BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,467 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2009
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Archive for May 7th, 2009

TONY ON MORALITY

Posted by anthonynorth on May 7, 2009

Including Friday Flash 55, Totally Optional Prompts and Simply Snickers.
Have you had a go yet?

alpha-guru-type

GURU TONY

On Morality

Religion and philosophy have often sought what is, and isn’t moral.
Few have looked at fundamentals that deal with all morality. As I
see it, one fundamental point is that, like love, morality takes two
– one to do and another to judge. After all, does anyone worry
about flatulence in an empty room?

My Columnists

EDITORIAL

This post is in two parts – newspaper and
magazine. Read either or both. It is also
a debating platform, so do join in. Don’t
forget to call again tomorrow.

FROM THE ARCHIVES

Eye On the World – Choose an Essay

newsflash

Inde-Politics & Socio-Capitalism

BRIT NEWS: 12 yr old girl with swine flu bullied
by texts. It seems to me that new ways of bringing
up kids is doing nothing to civilize them.

GREEN NEWS: How to go green power company style. Hand out
energy saving bulbs to duck the need for proper policies. Welcome
to eco-cosmetic quackery.

CRIME NEWS: Brit police stopped & searched one million
people last year. Time police hierarchy stopped
& searched their souls and remembered
their place.

Call back tomorrow for more NewsFlash

computer_desk

RATTLER’S TALE

A Voyage of the Imagination

Twist In the Tale Archive

REFLECTION OF HOME

Growing up, a boring place,
Had to leave, utmost haste,
Country town, nothing doing,
Sheep and pigs and cattle mooing;
Thirty years down the road,
Returning to my old abode,
All is changed, a wonderful place,
Thirty years; what a waste

FLASH 55 – YOU’RE DEAD

Fiction: The psychic got the shock of her life when the ghost first
appeared before her. ‘I want to show you my murderer,’ it said, which
disturbed the psychic even more. But what could she do other than
follow it. Finally finding herself in front of a mirror she saw a reflection
of her own guilt.

THE JUMP

I did the jump, I really did,
I just did it, as you bid,
People jeered all the same,
I suppose they’re not really to blame;
Just ‘cos I did it, they want me to atone,
Jumping to conclusions, so I’m not alone

© Anthony North, May 2009

pen

SCRIBBLERS’ NEWS

Check out my Writers’ Tips posts

Keep up with the latest prompts and writing
news. Let me know of any new sites.

ReadWritePoem
Revise an old poem
Thursday Thirteen
List 13 things
ABC Wednesday
The letter is: P
Blog Your Blessings
Write about a blessing
Only the Good Friday
Write something optimistic

CAMPAIGN TRAIL
Keep up on alternative news or join a campaign.
Together bloggers can make a difference.
Guardian – Environment
A good source for eco-news & blogs
Bloggers Unite
Join in & blog on many campaigns

Call back tomorrow for more prompts
and campaigns

Follow me on Twitter

Posted in Current Affairs, Philosophy, Poetry, Twist In the Tale | 46 Comments »