BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    January 2010
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

BUREAUCRACY

Posted by anthonynorth on January 26, 2010

ABC Wednesday & more prompts below
With Thursday Thirteen items of news and views
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

houses-of-parliament3

POLLY TICKS

I’m disgusted with the ‘efficiency’ of most modern bureaucracies. The
more efficient and centralized they are, the more they fail to deliver
to the local. Administration should be geared to back up the frontline,
not dictate to them. Efficiency is actually about making a system run
smoothly, which usually means it isn’t people-centred.

The inevitable result is a
disenfranchised population.

Efficiency is also about running to its optimum, most cost effective
way. Nowadays this makes it machine-like and doesn’t cater for the
unexpected. This is why systems so easily overload today. The
‘efficient’ is actually inefficient. One major problem here is that a
bureaucracy caters for an ideology alone. It may not seem to be the
case, but a totalitarian system is not total, and never has been. If it
was, a totalitarian system could not operate at all. As long as you
don’t question the ideology, dictators usually leave you alone. Today’s
bureaucracies are edging towards totalitarianism as they are geared
purely for globalised consumerism. Think different and you are so
easily marginalized. Such totalitarianism will always appear when the
bureaucracy is geared to a single system, for whilst such a system
needs a fanatical centre, it grows and survives because of the little
people in bureaucracies. They naturally slide into propping up the
system. This is why a totalitarian system can take over a country so
easily. And if you think it isn’t happening today, just note the speed
and totality of the political correctness brigade, trashing everything
traditional, just as globalised consumerism requires. A true bureaucracy
should always be as small as possible, non-ideological, and there to
serve the people through a myriad of organizations of every type. But
instead, today’s bureaucracies have perfected subtle totalitarianism
with the onward march of little dictators in jack-slippers.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: All-you-can-drink
bar offers could be banned to stop
binge drinking. Better idea than rise in price.
This hits sensible drinkers.

BRIT NEWS: The massive takeover bid of Cadbury by
Kraft is more evidence that we don’t live in a capitalist
economy, but a new imperialism.

WORLD NEWS: I see the Democrats have had a shock with a
Republican win in Massachusetts. Interesting to see if this is a protest
or trend.

BRIT NEWS: Governor of Bank of England says economy needs ‘long
period of healing’. Polite way of saying the economy is in terminal
decline.

BRIT NEWS: Labour seems to be focusing on class for the
coming election. Strange how it was dumped so easily
during their days in power.

MONEY NEWS: So moves are afoot to limit the size
of banks. The problem isn’t govt regulation or
not, but moral regulation – from inside.

BRIT NEWS: Police to get spy drones? I’ve no
problem with targeted spying, but general
spying’s a move towards unfreedom,
no matter how useful.

computer_desk

RATTLER’S TALE

A Voyage of the Imagination

One Single Impression
ReadWritePoemFriday Flash 55
Three Word Wednesday
Sunday Scribblings

BLOWING THE CURVE

Life’s a graph, curves up or down,
Got a choice – smile or frown,
Feed from experience and much, much more,
Those damn curves you can’t ignore,
Especially when they’re reflected – groan,
Mirror shows diet really blown

CULTURE CATCHER

Fiction: Life won’t leave me alone. It creeps up on me, always. I think
I’m doing fine – escaping – then suddenly, slam! It’s there, in my face
– in my mind. And then it rebounds inside my head – swirling.
Connecting … I became a recluse, but that didn’t work. Stop the
impulses, I thought – get away from life. But then I thought about
what I’d done, what others had done. I tried meditation – empty the
mind. But afterwards it began again. I began reading books –
watching films – to distract myself, but they fanned responses and
that swirling began again – inside – and I had even more ideas. They
just won’t stop! Such is the lot of the Story Man.

