BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

TIME FOR A BREAK

Posted by anthonynorth on November 27, 2010

computer-lap-top1Over the last month I’ve felt the need to take a break from blogging and feel I must now do so. How long it will be, I don’t know. If people want to keep in touch, I’m still active on Facebook and Twitter and would love to see you. I’ve been blogging now for four years, with 1,100 posts, 27,000 comments and 660,000 hits and have thoroughly enjoyed it.
Any new visitors may still enjoy my Magazine Posts below and the hundreds of stories, essays and poems linked from my sub-domains on the strip above. To my faithful readers, I need more time to concentrate on my book writing, but believe me I have enjoyed the journey with you here on Beyond the Blog. Thank you, and in time honoured fashion, I leave, for now, with some flash fiction.

mummy
THE JESUS CODE

Fiction: He stood in the chamber. He’d cracked many codes; dug many
a site to get there. Now he held the Holy Grail. Was it the famed
chalice or the blood of Christ? He scraped out the dried blood of the
spear wound. It had been both. And the geneticists were ready for the
Second Coming.

A FATHER’S SON

Fiction: He’d come to terms with his father being a murderer. It had
taken time. So much abandonment as his father went on the run,
evading police. For many years he’d searched, trying to come to terms
with his loathing. But now, as he looked upon his father’s body, he put
down the gun and cried.

ONE MIDSUMMER

He would sit on midsummer nights and dream, three witches close by.
He had been told of his family’s past; of the blind uncle; of the
conspiracies and murders; of the loves and tragedies. He himself had
only been born as his parents were revived after their suicide attempt.
Young Will knew he had many a tale to tell.

3 GHOSTS + 1

He sat by the hearth listening to the chimes. The first ghost appeared
telling of so much affluence and goodwill lost. The second ghost told of
poverty, sickness and squalor. With the third he learnt of future
darkness, despair – destruction of his world. But still!! ‘Bah, humbug,’
said the banker. And now … the poltergeist comes …

NANO-NO

Horror: They went ahead, despite the warnings. Nano tech was to be
the new tech, and that was that. The lab did a good job in
development but never considered the probes could become lonely …
congregate … grasp consciousness. Soon all they needed were hosts.
Now they were banging on the doors. They really shouldn’t have built
the lab by a graveyard.

© Anthony North, 2010

89 Responses to “TIME FOR A BREAK”

  1. I will miss these varied Saturday reads, but enjoy your sabbatical.

    In The Jesus Code, did you mean scrapped? or scraped? Sorry: my proofreader’s hat was on my head as I was reading.

  2. Bill said

    Your post this week was another winner. The third and fourth entry being my favorites. I will miss coming and reading your Weekly Post Anthony, but you need to do what you are happiest at. I myself find blogging a bit of a chore now. It seems I only post Susan’s weekly Microfiction now, my blog isn’t what I originally had planned.

    I will follow you on the facebook, I enjoy your daily posts there. Good luck on your writings.

  3. Hi Viv,
    Thanks for that, although I’ll be remaining busy on other projects. Spelling correction made 🙂

    Hi Bill,
    Many thanks. A writer is what I am at heart, as much as I’ve enjoyed doing my posts. Facebook and Twitter are quicker, so will allow me the time.

  4. Interesting as always…It was a pleasure reading from you each time I did…you will be missed and I wish you the best in your endeavors.

    Cheers!

  5. Hi Emmanuel,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  6. Enjoy your break I think I can speak for everyone, you’ll be missed and we look forward to when your ready to return.

  7. Hi Amanda,
    Many thanks for those kind words.

  8. pamela said

    Anthony,
    Enjoyed all of these. My favourites are “the jesus code” and “A father’s son” (a poignant piece).
    Hope you have a nice break from blogland. I will be seeing you occasionally on fb.
    Cheers,
    Pamela

  9. Hi Pamela,
    Thanks for that. Look forward to seeing you on FB.

  10. KB said

    Liking your spooky theme Anthony.

