BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

GRADUATES

Posted by anthonynorth on March 1, 2010

Theme Thursday, Booking Through Thursday & ABC Wednesday
With Thursday Thirteen news & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

houses-of-parliament3

POLLY TICKS

Welcome to my weekly magazine post. Watch
it grow thru the week. You can opt to read
the essay, current affairs, themed mini mag
with fiction & poetry, or just read the lot.
Plenty for everyone here. Do call again.

GREEN IS GO

Green light is on. Go! Time to BE. But don’t be green, meaning naïve –
but DO be green, meaning environmental. Green can have so many
meanings it can make you dizzy – turn you green – sickly green. Or
maybe green with envy. In the UK green is also the colour of the
pagan (not literally, you understand); and it is maybe good that a
spirituality based on nature is getting the green light nowadays. But
getting everyone to follow the green nature agenda seems to be as
illusive as meeting little green men.

THE GRAMMAR THING

Is grammar important? Only to a point. It’s
communication that counts – is the work
readable? Of course, I would say this. I’m
virtually self taught, having left school at 15
as soon as I learnt 2+2=3. But as far as I’m
concerned it’s the style wot’s important
– innit!!? … 😦

GRADUATES

Take a handful of young, impressionable people who are searching for
knowledge, add a charismatic kind of guy who’s on a mission to
convert you, and you’ve got yourself a cult. Slowly the mission-guy
places his thoughts in their minds and, for want of a better word,
they’re brainwashed. However, the thing about cult mentality is that
it extends to normal life; and in a way, this same process occurs in
university education. An under-graduate could well be part of a
watered-down cult, so his independence of thought could well be
degraded. This is particularly so with ‘top’ professors. Sure of
themselves, they tend to be single minded, and there’s a real
possibility that the students don’t even get a rounded education in
the subject, but simply HIS ideals. But in general I think education is
suffering today by the requirement to teach for work rather than
teach for education’s sake. This, combined with increasing numbers
going to university, leads to a degrading of initiative and other values
that used to be important. It is producing a bland mediocracy, led by
a new generation of dumbed down graduates. Of course, many in
universities argue we’re not dumbed down, but maybe it is unnoticed
by passing generations. By this, I mean that a professor from the
1980s would disagree that dumbing down has occurred by the 2000s
because he relates it to his intellect, which he could not possibly
admit has dumbed down since the 1960s.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Stories are
circulating again about Gordon
Brown’s legendary bullying. If true,
another reason why he’s unsuitable to lead?

BRIT NEWS: Tories accuse Labour of purposely driving
up debt to make it difficult for their successors to run the
country. I can believe that.

WORLD NEWS: Afghan President hints he can appoint entire election
watchdog. Not surprising. Democracy will not come to Afghanistan.

BRIT NEWS: As poll says 75% Brits want banks regulated Tories want
to offer state-owned discount shares to public. What? More
fund bosses?

WORLD NEWS: Toyota grew too quick and got priorities confused.
And are we to suppose they are alone, or was it simply so
obvious? Big is Bad.

GREEN NEWS: A 30% drop in Brits who think climate
change a definite. It never was, but how probable
is it? We take insurance on probability.

BRIT NEWS: Poll suggests Hung Parliament
coming. So nothing will get done. Yet,
getting things done got us into
this mess. We need a break.

policeman-uk

THE CRIME POST

It would be criminal not to read it

One Single Impression
ReadWritePoemFriday Flash 55
Heads or TailsThree Word Wednesday
Sunday ScribblingsThursday Poets’ Rally

HESITATION

Should I take it? It’s just lying there,
I’m an honest guy – people stare;
‘Will he take it?’ I hear them say,
Should my morals go away?
It’s only money lying on the ground;
Who’s that? What cheek! Says …
‘Look what I’ve found?’

IT’S ENTERTAINMENT

Fiction: It was a constant battle for ratings. Two channels, two true
crime shows. They argued long which was the best. One had the
more grisly reconstructions while the other pumped up the victim’s
emotion. Tears were great for ratings – but so was blood. Of course,
the ratings war came to an end when one of the Producers was
arrested. Hiring your own killer was a ratings ploy too far.

