BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

WEAPON

Posted by anthonynorth on June 20, 2010

Theme Thursday, Microfiction Monday & ABC Wednesday
With Thursday Thirteen news & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

beta-physicist1

PROF ISAAC GALISTEIN

Welcome to my weekly magazine post. Watch
it grow thru the week. You can opt to read the essay,
current affairs, themed mini mag with fiction & poetry, or just
read the lot. Here’s hoping you enjoy your visit. Plenty
for everyone here so do call again next week.

I’m now on Facebook

MICROFICTION

Fiction: Old Sea Dog jammed his neck as he
pulled the line & big fish flew off. He just couldn’t
look up, so never saw the fish bar roof.

THE WEAPON

We think of modern capitalism as benign, but is this the case? Based on
free market economics and the open society, it was actually born of
the Mont Pelerin Society in 1947. Founder members included F A
Hayek, Karl Popper and Milton Friedman, who went on to write and
create thinktanks that inspired governments of the 1980s. But what
was uppermost in its founders’ minds? It was a philosophy aimed
directly at beating the collectivism of communism. In other words, it
was a specific ideological weapon. Well, it won. But as with many
weapons, when their use is redundant, they can turn on the good
guys – namely us.

BERMUDA TRIANGLE

I’m a great believer in coincidence. Small
coincidences can build up to big events.
Big events can build up to places where
coincidences happen often, such as
disasters. Coincidence could answer the
Bermuda Triangle – if only coincidence
wasn’t such a mystery.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Labour ex-Chancellor
says Tories exagerating economic woes.
Well, he would say that, wouldn’t he?

BRIT NEWS: Alleged fraudulent claims MPs lose their
bid to not be tried in court. If it had been any different,
then we are not free.

BRIT NEWS: Defence Sec says all forces up for review except Trident.
This is worrying. There are cheaper nukes & forces already starved.

HEALTH NEWS: Guardian says patients less likely to die in big hospitals.
Yes, ‘cos small ones ideologically starved of cash.

BRIT NEWS: Bloody Sunday inquiry vindicates 14 victims as
innocent. No conspiracy but some soldiers to blame.
Cameron rightly apologises.

CRIME NEWS: Doctors agree to break confidentiality
if gun owner appears unstable. A good idea?
I always worry about slippery slopes.

BRIT NEWS: Cameron vows to tear up health
& safety regs crippling Brit way of life.
Great, but little dictators in
jackslippers will fight.

policeman-uk

THE CRIME POST

It would be criminal not to read it

One Single Impression
Sunday ScribblingsFriday Flash 55
Three Word WednesdayWriter’s Island

OCHRE

Ochre pigment on the skin,
Tribal culture – hear them sing,
A different world from the west,
Had to change at our behest,
Wipe them out or sell them coke,
Such crimes we do invoke

FLASH 55 – DEADLY COUPLE

Fiction: The police thought it must have been a suicide pact at first. He
had been poisoned, but managed to butcher her before he died. Yet
the investigation unearthed another reason. It must have been a shock
for the serial killer to realize he’d fallen for a Black Widow. But they do
say like attracts like.

CHANGE

I’m such a fool – do too much time,
Always being caught in some kind of crime,
Then there’s the effort to carry it out,
Constant worry on every shout,
Burglary, kidnap – time for a change,
My whole life needs to be rearranged,
So I’ve got the credentials – a guy called Tim
I like his details – I’m gonna be him

JUST ANOTHER DAY

Fiction: The blade went in easily and soon the man was dead. He laid
him on the floor and looked along the dark corridor. No alarm had been
raised so he proceeded. Suddenly he heard a noise, implying he had
been discovered. Quickly he backtracked to the man he had killed – lay
beside him; feigned death. Two guards appeared, and as they looked
over him, he jumped up and used the blade again, to merciless effect.
Now he knew he could go on unimpeded. He raced down the corridor,
forced open the door and opened the container within. The gold was
beautiful – encrusted with diamonds. Quickly, he placed it in his bag
and exited the building as quickly as possible. Then the virtuous knight
jumped on his horse and rode for Camelot, another quest complete.