THE CHAIR

No decisions from the chair,
No matter how long I stare,
It’s not so difficult to work it out,
The committee should have clout,
But it really has no power at all,
Minutes meagre, hardly recall,
Almost as if the Chair’s half there,
Nothing but spin – how long I stare

FLASH 55 – GOING MAD

Fiction: It was frustrating. Her husband just wasn’t what she’d hoped
for. She’d tried to drive him mental to get rid of him – to an
‘institution’, or even suicide – but it didn’t work! Infact, pretty soon
He was driving HER mental. She couldn’t understand it. As for him, his
wife just wasn’t what he’d hoped for …

LONG GONE FRIENDS

Afterlife in my head,
Memories of loved ones long ago dead,
No longer grieve, we have to move on,
But always listen to their song,
Kindred spirits, so very true,
Beacons of wisdom to guide you through

MILESTONE

Walked the road mile upon mile,
Occasionally I rest a while,
Reach a milestone, take a rest,
Think about past things that were the best,
Then I realise I’ve reached a goal,
But still I cannot feel totally whole,
Life’s not done – no time to talk,
Spy the next milestone, begin to walk

pen

BIG BIZ: Most shareholders in firms
now are pension & mortgage funds – in
other words us. Do we get a say? No, Big Biz
does as it likes.

TV WATCH: I watched the UK National TV Awards. I
used to like them but now they’re in the massive 02 Arena
with screaming crowd. Draining.

NATO FOOLS: Nato believes new Taliban tactics could mean violence
can be halted. Afghanistan has never been tamed and never will. Get
real.

TV WATCH: BBC to ‘refresh’ drama output. Rumour is Spooks is
going. No mention of Doctor Who, though. They wouldn’t
dare. Would they?

A THOUGHT: We all want an easier life, but the
reality is, if like got easier we’d just get
bored. And that can be tiring in itself.

LAST WORD: A bureaucracy should
exist to serve, not rule. When
the balance shifts, watch
out, your freedom is
about to disappear.

© Anthony North, January 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

98 Responses to “BUREAUCRACY”

  1. quilly said

    The Catcher — used to be me. These days nothing feeds my story. I try to write and I just sit and stare.

  2. I so agree with your take on bureaucracy. Look at our bloated government and you see the poster child for bureaucracy. I’m guessing you have a bit of bloat over there too. Just saying.

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  3. Hi Quilly,
    Hope your block doesn’t last long. It can strike at times.

    Hi Sandee,
    Yes, it’s getting out of hand. You can’t move over here without a rule or official.

  4. Nessa said

    The less I have to deal with the government the better I feel. I can understand why some people go hide in the woods.

    12212012

  5. Hi Nessa,
    Yes, it’s very tempting sometimes.

  6. You last sentence says it all, “onward march of little dictators in jack-slippers”, Anthony! Thanks for your comments on my blog — I have two sons and two daughters and we all like beer and bananas, and, the son in the picture plays in a band when he has time from University job. They do make it all worthwhile, don’t they? Hope your week is going well!

    Sylvia

  7. Hi Sylvia,
    Thanks for that. Yes, families are so important. Oh, and I have two daughters as well.

  8. stan said

    Beaurocracy definition – put a pen in my hanf; make me look busy.
    Life is all about peaks and troughs.
    Life ii – there is no escape.
    I prefer the Table – If it’s ‘on the table’ it’s up for grabs.
    Flash 55 – So I got it right after all…

  9. Hi Stan,
    Thanks for the comment. Intriguing last line.

  10. ersie37 said

    seems that the notion of totarianism in bureaucracy is as applicable in a capitalist system as a purportedly less free system.

  11. ersie37 said

    Still getting used to the job – On behalf of the ABC Wednesday team, thank you! – Ramblin’ with Roger

  12. I am skeptical about the latest thinking in Afghanistan. I think we are just getting tired.

  13. Reader Wil said

    “BRIT NEWS: Police to get spy drones? I’ve no
    problem with targeted spying, but general
    spying’s a move towards unfreedom,
    no matter how useful”….
    To spy or not to spy … that is the question. Some people object to the fact that there are video cameras in the streets and at stations, shoppingcentres or places where criminals like to commit their nasty actions. Well I feel safer if there are these cameras, but as soon as they are used by persons who want to control instead of protect us, the situation changes. Then we would feel ourselves to be prisoners like in “Big Brother is watching you..”
    Lots of stuff here to think about, Anthony!