TIMETHINK

Plenty of time to think it out,
Sometimes certain, at others doubt,
The body is there inside my mind,
Why is peace so hard to find?
If only these bars didn’t keep me in,
I’d be able to atone for my murderous sin

FLASH 55 – THE FULL KILL

Fiction: I hated him and I wanted him dead – totally dead. That’s why
I shot him in the head. Which was a mistake. It seems he was an
organ donor, and the medics managed to get him to hospital before
his organs degraded. I want him totally dead – which means I’ve four
more people to kill.

THE CUP

Go on, drink it – nice cup of tea;
Poisoned? What – me?
Steamy, tasty – such a vice;
Go on, drink it – ever so nice;
But before you do, can you sign this, please,
Then I’ll have your money when you’re deceased

A MAZE

Walking these passages does amaze,
I feel so frail in this sacred place,
The mighty bronzed Bull stands as guard,
Getting past it was so very hard;
Myths of Heroes fill me with dread,
But robbing this museum will up my cred

FLUWENT

They spoke correctly, always had,
No infection, no words bad,
Until the day litocalypse came,
Words were mangled, such a shame,
Language murdered, ignorance next,
As soon as we all began to text

pen

FILM WATCH: The BAFTAs were
a bit weak this year. Hardly any Brits
nominated. Not much made. Result of the
Recession, no doubt.

BRIT NEWS: Govt ‘forces of hell’ to smear Chancellor
in 2008 for speaking truth about the economy used, he
claims. Smears are what they do.

HEALTH NEWS: Needless deaths at Stafford Hospital. When an
organisation becomes infatuated with targets & cost cuts this will
happen.

BRIT NEWS: Fears of private pensions fall aired again. Such pensions
are always gamble on economy. We were mad to degrade State
pension.

CELEB VIEW: I’ve noticed a big increase in celebrity marital
problems in UK. Just one big profile row and they all
want to do it.

BRIT NEWS: BBC report possible cuts to website
& radio causing union strike threats. Don’t
they realise massive cuts everywhere
must be?

© Anthony North, March 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

155 Responses to “GRADUATES”

  1. Toyota is a humbling experience–the one line we were all sure would never let us down.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Yes, it was a shock to many – which goes to show, Big Biz mentality can never be trusted.

  3. Dearest Anthony,

    I seldom comment, as honestly I am totally in awe of you.
    I love the ORGAN DONOR and HESITATION.
    Happened to me once, the hesitation.
    It was USD 500 , I only hesitate because I really do not want
    people , strangers ,jumping on me!

    Happy MARCH, Anthony.

    hugs
    shakira

  4. Hi Shakira,
    Many thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated.

  5. Selma said

    I Love ‘It’s Entertainment’. I wouldn’t put such behaviour past some modern day producers. Anything for ratings, even their own death. What a great story. It has really tickled my fancy!

  6. Hi Selma,
    Many thanks. Yes, I could believe it, too.

  7. I like Timethink…! thanks for your words Anthony!!

  8. Hi Sandra,
    Much appreciated. And thank you for reading.

  9. Anthony–
    Your posts always make me smile and take myself less seriously–
    What a gift!

  10. The Full Kill was creepy. Very creepy. That’s wanting someone all the way dead and then some.

    As for the dumbing down. I couldn’t agree with you more. I also agree with your cult remark too. I’ve been watching that for years. Quite amusing and in some cases frightening.

    Have a terrific day and week ahead Anthony. 🙂

  11. Hi Beth,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

    Hi Sandee,
    Yes, I think looking at much of life as watered down cult mentality could tell us quite a lot about ourselves.

  12. Jingle said

    Hello,

    What a sweet surprise that u have put Thursday Poets’ Rally in your list,
    I appreciate your kindness,
    rich and informative post,
    instilled with wit, love, and humor.

    Gorgeous!
    Happy March!