BIRTH

Heartbeat thumping, feel confined,
Grown so much, lose my binds,
On the way out, the tunnel so dark,
Racing, racing, new life a lark,
Bursting out into glorious light,
Release from prison, I’m doing right

pen

WORLD NEWS: I’d never defend
BP but remember, it’s 40% US owned
& was US tech that failed. I’m getting fed
up of Obama’s anti-Brit rhetoric.

HEALTH NEWS: 20% of cases of Legionnaires’ Disease
put down to water from windscreen wipers. So benign but it
makes total sense.

BRIT NEWS: £2 billion of future projects ranging from Stonehenge
visitors’ centre to new hospital cancelled by govt. A statement of
intent.

HEALTH NEWS: Survey of surgeons says budgets & targets damaging
safety in operating theatres. Any idiot could have told them that.

BRIT NEWS: Vetting system for working with youth would
have registered nine million adults. This nonsense put
on hold by govt. Good.

BRIT NEWS: Govt going to bring Brit soldiers
home as soon as Afghanistan safe. What
a totally meaningless statement
that is.

© Anthony North, June 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

Follow me on Twitter

112 Responses to “WEAPON”

  1. Old Grizz said

    wow..first to respond..I’ve always wanted to be #1…just a simple note on “birth”..nice take on the prompt..that never came into my mind.

  2. 1sojournal said

    Why do we always think that change is simple or easy?

    Elizabeth

  3. pamela said

    Very insightful Anthony
    Good post!
    Pamela

  4. Hi Old Grizz,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it’s good to be first 🙂

    Hi Elizabeth,
    I don’t know. It rarely is.

    Hi Pamela,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  5. Monkey Man said

    A nice read for a Sunday morning here on the US west coast. Great 55. I also agree on the Obama front, he is nothing more than a deflecting, shallow, promise breaking career politician. He also accepted a $77,000 contribution from BP.

  6. Hi Monkey Man,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I’m always suspicious about all politicians.

  7. william said

    another fab weekly post friend, love coming here my fav this week.

    Fiction: Old Sea Dog jammed his neck as he
    pulled the line & big fish flew off. He just couldn’t
    look up, so never saw the fish bar roof.

  8. Hi William,
    Many thanks for that. Definitely a fishy tale, that one 🙂

  9. Ochre is a powerful poem. How we wash away the art of life when we take, take, take from other cultures.

    Your Friday 55 made me smile. Always complicated!

  10. Hi Sandy,
    Indeed we do. Thanks for that.

  11. Marinela said

    Insightful write Anthony.
    Warmly
    Marinela

  12. Hi Marinela,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  13. dorinny said

    “Govt going to bring Brit soldiers
    home as soon as Afghanistan safe. What
    a totally meaningless statement
    that is.”

    did they actually say this? wow.

    Liked your birth poem. Although I don’t know if babies think of the womb as a prison; they always seem to be so upset to get out.

  14. Hi Dorinny,
    I think all governments descend into meaningless spin nowadays. I enjoyed your comment about the birth poem.

  15. Old Egg said

    Loved the Birth poem. I don’t know about prison but everyone deserves some freedom. I only wished we used it more wisely!

  16. I didn’t know this! Thank you for posting this information.
    “I’d never defend
    BP but remember, it’s 40% US owned
    & was US tech that failed. I’m getting fed
    up of Obama’s anti-Brit rhetoric.”

    The largest BP shareholder: the U.S. investment firm JPMorgan Chase…
    Gerardine

  17. Stan Ski said

    Low-flying fish!
    Ideocide…
    Bermuda Circle…?
    Turmeric
    Blogman turns Spiderman in 55
    Nice, but Dim… 🙂
    9 months hard labour

    Quality throughout

  18. Sounds a fishy tale to me! Mine is a homage to On the Waterfront this week and is here.

  19. Hi Old Egg,
    Thanks for that. Yes, freedom is often abused, isn’t it?

    Hi Gerardine,
    Thanks for that information.

    Hi Stan,
    Many thanks for the kind words. I like the ‘hard labour’ comment 🙂

    Hi Me A Writer,
    A fishy tale indeed.

