BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    January 2010
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

YOU

Posted by anthonynorth on January 5, 2010

ABC Wednesday & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

computer-lap-top1

BLOGGER BARD

What is ‘you’? I say this as opposed to ‘who are you’ because as a
personality it may not be down to you. It is all to do with what an
‘individual’ is and is not. The idea of individuality is quite recent for
most of us.

It is most likely a spin-off of social
evolutionary processes.

It requires the time to think that you ARE individual. Hence, it will arise
at such time that you are no longer preoccupied with survival. In this
sense it came down the classes. The old God-Kings can be said to be
first to not have to worry about survival, so were the first to
appreciate their individuality. As technology advanced, so, too, the
numbers able to be individuals, descending down the aristocracy, the
middleclass, and finally the working class. Of course, in a mass
consumer society this is important. You need to express yourself
individually to be a good consumer. Indeed, throughout history trade
has occurred to expand the numbers of individuals. In this sense,
individuality is a consumer device. This does, of course, suggest that
individuality is a concept rather than an absolute. We don’t like to
think in this way, but it could be true. We’re back to what is ‘you’?
Well, ‘you’ is shaped by many things outside of you. Ancestry,
culture, environment and society all shape who you are. Then there
are instinctual drives. Now, we’re said not to be controlled by these
any more. We’re no longer just animals. But is this really the case, or
have such drives merely adapted to our evolving species? We all
express emotions of various kinds, but whilst the reason for such
expression may be personal, the emotion itself is universal throughout
the species. Jung identified universal archetypal character types
which we all express. So these, too, seem to be of the species. As I
see it, individuality is really an amalgam of outside influences, shaped
into ‘you’ by your experiences, certainly, but a cauldron of outside
impulses nonetheless. Don’t get me wrong. Individuality is good, but
maybe not as absolute as we think. We should bear this in mind when
we say individuality is everything. It may give us a new understanding
of community and togetherness.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

WORLD NEWS: There is anger
here after China executed a Brit with
mental health problems for drug running. I
don’t usually comment on another country’s affairs
other than America. I do this as nearly everything America
does impacts directly on my life, so I will speak. And I think China is
becoming the same. Supposedly set to be a major world power, we
MUST speak about their human rights, otherwise their influence may
become the norm.

CELEB NEWS: It’s been a good week for Yorkshire and Trekkies alike.
Following the New Year Honours, arise Sir Patrick Stewart. Picard
would be proud. Significantly, there’s hardly anything for
politicians this year. They wouldn’t dare after the
expenses scandal. Unlike many, I like the
British honours system. Yes, it can
be manipulated, but overall I
think it good to have a
non-financial reward
for excellence.

policeman-uk

THE CRIME POST

It would be criminal not to read it

One Single Impression
ReadWritePoemFriday Flash 55
Three Word Wednesday

INDURATE BOY

Born into crime, no way to resist,
Didn’t want to do it, but couldn’t desist,
Peers and family and one and all,
Culture of violence, answer the call,
And then you’ve got to be harder than them,
If not, they’ll surely try to condemn,
Finish you off, take you out of the game,
So be hard – confirm your malicious fame

THE MORTICIAN

Fiction: I’ve always considered my work an artform. As a mortician, to
prepare a body for the everlasting is such a joy. Of course, so often it
is an impossible challenge. The very aged, those of a terminal illness –
so much degraded; so difficult to make it right – yet to find before me
such a beautiful woman – and my hope to make her more beautiful,
now, than she had been in life. Yet, such a rush – so little time to
work my magic before they come for me – and the sadness that in
producing such eternal art, I had to kill her.

WHAT A CRIME

Habitual I am in how I commit,
Giddy the feeling when I score a hit,
Fritter control in having my fun,
Love the essence of what I’ve done,
Disloyal to any form of control,
Yet such a debacle makes me whole,
Converting words to poetic form,
Whodunit? They!! Celebration the norm

FLASH 55 – STALKED

Fiction: I’d never seen a corpse before, but there it was, and I
thought: this is my worst experience. But it wasn’t. You can’t have
such an experience without an effect – for days following it was as if
it was there behind me. And thus it stayed until the day I stopped the
policeman and confessed.