  13. Hi Jingle,
    I always put links for the prompt sites I intend to play.

  14. quilly said

    I am never drinking tea at your house and I hope I never receive a transplant from a murder victim.

  15. KB said

    Thoght provoking 55 this week my friend.

  16. Hi Quilly,
    I know you enjoy my Crime posts really 😉

    Hi KB,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  17. Twilight said

    On education, graduates etc: I agree with what you’ve written, but would add that nowadays, even if lecturers and teachers tend to push their version of history, life, politics etc, students have an unprecedented ability now to do on-line research into the topics. Network via blogs, comments, etc. etc. are available now as they never were in the past. I’d hope that students do this, and go back to lectures with responses to counteract any would-be cultists’ approaches. This pre-supposes, of course, that they’ve been taught critical thinking in the first place. 😉

  18. Hi Twilight,
    I think you may have nailed it with your last sentence. As I see it, the scope of topics and stances still reflects the in vogue knowledge structure, and it seems to me to be rare for most students to stray from this acceptable selection of stances.
    I’ve also been surprised by the superficial depth of much material on the internet. When we say it opens up knowledge, it is only to a certain level. Most in depth thought is still to be found in books, and the net could well mean less people go to those books.

  19. james said

    To be successful in life a person needs to develop in a manner that is truly free. We are experiencing a crisis in science, education and culture precisely because we do not correctly mold the person.

    Modern people can no longer make discoveries in Nature; they are not able to reveal anything because we have made them too narrow, having crammed them into strict boundaries. We have made every single person into a screw and nothing more. He knows what profession to choose to earn more money, the subjects to study in order to make it happen and that is his only goal. But this does not make him happy, only affluent.

    The biggest problem is that we do not provide the child with an opportunity to develop on his own: he is not required to invent or imagine anything new. He is quickly crammed full of various knowledge to pass his tests, get good grades and to continue his higher education. By doing so, we destroy the child’s creativity. This becomes a problem – people turn into puppets.

    We think that a child must be educated in distinct separate batches and within strict forms: classes, exams, formulas and so on. However, the reality is that our nature cannot stand this approach. And if we do not amend this erroneous system of education, our children themselves will reject it. We see that each new generation despises this system more and more, as we become more and more uncorrected, unable to find ourselves

    It is possible to study geography, history, math and every other subject in a very different manner – creatively. The approach to learning these subjects must be different, in a more social manner. After all, we always say that the world is “round”; similarly, a classroom must be “round” as well consisting of everything. And children must educate themselves in the form of discussions, questions and answers. The educator’s job is to assist them in transitioning from topic to topic.

    It is precisely education by way of dialogue, discussion and argument that facilitates a person’s development. This is verified by thousands of years of experience amassed not only by the many ancient cultures.

  20. Hi James,
    Whilst I always welcome your comments here, they are getting increasingly longer and longer. If we can get back to the shorter style you used to use, we’ll do fine.

  21. james said

    sorry understood.

  22. Grandma said

    I’ll remember not to accept a cup of tea from you. I’m afraid that you would be disappointed though. My vast estate is not worth a hill of beans, let alone a fine cup of tea! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog. I always look forward to visiting here.

    My HoT:My Cup

  23. Hi Grandma,
    Ah, but I was simply in character. I make a lovely cup of tea, really 😉
    Thanks for the comment.

  24. Nessa said

    Your flash 55 is hysterical. Having to track down all those people to totally wipe someone out.

    RnPB: Ch 013 – Clean Up

  25. sandy said

    whew a bitter cup indeed hahha sanyd

  26. Hi Nessa,
    Yes, some people go to great effort to get things done 🙂

    Hi Sandy,
    Ah, but not as bitter as the actual poisoner. Not me, by the way.

  27. Jingle said

    Awards On The Sunshine, Blogger Buddy, And More…

    blogger Buddy award.
    Enjoy!

  28. Karen said

    I found your thoughts on cults very interesting. My son is in law school right now. Talk about brain washing. grrr He is coping until he graduates. Those professors are too full of themselves.