  20. Poor dog — always the fisher, never the consumer. Similar to always the bridesmaid, never the bride? Ah well…

  21. Zephyr said

    Loved Ochre, Change and Birth! Enjoyed microfiction and Flash 55 too.

    Yes indeed, why are coincidences such a mystery?

  22. Nessa said

    Welcome to Facebook.

    The fish went fishing for the dog. Good fish story.

  23. Peggy said

    This was good. I can picture the whole scene. Very vivid!
    NICE!

  24. Great MM this week. Hope Old Sea Dog doesn’t end up in one of those cash-starved smaller hospitals! (The serial killer/Black widow story was clever too!)

    Have a great week.

  25. Twilight said

    Capitalism-Communism : nobody seems able to stike a balance, taking the good from each and ditching the bad. Maybe Scandinavian countries get the nearest to it ?

    I’m with you on the Obama/BP front, AN. I wish BP hadn’t chosen to keep the initials of their original name – it was always going to cause problems and offer others a chance to point fingers when something like the current tragedy occurred. If they’d called the corporation something like Petroleum United then Obama and the media wouldn’t be able to shift blame so easily.

  26. Oh, I do hate to get a jammed neck! What a great one for the day, Anthony!! Have a good week!

    Sylvia

  27. Hi Southlakesmom,
    Ah, it is its lot I’m afraid.

    Hi Zephyr,
    Thanks for that. Coincidences always fascinate me.

    Hi Nessa,
    Many thanks. Facebook is proving fun.

    Hi Peggy,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Michael,
    Ah, those cash starved hospitals. Terrible. I’ll make sure he stays away.

    Hi Twilight,
    Very true, but for some reason, they all keep that ‘B’ – BP, BA, BT … annoying.

    Hi Sylvia,
    Yes, I get one myself now and again. Many thanks.

  28. Carina said

    Nice look at birth from the baby’s point of view!

  29. Hi Carina,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  30. Pat said

    Old Sea Dog went to the chiropractor after fishing, I trust.

  31. Hi Pat,
    One would have thought so, but not being able to look up, he couldn’t find the sign.

  32. Janel said

    I love Birth. You have to wonder what that is really like.

  33. Hi Janel,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  34. Dee said

    Ochre – “I’d like to buy the world a coke
    and keep it company” singing along
    sad but true

    Deadly Couple – hoisted by his own evil desires!

    Change – like that. Planned identity theft!

    Birth – interesting twist – didn’t see that coming!

    World News – Someone fed up with Obama? The very idea….

  35. Selma said

    It’s very timely that you should mention capitalism originally being developed to counter communism. Now I think capitalism controls society more than communism ever could. Wonder if they saw that coming?

    Your fiction is such fun!

  36. Bill said

    Great one Anthony, I hope Dog got to see the One that Got away.

  37. Hi Dee,
    Thanks for the comments. Always appreciated.

    Hi Selma,
    Yes, modern capitalism is certainly born of this conflict. Interesting, one of the major books that launched it was called ‘The Road To Serfdom’. Hayek meant to be refering to collectivism, but it turned out the other way round.

    Hi Bill,
    If I write a sequal, I’m sure it will be a happy ending 🙂

  38. dustus said

    The Weapon and Deadly Couple were my favorites in this weeks installment. Great last line in The Bermuda Triangle “if only coincidence wasn’t such a mystery.” Appreciate your wit throughout the post. thanks

  39. Hi Dustus,
    Many thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  40. jabblog uk said

    Bloody Sunday – fiasco! How about some ‘justice’ for the very many more civilians and soldiers (3000 is a realistic number) killed by the IRA? Didn’t see Martin McGuinness being questioned – or apologising.
    Liked your mmicrofiction – poor dog, with his stiff neck!
    One of the biggest bars to safety in operating theatres is the arrogance of some surgeons who believe that washing hands is beneath them – sadly true!

  41. Hi Jabblog,
    Thanks for that. I agree with you about the IRA’s victims. Emotionally I want justice. Rationally, I know it’s never going to happen. It’s called that stinking morality of politics.

  42. And turn on us it has! Great post as always, Anthony. And I, too, am sick of the stinking morality of politics, too. Have a good week!