  14. Hi Roger,
    Indeed. I think its endemic to the way power structures work. It will always out – which is why we should always be on our guard.

    Hi Sandy,
    Tired and lost, I think. We had this silly idea that democracy could just appear in a culture overnight.

    Hi Reader Wil,
    This is the problem. It’s not good enough for authority to say they are not there to watch us. The fact that they could be should be enough. We can never trust them not to.

  15. thommyg said

    “Long Gone Friends” is a wonderful tribute, Tony.

  16. Hi Thom,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  17. Hi Tony, Worrying thoughts in Polly Tic’s. Dig your 3WW!

  18. Hi Andy,
    Thanks for that. A worrying subject.

  19. Long Gone Friends – Well said, nice homage to those dear that we all have lost.

    The Chair – The feeling of indecision dominated most of my morning. Tea or soda for my caffeine, what to have for lunch, and of course, what to do with the 3 words. I enjoyed the indecision put to words. Great job as always.

  20. Enjoyed your “Long Gone Friends”… grateful you didn’t get angry by the prompt like I did.

  21. Hi Jay,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Julie,
    Many thanks. Sometimes I do angry.

  22. Nydia said

    Bureaucracy… That’s a word that gives me the creeps!

    Kisses from Nydia.

  23. Hi Nydia,
    Yes, if they really served, it shouldn’t be like that, but it usually is.

  24. lissa said

    CULTURE CATCHER – I like it, it has a everyday struggle about it

    FLASH 55 – GOING MAD – it’s so true, guess we only see what we want to see

    LONG GONE FRIENDS – a nice ode to friendship

  25. Jeeves said

    Blowing the curve 😉 Like it. Really like it

  26. Well defined bureaucracies. Jack-slippers. yup. I wonder if we are becoming ‘big enough to fail’?

  27. Hi Lissa,
    Thanks for the comment.

    Hi Jeeves,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    I think they always fail – even when they say they’re doing good.

  28. derrick2 said

    Hi Anthony,

    Good chair poem. Didn’t you know, the committee’s only there to legitimise the decisions already made!

  29. Hi Derrick,
    Yep, that’s certainly been my experience.

  30. Twilight said

    I hope for Brits’ sakes that the Kraft/Cadbury takeover doesn’t mean that Cadbury’s chocolate in the UK will now taste like Cadbury’s in the USA – it’s nothing like the delicious original. 😦 Big Biz never causes things to improve, only to deteriorate.

    I, too liked “Long Gone Friends” – most of mine come into that category, sadly.

  31. Hi Twilight,
    Thanks for that. We have promises that Cadbury will remain Cadbury. Then again, remember Terry’s of York? Kraft bought that, too, with many promises. There is no Terry’s in York, or the UK any more – the chocolate orange is made in Poland, I think.

  32. I know how you feel with all those ideas swirling around. I don’t have as many plot bunnies as I used to, but now and then one will still run away with me.

  33. So you’re doing that 55 word flash… I’m curious about trying it but haven’t been inspired. Yet.

  34. nathan said

    “Little dictators” — exactly right!

  35. I always leave your blog with lots to think about. I do hope that the Kraft takeover of Cadbury is not as ominous as it sounds.

  36. Hi Alice,
    Yes, it’s still good when they come, even if they can be tiring, keeping you on overdrive.

    Hi Susan,
    You should have a go. Once you get into them, they’re great fun.

    Hi Nathan,
    Thanks for that. They sure are.

    Hi Calicocrazy,
    Many thanks for the kind words. We’ve had previous experience of Kraft over here, and it’s not good.

  37. Dee said

    Long Gone Friends is lovely Tony. Your take on news is always interesting. I worry that as we quietly abdicate more and more personal responsibility we also give up more and more freedoms and will all awake one day and wonder how things got so bad.

  38. Hi Dee,
    Thanks for that. Yes, we seem to be giving our freedoms away. Madness.

  39. LONG GONE FRIENDS – what a lovely tribute to kindreds. Lovely!

  40. “The chair” I like what you did with this. Very nice.

    Pamela

  41. Deb said

    That old chair design was also used for bar stools — no wonder the spin!