  29. Great post as always, Anthony! Your Flash 55 is terrific! Your thoughts on cults are all too true I’m afraid! Have a great week!

    Sylvia

  30. Denise said

    I drive a Toyota! lol! Don’t come too close!

  31. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for that. Oh yes, I think you’re right.

    Hi Sylvia,
    Many thanks. Yes, cults can show us so much about normal life, I find.

    Hi Denise,
    Okay 🙂
    Thanks for the comment.

  32. Geraldine said

    I really REALLY enjoyed reading through some of your: Paranormal Flash info. this morning Tony, fascinating reading. Ill be back for more, soon. A topic that is always on my mind, part of my life too.

    Hugs, G

  33. Kim said

    Great information and lovely post. Oh about dumb graduates too many of them I think ^_^

    G is for Gold

  34. Hi Geraldine,
    Thanks for that. Glad you’re enjoying the series. There’s some interesting stuff in the comments to some of those essays, too.

    Hi Kim,
    Many thanks. Yes, that’s my opinion too.

  35. Right on about the dumbing down. I’m always amazed at how ‘narrow’ the learning box is. There’s not much comprehension of a world outside those tiny minds.

  36. Hi Tumblewords,
    Very true. The more knowledge we seem to have available, the less we learn, it seems.

  37. kimmy said

    it is a sad thing (but somehow, factual) that some teachers teach ‘to work’ and not ‘to educate’, as i am a teacher, myself. i, however, do believe that there are still plenty of ‘us’ who do what we do because we believe we can make a difference no matter how little or great. it may be wishful thinking, but it makes life worthwhile..

  38. Hi Kimmy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I don’t dispute that there are committed teachers. I’m not so sure, though, that the system wants them to be so in terms of rounded education for education’s sake.

  39. Stan Ski said

    The cult mentality is then filtered, through TV and the Media, influencing, music, comedy, the arts and politics.
    Finders keepers.
    Motive for murder – so many to choose from.

  40. You do such a great job of collecting so much information : ) Thank you for the time it takes you to put this together for all of us. It is a blessing 🙂 Have a wonderful week!

  41. Love the cup poem! LOL! And your Brit news is always interesting. I like to compare it to our US news.

  42. Reader Wil said

    Everything you write is interesting. Education is one of the most difficult subjects. The fact that somebody thinks that his truth is the only truth, means that he is not the right educator. We all have to find the truth ourselves, or must I say A truth? For there are so many ways to find a truth. What’s true for you might be absolutely wrong for me.
    If we only look at the traffic on the continent and that of Great Britain and the rest of the British Empire.We, on the continent think: right is right and left is wrong. The UK,however, says: right is wrong and left is right. Who is right?? Both are, it depends where you are!

  43. Me got an award for you!

    come over to http://justmeshakirack.blogspot.com/2010/03/awesome-gifts-from-crackerjacks.html

    hugs
    shakira

  44. Hi Stan,
    Yes, I’m doing Media when I get to ‘M’.

    Hi Life With Kaishon,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

    Hi Forgetfulone,
    Many thanks. Yes, I’ve a great interest in current affairs.

    Hi Reader Wil,
    A good point. My idea of truth is simple: it doesn’t exist. Infact, on my About page I make it clear I never deal with truth, but simply patterns to debate.

    Hi Shakira,
    Thanks for that.

  45. jabblog uk said

    Loved your Flash 55 – most inventive. I agree with your thoughts on education. It is often too restrictive when it should be opening minds rather than channelling them.

  46. Hi Jabblog,
    Thanks for the kind words on the 55. Yes, I agree. There isn’t much opening of minds in education nowadays.

  47. Jay said

    A hung parliament? Ugh. I remember the last one of those!

