BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Archive for July 12th, 2009

WHERE IS MIND?

Posted by anthonynorth on July 12, 2009

Including One Single Impression and Sunday Scribblings.
Have you had a go yet?

beta-physicist1

PROF ISAAC GALISTEIN

The idea of a universal mind ‘out there’ is shunned because the brain is
slowly being mapped out. This appears to be the end of such ideas,
with any evidence to the contrary being anecdotal, thus making any
theory of such a mind pseudo-scientific. Mind is ‘in there’, and the
result of chemical interactions. However, I don’t think it is as easy as
that. If the brain is merely a point of bodily coordination for thought,
the physical effect would be exactly the same. Hence, it could be
they are learning about the car, but not looking for the driver.

Eye On the World
Writers’ Tips
The ‘Y’ Files

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Big City bonuses
are returning. We haven’t learnt
the lesson – that this tycoonocracy
has nothing but contempt for us little people.

GREEN NEWS: G8 leaders agree to try to limit global warming.
Note the important word ‘try’. Will their hot air add to the
problem?

BRIT NEWS: Anger growing over inferior kit for Brit
troops in Afghanistan. A govt that doesn’t
protect them properly is a disgrace.

pen

THINKING

I’m thinking hard to work it out,
I’ll get there, I’ve no doubt,
Soon I’ll know what to do,
Then my actions will be noble and true …
Damn!
I thought about it for so long,
The time to do it has gone

INDULGENCE

Fiction: He had the urge for indulgence. It never occurred to him how
destructive it can be. He’d had the urge for a long time, and it was
behind his first flicker of fame. He could have had a good, long
career, but he craved the indulgence – in his celebrity status and his
outrageous living. And of course, the outrageous living increased the
fame as the fans indulged him. And inevitably the indulgence led to
the clinic, the arrogance and the spectacular fall from fame. But his
indulgence knew no bounds. He knew he just had to have those
headlines again. And now, as he took the overdose, his dying thought
was that he was back.

HOPE

Her name is Hope, I love her so,
She’s always with me wherever I go,
Never letting me despair,
Always making me aware,
That life is never really that bad,
Goading me if I dare be sad

© Anthony North, July 2009

Follow me on Twitter

Posted in Current Affairs, Poetry, Psychology, Twist In the Tale | 54 Comments »