RATS

Nibble and gnaw, scurry around,
Can’t believe what they’ve found,
Epic numbers, causing pain,
Let’s face it, it’s quite a drain,
Never far away from them,
Often it feels like we’re hemmed;
Infestation of society,
Pickpockets, muggers, burglary

© Anthony North, January 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

101 Responses to “YOU”

  1. Quilly said

    I was completely expecting the twist at the end of The Mortician — so does that make it a non-twist?

    Stalked, did, however catch me by surprise.

    Your mind is a twisty, scary place sometimes.

  2. Hi Quilly,
    Damn, I must be getting predictable 🙂
    They do say the most twisted horror writers are the nicest of guys to meet 😉 (Poe excepted)
    They get it all out in words.

  3. james said

    🙂 totally agree whole heartly on “You”.

  4. Hi James,
    Thanks for that. A great moment 🙂

  5. Twilight said

    Coincidentally my own post for today touches on the same broad topic as your
    “You” section. Not exactly, but in the same ballpark. 🙂

    So many ingredients go to make up an individual that it’s impossible for there to be two of any of us, anywhere. So in that way we are all different, and individual. All wolves are different, all daisies are different, but all wolves acknowledge their species – whereas we tend to forget ours much of the time. I’ve often said that its importance will only fully be brought home to us when beings from another planet are brought to our attention. Then our common humanity will become clear to all. 😉

  6. Hi Twilight,
    Great minds think alike 🙂
    You may well be right about aliens. It would be nice if we could find it ourselves, though – but unlikely.

  7. Politics here are making me crazy. Sometimes I think that the U.S. wants to be like China. The government running everything that is. That’s what I see happening here.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  8. Ah, great to visit your blog again in this new year…. hope to reach so much more of your work! Wish you a magical year ahead!
    This is such a beautiful post… I empathise with what you have to say…about “The Mortician”.. and such apt description of the prompt “Indurated”… Bravo!

  9. Hi Sandee,
    Yes, it’s getting out of hand all over the place.

    Hi The Dark Lord,
    Thanks for that, and a Happy New Year to you.

  10. I’m not remembering the philosophy exactly, but yes, once our basic needs of food, clothes, shelter are met, it is generally understood that people are much more likely to seek out more social and intellectual needs.

    The topic YOU reminded me of the 2006 TIME person of the year, which was YOU > http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1569514,00.html. The cover was reflective, which you can tell from here: http://www.time.com/time/covers/0,16641,20061225,00.html

  11. I have to join the rest — politics are getting out of control and it’s driving most of us nuts! You do have a bit of a twisty mind and that’s what makes you fun to read — sometimes I expect the end, most of the time — no, you get me!

    Have a great week, Anthony!

    Sylvia

  12. Kim said

    ^_^ We have the same theme for this week YOU!

    YOU

  13. Hi Roger,
    Thanks for that. A good cover. Your comment was gobbled by the Great WordPress Comment Eater. It does that sometimes, but I’ve saved it 🙂
    You’re speaking of Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. It’s an interesting theory, and I think about right.

    Hi Sylvia,
    Many thanks. Yes, I like doing my twisty tales. I suppose it keeps me sane 🙂

    Hi Kim,
    Sometimes it happens. Great minds, and all that.

  14. Rose said

    This brings up the conundrum in American society today–when are individual rights more important than the good of society? I agree we have to be concerned with community as well.

    I don’t usually promote my posts in comments, but if you have time tomorrow afternoon or evening, you might like a book review I’m posting then on an interesting book: “The Geography of Bliss.” The search for happiness is another of those goals that people have only after they have met their needs to survive.

  15. Hi Rose,
    Yes, the search for happiness is only carried out by those who have time on their hands. Our expectations certainly change over our existence, don’t they?

