BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

TONY ON POETIC, MARS, RELIGION

Posted by anthonynorth on May 27, 2008

Including ReadWritePoem. Have you had a go yet?

Welcome to my daily Diary post. Cherie Blair, wife of ex-Brit Prime Minister Tony Blair, said last week that it was possible to be a good Catholic and use contraception. Now, I don’t often agree with Mrs Blair, but does she have a point?
Does a religion have to be cast in stone, or is there room for moving with the times? For instance, if we take Scripture, the reality is, it was written for a certain community at a certain time in history.

Does Scripture always have to be adhered to, word for word?


Or is there room for compromise as times move on. Of course, a fundamentalist will no doubt say no. It is the word of God, or whatever deity the religion involves. But not all religions are like this.
Hindu scripture is layered, covering a vast amount of time. And with each layer you can see how it was adapted to the times. In some ways, you can say the same about the Gospels changing much of the Old Testament. It seems to me that religion was meant to be adaptable. Do you agree?

Nasa has safely landed its Phoenix spacecraft on Mars.

The most significant exploration yet on the Red Planet, its brief is to search out signs that there may have been life. Of course, they won’t find the most obvious signs of life.
This is because the most obvious signs of life on Mars should be us. Phoenix is no doubt a brilliant piece of equipment, but does sending ‘intelligent’ toys into space qualify as exploration? I don’t think so.
I cannot say this enough: mankind is failing to continue the greatest story of our existence – our ability to be curious and explore. What Phoenix should have found was a well-established colony of human explorers of at least 20 years standing.
Mankind is currently suffering a bout of collective cowardice. Columbus will be turning in his grave.
Don’t forget to call by tomorrow.

© Anthony North, May 2008

AN AVERAGE DAY

Woke up happy, never sad,
kissed my wife, made me glad;
got up, washed, went to eat,
the kids were waiting for me to greet;
read the paper, knew the world,
current events as they unfurled;
Got in the car, drove to work,
it was a thing I’d never shirk;
Enjoyed my lunch, with my friends,
talked about the latest trends;
Finished work, went back home,
after dinner, read the latest tome;
After supper, said goodnight,
in bed I held my wife so tight;
Imagination I did display,
about my life, and my way;
Nothing else, can I say,
since I died yesterday

(c) Anthony North, May 2008

******************************

Fiction Xtra – HE ISN’T THERE – A tale of persecution

The Techno-Lord looked once more into the eyes of the Heretic. ‘He isn’t there,’ he said. ‘Say it. Say it! He isn’t there.’
The Heretic sat within the force field. Immobile except for his head, his body was covered in probe holes, where the ‘treatment’ had been inserted. His eyes still held, within them, the after-shock of expression as he remembered the pain.
His head seemed to hang from his shoulders. But still he found the strength to raise himself. His eyes burned into the Techno-Lord with an intense heat. ‘He IS there!’ he declared, defiantly.
The Techno-Lord shook his head. So many of them, he thought. So many retain the delusion.
A gasp came from the audience. It had been his last chance. And now, the Techno-Lord pressed the button.
Slowly, the juice flowed down the tube. The audience watched it with a mesmeric intensity. Eventually, it entered the body of the Heretic and his eyes closed.
He seemed to float, then, for so long. Where he was traveling he had no idea, but knew that soon he’d know whether his death had been in vain.
Eventually, the floating stopped, and he opened his eyes …

© Anthony North, May 2008

22 Responses to “TONY ON POETIC, MARS, RELIGION”

  1. Yeah, I agree: we’re getting wimpy about exploration. It’s sad, given the way this planet is changing and, even more, that we are limiting ourselves in such a way. There’s a whole universe out there to explore. Why isn’t it happening?

  2. Hi Susan,
    Yes, it’s a disgrace. And one of the major reasons is Big Biz. It should be them leading the way, but instead they’re imprisoning us in trivial, celebrity obsessed consumer culture.
    Profit is all. Purpose doesn’t even register.

  3. Not according to the Pope. Catholics have always used contraception especially out here in the Bitter Hinterlands, but it’s still a sin.

    There is no desire to explore and to take risks unless there is a profit involved. Topic for a future post.

  4. Hi Goesdownbitter,
    Oh well, I suppose we’ll all have to be sinners 🙂
    You’re right about profit. That is how exploration always began. I cover the subject more comprehensively here:

    How To Get Into Space

  5. I like the rhythm of your poem. Reminds me that life is good!

    Every form of Scripture is loaded with nuance and is therefore rich with meaning. I wonder about the kooks who read it literally. I know a couple of this variety of believer. I duck behind rocks and trees when I see them coming. I find them to be angry people who are shopping around for a new Dad rather than actually thinking for themselves. The problem is the Dad they want is one mean SOB. Odd. I’m just grateful for the trees and rocks that provide me cover!

  6. Hi Sandy,
    Loved that comment 🙂
    I guess I know where you’re coming from. I’ve met quite a few myself – some can be engaged quite well, but others are a form of biological recitation machine.