    Not sure I entirely agree about the ‘teaching for work is bad’ idea. I think it’s necessary to teach for work. But our universities are getting it wrong, because many people in industry will tell you that graduates are NOT ready for work when they arrive in the workplace, but can be a tad arrogant because they are convinced that they are ready. In fact, they have to be taught all over again. What we need is a bit of both. Graduates should be ready to do the actual job of work that they trained for, but there should be room for learning for its own sake too. I don’t know what the answer is,

    Perhaps we need another type of institution?

  48. Hi Jay,
    Yes, I can agree with that. What I object to is the single minded thrust towards education for work going on today. So many students and institutions are simply dropping the idea of rounded education. And in a way this could be why education for work is producing people who are not educated enough for work. I guess education for education’s sake used to produce people ready for work as a natural consequence.

  49. Love the ‘A Maze’ 🙂

  50. The cup and the full kill are interesting rhymes to read 🙂

  51. Very well stated about cults, how they seem normal.

    Very gifted writer, you are. “The Cup” was chilling, yikes.

    And hey, I found you through Jingle and am bestowing the “Jannie Funster Lucky Lupine Award” upon your poetry blog! You can see it and whisk it home away from this post of mine…

    http://www.janniefunster.com/2010/03/02/the-blog-party-a-poem/

    Whoo-hoo!!!

    🙂

  52. naramalone said

    Loved “A Maze” Great take on the prompt.

  53. Hi Just Someone,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked them.

    Hi Jannie,
    Many thanks. And welcome.

    Hi Naramalone,
    Kind words. Much appreciated.

  54. Jingle said

    Thursday Poets Rally Week 7 Perfect Poet Award

    hope that u accept the award and nominate one other poet,
    please let me know!
    thank U, 😉

  55. Sara said

    I’m new to your site and greatly enjoyed reading your poetry. My favorite was The Crime Post, especially Flash 55 — The Full Kill and The Cup. I love that your poetry comes in the humor flavor of dark chocolate. I chuckled all the way through each of these poems:~) It’s also great fun to read your poetry aloud!

  56. Hi Jingle,
    Thanks for that, but I’m not really into the awards thing.

    Hi Sara,
    Many thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated, and welcome.

  57. Lilibeth said

    I love your surprise endings. You had me thinking he was actually in the labyrinth.

  58. william said

    hello Anthony, wow this is better than buying a newspaper lol and I mean that in a nice way, superb, read every line and enjoyed it 🙂

  59. if you find those little grren men let me know, smiles. maybe then we can save our planet as well.

    enjoyed the poem about finding money on the ground as well. we used to tie th string around a dollar in college and lead people around. sorry first thing that hit my mind.

  60. thommyg said

    A wonderful twist at the end of A Maze, Tony.

  61. lissa said

    HESITATION – yes those thoughts has ran through my head whenever I see a penny on the streets

    A MAZE – nice one

  62. I can’t help but think that almost every generation thinks the previous generation’s education was better. Yeah, and they (over time) swallowed goldfish, squeezed into phone booths and wore bell-bottomed jeans.

  63. Kris said

    In Persian erotic poetry, dark-skinned women are addressed as “green,” as in phrases like سبز گندم گون sabz-gandom-gun (literally “green wheat colored”) or سبز مليح sabz-malih (“a green beauty”).

    Well I never!

  64. Hi Lilibeth,
    Many thanks. And I love working them out.

    Hi William,
    Many thanks for the kind words 🙂

    Hi Brian,
    I wish I’d thought of that 😉

    Hi Thommy,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Lissa,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked the poems.

    Hi Roger,
    Well, I certainly FELT intelligent in my bell bottoms 😉

    Hi Kris,
    Thanks for that info. Much appreciated.

  65. Enjoyed the rhyming light – yet – not nature of your 3ww offering this week. THANK YOU!

  66. Subby said

    I’ve gotten better at being green, I have…and room for improvement, yes.

  67. Hi Julie,
    Thanks for the comment. Much appreciated.

    Hi Subby,
    I’m sure we’ll all get there eventually.

  68. Ha! Totally agree with the “State Pension” statement 🙂

    Enjoyable post as always.

    Here is my Thursday 13

    Hope you can drop by and say hello!