  16. Without community there probably wouldn’t be a Me. Or a you (depending on the alphabet :)) As always a thought provoking read!

  17. That execution in China caught my attention. Sometimes I appreciate China’s black-and-white approach to justice. And when I think about it, I wonder if I have lost my mind.

  18. Reader Wil said

    Hi Anthony! “The Mortician” reminds me of “The Loved One” by Evelyn Waugh. It’s a satire and rather morbid but also funny like your post! Thanks for your visit and happy New Year!

  19. Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. I think you’ve got that about right.

    Hi Sandy,
    Yes, simple solutions can be seductive – but usually wrong.

    Hi Reader Wil,
    I’ve read a lot of Waugh but don’t recall that one. I’ll have to look it up. And a Happy New Year to you.

  20. lovely 🙂

    Fill the Drain

  21. Hi AD,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  22. ThomG said

    An interesting piece with the 3WW prompt.

  23. The rats made me itchy…. ewwwww…. scrape, scrape, scrape…

  24. Hi Thom,
    Many thanks for the comment.

    Hi Julie,
    Scrape, indeed.

  25. jantun said

    I enjoyed all of them! Great integration of the 3 words on rats!

  26. Hi Jantun,
    Thanks for that, and welcome.

  27. Jay said

    Oh yes, we still have the same drives, alright. It’s just that these days they’re channelled differently. Those little frou-frou ‘handbag’ dogs beloved of celebrities can be child substitutes, and sports (of course) and less acceptably, graffiti art and vandalism have become a new outlet for testosterone-fuelled aggression. That is over-simplifying, of course, but there’s a core of truth that we would be foolish to ignore.

  28. Hi Jay,
    I’ve often said that the only thing that ever changes is the culture through which we act. As you say, the drives remain.

  29. Seems like a common theme running through:) on the mortician and stalked:) did not expect that at all! both times!!

    You always have interesting twists;) can never figure out!

  30. Hi Just Someone,
    Thanks for that. I do love doing my twisty tales.

  31. stan said

    Myself or my Self…?
    Fame – another new old movie…
    Mortician – beautitian…similar.
    Rats – a nibble rather than an epic – reading it didn’t drain me.

  32. Hi Stan,
    Oh well, I can’t win them all 😉

  33. Dr. John said

    Loved the 55. The ending was , as always, a surprise.

  34. Love the metaphor of rats and thieves!! great to be back around these parts!

  35. Hi Tony, Happy New Year, we’re snowed in this side of the ‘backbone’. Sorry I’ve not been around for ages, wonderful post from you as ever, You’ve really got me thinking on the question of ‘You’ and that could be dangerous!

    btw, The American Sandwich game.. and The NaiSaiKu Challenge are back Online from today, with new posts every Tuesday.

  36. Lilibeth said

    Unprincipled fellows, those rats.

  37. lissa said

    THE MORTICIAN – surprise ending

    Rats – sounds like any other city – I like the rhyming

  38. Hi Dr John,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Amarettogirl,
    Many thanks, and welcome back.

    Hi Andy,
    Yes, ‘you’ is quite a subject 😉
    It’s pretty bad this side of the backbone, too. Good luck with your returning prompts.

    Hi Lilibeth,
    They are indeed.

    Hi Lissa,
    Yes, you’ll find them in any city nowadays.

  39. Derrick said

    Hi Anthony,

    Great selection this week in ‘The Crime Post’. But don’t let these things prey on your mind!

  40. Hi Derrick,
    Many thanks. Don’t worry, I never let it get me down 🙂

  41. pia said

    I think the best communities are filled with people who are individuals in all senses but come together for the common good

  42. Hi Pia,
    I can’t disagree with that.

  43. WHAT A CRIME – fun to read and to decide which words were chosen from the prompt. They all fit together so well and told a tale as well. Nice.

  44. Mark said

    Y’know, Anthony…I’m always glad I stop by. I never fail to find something worth my time.