  7. missalister said

    I couldn’t steer clear of the religion/adaptable question… I’m not a member of any church now. I flow better with the Eastern spiritual teachings. But I was an Evangelical at one time so this’ll add an interesting flavor to your poll: my tendency is, as a “mere human,” to leave scripture alone, to not meddle with it (that it’s been said it’s already been tinkered with plenty is another topic for another day!). So if I cease to believe scripture and no longer want to follow it, then I simply leave the religion that honors it and follow the beat of my internal drum somewhere, somehow else (I realize this is a heavier, if not impossible, solution for a headlocked Catholic). Even the Hindus haven’t altered their bevy of scriptures and most schools consider man and God one, the atman and Brahman. Oh for crying out loud, you know, I was merely going to tell you I loved “He Isn’t There,” how you hung me up at the end wanting a continuation! There is so much here on your site and DAILY, no less! How do you do it???

    Oh hey all! We’re on Mars! Are we still wimpy?

  8. missalister said

    …as in humans will surely be next! right? maybe not!

  9. Hi Missalister,
    Well, I’m certainly getting some lively comments here. Which is great. They’ll be joining in from Mars next 🙂
    And I wonder where THAT would leave Scripture.

  10. I agree with you on this, AN.

    Maybe it’s is too logical an approach to the contraception/Catholic question – but how can it not be more just and humane to keep down the population of this planet than to keep providing more and more mouths to feed with less and less food?

    If you believe in any religion at all, you believe Earth was made for “us” by a Creator. Wouldn’t that Creator be pretty much pissed off seeing how we have abused, raped, over-fished, over-hunted and over populated the home He/She made for us ? And wouldn’t He/She be disgusted that those who are supposed to work in His/Her name are not using the brains He/She gave to them ? In the 21st Century shouldn’t contraception be a requirement, rather than a sin?

  11. ric booth said

    The contraception restriction is not found in scripture but rather in someone’s religion. One of those religions happens to be Catholicism.

    Totally agree with your assessment of our defunct space exploration. However, as some of your follow-up discussion has pointed out, exploration is usually driven by something other than the pursuit of knowledge.

    Loved your poem. Your endings kill me.

    Loved “He isn’t there!” Your endings kill me.

  12. Hi Twilight,
    Absolutely.
    The thing I can’t get my head round is the idea that we have Free Will, but should not use it. We have the ability to conceptualise, but should not use it to make the world a better place. We should obey the dictats.
    It doesn’t make sense. I’m certain it was never intended to be taken so literally.

  13. Hi Ric,
    Yes, absolutely, much religion is not found in Scripture. And you’re right about exploration not always being for the pursuit of knowledge, but the point I’d make is that once it’s opened up – for profit, whatever – those who are interested in knowledge get involved.
    I’m glad you like my endings. I do love twisty tales, I must admit.

  14. Well, many churches want to make sure that there are more members. So, if you are against contraceptives, then there are more members. Just saying. Remember the dark ages? We aren’t too far off with some religions out there. Have a great day. 🙂

  15. Hi Sandee,
    Very true. Mindst you, one interesting thing that usually happens is that children of fundamentalists tend to reject the religion altogether.
    You’d think this might offer an important hint.

  16. Brian said

    A little twist here and a little twist there. I’m glad you’re still writing poetry, the New Bard I dub thee.

    If there was oil, gold or diamonds laying about on the surface of the moon, there’d be companies mining away up there. Mars would be a little more difficult, but could be done. Maybe we’re not meant to ever leave this planet.

  17. This is a reply to your RWP poem- I was going along reading about your typical day, wondering what bizarre event would occur (since the prompt was imagination) only to find out the narrator is actually dead, imagining a scenario. A clever twist.

  18. Hi Brian,
    I don’t know about that, but thanks for the kind words. And also for being the person who pointed me in the right direction. It took me a long time to realise I love writing poetry, but still don’t think I’m up to some of you guys.
    As for leaving the planet, I see it like this. If there’s a hill, we need to know what on the other side. We’ll go – we’re destined. I’m sure.

    Hi Mariacristina,
    Many thanks for that. I purposely tried to make this one as commonplace as possible. Until the last line.

  19. I chose not to be pulled in to religion discussions as no good has ever come of it for me! =)

    I loved your poem & short story. Will there be another chapter or do you prefer to ‘leave ’em hanging’?

  20. Travis said

    Oh I agree! Instead of exploring Mars for signs of life, let’s explore for signs that our astronauts can manufacture the fuel they’ll need to return to Earth and get us a manned mission to Mars!

  21. Selma said

    I wish there was a little more flexibility with things like contraception in religion, not necessarily for myself but for women in places like Mexico who have ten children and no means of feeding them.

    I agree, we should definitely be out there exploring. Space is, after all, the final frontier. Loved the twist in the poem. Completely unexpected. I should know you by now but you get me every time!

  22. Good morning WillThink4Wine,
    I totally respect your position there. Thank you.
    I do tend to leave flash fiction at the twist or cliffhanger, rarely providing another chapter. Mindst you, if anyone wants to read a longer story by me, I’ve a short novel linked from my FICTION page at top of site.

    Hi Travis,
    I’m absolutely with you there. Let’s get going.

    Hi Selma,
    Yes, flexibility is always a good thing in any area of life, I feel. Mindst you, you shouldn’t think I always do a twist in my work. Sometime I may not, and then you’ll be disappointed.
    Always best to let me surprise you 😉

Leave a comment