  42. Nice use of the image for The Chair. Surely there were no decisions forthcoming. Nought but spin. Very nice!

  43. adesi said

    you do it so smartly 🙂

    Common hence Over-Rated

  44. Hi Tumblewords,
    I often think we get more commonsense from remembering our loved ones than from committees.

    Hi Pamela,
    Thanks for the kind words, and welcome.

    Hi Deb,
    Yes, I’ve had experience of those stools.

  45. Hi AD,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  46. Irene said

    You were reminded of committees by this chair? Interesting.

  47. Hi Irene,
    Yep, the head of a committee is usually called the Chair in the UK, and they usually fail to complete the job. As for the members, so often they are anonymous to everyone the committee affects.

  48. Your Friday 55 about captures marriage as I witnessed it growing up! Wow.

  49. I love how your 55 came full circle. Great job Anthony 🙂

    I’m up right HERE

  50. nice 55. a vicious cycle, driving each other crazy. see n that!

    my 55 is up!

  51. Hi Sandy,
    And I imagine it is not nice to witness.

    Hi Susan,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Brian,
    Many thanks. It happens all too often.

  52. G-Man said

    Tony…Your 55 was much deeper and hard hitting than it first appears!
    I really liked this.
    Excellent 55 as always My Friend.
    The Bard of The Empire!
    Thank you for this great contribution, and have a Wonderful Week-End.
    Galen

  53. jessie said

    i really enjoyed your Going Mad — very close to reality…

    mine is up if you would like to stop by,

  54. Your 55 just couldn’t be any better this week! It’s never how we dream is it?

    Mine’s HERE

    Not really ‘fiction’ this week. You can find it by scrolling below my show n tell friday.

  55. Jay said

    No matter how much time and money you save, it’s not efficiency if what you’re aiming to do does not deliver the goods. And that is indeed the trouble with healthcare and education and politics today. Too many cooks all planning the best way to make soup, but not having it on the table correctly cooked and served.

    Police spy bots? Yikes!

  56. If only couples could be more honest with one another. There would be less homicide. 🙂 Good 55.

  57. Hi Galen,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated 🙂

    Hi Jessie,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Hootin’ Anni,
    Very true. It’s always different to what we imagine.

    Hi Jay,
    I like the way you put that.

    Hi Alice,
    I can’t disagree with you there.

  58. Mama Zen said

    Culture Catcher is really cool!

  59. Hi Mama Zen,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  60. poetryaboutart said

    Regarding “The Chair” — Great twist on another meaning of the word “chair,” and I like how you fit the RWP prompt image into your theme of bureaucracy. I also like how you shift to the capital letter “Chair” which adds another layer to the poem. When I first looked at the photo, I thought of the chair as being wounded (something to pity), but your poem presents the chair as something incompetent (something to scorn). Nice twist.

  61. Hi Poetryaboutart,
    Thanks for that. Yes, the theme I chose just stuck out of the picture.

  62. wayne said

    good read again Anthony…interesting and always thought provoking….great take on CHAIR also…thanks for all your writings

  63. Enjoyed your take on the news this week. Culture Catcher hit close to home… then so did the 55!

  64. Hi Wayne,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked the post.

    Hi Susan,
    I enjoy doing my little ditties on current affairs. Much appreciated.

  65. KB said

    Aww, what a sad 55 but nicely done.

  66. Hi KB,
    Thanks for that. I do sad sometimes.

  67. You really have all you can drink bars? I remember something like that when I was in college, 20 years ago, here in the US, but I wonder if that’s even legal here anymore!?

  68. Hi Forgetfulone,
    Not bars as such, but many have been doing offers like this to pull people in.

  69. Felicitas said

    So that’s how it works! Thank you for enlightening me Anthony! Brillian 55, as always.

  70. Good one, Anthony! Sometimes we are so self centered that we don’t see that we aren’t making the mark with the other person either. :))

  71. Hi Felicitas,
    Thanks for that, and you’re welcome.

    Hi Eaton,
    Many thanks. So very true.

  72. hope said

    Ah, the round and round we go 55. 🙂

    Sometimes feels like me and my job. Have a good weekend!