    Sassy
    🙂

  69. Hi Sassy,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it was mad – totally!

  70. derrick2 said

    Hi Anthony,

    I see Lord Ashcroft has escaped your notice this week. As if no-one knew! Loved your take on Grammar. Is ‘A Maze’ your RWP contribution? Enjoyed that too. Thanks for the welcome back.

  71. Hi Derrick,
    I’ve Tweeted on Ashcroft and my Tweets end up as the news on this blog, so something will appear next Monday here.
    My rwp poem was Timethink, but I’m pleased you liked my other pieces. Much appreciated – and welcome back, again 🙂

  72. Dee said

    It’s odd that education is geared to work but it seems fewer people are good employees these days. Maybe education for education’s sake had hidden benefits? I have two in college right this moment and see the influence their professors have on them. I just smile and nod. The real world will change some of that!

    Love Full Kill – there is a book there! That really caught my imagination.

  73. Kris said

    Hi, I’ve given you an award, here you go: http://intetextualchronicles.blogspot.com/2010/03/my-very-first-award.html

  74. “A-Maze” – Clever play on the word use, and a really cool poem.

    “Hesitation” – He who hesitates is lost. Nicely done, on the moral dilemma.

  75. Jennifer said

    Ah yes, grammar. My answer: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/03/booking-through-thursday-grammar.html

  76. Hi Dee,
    I make just that point in comment 48 above. I’m sure education for education’s sake produced excellent workers as a spin-off.
    Thanks for the kind words about the story.

    Hi Kris,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jay,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked them.

    Hi Jennifer,
    Grammar indeed.

  77. It’s true, the pagan with paint still isn’t green. He’s blue.

  78. Hi Alice,
    Thanks for that little snippet.

  79. Ha, I agree with you about the grammar issue. Here’s mine.

  80. Hi Lori,
    Yes, some people can be so infatuated with grammar they forget to read the story.

  81. Nanc said

    ‘In the UK green is also the colour of the pagan’

    Wow – I never knew that. So those pubs named ‘Green Man’ are actually styled after a pagan god? – interesting.

  82. Hi Nanc,
    Yes, there are many pagan deities based around the Green Man concept, including the legendary Herne the Hunter. Some even argue Robin Hood ballads came from such pagan mythology.

  83. Titanium said

    Green is truly, necessarily, GO! Perfect for today.

    Mine is up!

  84. betsy said

    I wondered if anyone would mention little green men today! 🙂

  85. Hi Titanium,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Betsy,
    Yes, I thought I better had – even though they’re really grey 😉

  86. The Graduate one made me grin and I enjoyed the Brit news snippets. We got the Gordon Brown story on our news down here in NZ. He doesn’t seem very popular.

  87. wayne said

    another enjoyable read Anthony….love the grammar ting

  88. Hiring your own hit man… isn’t that just another form of suicide?

  89. Hi Shelley,
    Thanks for that. Brown is not only not popular, he has never been elected, or earned a popular mandate.

    Hi Wayne,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Susan,
    Well, you could say that.

  90. pieceofpie said

    hii tony, another week great post….grammer hilarious!!!…education sad….politics a reflection of whaz going on over here on our usofa….funny stories…killing, mayhem and donors…never thought of donors in that way…as an organ donor do i need to rethink body parts in another…possibly watching too many films… saw an interesting program the suicide tourist….interesting… take care!!

  91. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for the comment. Hopefully the donor killer will remain fiction.

  92. Donnetta Lee said

    The Organ Donor is my favorite! My kind of thinking. How do you manage to write so many things for one post!? Amazing, Tony! D

  93. A Maze, amazing. I like that you got your cred back. 🙂 Nice work, as always.

  94. JeffScape said

    Hah! The grammar portion had me rolling. Grammar AND style are important!

    But I know you know that. 😉

  95. You know I love your 55!

    hugs
    shakira

    SEI POK KAI

  96. Thom said

    Chilling 55 my friend. I love it. Very clever and so murderous 🙂

  97. Hi Donnetta,
    Thanks for that. I just love writing them – and a bottomless pit for a strange imagination 😉

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Many thanks. The actual labyrinth myth is so excellent, too.

