BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Archive for May 2nd, 2010

PROLETARIAT

Posted by anthonynorth on May 2, 2010

Theme Thursday, Microfiction Monday & ABC Wednesday
With Thursday Thirteen news & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

houses-of-parliament3

POLLY TICKS

Welcome to my weekly magazine post. Watch
it grow thru the week. You can opt to read the essay,
current affairs, themed mini mag with fiction & poetry, or just
read the lot. Here’s hoping you enjoy your visit. Plenty
for everyone here so do call again next week.

MICROFICTION

Fiction: Romans could be such dandies.
‘Love the shield,’ said one, jealously, to
the other. ‘Is it Prada?’

PROLETARIAT

The Proletariat is a lower social class. Marx saw them as being at the
bottom – those who owned nothing. His philosophy was based on
raising them into a classless society that owned everything. Of course,
Marx was naïve. He forgot that some will always gain, and cling to,
power. That’s why Capitalism beat Communism. But where’s the
Proletariat today? Modern capitalism wants everyone to own
something. But we forget some will always gain, and cling to, power.
That’s why Communism is now masquerading as Capitalism. We all own
everything as Marx wanted, but the power is still in the hands of the
few. And the mass who own a little are still, nonetheless, at the
bottom.

PINKS

They sat, thinking back, cigar smoke in
the air, affluence hidden behind well guarded
rooms, remembering the power, the minions.
For some, communism was so easily
watered down.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Tory leader
cosies up to Lib Dems by suddenly
liking electoral reform. I think they really
think we don’t think they’re lying.

WORLD NEWS: UK Foreign Office apologises to Pope
after ‘document’ suggests he could launch Benedictine
condoms on visit. Ah, diplomacy.

BRIT NEWS: Recession did not cause a crimewave as crime hits
30 yr low. This bucks the trend. I wonder if it’s all in the reporting.

WORLD NEWS: G20 think global economy recovering faster than they
thought. Really? Greek economy about to collapse. Beware double dip.

BRIT NEWS: Defence think tank says reassessment of role needed. Oh
dear. Defence is simple. Prepare for everything. If you don’t, you fail.

BRIT NEWS: Institute of Fiscal Studies criticises parties for
not saying how deep cuts will have to be. We all
know they’re lying.

BRIT NEWS: Brown humiliated by brooding
‘bigoted woman’ remark on mic still
switched on. The real character
is outed. And it’s not nice.

beta-robot

FUTURE ZONE

What’s ahead … and Beyond!!!

One Single Impression
Sunday ScribblingsFriday Flash 55
Three Word WednesdayThursday Poets’ Rally
Writer’s Island

WHO REIGNS?

They reign supreme on planet Earth’s soil,
So clever they don’t even toil,
They conquer the air and seas worldwide,
Surviving, thriving – don’t even confide;
We’re turned into puppets by these clever ones,
Agents of a higher intelligent song,
They’re marching on to bring life to the dead,
The chromosomes sending messages into our heads

FLASH 55 – THE GUN

Sci Fi: Father didn’t believe the boy when he told him he’d killed
someone with the gun. After all, the body had vapourised – and toy
ray guns simply didn’t work, did they? The toy alien grimaced. He had
survived the crash – been found by the boy. One day he’d free himself
from the sticky gum and escape.

EVENT HORIZON

Black Hole looms, sucks me in,
All time is one, my good, my sin,
I’m pushed and pulled as I go right through,
All the while thinking of you,
At the other side I see the light,
A baby’s cry, a mother’s delight

MURDEROUS ESCAPE

Sci Fi: The scene was so vibrant; I should have known. But those old
habits – they … came back. And afterwards, the corpse on the ground,
and that old feeling of delight that spurred me on. The poor guy had no
chance of escape. Then I corrected myself – felt revulsion. I pricked
my ears back – listened for the hum. It was then I realized I’d never
escape either. I wasn’t in the virtual reality conditioner any more. I’d
been released.

STOWAWAY

Starship passes – feel like a jump,
Had enough of this big old junk,
Down I go, falling fast,
Now I’m a stowaway on this planet, vast;
I’ll have lots of fun, feel my worth,
‘Cos I’m the Devil on planet Earth

pen

BRIT NEWS: Labour promises
no cuts to National Health Service.
Poll says Labour not trusted to protect it.
We really distrust them.

WORLD NEWS: IMF warns Greek financial crisis could
spread across Euro Zone. I always thought the Euro was
a very bad idea.

BRIT NEWS: Collective wealth of UK’s rickest has risen 30%. Amazing
how a Recession can help certain people, isn’t it?

CRIME NEWS: UK nursing union wants injection rooms for heroin users
to help cut crime. Drugs must be illegal or not. Too much dithering.

BRIT NEWS: Banks criticised by Regulator for poor way they
deal with complaints. Big Biz always has contempt
for little customer.

BRIT NEWS: Brits have £55bn debt, says survey.
Now, if it’s a debt, it isn’t there. How can
we ‘have’ something that isn’t there?

© Anthony North, May 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

Follow me on Twitter
Good place to see what I’m discussing
from my Archives

Posted in Current Affairs, Poetry, Politics, Science Fiction | 156 Comments »