BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

HOW TO EXPLAIN HAUNTINGS

Posted by anthonynorth on June 24, 2008

I wrote this last month for my series of essays on the paranormal, but seeing the Sunday Scribblings prompt this week, I thought it would be perfect.

I’ve written on many aspects of ghosts and related phenomena, but if the subject is to make any sense, we also need to address the ‘system’ by which a haunting could occur. In other words, place all the suggested elements into a graded theory.
Such a system addresses many skeptical objections to hauntings – namely, by providing an overall theory, the repeatability of experiences can be shown. I also hope to show how an initial skeptical process can build to something greater.

Vital to a haunting is culture.

Whether this is historic culture such as an old building, or family culture – i.e. expression of a problem – all ghosts express themselves within a cultural form understandable to the experiencer.
Ghosts can often express information not known to the experiencer. However, this is not necessarily correct. Cryptomnesia – the ability to recall ‘forgotten’ information – can often be applied in such cases. The person reads, views or hears vast quantities of information unbeknown to the conscious mind. Memory recall during hypnosis has shown that this unconscious repository is vast.

Ghosts tend to be hallucinated.

This is not meant to imply mental illness involved in the viewing of a ghost. Rather, the mind always analyses information. When this is cut off or reduced by tiredness or other altered state, the mind naturally interprets from the information available.
Hallucination is therefore inevitable, and it is usually during ideal times for such ‘sensory decalibration’ that a ghost is experienced.

Possession can often be involved.

By this, I mean the taking over of the mind by an ‘entity’. However, do such entities come from ‘outside’ the mind? Split-brain research tells us that we can function both rationally and emotionally at the same time, the emotional element often seeming dislocated from the mind.
This allows inner information to be expressed as ‘separate’. Jung also gave us understanding of ‘archetypes’, which can be seen as ‘personality’ fragments at a species level, but shared by all. The terms ‘inner’ and ‘outer’ are not as definite as thought.

Some hauntings are shared by a group.

Usually a family, this is known as the poltergeist. However, it is known that hysteria can work on the communal level, prompting spontaneous similar action beyond the apparent control of the individuals involved. In particular, each person’s ‘suggestability’ is enhanced.
I view such phenomena as ‘psychodrama’. Usually beginning with a pubescent child, a problem is expressed, leading to abnormal behaviour. Possession can result, and the child becomes a ‘focus’.
Repeatability of behaviour leads to hysteria, rising to the point of mass hallucinations. In effect, an altered reality has formed around the group, with behaviour and experience expressed in terms of communality.
Ecology is about more than any single element of an ecosystem. Rather, it suggests an influence above any one part, providing ‘communal’ behaviour which expresses more than the sum of the individual parts.
Placing this idea upon a haunting psychodrama, I suggest a point comes when the various elements become more than the sum of their parts. Rather, shared cryptomnesia inputs information that manifests with the past, providing phenomena that would agree with classically understood interpretations of ‘ghost’ and ‘possession’.
The paranormal suffers from a lack of theories that show the repeatability of experience. The above is an attempt to address this problem.

© Anthony North, June 2008

43 Responses to “HOW TO EXPLAIN HAUNTINGS”

  1. This one takes me way out of my element, Anthony! Thanks for some thoughts on this topic. I know a Catholic priest (not Roman Catholic but some break away church) who exorcises demons. He works with is wife. Very often the people they help are poor and deeply troubled. They go and they pray. This helps. During their visits they see all kinds of strange stuff, though!

  2. insomniac said

    Howdy Anthony,

    I think you have hit on some contributing factors.

    Are you familiar with Cleve Backster’s experiments with plants reacting to the death of brine shrimp? Untimely death sends little shock waves thru the system. Living creatures remember them as warnings of possible danger.

    Take an old house where a violent death has occurred. The house is full of living creatures, from insects to molds and such. I think they all remember the event and project it as a warning to others. These are obviously very subtle messages and sensitivity, peer reinforcement, the power of suggestion would all help to give substance to the warning.

