BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

Archive for July 31st, 2007

THE DAILY GRAIL

Posted by anthonynorth on July 31, 2007

chalice.jpg When I conceived Beyond the Blog, the idea was to fill up the pages, above, with lots and lots of essays on loads and loads of subjects. It was to be a blog full of information and thoughts.
That reason is still uppermost in my mind, and I cannot ever see me moving away from this primary role. But then I began to include my Tony On current affairs posts; and now, a further idea, an actual ‘blog’ with my Diary of a Writer.
I’ve got a lot of building up to do on this yet, and I intend maybe three posts a week. But what do I write about? Well, I guess I’ll decide each time I come to write a post. That way I’ll keep it fresh; and if I don’t know what’s coming, hopefully there’ll be a few surprises for the reader, too.

The Daily Grail

One decision I made, though, was to feature some of the sites I really like. And I guess the first one to write about is The Daily Grail.
What can one say about this hallowed corner of cyberspace? Well, each week day you can log on for links to the latest off-beat and alternative news and ideas. That alone can keep you busy for a long time.
Of course, some will annoy you, or put ideas in the head, so as a user, the comments is a must. This isn’t a site where you place a comment and that’s it. For often it turns into the most intense debate I’ve yet found on the net. And make sure you know what you’re talking about, ‘cos there’s no prisoners taken here.
As a user you can even have your own blog, each post displayed on the right sidebar for people to comment on. Here, you can link to things you find of interest … and then defend your corner as the debate begins …
From the paranormal to the environment, from UFOs to sorting out the world, if you’re a writer and a thinker, and your ideas are a little on the alternative, give The Daily Grail a go. It’s infectious.
Sample debate, when it really gets going.

© Anthony North, July 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

TONY ON NASA AND OTHER NEWS

Posted by anthonynorth on July 31, 2007

THOUGHTS FROM A COMMON MAN
News and comment LATEST: The NASA fiasco – it’s been going on for some time … PLUS … Kids and the net; It’s that Diana thing again … and again, and again …
READ THE ULTIMATE MAGAZINE POST … from a real voice of Britain and the world.

shuttle-in-orbit.jpgNASA IN A MESS

Allegations have been made that NASA astronauts have been flying while drunk. Coming in the wake of many other discrepancies, it seems the glory days of NASA are over, the astronauts no longer the great heroes they were once thought.
What could be behind this declining culture in the US space program? The obvious answer is low morale. Rather than spearheading the new frontier of exploration, they are being turned into orbital workmen, whilst machines go out into space.
It was never meant to be like this. The history of human exploration has been a proud affair, with many explorers being household names, but now it is grinding to a halt. And the reason why is this:
Exploration has always been fuelled by trade and backed by business. NASA is government funded, and they have always slowed exploration down. Maybe it is time for big business to realize its historic responsibility, stop fuelling a society on trivia, and get on with the project it is their historic duty to follow.
When this project begins, the astronauts will be too busy to get drunk – and proud.

© Anthony North, July 2007

CHILDREN OF THE WORLD?

A new study has advised that children in the UK will sit in front of a TV or computer screen for 7 hours a day when not at school. Dairy Farmers of Britain carried out the survey to show how our young are becoming disconnected from ‘outdoors’ …
read more

WAS HENRI PAUL DRUNK?

The Diana conspiracies are in the news again – this time concerning whether Lord Stevens has added to the problems. The ex-Met Commissioner chaired the recent inquiry into Diana’s death …
read more

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for more current affairs.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Inde-Pol

Posted in Society | Leave a Comment »