    Hi JeffScape,
    So very true.

    Hi Shakira,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi Thom,
    Kind words. Much appreciated 🙂

  98. Great 55, that takes revenge to a whole new level. Murder’s not enough, but the organs cannot continue in others either. Chilling…

    And The Cup, reminds of something that happened in Japan a few year ago. An insurance sales woman invited her customers to lunch, and fed them poisoned curry. She had changed all their wills to her name. Somehow, her plot did not get very far…

  99. Hi Peter,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it seems crime knows no extreme.

  100. That’s one macabre 55, Anthony! What a great story, though.

  101. Hi Sandy,
    Many thanks. Yes, very macabre, but glad you liked it.

  102. Felicitas said

    Deadly interesting perspective in your 55, Anthony! Awesome, as always!

  103. jessie said

    so many great little story, thoughts here.
    your 55, and the cup were will told and ‘a maze’ was a delight!

    warm smiles,

  104. Hi Felicitas,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jessie,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  105. Yeah, going after every organ might be overkill. I mean, what next? Kids?

  106. Hi Alice,
    Now THAT would make a good sequal 😉

  107. Mama Zen said

    What a creepy 55! I love it!

  108. Hi Mama Zen,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  109. Akelamalu said

    Crikey your 55’s scary this week Anthony! :0

  110. Hi Akelamalu,
    Yes. I like scary now and again.

  111. Nessa said

    Grammar is always changing – it’s a growing thing. Communication is what is most important but you do need to watch what your grammar or lack of it communicates.

    Flash 55 – Earthquake

    One Single Impression – Running

  112. Hi Nessa,
    Yes, I watched an interesting discussion not so long ago about the use of the apostrophe. Some of the experts got quite heated.

  113. quilly said

    Tony — I do enjoy your crime posts, really. I come back whenever you post, don’t I

  114. G-Man said

    Totally dead is Much better than half dead!
    All your writings were very enjoyable.
    The 55 was Great.
    You are a Giant amongst dwarfs…Thanks
    Have a Wonderful week-End…Galen

  115. And the Toyota thing is kind of funny too — we were considering buying a Prius. 😦

    BTW, your piece about graduates was rather intriguing. We have the same kinds of issues going on in the States — whose version is the right version of truth? Are they taught to critically think or are they taught to think like the prof thinks? Endless questions.

    Thank you for sharing.

    -Nicole

  116. I laughed at the grammar piece, LOVE ‘Entertainment’ but this week’s 55 is absolutely chilling.

    If I ever get an organ donation jeeeze, I won’t sleep at night.
    😛

  117. Hi Quilly,
    Of course you do – and much appreciated.

    Hi G-Man,
    Thanks for that. Kind words.

    Hi Nicole,
    Yes, this is a big question, and a big problem.

    Hi Susan,
    Many thanks. So glad you liked them.

  118. pamela said

    I love the take on education here. Oh, so true. I teach English in Mexico and have been for 8 years now. I love my job and my students that I have now are much more interested in learning English as a second language. They know the benefits of learning. Now that is more than I can say for the students in the states. Thanks once again for sharing.

    Pamela

  119. Your 55 is so vengeful. I love it! My theme Thursday had green as the color of go. If you have time come check it out. *smiles.

  120. Hi Pamela,
    Thanks for that. Yes, education is in a mess in the west.

    Hi Susan,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  121. mona said

    The grammar thing is funny 🙂

    The 55ve protagonist is a ‘true’ psychopath!

  122. Hi Mona,
    Thanks for that. Yep, he isn’t someone we’d like to know.

  123. Patti said

    Love your 55. I can imagine a thriller developing here.

    My post is up here.