    What do you think?

    cheers,
    jim

  3. Hi Sandy,
    Funnily enough, exorcism fits neatly into the ideas above. If a psychodrama is involved made up of the thoughts of those involved, AND cultural input, then a ‘faith’ would cause phenomena to confirm it, and an exorcist would join the production, as it were. Hence, his own beliefs and actions could cause a calming of the situation.

    Hi Jim,
    I’ve read reports on sympathetic plants to do with healing, but not this one. As for animals, there have been many incidents and experiments on their sensitivity to past happenings in an environment.
    I didn’t have room to put it here, but I’ve written before about the ‘tape recording’ theory – that high emotion imprints itself upon an environment. Animals and ‘sensitives’ pick it up.

  4. This is a bit out of my realm as well. I have often wondered if education played a part in this as well. The more educated the less likely to believe in one thing or another. Religion surely has a part in this as well.

    If there is good then there must be evil? There are just things out there that defy explanation.

    This post kind of goes right along with your post yesterday. You know Tribal Nights. Just saying. Have a great day Anthony. 🙂

  5. We’ve seen ghosts. No big deal. 🙂

  6. Hi Sandee,
    I’ve been researching paranormal activity for some 25 years now and remarkably there does seem to be a constant. It is virtually impossible to find a specific type who experience such things. Every culture, every class, every age, every education level, every belief, whether atheist or religious, experience such things.
    I suppose that’s one of the elements that commend it for study – its universality.

    Hi Goesdownbitter,
    Indeed. There was a study in the 70s by a doctor who showed that half of his widowed population saw their dead spouse. In many cases it was comforting.

  7. paisley said

    all very realistic viewpoints… but i do so want to believe in the possibility of ghosts,, as i am hoping to become one someday……

  8. Hi Paisley,
    Oh, don’t listen to me. I’m just one of those awkward ones who has to find a reason for this and a reason for that. But ‘reason’ cannot quash wonder even in me.
    If only its true …

  9. pam said

    ghosts dont exist huh? only in our minds? I would love to meet the ignorant person that tells this tale, or better yet! let him or her stay a few nights in my house!!!!!!!!!!! your all very stupid!

  10. Hi Pam,
    Thanks for that. I don’t think you’ll get a definite statement from me on whether I believe in ghosts or not. What I do know is that we have to attempt understanding with what we know, then move on to another level. That’s how knowledge works.
    As for experiencing ghosts, I don’t deny people do. I don’t need to spend any time in your house. I’ve experienced enough myself, and I’m quite aware of how real they appear.
    It’s all part of the learning process, though – you know, where wisdom comes, and the realisation that when someone starts calling other people stupid, it really refers to themselves.

  11. duskfalls said

    All that transpires on earth and all beyond

    Are parts of an illimitable plan

    The One keeps in his heart and knows alone.

    Our outward happenings have their seed within,

    And even this random Fate that imitates Chance,

    This mass of unintelligible results,

    Are the dumb graph of truths that work unseen;

    The laws of the Unknown create the known.

  12. Fascinating reading,

  13. Hi Crafty Green Poet,
    Thanks for that. It’s a fascinating subject. I’ve been researching such things for over a quarter century, and never lost my enthusiasm.

  14. I like your rational approach to what can be an emotional subject. At Stanford University, where I was a student way back in 1939 A.D., there was a psychology course called “Parapsychology” but popularly known as “Spooks”. Your discourse follows closely what we learned in that class, with, of course, more elaboration.

  15. Hi Granny Smith,
    Yes, formalised rational research has been done since the Society for Psychical Research was set up in London in 1882 (William James helped set up the US branch a couple of years later).
    It was around the time you speak of that Nandor Fodor first identified the role of the pubescent child as ‘focus’. As for Stanford, by the 1960s it had one of the premier Parapsychology Departments, under Targ and Puthoff.
    Sadly, though, too many intellectuals refuse to deal with the subject.