  45. Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. I like my monthly move into crime writing.

    Hi Mark,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  46. Therese said

    I think “What a Crime” is the RWP prompt poem? I’m guessing that the dictionary words in reverse alph. order are: habitual, giddy, fritter, essence, disloyal…? I like that the “crime” is committed by the words! Very clever and fetching.

  47. Hi Therese,
    Thanks for that. Yes, sometimes words have a lot to answer for.

  48. irene said

    hi Anthony, ‘Indurate boy’ struck a note. Made me think of the latest youth crime trend here – runners for illegal loansharks who go around vandalising the door of debtors.

  49. Hi Irene,
    That’s a nasty trend. Organised crime is getting younger, isn’t it?

  50. I enjoyed your Fiction 55 very much. So well wrought. Ah, guilt…

  51. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, guilt can rule everything. A good job, sometimes

  52. very nice 55. chilling, the wieght of our concious and its dead bodies.

    mine is up!

  53. Hi Brian,
    Many thanks. A good job we’ve got it, though.

  54. Super excellent….it’s like, like…an literary mystery that’ll become a best seller. You’ve piqued our interest on your 55 now…now, I was the sequel.

    HERE is mine –scroll down below my show n tell as always. Happy Friday.

  55. Hi Hootin’ Anni,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  56. Fandango said

    Poor guy in your flash 55. All thsat guilt to carry.
    Well done 55.

  57. Jeeves said

    Enjoyed this one

  58. Hi Fandango,
    Thanks for that. Yes, he’s got lots there.

    Hi Jeeves,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  59. Mama Zen said

    The Mortician is very cool!

  60. Hi Mama Zen,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  61. great and dark 55!! reminds me a bit of the start to a clive barker novel!! mine is up too

  62. Hi Clean and Crazy,
    Many thanks. It’s been many years since I’ve read Clive Barker.

  63. Great twist on your 55.

  64. Hi Alice,
    Thanks for that. I do love doing my twisty tales.

  65. Thom said

    Don’t they say that confession is good for the soul? Love the 55. Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  66. Hi Thom,
    Many thanks. They do indeed.

  67. Akelamalu said

    Your 55 could have been what prompted someone to become the Mortician don’t you think? :0

    Great writing as always Anthony.

  68. Hi Akelamalu,
    Many thanks. There’s definitely a link there.

  69. jessie said

    you have some powerful stuff here this week. i think Rats was the one that really caught me off guard — they are all stop and think about it stuff!

    have a great weekend!

  70. G-Man said

    Tony…The 55 was subtle and BRILLIANT!
    Powerful in it’s simplicity.
    Thank You very much for this Gem!
    And please have a Wonderful Week-End…G

  71. Hi Jessie,
    Thanks for that. I tend to get on my soapbox writing about crime.

    Hi G-Man,
    Many thanks. Very kind words.

  72. Felicitas said

    Loved the 55 – and the whole crime theme you’ve got going here! The ending was quite unexpected.

  73. Selma said

    I agree with you about China. Their human rights issues are unacceptable. It is very worrying considering their growing global influence.

    Excellent poetry and fiction!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU XXX

  74. Dee said

    Loved it all Anthony! The Rats and Stalked were my favs 🙂

  75. Hi Felicitas,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked the post.

    Hi Selma,
    Yes, we need to speak out about China. And a Happy New Year to you.

    Hi Dee,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  76. Indurate struck a nerve. I had a student like that until the other day, when his mother and his advocate and a social worker removed him. There is an orange jumpsuit with his number on hit somewhere. Hardness makes certain outcomes inevitable.

  77. Hi Sandy,
    Yes, sadly it does – and far too often.

  78. pieceofpie said

    excellent post tony… if you could hear and see… reaction is everything… yes, power is explosive… yay picard!!!!… im still watching the reruns of the TNG… can never get enough and really, really enjoyed yr short stories… thank you

  79. wayne said

    as usuall a good read with lots to say…..nicely done again and thanks for sharing this…cheers

  80. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. I still watch TNG, too. A great series.

