BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

RATTLER’S TALE #3 – inc Commonsense By Diktat

Posted by anthonynorth on August 15, 2008

Including Sunday Scribblings, Friday 5 and Matinee Muse.
Have you had a go yet?

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to my Friday Magazine post.
I thought I’d give it the look of a magazine. Hence, I’ve placed this header on it. But what, exactly, is Rattler’s Tale?
Well, it was the name of a UK small press magazine I published and edited in the 1990s. It never got big, but it kept me out of trouble for quite a while.
I’ve tried bringing it back several times since I started Beyond the Blog, but it never seemed to be right. Hence, it is now issue three. Hopefully it will stay this time.

Anthony North

******************************

The Sunday Scribblings prompt this week is Observations, and I think this is a perfect opportunity to introduce a new Friday feature. I was blogging long before I found the prompt sites, and many of those posts were hardly seen. So I’m going to resurrect one of them every Friday for the first piece. Hope you enjoy.

COMMONSENSE BY DIKTAT

You’ve all heard about the research. It can come in many forms. Beefburgers can make you fat. That’s a classic. As if we didn’t know already. But to science, we don’t. If it isn’t proved, it may not be right.
We all know it’s right, because we’ve employed commonsense. But we’re not supposed to use that any more. Don’t you realize that? We cannot be trusted to be correct in our commonsense judgements.

This is a problem that is becoming dangerous.

What happens in science usually passes down to society. So hey presto! Welcome to political correctness. The vast majority know it is wrong to discriminate, but we can’t know this through commonsense. We’ve got to be told.
In the UK, health and safety is gathering ground, too. This is the real social stinker. Anything that can be dangerous if commonsense is not used must be banned. Because we’re not allowed to use commonsense.

Commonsense, you see, has been politicized.

It has been taken away from us mere incompetent people, and placed in the hands of authority. And only their pronouncements can be classed as commonsense.
But of course, it isn’t commonsense they impose on us, but diktat. Governments have realised a new way to control – to politicize our value judgements themselves. And here, good reader, is the real irony. In the age of the individual, government is now guaranteeing that individuality is no more.

© Anthony North, January 2008

OBSESSION

I love her, always, she’s in my heart,
her face so lovely; why are we apart?
I’ll win her over, make her mine,
attempt to heal my fevered mind;
An obsession I have, I cannot fight,
I dream I’m going to propose tonight;
I know I’m unworthy of her love,
I’m poor; I’ll pickpocket to rise above;
I’ll refurbish my home to make it nice,
then maybe she’ll make the sacrifice,
and come to me so that I can enthrall,
and she’ll be more than a poster on my wall

(c) Anthony North, August 2008

******************************

SPIRIT OF THE UNDERBABY – Fiction

To say Johnny was confused when his son was born is an understatement. After all, he was only eighteen, and not ready for fatherhood. And he always had the suspicion that she got pregnant on purpose, anyway. He had been warned that there were women who just had to have kids, no matter what.
Of course, he tried his best to be a good father, but no matter how hard he tried, it just didn’t seem to be for him. Baby seemed to sense it all, too. He just never seemed to relax in his father’s arms, and Johnny soon became convinced his son just didn’t like him.
Hence, it was inevitable that Johnny would take flight. And I mean literally. After all, he had always wanted to go backpacking around the east.
It was in the fourth month of his travels that he found himself in the middle of nowhere, a chilling sound coming from behind the bushes. Oh, no, Johnny thought as he heard the cries of a baby.
He soon found it, and decided it must have been abandoned. With no one else around, his first thought was to leave it, too, but there was some humanity deep down, and it seemed to stop crying straight away when he picked it up …
Well, to cut a long story short, Johnny looked after the baby for two weeks, using all manner of initiative to feed it, change it, love it. And he managed to take it out of the wilderness and to civilization.
It was a totally new Johnny who arrived back with mother and son, ready and willing for fatherhood. Of course, it would take her some time to accept her partner back, he knew. Indeed, he supposed he had to prove himself. And for nearly a month he tried to work out how to change the nappy before baby did poo all over him; how to pick him up without baby screaming; and how to move him aside before projectile vomit covered him. But somehow he never managed to perfect it.
Maybe that’s why Johnny took flight once more. And as mother cuddled her contented son the night he left, and vowed she would not have him back, you could almost see the sense of triumph in baby’s eyes.