  11. Hi KB,
    Thanks for that.

  12. Oh, loved all the three. Thanks Anthony sir, I am sure you have had a great journey..may the break give you much needed momentum.. and indeed space for doing what you want to be doing at this stage..continue to be a giver.. will be missing you at OSI.. May you continue to Practice Happiness..God bless!

    Ramesh Sood

  13. Hi Ramesh Sood,
    Many thanks for that. I’ll still be active with stories, poems and mini-essays on Facebook, plus I’m putting the required effort again into my books – something I’ve neglected too much. But this four year journey here has been wonderful, and I’m more than grateful to all my readers.

  14. kimmy said

    oh… i’m going to miss you Anthony. good luck and GOD bless you always..

  15. Hi Kimmy,
    Thank you. It isn’t a decision I took lightly, but time is a difficult task master.

  16. sandra said

    I am glad to have shared Anthony…your words are always nice to read!

  17. James said

    Even though there was a few things we never agreed upon. I still learnt alot and i will miss your blogs. best wishes James.

  18. It was a pleasure to read your work…
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

  19. naquillity said

    it’s sad to here you’re stepping away from your blog but, i’m pleased to know we can keep in touch on facebook/ twitter. good luck with your book writing. i’m sure you’ll do well. have a great day.

  20. Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for that. Very kind.

    Hi James,
    Thanks for the best wishes. Despite the disagreements, it’s been a fun ride.

    Hi Sumit Sarkar,
    Many thanks.

    Hi Naquillity,
    It was a difficult decision, but time became the master, I’m afraid. Thanks for the best wishes.

  21. You will be missed. You will be welcomed back when your time is right! Enjoye the inbetween!!

  22. Hi Tumblewords,
    That means a lot to me. You were there when I first began writing for the prompts, and look forward to you being here when I return. Which I’m sure I will. Thank you for all the support.

  23. Pat said

    I too have enjoyed reading your posts, Anthony. You are quite talented. I’ll miss your clever stories and poems…All the best to you as you continue working on your book.

    I’m slowing down in the number of posts I create, too…I’ll probably stop in a year or two.

  24. Hi Pat,
    Many thanks for the kind words. Sadly I’ve no option but to do this. Finding the time for the books was proving difficult, so I had to commit. It was a difficult decision.

  25. ms pie said

    hi tony, love how we pass through the wires smiling and saying hello, now i say farewell from the blog and you shall be missed… have always enjoyed your bitty novellas and political notes.. from over this side of the world to your side of the world, till then again we meet on the blog…

  26. Hi Ms Pie,
    Many thanks for that, and it has always been a pleasure. ‘Til we meet again …

  27. hope said

    As always, you serve up a dish of words that are quite filling. Have a great week, Sir!

  28. kaykuala said

    I had only recently got onto your blog. Would miss it. Enjoy the break and come again if you may when the going’s good!

  29. Peggy said

    I will miss you Anthony and I hope for your return someday.
    Go with my admiration and friendship.
    You will be missed!
    On too wonderful adventures my friend.

  30. You will be missed indeed, Anthony! I do understand, but I hope you’ll be able to return someday. Thank you for your kind words over the past months, they were and will always be appreciated. Take care!

    Sylvia

  31. Hi Hope,
    Thanks for that.

    Hi Kaykuala,
    I certainly hope to. But for now, other work must be done.

    Hi Peggy,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi Sylvia,
    And you are appreciated, too. Yes, I hope to return eventually.

  32. trisha said

    you will be missed very much anthony. 😦
    but priorities are priorities and i know how addictive blogging is.
    best of luck my dear friend, will be glad to have you back here again. till then… stay well and happy.

  33. Hi Trisha,
    Thanks for that. It was a difficult decision, but time was becoming my master.

  34. Twilight said

    Hasta la vista AN! We’ll miss you, but will be at the ready, should you ever decide to return. 🙂

  35. Hi Twilight,
    Many thanks for that. And it’s good to know 🙂

  36. jinksy said

    Hello and goodbye, it seems! Enjoy your time off though…

  37. Hi Jinksy,
    Thanks for that. I’ll still be busy, but on other things.

  38. quilly said

    Well, Tony, you left us with a set of great stories! I wish you much success with your writing. You are very good at these little bits of horror. I suspect that whatever you create will be very chilling.