    Hi Wayne,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  81. Not so much indurated than badgered into a position…

  82. Hi Nathalie,
    You’re not wrong there.

  83. Mortician as artist. That piece is brilliant, Anthony. A strange art, indeed.

  84. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. It certainly is.

  85. Loch Rob said

    Anthony, I enjoyed reading “Indurate Boy”. Somewhat of a commentary on life in some of the big cities. Our hope is that we catch these poor soles (intervening) before it’s too late. I have read with interest, many of your writings this week. I wish I had the time and motivation to invest in more writing. I enjoy your blog a lot. My best, Rob.

  86. Loch Rob said

    It should have read, “poor souls”. 🙂

  87. Hi Rob,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated. Yes, if we could only identify them and steer them away from such a life.

  88. Amity said

    Anthony;

    am quite sure it’s a struggle for that boy, but what works is “survival of the fittest’!

    we have a lot in any society around the world…

  89. It does become a game to see how ‘indurate’ they can be! Excellent!

  90. Hi Amity,
    We have indeed, and it’s a great shame.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. Unfortunately it IS so.

  91. Hi Anthony:

    Fascinating that you wrote about individuality this week. As I understand it, some schools of thought consider the self, or the ego, as an illusion of individual existence. So on one hand, eventually moving past this illusion, i.e. “ego death” would be a good thing. But is individuality solely produced in the ego as a result of external and internal forces, or does it lie elsewhere?

    On the other hand, if individuality is a luxury, it is something attained and solidified the further that one moves up Maslow’s hierarchy?

    Questions to consider.

    -Nicole

  92. Hi Nicole,
    I like that you mention Maslow’s hierarcy. Interestingly, the ultimate stage is self-actualisation, which can be theorised as beyond ego – a far more socially aware state. Maybe Ego is just a stage in our socialisation.

  93. Shadowplay said

    Anthony, your first piece on “What are You” reminded me very much of Tony Parsons – I wonder if you’ve heard of him? A fellow Brit (don’t you all know one another, lol?). Anyway, this idea of who we really are is a huge interest of mine…

    Your OSI piece reminded me of Gran Torino (Clint Eastwood movie). Have you seen it? Very much speaks to the point you were making… Incredible point it was. Great post this week on many levels!

    Cheers,
    April

  94. Hi April,
    Thanks for that. I’ve heard of Tony Parsons but never read him, unfortunately, As for Clint Eastwood, he’s one of my favourite American actor-directors.

  95. Jim said

    Anthony, I feel for your Indurate Boy. Yet here in Houston we have a young lady, in her teens, who has been convicted of murder. She has always lived with the gangs and had to protect her friend. It was sad, she could have been a very productive young person had she begun her life in another world. There are many, many like her who have different problems.
    ..

  96. Hi Jim,
    Thanks for that. It is a tragedy that happens all too often.

  97. if said

    when you say “you” I like that…….we have two pronouns for your you : tú and usted….the tú more familiar and the “usted” for strangers …but it is a big problem when some want and urge the other to be named as tú….:)then for us it is more complex…:)

  98. Hi If,
    Thanks for that piece of info.

  99. kim said

    just to comment on ‘history’, are you are saying that we’re going on ‘circles’ that history really ‘repeats itself’ to start another mark in history which, significant as it seems, it just a repetition of what happened a long time ago, only, the participants are different. if that’s the case, we’re not accomplishing anything, we’re just repeating the mistakes and resolution of the past only with a touch of technology and other new things..

  100. kimmy said

    hi! sorry about this, but i got confused with your blog, i didn’t know where to post a comment and in my confusion i posted a comment using a different link, anyway, i posted a comment as ‘kim’ hope to see more of your posts! more power!

  101. Hi Kimmy,
    Yes, that’s about how I see it. One day I hope we’ll break the cycle.
    Thanks for the comment, and yes, my magazine format can be a bit confusing.

Leave a comment