    Sylvia

  43. Hi Sylvia,
    Many thanks. Yes, politics is a grubby business.

  44. I think capitalism is neutral. Its application – ah! – that is so dependent on its appliers
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  45. Hi Roger,
    Oh yes, it’s the appliers that count. Sensible capitalism is – well – sensible. But neutral? Not sure that an ideological system can be neutral.

  46. Reader Wil said

    bring Brit soldiers
    home as soon as Afghanistan safe.
    Huh? Is there a possibility that Afghanistan is ever going to be safe??
    Great post, Anthony!

  47. Hi Reader Wil,
    Good point. It never has been.

  48. Changnoi said

    I love the mystery of the Bermuda Triangle.

  49. They did, didn’t they. Turn the weapons on us.

  50. Mr. Walker said

    I liked “Change”. It was clever and made me laugh. Thanks!

  51. Hi Changnoi,
    Yes, it’s intriguing, isn’t it?

    Hi Tumblewords,
    It certainly seems so to me.

    Hi Mr Walker,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  52. Barb said

    Great post. On behalf of the ABC Wed. team, thanks for participating.

  53. ThomG said

    “Just Another Day” was very different, a fantasy piece, but with a bit of historical fact tossed in. I really liked it.

  54. Love the little twist at the end of your 3WW!

  55. Hi Barb,
    Many thanks for that.

    Hi Thom,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Linda,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  56. Water from windscreen wipers??? Yikes! Yes, in a way it makes sense, because legionella does thrive in water reservoirs, but how did it get in there?

  57. Hi Jay,
    I don’t know how it got in there, but it’s certainly worrying.

  58. mark said

    As always, a splendid time spent reading and thinking.

  59. Everytime I stop here I read slow to take it all in!
    I enjoy it!

  60. Hi Mark,
    Thanks for that. much appreciated.

    Hi Daily Panic,
    Nice words. Many thanks.

  61. brian said

    if only it wasnt such a mystery..i almost would love to go just to see where it went though i would be afraid i might not make it back…smiles. happy tt!

  62. Just Another Day is brilliant!! Reminds me of Anthony Hopkins in Silence Of The Lambs 2.

    xo

  63. Hi Brian,
    I understand it can be a strange place at times.

    Hi Jannie,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  64. brenda w said

    Anthony…enjoying your take on the universe, as usual. 🙂 The Weapon is interesting food for Wednesday. The Bermuda Triangle as a quagmire of coincidence. hmmm… Change is good, and unavoidable. ha! ~Brenda

  65. Hi Brenda,
    Many thanks for your comments. Always appreciated.

  66. Oh, just another day. Super Knight! Fun read!

  67. Hi Tumblewords,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

  68. I always enjoy your flash fiction. I have to agree about BP. Unfortunately I think this will continue for some time. The blame game, I mean. 😦

  69. Hi Shelley,
    Thanks for that. Yes, sadly the blame game is always designed to distract.

  70. trisha said

    the flash fiction was hilarious, the rest were brilliant. have missed your blog – have been having too much internet trouble.

  71. Hi Trisha,
    Thanks for that. I hope your internet is sorted now.

  72. wordwand said

    I rarely keep up with world news, you are my intelligent source anthony , well done sir.

  73. Hi Wordwand,
    Many thanks. Glad to be of service.

  74. Denise said

    I am going to add you to my blogroll Anthony cos it beats watching the news on the TV – I understand you! lol!
    Thanks so much for providing humour and insight into ABC Wednesday – I sure hope you are onboard for the next round!

  75. Denise said

    Still chuckling!

  76. suzicate said

    Love your Flash 55! You come up with some doozies!

  77. Hi Denise,
    Thanks for that. I’ll be there. Love ABC.

    Hi Suzicate,
    Many thanks. I like that word 🙂

  78. Brenda said

    I like your flash fiction. 🙂 Poor Old Sea Dog. I wonder if he believes the Labour ex-Chancellor about exagerated economic woes. Take care.

  79. Hi Brenda,
    Thanks for that. I would hope no one would believe the ex-Chancellor. Then again, some believe it wasn’t their fault 😉

  80. Fish bar roof? I don’t get it.

  81. Hi Alice,
    My fault. I normally put enough info into the Microfiction. It’s from a picture prompt for Tweet sized stories from Susan at Stony River.