  39. Hi Quilly,
    Many thanks for that. Some of it certainly will be, I hope. I’ll be back, I’m sure.

  40. wayne said

    great stuff Tony…..take a break indeed….thanks for sharing all your words….maybe catch you on FB…cheers

  41. zephyr said

    Will miss your posts Anthony. Since I am not on either FB or Twitter, I won’t be able to read your stuff. All the best though for your book writing. I am also going to be busy writing the book(s),I had been commissioned to do sometime back, but I hope I will find some time to do my posts, since the books are for children and the posts are for myself 🙂

  42. Hi Wayne,
    Thanks for that. Hope to see you there.

    Hi Zephyr,
    Many thanks. blogging is a most satisfying activity, and I have had fun with it over 4 years. I’m only leaving it now for a while because of time. Something simply had to go, unfortunately.

  43. Michael G-G said

    As others have said, you will be missed. I have enjoyed your news, your microfiction, and your flash fiction. I don’t do facebook or Twitter, so I’ll just have to pray that you come back in a wee while, refreshed and ready once more to blog.

    Best regards,
    Michael

  44. Hi Michael,
    Thanks for that. I hope to be back. Just need to concentrate on my books for now.

  45. Geraldine said

    I hope you have a wonderful and energizing break Tony, we all need them. Some impressive stats. Most of all, when I do leave blogland for a while, I miss the interaction with other bloggers, I’m not concerned about quantity, rather the quality. And I’ve met some quality people online, that’s for sure. It’s been a pleasure and it always brings me back. I hope you will come back soon as well. Happy Rest, G

    Some Treasures from Etsy. Great gift ideas too!

  46. Thanks so much for being part of ABC Wednesday – you are always welcome to hop aboard anytime you wish – you need not do a whole journey a one off anytime you wish – the kettle will be on and we will welcome you with open arms
    Thanks again
    Denise x

  47. Nanka said

    You really do need that well deserved break!!

    Have a great time and good wishes
    for the grand festive season ahead!!

  48. All the best!

  49. Hi Geraldine,
    Many thanks for the kind words. I hope to be back eventually.

    Hi Denise,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Nanka,
    Many thanks for the kind wishes.

    Hi EG Wow,
    And to you. Thank you.

  50. Chris G. said

    Oh no! I’m sorry to hear you’re off to break, Anthony, but I do hope it helps. Good luck with the book; I know I’ll be anxiously awaiting your return, whenever that day rolls around. Hopefully not too long – but whatever the length, you’ve earned it.

    A Father’s Son was tragic…a conclusion of a cycle, in a sense, or a continuation–the father brings the son into his life through his own destruction, brings him to the path he despises by forcing him to end it. Nano-No was entertaining, but between the lot, I’m going to have to say your third and fourth entry were my favorites this week. Particularly Midsummer…

    Cheers, Anthony! We at One Stop shall miss your blogging presence!

  51. Hi Chris,
    Many thanks for the kind words. I’ll miss my blogging very much, but time is my master, and my work on my books has suffered. But I do intend to return.

  52. suzicate said

    I think we all need to take time for ourselves now and then and to work on other projects. I hope you have both a productive and enjoyable sabbatical.

  53. Monkey Man said

    Enjoy the break. Hope it proves productive for you.

  54. moondustwriter said

    I understand the drain. Anthony you have been such an encouragement and a mentor to so many of us we thank you. Your great writings will be missed
    Thanks for your support of one Stop from the inception – please come by just to say hi

    Hugs from the Moon

    P.S. Your final entries are nothing less than superb

  55. dustus said

    Anthony, all very well done. One Midsummer I liked best b/c of the initial reference that colored my reading of it. Cheers

  56. Well, I’ll miss your weekly eclectic musings. I’ve been blogging for 5.5 years, and I don’t know if i stop, if i’d start again.

