BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

TONY ON ARMS, GREEN & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on June 25, 2008

Including Three Word Wednesday and Totally Optional Prompts.
Have you had a go yet?

Welcome to my Wednesday Magazine post.
Britain came near the top in arms sales last year. And if there is one despicable area of trade, this is it. Gun running is so fundamental to western capitalism’s profits today that everything you buy is tinged with someone’s blood.

Arms sales are worst than this, though.

We’re told that war fuels technology. Whilst this may be true, the reverse is also true. In ancient Mesopotamia the arrival of the iron sword resulted in a wave of invasions, smashing the Bronze Age. The modern war of attrition was due to industry, and the need to destroy a nation’s economy as well as its army.
Today this seems to be getting worse. New tech seems to fuel war rather than the reverse. The fears of war with Iran at present are due to Iran’s nuclear program, and the west’s ability to produce tech to destroy it. Without either one, fears of war would not exist. And they say tech is always for the good.

Eco-measures are in the news again.

The British government is committed to cutting greenhouse gas emissions by 20% in 12 years. How is this to be achieved? Well, some of it will happen naturally. We’re in a downturn. People will be traveling less. No doubt the government will take the credit.
But most amazing of all is Brownski’s hope to convince oil producers to channel profits into nuclear power in the west. Oh yes, they’re certainly going to cut their own throats, aren’t they?
Mindst you, there will be an all out campaign to guarantee nuclear power. It’s cleaner, you see – as long as there’s no accident, etc. Far too risky for me. But why the urge towards nuclear?
Quite simple. As I’ve said before, real eco-friendly new tech does not require huge corporations to maintain it, as oil does. Nuclear power DOES require huge corporations. So Big Biz is looking to its survival in a post-oil world. Don’t ever believe nuclear power is about the environment. It’s the exact opposite.
Don’t forget, next Magazine post on Friday.

(c) Anthony North, June 2008

AN ENGLISH SUMMER

Gentle sun above my head,
birds arriving to be fed,
clear blue sky, all is well,
all is peaceful, delightful, swell;
Leather on willow, the cricketers play,
warm beer, and on lawns we lay,
gentle chatter, lazy days,
enshrouded in a pleasant haze;
Children dash, to and fro,
arguing, yes, but not coming to blows,
civility rules, all stop for tea,
but sadly,
today,
it’s just a memory

(c) Anthony North, June 2008

NOTE: The terms ‘leather on willow’ and ‘warm beer’ are old terms often used in England to describe Cricket.

******************************

THE COTTAGE ON THE MOOR – Horror Fiction

You must have heard the rumour? No? So you have no idea what happened here, in this cottage? Well, have I got a feast of a tale for you.
As you can see, the cottage lies many miles from anywhere, and the moors can be bleak at times. But walkers just loved the scenery. Even the fact that so many disappeared did not put them off. And just as they got to the point where they couldn’t shake off the tiredness, they came upon the cottage.
‘Come in, come in,’ the kindly old man would say as he excitedly ran out. ‘You must be starving.’
He lived on his own in the cottage – had done for thirty years, ever since he retired from his hill farm. But every time a stranger came upon the place, the delight between them both was spontaneous. And as the walker entered the cottage, the smell of cooking was delightful.
Seated in the cosy chair by the fire, a huge mug of steaming tea in hand, it seemed like paradise amid the hardship of the moor. And once the huge bowl of stew arrived, the walker would eat greedily until full. And always the question: ‘Are you not eating?’ they’d ask as they watched the kindly old man simply watching them.
‘Oh, I’ll eat later,’ he would always reply.
Usually, this was followed by the walker taking a long sleep. And somehow, as another mug of tea was ready as he awoke, he simply couldn’t raise the energy to leave …
And well, as we now know, they usually never did. Why not, you ask? Well, the immediate reason was the sleeping pills in the tea. But by the time they had been there a month, most were far too fat to do so, anyway.
What’s that, you say? Oh, you’ve guessed it. Yes, our kindly old man turned out to be a killer. And sometimes he’d keep his guests there for months before … well, you know. And we know this because once he was dead, the bones were found underneath the cottage. And, judging from their state, the motive was pretty clear, too.
I guess you can take the man out of the farm, but not the farmer out of the man.

© Anthony North, June 2008

42 Responses to “TONY ON ARMS, GREEN & MORE”

  1. A lovely story sir, full of gristle and marrow to sink ones teeth into and politely burp upon filling the belly.

  2. Great short! Awesome poem words and imagery… And, yes, as long as nuclear accidents are downplayed it seems a viable option – particularly to those with short memories.

  3. Hi Goesdownbitter,
    Many thanks. And in many cultures a burp is a sure sign of contentment 🙂

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. As for nuclear, we’re told the new reactors cannot have accidents. Makes you say, ‘er … Titanic …’

  4. This story is comparable to Sweeney Todd, no, Anthony? Your poetry is lovely too! 🙂

  5. Hi Maryt,
    Comparable to Sweeney Todd, I like! Thanks for that 🙂

  6. Loved The Cottage On The Moor. I was wondering where you were going with that. Excellent. Have a great day. 🙂

  7. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. Sometimes the implications of horror fiction make me type with my eyes closed 🙂

  8. It disturbs me that so much time and effort is spent by governments to sell us war but so little is done to protect the planet. I hope and pray we vote out the warhorse economy in this country come November.

  9. Hi Sandy,
    I’ve just watched a report in the UK that US intelligence analysts have recommended that global warming is now a threat to national security through food and water scarcity and migration in the Third World.
    I think your point will be tested over the next couple of years. Hopefully commonsense will reign, rather than some Big Biz (i.e. nuclear) or military solution.
    Interesting times.

