks. Yes, being moderate and tolerant can often be hard work, and it is impossible, I think, to achieve it all the time, no matter how much you believe it, or how patient you can become.
    But it’s a worthy thing to aim for, I’m sure.

  25. I know I have not been here for some time now. Good to be back.

    piece of charcoal split into splinters

  26. Hi Gautami,
    Good to have you back.

  27. Selma said

    You are definitely right about your solution to the gang culture problem. A friend of mine is a police officer in Chicago where gang violence is out of control and he says it’s because of the breakdown of family. The gangs are the only sense of community these kids have. It’s very sad.

  28. Hi Selma,
    It is indeed. People – even kids – need to feel safe and to feel they belong. If the only thing on offer is the violence of gang culture, they’ll take it.

  29. Brian said

    Really like the “Stripes” story.

  30. Hi Brian,
    Thanks for that.

  31. Carol_Noble said

    Hi Anthony

    Loved the poem. It says a great deal and is very profound. Thanks for that.

    I found your ideas as to what solved the crime problem in the 1800s interesting, but I need to think about it a bit more before I can comment further.

    As for extreme stances. Most people will say another person has an extreme stance because compared with their own it is extreme. But they are comparing it with their stance in the middle and anyone else’s to either side. Keep doing that and we soon lose track of what the middle stance is!

    For the purpose of this blog, and the debates you engender, your view has to the be middle stance by which all others are compared. But whether or not you end up as the middle stance depends on how many other people respond and shove you off the middle stance.

    I don’t think you are extreme, but you are passionate, and there is nothing wrong with that. You do also try to understand another’s point of view so by doing that you are taking yourself away from the perceived extreme point and moving towards theirs.

    We should all be trying to find middle ground, but that ground will not be the same for everyone. In that it is relative, as is life.

  32. Hi Carol,
    An important point you raise there. I try to be on the middle ground, but yes, this is from my perspective. Tolerance to other views, and an insistance on trying to be moderate are some of my most cherished values, which hopefully keep me from the extreme.

Leave a comment