BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Archive for November 26th, 2008

EMERGENT ESP

Posted by anthonynorth on November 26, 2008

You’ll find Three Word Wednesday and ReadWritePoem below.
Have you had a go yet?

alpha-pentangle A hypothesis. I am me. Or am I? I am me, but my behaviour is decided by so much more. I exist in culture. I read books, I watch films, I observe art, I listen to music, and they produce thoughts in my head and they inspire me.
They make me think, they provide emotional stimuli, they provide facts and ideas and change me. They are proof that I am more than myself. I am me, but I am also part of a community of knowledge and inspiration.

I am me. Or am I?

people-16I am me, but my behaviour is decided by so much more. I exist in society. I go about my business, but with every movement I make I observe things. I hear things. I smell things. I feel things. And these provide impulses that affect me.
They make me think, they provide emotional stimuli. And I experience people, and someone does something and I relate to it, and I change because of it. I am me, but I am also part of a community, of humanity and interaction.

They provide knowledge.

And this knowledge becomes part of me and changes me. Every time I interact, I can never be the same again. Humanity – the environment – has touched me and changed me.
Facts have built upon facts and I am more. I am more than just me, more than just my individuality, I am reborn every second of every day. For I have experienced life. But maybe I have done much more.

Why have I experienced this?

Because I have placed my attention upon the world that is not me but becomes me. But what is this attention? It is my will to notice things; my ability to turn consciousness into a thin beam of attention and prize knowledge from the world about me. But that world goes on also beyond my attention, beyond what I consciously notice. What happens to this information?
It does not just not exist. It enters me, too. But it enters without my conscious attention. But it enters me nonetheless and it is in my mind, in my unconscious mind, entering with the same speed, the same efficiency and it revolves around my mind looking for a place.

alpha-mystical-eye Neurons buzz within my brain, unnoticed.

But my unconscious noticed. It heard that conversation between two people passing, and it does this hundreds, maybe thousands of times a day, and the continual build up of information swirls and the neurons burn.
On an average day, in an average city, I have paid unconscious witness to thousands of people close by but unnoticed, and the next day thousands more and the next, thousands more, until millions of conversations and actions exist in the maze of my mind – unnoticed.
And suddenly something happens. It may be so unimportant to my conscious mind, but the unconscious goes ‘Aha!’ as it remembers that conversation two months ago, and a thought enters consciousness and I know!
I have had a thought that I shouldn’t know. I know something of someone’s intention and it coincides with a thought in that unknown person’s head providing action that marries to my thought and I’m telepathic!
Facts have built upon facts and extrasensory is rubbish! It was there all along, and had emerged. But so much more.
Facts build upon facts, and scenarios are intuited upon scenarios, and a thought enters consciousness and I predict! But it was there all along, buried in the inattentive unconscious, until something happens to make it emerge.
And I am paranormal. And I am paranormal because we become One.
Next post, Saturday. Hope to see you then.

© Anthony North, November 2008

yob

THE BALLAD OF MR YOB

This is the ballad of Mr Yob,
a kid so delinquent he got no job,
fury was his normal mode,
whenever he went out of his abode,
someone would look and he didn’t like that,
so out came the fist, another nose, splat!
Eventually he got the message, of course,
when the police picked him up, they’d endorse,
the fact that you can’t go around like that,
with many stays in prison, infact,
and finally guilt made him see his way,
was cruel, pathetic, offering nothing but dismay;
Finally he grew into a decent chap,
thankful that he realised his handicap,
always thinking life was another’s fault,
making it all so easy to assault,
but finally realising he was the one to blame,
he looked on his past as totally insane

(c) Anthony North, November 2008

alpha-ghost

PHENOMENAL

Ghosties, spooks, goblins and all,
stories told, often thought tall,
but just how true are these cases, many?
After all, they continue, ten a penny;
Truth can be so relative,
evidence, oh, so tentative,
are they real or in the mind?
Or somewhere inbetween, we may find;
People who see such mysteries worry,
but knowledge seems to be in no hurry,
believers believe and that is that,
scientists scoff, it’s all old hat,
people, they say, should get over it,
don’t be such a stupid twit!
Which leaves so many fearful and scared,
what they saw cannot be compared,
to anything that seems of this world,
madness, so often, is unfurled;
We owe them far, far more than this,
they deserve a life of total bliss,
free of non-understanding of what’s going on,
so we can’t dismiss it when it’s not gone;
So get a grip researchers, all,
work it out! Be enthralled,
by the mysteries of the universe,
not just quasars, but what’s been in a hearse;
It is not beyond our advanced mind,
for a theory surely to find,
then the experiencer can be enlightened,
for at present, you’re leaving them very frightened

(c) Anthony North, November 2008

Posted in Paranormal, Poetry | 38 Comments »