  10. Gemma said

    Fascinating pot pourri of ideas in this posting. But yes, as you point out with your arms comments, we think we have learnt so much but really have learnt so little.

  11. Hi Gemma,
    Thanks for that. The more I look at our societies, the more I think ‘advancement’ is just a change of culture. Underneath, we repeat all the same mistakes over and over again.

  12. watermaid said

    A somewhat grisly tale, Tony. As ever, i love your mix of fact and fiction.

  13. Hi Watermaid,
    Many thanks. I actually cut my storytelling teeth writing horror stories for the amateur small press in the UK during the 1990s, although I don’t write much of it nowadays.

  14. stan said

    Always an ulterior motive; but we can discuss it – or forget it – over a pint or two of warm ale on the lawn(weather permitting).

  15. Hi Stan,

    ‘a pint or two of warm ale on the lawn’

    The image is as close to paradise as I’ve experienced. Weather permitting.

  16. Hi Anthony, Well said, I think I can just about remember summer, we had it between one and five past one last tuesday.
    In this part of Bohemia we say: You can get the girl out of the ghetto..

  17. Pam said

    You are spot-on with your analysis about the push for nuclear power. I remember hearing Ralph Nadar speak at the University of Washington in the mid 1970s about solar power. He said that it would never happen because Exxon hasn’t figured out how to own the sun.

  18. Hi SweetTalkingGuy,
    Damn, I must have blinked! 🙂

    Hi Pam,
    I haven’t heard that Nadar statement before, but I like it. It sums it up perfectly, I thought.

  19. Thanks for coming by my blog! I had fun visiting yours…just no tea for me please!

  20. Hi Anthony:

    I liked your English Summer poem. An interesting take on the Total Optional Prompt.

    Cheers,

    Nicole

  21. Hi Charlottalove,
    You’re welcome. Coffee?

    Hi Nicole,
    Thanks for that. I’m pleased you liked it.

  22. lissa said

    nice poem for a summer’s day, that last line is such a wistful line

  23. Hi Lissa,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it brought back memories writing that. Then I realised it WAS memory. Rather sad, in a way.

  24. paisley said

    the tale of the cottage was fun.. i don’t know.. i can think of worse ways to go than eating and drinking with a pleasant enough old man in a darling cottage in the moors……

  25. Hi Paisley,
    Yes, I suppose it does sound rather ideal. I’m glad, now, I didn’t decide how they’d actually die. Would have ruined the image.
    Let’s make it gentle. Peaceful …

  26. Gosh, sometimes I have trouble keeping up with all the great info you give us all. I just love English Countryside poems. This one is as light and airy as Summer can be it’s self. Although a bit sad. Just lovely reading your work.

    love-bd

  27. Hi Beloved Dreamer,
    Many thanks for those kind words. I, too, love anything nostalgic about English countryside.

  28. TC said

    It seems kind of sick and twisted… that’s the vision I get, but you leave it open to interpretation, so that could just be me as well 🙂

  29. The horror storyis so true with schizophrensic individuals. they paint a pretty picture, but always with a hidden agenda.
    I liked your story.

  30. Hi TC,
    No, it’s definitely me 🙂

    Hi Daily Panic,
    Thanks for that. I do like horror stories, but especially if they have that subtle sense of humour.

  31. pieceofpie said

    excellent stories.. most enjoyable tales… i still drink my tea w/cream and sugar…that hasn’t changed…

  32. rel said

    Anthony,
    A gruesome and delightfully told tale. I think I’ll stick to vegan stew for a bit. 😉
    rel

  33. Good morning Pieceofpie,
    Many thanks. I love my tea. Drink gallons of the stuff, and always black, no sugar.

    Hi Rel,
    Thanks for that. I must admit I was a little suspicious of my sausages after writing this 😉

  34. Love “leather on willow”! Well done!

  35. The poem is perfect for the rest of your comments and on that ntoe I really like the observation about technology driving war rather than the other way around. Of course they probably feed off of each other. Robotics may prove to be a great example.

  36. Hi Linda,
    Sadly I cannot claim credit for those three little words. I have used the old stereotypical language for the game of cricket, and the term is well known in England, as is warm beer.
    In retrospect, I should maybe have added a note to this effect. Suffice to say, this is the only time I have ever used such known stereotypical language in my work.

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for that. Yes, there have been many stories of the dangers of robotics in war – the hint is of perpetual war. Quite frightening.

  37. texasblu said

    Hi Anthony!

    Thanks for the explanation of Cricket! Such a wonder upbeat poem, bittersweet with it being of yesterday, not today. And yet, isn’t it beautiful to have such memories to keep us company?

    The horror story was chilling…. esp. to those with trust issues!! 😉

  38. Hi Texasblu,
    I hope the story wasn’t too chilling. I always mark ‘iffy’ stories with the ‘horror’ tag, just in case.
    Occasionally – just occasionally – you can still catch a glimpse of old England in a small country village, although even the weather doesn’t seem the same nowadays.
    A great shame.

  39. Selma said

    Aaaah, cricket and tea on the lawn. All that’s missing is lashing and lashings of ginger beer.

    I live in fear of nuclear power becoming the norm. Have we learned nothing from Chernobyl? It terrifies me.

    Your horror tale is definitely Sweeney Todd meets Hansel and Gretel. I loved it!

  40. Hi Selma,
    Yes, nuclear power terrifies me – the idea that it is so safe that there couldn’t be an accident. Have people become so arrogant as to really believe this?
    I’m pleased you like the horror piece. There may well be more in the future.

  41. christine said

    Your poem makes me want to chuck my computer out the window and have a picnic. Beautiful images.

  42. Hi Christine,
    Thanks for that. I get that feeling often. I don’t throw out the computer, but I do go out in the garden and forget it.

Leave a comment