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  57. KB said

    It’s good to take a break but don’t leave us for too long.

  58. Hi Suzicate,
    Thanks for that.

    Hi Monkey Man,
    Many thanks. I’m committing to something now I should have a long time ago.

    Hi Moondustwriter,
    Many thanks for those kind words.

    Hi Dustus,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked them.

    Hi Roger,
    Thanks for that. I certainly couldn’t give up writing, so coming back may be easier.

    Hi KB,
    I’ll try not to.

  59. ninotaziz said

    Oh dear! Enjoy the break but we will surely miss you!

  60. Hi Ninotaziz,
    Thanks for that. I’ll miss you all, too, but time demands, unfortunately.

  61. I’ll miss you, too. But here’s hoping that the time away give us a great book before long. Best wishes.

  62. Hi Mama Badger,
    Many thanks for the kind wishes.

  63. Shashi said

    I enjoyed reading this one.. thanks

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  64. Hi Shashi,
    Thanks for that.

  65. brian said

    i always enjoy my trips around your way…and always appreciated your encouragement. may the road rise up to meet you until we meet again…

  66. Anthony…You know from past visits from me that I have always enjoyed your work!!! Please take a lot of time to do other fun things and have a good time while taking your blog break!!! I do hope you’ll return soon, tho!! In the meantime, if you’d like to stop by…….

    My 55 is posted!! Here is the link for you.

  67. Hi Brian,
    Thanks for that. hopefully it will be soon.

    Hi Hootin’ Anni,
    Many thanks for that.

  68. G-Man said

    Tony…
    Your stories were marvelous.
    Your talent, creativity, and support is Fantastic.
    You are an amazingly prolific writer.
    Thanks for everything, hope to see you back soon…G

  69. Hi G-Man,
    Many thanks for that. Hopefully it won’t be too long. I’ll miss blogging, that’s for sure.

  70. Curtis said

    The Nano one was so creepy. Nanotechnology can be a big sack of no.

  71. Claudia said

    enjoy the break anthony and hope to see you back soon..

  72. Hi Curtis,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it worries me.

    Hi Claudia,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  73. Kavita said

    MY GOD! Each was spookier than the previous! And midsummer totally creeped me out!! Reading them all was a pleasure nonetheless!!! Concise and very poignant, really!

  74. Hi Kavita,
    Many thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

  75. Geraldine said

    Stopping in to wish you all the best in 2011. May it be a wonderful, inspiring year for all of us. Take care Tony. G

  76. Hi Geraldine,
    Thanks for that. And to you.

  77. Reader Wil said

    Hi Anthony! I hope you’ll have a great break! From time to time we all need it and you have written so many interesting posts. However, we hope to see you back after your break. Have a great Christmas and a happy 2011.

  78. Hi Reader Wil,
    Thanks for that, and the same to you. I’ll definitely be back.

  79. Twilight said

    Happy Christmas to you and yours – and all that you wish for in 2011 AN!

  80. Hi Twilight,
    Many thanks for that. And Merry Xmas to you and yours.

  81. Dear A –

    Rock on my brother … write like you’ve never written before.

    Peace,
    JP/deb

  82. Hi Deb,
    Thanks for that. I’ll certainly try to.

  83. I’ve been feeling a need to take a break, too, but have actually become less active on Facebook and Twitter, rather than more.

  84. Hi Alice, mindst you the breaks over now. I’m back with my new site.

  85. Monkey Man said

    Thanks for stopping by to wish a Happy New Year. Best of new year’s wishes to you as well. What is the new site you reference in your reply to Alice? Is it public?

  86. Hi Monkey Man,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I’ll send you details.

  87. nessa said

    So many good selections, Anthony, but i think i like A Father’s Son best because it came full circle.

  88. Hi Nessa, thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  89. nessa said

    As someone who just came off of a month long break, i sure do understand.

Leave a comment