  124. Hi Patti,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it could go a long way yet.

  125. I’ve never texted! It’s such a disease; I even notice text language popping up in my students’ essays!

  126. Hi Linda,
    Yes, it’s getting everywhere. Even in normal speech with some.

  127. Dee said

    idk Tony, I don’t think Fluwent is spelled correctly but I will brb after I look it up in the dictionary lol

  128. Hi Dee,
    omg, rofl. Thanx for dat – lol

  129. Amity said

    If one is not used to picking anything, he would surely feel much hesitation doing it!

    You made me smile on your “grammar thing” as i am also one who falters unknowingly, or simply because i have not learnt it in school.

  130. Hi Amity,
    Thanks for that. Yes, grammar can be a bind sometimes.

  131. Geraldine said

    I like your take on “hesitation” we’ve all been there, haven’t we? 😉

    I haven’t been able to access OSI, comes up Access Denied. Did you have any problems?

    Hugs, G

  132. Hi Geraldine,
    We have indeed 🙂
    I’ve just tried osi and it seems to be workng. Maybe the server was temporarily down.

  133. Loch Rob said

    Enjoyed your piece on hesitation. I always turn in what I find, thinking I may lose my wallet one day and hope someone also turns in.

    The vernerable Toyota in trouble with quality. Some recently leaked documents also indicate they put negotiations on reducing quality costs over fixing the problems. I’m thinking Ford, GM, or Vauxhall.

  134. Just reading hesitation and thinking of a penny I picked up from the road yesterday after passing it by. It was so damaged that the base metal beneath the copper coating shown through. Poor Mr. Lincoln was a mere blur. I wondered if it were mine to take. Where morals are concerned, amount is the lesser consideration if it is one at all.

  135. Hi Loch Rob,
    Yes, My Dearest found £20 on the road not long ago and handed it in, prompting this. As for the car companies, I shudder to think …

    Hi Sandy,
    Very true. One is either moral, or is not. I hope I belong to the former.

  136. I couldn’t agree more with you on “Fluwent”. I enjoyed your take on the OSI hesitation prompt…and I completely agree that Big is Bad!

  137. A desi said

    FLUWENT is actually the best 😀

    Frantic Fluency

  138. Jim said

    Should I take it? No hesitation from here! 🙂
    This is very nice and appropriate for me, Anthony.
    I like your rhyme too.
    ..

  139. Hi Sweetest In The Gale,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked the post.

    Hi AD,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Jim,
    Thanks for the kind words.

  140. …the grammar thing….I like that….and your hesitation Anthony is sweet!

  141. Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I have mixed feelings about grammar.

  142. Lilibeth said

    I do so hate txtng. Specialty predition texas.

  143. Hi Lilibeth,
    I know how you feel.

  144. naramalone said

    Laughing…I admit to tossing proper language out the window when I tx. It’s just so blessed hard to spell with number keys.

  145. Hi Naramalone,
    I agree. Very fidgety.

  146. Hesitation – a foregone quandary! Will he or won’t he? Nice.

  147. Andree said

    What a great concept for “hesitation!” I wondered what he would do. I laughed at the end. Excellent!

  148. Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for that. Yes, sometimes it’s hard to resist – but we try.

    Hi Andree,
    Many thanks for the kinds words.

  149. Wow, Anthony, you are so good with memes.

    Happy TQM!
    Happy RT!
    Happy HOT!

    hugs
    shakira

    NEVER SHOULD

    ROSE GARDEN

    CUPCAKES

  150. Hi Shakira,
    I guess I just enjoy them.

  151. Why hesitate? Somebody must pick it up anyhow. Try to give it back, that can be quite a difficult task.

  152. Oh Anthony, how do you do it. I love all the things you write because you are so very interesting. I must admit sometimes I am at a lost. Anyway, I love you OSI take on hesitation.

    Melanie

  153. Hi Nathalie,
    Yes, I suppose that’s very true.

    Hi Melanie,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

  154. zephyr266 said

    this is my first visit to your blog and you bet it is not the last. loved Timethink and Hesitation, in particular. love your style.

  155. Hi Zephyr,
    Thanks for the kind words, and welcome.

Leave a comment