  16. Interesting reading for a sunny Saturday morning!

  17. Hi Linda,
    Thanks for that. And a sunny morning is perhaps the best time to read it 😉

  18. danni said

    whew! – such a lot of analytical information on spectres — well written and very interesting, but i’d rather just go with my flow and not spook my spooks or make them feel invalidated — i rather enjoy my phantoms dropping by now and then — screwtape and wormwood do big business in the possession department, i hear!!!

  19. Hi Danni,
    They do, indeed. And it is often the case that explanation is not wanted. If it’s any consolation, knowledge shows that whenever something is ‘understood’, a deeper layer of mystery is unveiled to keep us fascinated. So I doubt the truth will ever be really known.

  20. Rambler said

    I liked what you said about possession..that has intrigued me for long..

  21. Hi Rambler,
    Thanks for that. It’s a fascinating subject. It’s kept my interest for decades.

  22. Tammy said

    Very interesting points Tony. I am analytical and always enjoy hearing different explanations. I believe everything can be explained away so I stick to what sounds best for me.

  23. Hi Tammy,
    Yes, I’m convinced there are answers to such mysteries, but they are no less fascinating for this – and you can guarantee that once a little understanding is made, new mysteries will open up.
    It’s the nature of knowledge – the mysteries of life that keep us going.

  24. devil mood said

    That is so interesting! I have a new perspective on the phenomena now, you explained it very well. And I appreciated the reference to the Jungian archetypes, as they’re more in my area of knowledge 🙂

  25. Hi Devil Mood,
    Thanks for that. Often things are not quite as mysterious as we think – though no less fascinating.

  26. Karen said

    Very Interesting! I especially liked your explanation of the shared haunting or group experience. When I was about 10 my cousins moved into an old farm house. We all felt uneasy in one particular room in the house. Yes, the discussion of everyones feelings made the room even more undesirable. My cousins and I decided to call it the “nothing room” because no one used the space and, quite frankly, we avoided it completely! Several years after my cousins had lived in the house the family members of the previous owner came back to visit the home. They informed us that their mother had died in the house. Yes! she died in the nothing room!!!. Her ashes were burried beneath a large tree on the property . . . and would we mind if they came back each year for a picnic on her Birthday?!!! Sometimes “feelings” are absolutely correct.

  27. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for sharing that. An intriguing experience, and it fits perfectly, I think.

  28. Karen said

    Hi Anthony, Once we (4 cousins and myself) had confirmation that our feelings were real we became much calmer about it. Perhaps because they related to a Mom with her own family. We no longer avoided the nothing room (we avoided the tree on the property instead LOL). Karen

  29. Hi Karen,
    That’s often the way. Such ‘happenings’ tend to be frightening because of the unknown circumstances behind them. Once this is known, the tension eases.

  30. Brenda said

    My family does seem to have some intuitive or sensitive members. My mum in particular, used to have a male ghost visit her periodically. I remember waking up to my mum being upset and lots of commotion. It was only as an teenager that I found out what had happened. It was always the same man and my mum said she would recognize him, if she saw his picture. She never knew her father, and we always wondered if it could be him or someone who had died in the house, as it was very old.
    My dad used to get frustrated as mum would wake him up and he couldn’t see anything. One night, the man appeared and instead of being at the end of the bed he walked between the twin beds and leaned over as if he was trying to tell her something, She screamed and it woke by my dad, and although he couldnt see the ghost, our dog was on the bed, and all the fur on her was standing up and she was growling really low. My dad told me this years after my mum had passed away and he said that really made him believe, even though he didn’t see anthing.

    Brenda

  31. Hi Brenda,
    Thanks for sharing that. It’s certainly an interesting experience. The sensitivity of animals is a regular occurrence in such cases.

  32. It’s a provocative topic, isn’t it? Thanks for this, Anthony. You gave me many ideas.
    Karen

  33. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for that. To nudge the imagination is what I’m all about. At least, I hope so.

