BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

MM – HOW TO STAY FRESH

Posted by anthonynorth on May 4, 2008

READ MY ULTIMATE MAGAZINE POST – Something posted most days – keep visiting!
What’s on today: A post inspired by a Manic Monday meme and a Writers’ Island prompt. Have you had a go yet? … PLUS … Click Eye On the World for my current affairs.
YOU KNOW IT’S THE WRITE WAY

HOW TO STAY FRESH

Wash, for starters.
After all, you’re not fresh if you’re smelly. And don’t forget all those private bits – protect against fungi – especially between the …
… and let’s have a bit of anti-perspirant here, please. You’re the only one who loves your body odour. And how about squeezing those zits. No! Don’t aim.
And could your clothes do with a …
… disinfection? And what do you mean you don’t iron?

Well, that’s one way to stay fresh.

But there’s also another. Life so easily becomes boring, routine. And whilst there’s a lot going for a bit of routine in our lives, it can go too far.
Routine is good to provide stability. It’s a form of magic, especially your routine in a morning. It places the mind in equilibrium with the world, and things fall into place, proved by the fact that, if your routine is disturbed, your day usually ends in disaster.
But keep routine where it belongs. As for the rest of your life, try something new every day. It only has to be a little thing – nothing special. Just something to provide a fresh experience.
This gives you a fresh start every day, and you feel fulfilled because of it. It makes you feel alive, and able to grab life by the horns. It says, above all else, I exist!
After you’ve washed, of course.

© Anthony North, May 2008

REFRESH

Pictures of life on my computer exist,
full of experience that does persist;
sometimes it’s good, sometimes bad,
yet living, it is certainly had;
But what, if like the computer screen,
we could alter what has been?
Click ‘refresh’ and change it all,
stopping those things that make us fall?
What kind of witchcraft this would be,
refreshing life for you and me,
existing as we want to be,
and I would then,
be a deity

Anthony North, May 2008

******************************

FRESH IDENTITY – Fiction

If only I’d known. If only I’d realized the errors of my ways. But we rarely do so before taking the plunge.
I suppose you could call me a fraudster. Computer banking and electronic records were my thing. Ah, the delights it offered for identity fraud. And once you’ve got your mark, you can create a whole fresh identity for yourself. And if you’re really lucky, finding a no hoper, with a life that went almost unrecognized, and found him dead, apparently having committed suicide, and no one knows …
Well, I managed to step into his shadow perfectly – after burying his body, of course.

Such a non-entity he had been.

No one ever recognized him, he had never been in debt, he had no family to become suspicious, and soon my fresh identity was building a new life for itself.
So you can imagine the shock when, six months into my fresh identity, armed police burst into my house, spread-eagled me on the floor, and rushed me in for questioning.
A little extreme, you may think, for simple identity fraud. Well, let this be a warning to all who think they can get away with it in the end. There is always a catch.
And what was mine?
Well, I have a lifetime in prison to ponder it – how total and absolute my success that no one would believe I wasn’t who I had claimed to be. And why, oh why, did I have to pick a murderer on the run?

© Anthony North, May 2008

21 Responses to “MM – HOW TO STAY FRESH”

  1. Love these musings and meanderings on freshness and identity. Excellent mix! JP/deb

  2. Hi JanePoe,
    Thanks for that. I’m pleased you liked them. I certainly had fun with the prompt.

  3. Brian said

    A fresh look at fresh problems, truly a breath of fresh air pumping fresh life into this blog. 🙂

  4. Hi Brian,
    And fresh and wonderful comments to keep it breathing 🙂

  5. Ivanhoe said

    I’m with you – hygene is certainly very important start of the day. I hate stinky people on public transportation! And it gets worse on the way home :o)
    Have a great Monday!

  6. Hi Ivanhoe,
    Thanks for that. Staying fresh is always the best idea 🙂
    I’m with you there.

  7. Gattina said

    To give some excitement to my routine life I will take a shower for once to be fresh, lol !

  8. Hi Gattina,
    Loved your reply. I’ll shower you with praise for that 🙂

  9. Geez, Anthony. Washing… even I wouldn’t have thought of that twist on the prompt!

  10. Hi Susan,
    Good of you to come clean about that 🙂

  11. Kimmie said

    Hi Anthony!

    Oh how I loved this mixture of all things “Fresh”. Of course, we all love to wash and be all clean and shiny, plus smell really pretty too! That goes without saying! But I liked how you worded it.LOL!

    Looking at life with a “Fresh” definately hit home for me. It hasn’t been the best of times. So, thank you my friend. I am going to take those thoughts and impliment them into my own life. Something new everyday! I like that. 🙂
    Hugs,
    Kimmie

  12. Just so you know, I took my shower today!

  13. Hi Kimmie,
    Thanks for that. I’m convinced life can always be fresh, if we raise the mind-state to demand it of ourselves.
    After all, no one else will demand it for us.

    Hi WillThink4Wine,
    That’s good. Now don’t forget tomorrow 🙂

  14. Reba said

    Whooof!! Lots of fresh thoughts fur this dog. Bark!

  15. Alice said

    You want me to put deodorant WHERE?? Hahahaha. Great post.

  16. marilyn said

    How did you know I don’t iron?

  17. Hi Reba,
    There is indeed. Hope you enjoyed them.

    Hi Alice,
    Now that’s entirely up to you 🙂

    Hi Marilyn,
    Tut, tut! As for me, I’m banned from ironing by my wife. Whenever I try, something gets burnt.

  18. Selma said

    Murderer on the run, eh? That’ll teach you!

  19. Hi Selma,
    Indeed. Although not ‘me’; the character 🙂

  20. Travis said

    Well done all around!

  21. Hi Travis,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked the post.

Leave a comment