© Anthony North, August 2008

36 Responses to “RATTLER’S TALE #3 – inc Commonsense By Diktat”

  1. Political correctness will be the death of us. Just saying.

    Loved the poem, but really loved the fiction piece. Smart baby if you ask me. I’m sure there is great truth to this.

    Have a great weekend Anthony. 🙂

  2. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. Yes, PC is going mad. And as the father of seven children, I KNOW babies are smarter than we think 🙂
    Have a great weekend.

  3. Twilight said

    I’d say that political correctness, originally, was A Good Thing.
    There was (probably still is) a group of people, both sides of the pond, and elsewhere, who have no concept of what is right and wrong with regard to discrimination and harassment. Use of the “n” word and other racial slurs were common in the workplace, also sexual harassment. These things still go on to a lesser degree, but at least now there is recourse to the law.

    I did say that PC was originally “A Good Thing” – trouble is it became a bandwagon upon which too many do-gooders leapt,it then became something it was never intended to be.

    Nice story, AN – scary baby!!! Was his name Damien by any chance? 😉

  4. Hi Twilight,
    Thanks for that. I think it better not to name the baby though 🙂
    Yes, PC was almost certainly a good thing to begin with, although much work towards those ideals was done before PC was thought of. The upshot, today, is not as simple as people think, though. It seems to me that some people won’t harass or discriminate because they know they cannot, and not because they are not sexist, homophobic or racist.
    If so, then rather than changing attitudes in those who count, PC has swept it under a carpet of silence. Hence, the world we appear to inhabit is an illusion, and the true issues remain unresolved. Basically, I’d rather that bigots were open about it so that I can tell them they are wrong.
    PC did, of course, go too far, and this worries me. Why did it rise so spectacularly? One idea I cannot rid myself of is that PC destroys tradition, and the incumbent morals and restraint – just what mass consumerism needed to be successful. The PC Brigade and Big Biz are unusual bedfellows, but bedfellows all the same.

  5. Gemma said

    Political correctness is like a blind alley! So much is missed if we wander there! Interesting posting!

  6. Aww, the fiction’s a sad tale this week, Anthony!

    But then again, so are your thoughts about individuality and common sense. There are a few of us left who are swimming against the stream.

  7. Hi Gemma,
    Thanks for that. It is, indeed, a blind alley.

    Hi Susan,
    There are indeed. But the saddest thing is commonsense is getting less and less common.

  8. stan said

    Hey, what do I know? I thought PC meant personal computer.

    The girl of your dreams is rarely the one you end up with – but I didn’t say that.

    ‘Absence makes the heart grow fonder’ doesn’t apply to babies and children.

  9. rhbee1 said

    Sense and reason are cast aside when afront comes first in the discussion tide. Words are words not sticks and stones yet nowadays even pulled eyelids can cause a scandal. What ever happened to our senses of humor?

    I don’t know about the love poem seemed a little too prince charming saves cinderella to me.

    The story though that was real

  10. Hi Stan,
    I promise not to tell anyone about your second line 😉

    Hi Rhbee1,
    I think people still have a sense of humour. They’re just too frightened to use it, in case they upset someone.
    Madness.

  11. Sad that the world has to be dictated by politics. Laws need to be changed or the people need to take a stand to get them changed because politics aren’t helpful anymore. Really liked your poem and fiction story. I wasn’t expecting the ending on either. Nice job. Have a nice day.

  12. Hi Michelle,
    Many thanks. Yes, politics is now getting into the personal. It can keep out!

  13. We see this common sense nonsense all the time with the consultants being hired to tell us what we know. Problems must be investigated and then reported by someone from another part of the world who has flown in to corroborate our views before we can take the action we know we need to take. It’s absurd.

  14. Hi Sandy,
    It is indeed. It’s like taking pure science and applying it to the human condition. Scientific ‘proof’ cannot come without empirical data. Anecdote doesn’t count.
    Sheer madness.