  82. betsy said

    the Bermuda triangle IS such a intriguing mystery! I wish someone would solve it! 🙂

  83. moondustwriter said

    Serial killer meets Black widow – who’d a thought?
    Obviously Anthony North did!!!!

    The triangle – come on you should be able to clear that one up for us

  84. Hi Betsy,
    Yes, It’s certainly intriguing.

    Hi Moondustwriter,
    Many thanks. Well, I’ve got my own ideas on most mysteries.

  85. G-Man said

    Extra political today it seems Tony…hehehehe.

    Your 55 was MOST excellent, one of My faves so far.
    Thank you for always flashing your brilliant talent our way.
    You Da Man!
    Have a Kick Ass Week-End…G

  86. Mama Zen said

    “When Afghanistan is safe.” That IS meaningless.

  87. John said

    Is that a gun in ya pocket, or are you just pleased to see me….Mine is mere demonic temptation in this week’s 55!

  88. Hi G-Man,
    Many thanks for the kind words. Always appreciated.

    Hi Mama Zen,
    Yes, it certainly is.

    Hi John,
    Thanks for the comment.

  89. Patti said

    I sometimes wonder if the expectation of of an event isn’t the seed that then blooms as “coincidence.” Hmmm. A conundrum, for sure.

  90. Hi Patti,
    You may have something there.

  91. Like attracts like? Those two can have each other!

  92. Hi Alice,
    They certainly can.

  93. Quilly said

    I guess he just thought that fish could fly.

    Sorry I haven’t been around, Tony. I have been ill and only managing what I HAD to.

  94. Hi Quilly,
    Indeed 🙂
    Hope you’re better soon.

  95. your Ochre is so touching..!

  96. Hi Sandra,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  97. Jim said

    Hi Anthony, I like your poem and its rhyme.
    Our Western tribal cultures did that too. They were a part of the original West. Well, maybe the Wild, Wild, West. 🙂
    ..
    BTW, I’m sitting in St. John’s Wood, London, making this comment. We are only here until Tuesday so won’t be coming North. After a spell in the Baltic areas we will return to here. Still then we probably won’t travel North.
    ..
    Ochre pigment on the skin,
    Tribal culture – hear them sing,
    A different world from the west,
    Had to change at our behest,
    Wipe them out or sell them coke,
    Such crimes we do invoke

  98. Tammie said

    I liked your ochre,,,, in the end I felt disgust for so much that ‘we’ have done.

  99. Hi Jim,
    Thanks for that. As I remember it St John’s Wood is one of the better parts of London. Hope you enjoy your stay.

    Hi Tammie,
    Many thanks. Yes, the west doesn’t have a very good record at this.

  100. Andree said

    Ochre: Very strong and I liked it a lot. Appropriately strong I should say.

  101. Hi Andree,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  102. Wipe them out or sell them coke..

    Tell me North when will it stop?.. Very beautifully put.. and thanks for your constant presence on my page ..I feel emboldened..

  103. Hi Ramesh Sood,
    I wish I knew when it will stop – wish it had never begun.
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  104. swapna said

    Too happy to be back here reading ochre…so aptly said.

  105. Ochre makes me wanna scream! 🙂 I always resent remaking ‘them’ in our image…….. Well done.

  106. Hi Swapna,
    Many thanks. Yes, the west doesn’t have a good history on this.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Yes, we seem to have an obsession with this, don’t we?

  107. patti said

    Your take on the ochre prompt was great. I also loved your other writings- especially “birth”

  108. Hi Patti,
    Many thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

  109. Anthony, as always so much to read and learn on your site. Loved your little poem for OSI. Love all of your work.

    Melanie

  110. Hi Melanie,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  111. pieceofpie said

    hi tony interesting brit news… from hospitals to the bp oil situation… yeah, we’re all living and breathing and making mistakes one after the other… politics im about done with what is sed and not sed reading inbetween the lines… the stories are great make me smile abt the fish that gottaway… and then the knife that went in without resistence ouch.. even if it was camelot…

  112. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. Always good to hear from you.

Leave a comment