  34. texasblu said

    Oh goodness! Well, I have been haunted before – not by a family member, not by anyone we knew… just an energy that belonged to the house. It was just annoying to my husband and I really – just small things like making my husband see it here and there and it would blow what smelt like cigarette smoke in my face. Then when we were moving to leave, it was awful – it scared my poor children nuts – I believe it was throwing a tantrum. 😛

  35. Hi Texasblu,
    Thanks for sharing that. These incidents are far more common than people think. Yet they are virtually ignored by science. It’s a disgrace.

  36. mweaver said

    Like you said all just theories

  37. Hi Mweaver,
    Of course, but from theories come …

  38. Mugami said

    Nice and neat. Let me just give you some info you forgot: Why when you seal off an AIRTIGHT room, and a person dies inside, does the room weight 21 grams less? The nazis never figured that one out. How did I get thrown into a door by my own imagination? How did I have a conversation with my greatgreataunt, could remember her cloths, thought she was alive until she vanished? I was 6. I can see ghosts. I have found out about dead people, found out how they died, by seeing them. How did I know the left side of a guy’s skull was caved in, he was wearing a white/light blue pinstripe buttondown shirt, blue jeans, and Nike’s who died 8 years before I worked where I do? Security tried to prove me a liar, on a lark. They found the photos in their files. None of them worked her then. Is genetic memory real? Yes. Is communal memory real? You know that answer. Are ghosts the same thing? Sorry, no.

  39. Mugami said

    Further, “Poltergiest” comes from german. It means ‘Noisy ghost’ and refers to an effigy that can MOVES things, in modern english. These ‘communal apparitions’ you refer to are called “thoughtforms”. Thoughtforms are what ‘local gods’, ‘demons’, and ‘angels’ are. God and ghosts are different. Ghosts are those 21 grams. God is the subconscious ‘glue’ of existence. Look into Yale’s Thought experiments with the computers that printed 1&0s. Anything can look nice and neat if you stop looking after you have supported your own judgement. Isn’t that how religion works? ‘A wise man know, he knows nothing’, i.e. Never stop looking for the truth just because you think you’ve found it. It’s the difference between science and charlotism. I hope you look into some of what I have said. You will surprised.

  40. Mugami said

    Interesting Note: A ghost that died in the 1940’s can’t use a computer, regardless of the number of times you try to teach them. Why? Learning is based on the rearrangment of neurons. You don’t have neurons as a ghost, just an ‘echo’ of those pathways. This is why ghosts have such a hard time moving on. They have extreme difficulty making new pathways (thus memories, as well).

  41. Hi Mugami,
    Thanks for those thoughts. Now, did it occur to you that there may be more on the paranormal on this blog before writing this:

    ‘A wise man know, he knows nothing’, i.e. Never stop looking for the truth just because you think you’ve found it. It’s the difference between science and charlotism. I hope you look into some of what I have said. You will surprised.

    If you’d looked a bit further you’d have read my intro on the ABOUT page (accessed under blog title) where I make it clear I never deal in ‘truth’. You may even have found my UNEXPLAINED page (accessed under blog title) which lays down many of my basic hypotheses, with links to well over 100 other essays by me.
    You seem to be suffering from your own criticism, my friend.

  42. mugami said

    Not quite. I don’t know everything. But you stopped very short of a place where an explaination could be given. I have never turned away a fact. Or for that matter experience. And what does the number of essays or other notes listed, change what I said or cast light on me? The way you wrote this essay was to have a hypothesis then collect data that agreed with it. Knowing of the 21 grams, alone, dissolves your hypothesis. I really mean no offense when I say this but, this essay could easily be something Van Daniken would try to push in yet another book.

  43. Hi Mugami,
    I know nothing of your 21 grams, and have never come across another researcher who has mentioned it. For that reason I will not comment on it. If you wish to decide it dissolves my hypothesis, that is entirely up to you. What I’m more interested in is your last sentence, which is a contradiction, and continues the spirit of your first comment. I suggest we leave it there.

Leave a comment