  15. texasblu said

    I hate being politically correct. Unless I’m in agreement, that is. gets me in trouble sometimes, but, who am I to stifle my voice?

    Missed coming to visit – this summer has not been “blogging friendly”. 😛

  16. Hi Texasblu,
    Yes, speaking your mind can be a precarious thing nowadays. Now, what’s this about democracy and free speech … ? 😉
    Glad to have you back.

  17. Meander said

    what an intriguing site you have here. you have a keen awareness of the human condition. i will definitely be back to read more of you.

  18. danni said

    quirky little poem – i liked it! – and the fiction was great – the rugrats are more clever than we give them credit for(is that pc???) – and i’ll be damned if any government is going to tell me things i learned at momma’s knee about personal choices and try to bow me down with their over paid versions of tact and manners!!!

  19. I guess they’re just some babes who refused to be fathered????@#$!*?! Ooohh what a scary thing that baby and mama were! Great to be back reading your ‘observations’!

  20. devil mood said

    she’ll be more than a poster on my wall
    hhehe made me smile!

    I don’t know if I’m suffering from that ban of common sense as I’m extremely sensible and I always use common sense no matter what the labels tell me. (Do I?)

  21. Hi Meander,
    Thanks for that and welcome. Hope you enjoy your future visits.

    Hi Danni,
    Many thanks. Yes, the Rugrats are clever indeed. And power to your choices 😉

    Hi Amarettogirl,
    And welcome back. I’m the father of seven children, so I know they certainly can be scary 🙂

    Hi Devil Mood,
    Well, as I see it, commonsense is something intuited by the person during a particular situation. And governments think they can legislate that?
    Insanity. But they’re trying. Very trying.

  22. I liked the title of the post! It made me smile. Your fiction piece is wonderful!

  23. Hi Gautami,
    Thanks for that. The original meaning of ‘Rattler’s Tale’ was to represent the story with a sting, and also thinking outside the box, as in the serpent.

  24. Selma said

    I can just imagine that baby looking like a cross between Damien from ‘The Omen’ and Mini Me from the Austin powers movies. Little devil!

  25. Hi Selma,
    Oh, I’ve seen the look in many a baby. Their mind learns more as babies than we ever could as adults. Intelligent little things.

  26. Cynthia said

    Oh I live Obsession, a sweetly written
    poem of enrapture.

  27. Hi Cynthia,
    Thanks for that. Many of us live our obsessions, I must admit.

  28. I like your magazine format. The short story is especially fun and ironic. And your poem is sweet. What’s not to like?

  29. Hi Granny Smith,
    Many thanks. Your words are very kind – and appreciated.

  30. Political correctness – don’t start me on that one! The rot set in when a chairman became a chair! A piece of furniture! And as for commonsense – I used to hold an annual conker competition in my pub until Health and Safety suggested it would be wise for the contestants and spectators to wear goggles! I stopped it.

    Loved the poem, and found the prose very interesting! Great post this week.

  31. Hi Keith,
    Many thanks. As for conkers, I gave up on them when I read about one council removing them from the trees early so children wouldn’t hurt themselves climbing them.
    We appear to be branching out into all avenues of insanity!

  32. Carol_Noble said

    PC used to mean Police Constable, the Personal Computer, now Political Correctness – perhaps the letter should mean Public Control!

  33. Hi Carol,
    I certainly can’t disagree with that. And this doesn’t mean that I don’t support minorities of any peaceful kind. I do. What I don’t support is this new oxymoron – the liberal dictatorship.

  34. Carol_Noble said

    Hi Anthony

    I agree with you about the “liberal dictatorship”. I don’t support it either.

  35. pieceofpie said

    hi tony, glad that you could resurrect the snake wish you all the best… commonsense, outdated, and way too cheap.. what would science do?? gee, if it’s warm outside does that mean it’s not cold… obsession, great poem… though insight is hindsight.. baby, funneeee!!!…

  36. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. I like the comment ‘insight is hindsight’. So very true.

Leave a comment