BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Archive for May 16th, 2010

REASON

Posted by anthonynorth on May 16, 2010

Theme Thursday, Microfiction Monday & ABC Wednesday
With Thursday Thirteen news & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

computer-lap-top1

BLOGGER BARD

Welcome to my weekly magazine post. Watch
it grow thru the week. You can opt to read the essay,
current affairs, themed mini mag with fiction & poetry, or just
read the lot. You’ll also see a linked essay and story from
my archives. Why not call back later to read them?
Plenty for everyone here. Do call again.

I’m now on Facebook

MICROFICTION

Fiction: She had quite a shock when she
moved the jars. Her pathologist husband
had mistaken his work for the preserves
– again!

REASON

Reason is such a reasonable word – or so we think. Throughout history
things have been reasoned – in a reasonable kind of way – but the
simple fact that reasoned truths of the past are no longer reasonable
shows that reason is maybe not so. Similarly, in the modern world
various ideas of what is reasonable and reasoned exist and cause
conflict. Perhaps there must always be a reason behind reason – and a
reason that has little to do with a reasonable approach. Indeed, an
analysis of the thought process of reason explains how this happens.
Reason is a way of thinking on what is self-evidently true. Yet self
evident truth is not reasoned. It is based within belief. Hence, there is
a contradiction in what becomes reasoned, and how the reasoning is
reasoned out. Does that sound reasonable to you?

PETS

Fiction: I’m surrounded by my pets. They
live in the house with me. There’s a male
and female and three young pups. They’re
always playing with me. Real, pedigree
humans. Bless.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

WORLD NEWS: The BP Gulf oil
spill continues. Are we really to believe
the entire oil industry didn’t realise you could
have an open wound?

BRIT NEWS: There’s a myth on proportional representation
that European govts work. No; so weak all decisions made by
Dictatorcrats in Brussels.

MONEY NEWS: £645bn Euro rescue package stuns the markets. And
think how much more they’ll need if contagion goes on. Where’s the
money tree?

HEALTH NEWS: Experts say 6 hrs sleep essential for good health. I’ll
have to tell all the fit, elderly people I’ve known who didn’t.

BRIT NEWS: New Cabinet: PM David (hug a hoodie) Cameron
with deputy Little Nick Clegg. Chancellor Friar Ken Clarke
& Home Sec Maid May. Defence Sec: Liam (of) Fox(ley)

BRIT NEWS: Cont Robin Hood Cabinet theme, financial
team is Chancellor of Exch, Sir G(eorge) of Osborne
with Chief Sec David outLaws.

BRIT NEWS: Cameron Hoodie has to have a
Foreign Sec. He’s Yorkshire so no H.
Meet William ‘ague. Hope Boris,
Sheriff of London, behaves.

computer_desk

RATTLER’S TALE

A Voyage of the Imagination

One Single Impression
Sunday ScribblingsFriday Flash 55
Three Word WednesdayThursday Poets’ Rally
Writer’s Island

FLOATING

Floating, floating, shouldn’t be there,
Should have stayed down, no one aware,
Of when I drowned him, let him sink,
But now he’s floating – I dare not blink!
His finger’s pointing in a macabre way,
Straight at me, I begin to sway,
Then wake up screaming – I couldn’t go deep,
Condemned to floating just above sleep

FLASH 55 – THE SOLDIER

Fiction: He knew it could come to this. Always had, always will. The
soldier lay on the battlefield dying. The gas, grenade, bullet, shot,
pike, sword, arrow, spear, flint had done its worse. The politicians
praised; the people were saddened; but only he knew man’s folly.
Couldn’t tell. And the children grow to continue the cycle.

RECIPE

Ingredients, two, hard to mix,
Stir thoroughly – should do the trick,
Simmering heat, melting nice,
Getting hot – add plenty of spice,
Coming to boil – beware of lumps?
Should be ready in about nine months

DREADFUL DECISION

Fiction: She was in a dreadful state, sitting, almost comatose, in the
chair. I’d tried to pacify her, helping her to grasp hold of rationality,
but it was no good. Just a moment ago we had been enjoying a quiet
meal – yet, how easily things can change – an awkward action, an
unthinking word. I knew, now that the violence had eased, what
decision I had to make, even though it went against the grain. ‘I’m
sorry,’ I said, ‘I was stupid. Yes, dear, you are a better cook than
my mother.’

IMAGINARY FRIEND

He let me do almost what I wanted,
Just had to ask, my wishes granted,
Everything seemed so much fun,
Never a moment to be glum;
But …
‘Twas in my imagination that he was a friend,
The bank man’s got no more to vend

pen

BRIT NEWS: So we now have
Liberal Conservatives. What a love
in – ’til Lib Dem left & Tory right begin to
have their say. A house of cards?

HEALTH NEWS: Study shows work stress raises risk
of heart trouble in women under 50. Oh? Everything puts
stress on heart. It’s called living.

BRIT NEWS: Fixed term Parliaments are a real possibility. Well, I didn’t
expect that. Why not? Because the real possibility is it won’t work.

EDUC NEWS: Middlesex Uni making moves to phase out philosophy.
This is a tragedy. We are removing the very idea of thinking
from modern life.

BRIT NEWS: New govt says Identity Cards will be scrapped.
Good. Civil liberties to return after totalitarian New
Labour thrown out.

BRIT NEWS: Many manifesto pledges scrapped
as Tory/Lib Dem coalition finds its feet.
But should it be a Story/Limp
Dem Coalition?

© Anthony North, May 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

Follow me on Twitter
Good place to see what I’m discussing
from my Archives

Posted in Current Affairs, Philosophy, Poetry, Twist In the Tale | 159 Comments »