  73. Hi Hope,
    Life gets like that sometimes 😉

  74. Loved Culture Catcher – it’s my life, too, Story Man. The voices won’t leave me alone.

  75. Hi Julia,
    Many thanks. Yes, they can be constant companions.

  76. I Like the milestone poem, I can only think of one milestone round my way and that one reads, St Annes Square 3 1/2 miles.

  77. Selma said

    I really like your points about bureaucracy. Freedom will become an outdated concept at this rate. You are such a great writer. Your versatility is amazing!

  78. Hi Andy,
    I live deep in the countryside now and there’s plenty of them around.

    Hi Selma,
    Thank you for the kind words. Much appreciated.

  79. I hear ya about blowing the curve! That darn mirror is so honest!

    And I like your take on Milestones. It’s the journey, not the destination!

  80. Hi Linda,
    Thanks for that. Yes, those mirrors should lie now and again 🙂 and I agree totally about the journey.

  81. Loved the Milestone Poem. We never do seem to finish working on ourselves.

  82. Hi Anthony–
    Thanks for this–enjoyed our polly-tics. I just don’t know about Afghanistan. It’s all so muddled and unclear–I think there’s a lot we don’t know, either side of the big water…

    Sorry about blowing your curve!

    Have a great week, Anthonhy–

  83. Hi Nara,
    Thanks for that. I suppose, if we ever did finish the work, we’d be stuck for what to do next.

    Hi Beth,
    Very true. We can never know for certain. We just go for our best guess, I guess.

  84. It’s interesting how you worked the chair image from RWP into your post this week about bureaucracies. Depending on the size and complexity and absurdity, you might just be told that your three-legged chair is a cost cutting measure rather than a broken thing to be fixed.

    Good work this week. I enjoyed the read.

    -Nicole

  85. Well, that is certainly a curve most of us have blown and can relate to! Nice sense of humor!

  86. Hi Nicole,
    Thanks for that. I like how you put it.

    Hi Kathiespoettree,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  87. pieceofpie said

    lots of food for thought…. definitely enjoyed the stories as well… another good post tony…

  88. Jim said

    Well, Anthony, there is one good thing about blowing that curve. There is a recovery.
    In school, if one blows the curve most likely he will fail the course. Unless of course, the teacher allows a make-up test or changes the curve. I.e. fits it to match expectations not realized. I’ve done both for my students.
    I did have one rule, the basketball players would get no greater breaks than did the other students.
    ..

  89. Oh, no. Not the diet. Anything but the diet! Good post!

  90. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jim,
    That sounds like a good way of protecting the curve.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Many thanks. Yes, diet is such a big subject.

  91. Loch Rob said

    Anthony, I liked your piece called “Milestone”. As a businessman and avid exerciser, setting goals seems like a natural part of things. Always a goal with measures of success it seems. After so many years, it always seems like “What’s next?”. Your words captured it perfectly.

  92. Dee said

    Milestone – life is like that isn’t it? We think if we can only get to this and that point, everything will be wonderful. Then we reach this or that point adn find it is only a stop along the way. Well said Tony.

  93. Hi Loch Rob,
    Thanks for that. I look on life in a very similar way. I tend to have a big dream at the back of it all, but it’s measured by the graded approach.

    Hi Dee,
    Many thanks and very true. I suppose if we ever reached the ultimate, there’d be nothing else for us to do. It is maybe good it is like this.

  94. madeline d. murray said

    Hi Anthony,
    Your take on the three-legged chair from the RWP prompt in “The Chair” resonates all the way across the pond. Seems like we’re all on our knees, looking for answers from the broken and no-longer useful–as if standing up weren’t an option. “Long Gone Friends” is lovely and true. “Milestone” captures that ever-unfinished feeling I always seem to have. I so enjoy your blog. And thank you for visiting mine. Your comments are always encouraging.

  95. Hi Madeline,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

  96. I think bureaucracies strive to dominate rather than serve.

  97. Hi Sandy,
    That’s certainly how they end up, no matter what they were conceived to do.

  98. SERPENT is excellent. The last line is unexpected but quite accurate!

    ~IS

Leave a comment