BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

TONY ON SHOP, WINTER & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on November 29, 2008

Including One Single Impression, Manic Monday and Sunday Scribblings.
Have you had a go yet? Find an award below.

pram One of my earliest memories was of being regularly pushed up a hill from the railway station at 5 o’clock in the morning in a big, old pram. I was sat on top of a huge pile of newspapers, collected by my mother to sell in our newsagent’s shop. How she managed that load up that hill, I’ll never know.

It was a small shop.

townWe also sold cigarettes, sweets and stationary. It was in the centre of a small town and we lived above the shop. My mother and father would take it in turns serving in the shop, and some days it would be open for up to 14 hours.
I was twelve when my mother died and it seemed as if the whole town came out to say goodbye to her – so well known and loved was she. And although I didn’t realise it at the time, this held immense importance.

Our shop was more than a centre geographically.

I recall my father serving in the shop and he always had a word or a joke for the regulars. They would stay in the shop for ages, and conversations would go on with several people at once.
On Christmas Eve the whisky would come out, and the regulars would all have a drink with my father. I don’t recall seeing him later in the day. I think we can all guess why. You see, the shop was also the centre of a community.
My family did more than just sell things. It was almost a social event to come into the shop, and society seemed to revolve around it. When I look at the huge, impersonal shops around today, I can see how something important has died in our society.

© Anthony North, November 2008

newsflash

MUMBAI ATROCITY

The reports from Mumbai over recent days are shocking, with terrorist gunmen killing well over a hundred people and injuring many hundreds more. Attacking ten targets around the city, it is a repulsive terrorist outrage.
We will never be free of terrorism, but the nature of the problem has changed. They used to deal in the ‘oxygen of publicity’ to further their cause. Now I think they deal in the ‘oxygen of stupidity’. What do I mean by this?
Such terrorists want to bring down the west and its democracies. And I can think of no better way of achieving this than government over reaction, placing anti-democratic security measures on the people. Could this politics of fear be helping the terrorists in their aim, and thus feeding their desire to continue?

RISE OF THE POLICE STATE?

There’s a long established tradition in UK government of civil servants leaking documents to opposition MPs if they think the governing party is trying to conceal information of public interest – such as 5,000 illegal immigrants being employed by security organizations.
One opposition MP, the Tory front bencher Damian Green, has been arrested by the police, apparently for leaking such documents to the media. This is the most worrying thing yet to come out of the rise of totalitarianism.
It is the right of the opposition to disclose the failings of government, and this arrest is a political arrest. Police have no business dabbling in politics. If this is correct, then this is a disgraceful act of a Police State!!!
Next post, Tuesday. Hope to see you then.

© Anthony North, November 2008

delta-brain

WELCOME

Welcome to your deepest thoughts,
it’s strange in here, you can’t abort,
you can only go round and round,
from neuron to neuron, forever abound;
Some thoughts are of tranquility,
the closest to Heaven you’ll ever be,
whilst others are of macabre stuff,
get stuck in there, it gets quite tough;
Memories exist all over the place,
all past experience interlaced,
with fantasy built upon mere fact,
amazing things that you thought you lacked;
But beware of that surreal rabbit hole,
go down there, you won’t be whole,
voices will constantly invite you to tea,
and welcome you to insanity

(c) Anthony North, November 2008

******************************

female-sunbatherWHEN WINTER COMES – Fiction

Everything changes when Winter comes. I’d said it every time – every damned time. I looked out at the last days of a late Summer, knowing it wouldn’t be long now.
Why did it have to change? Didn’t I deserve a break?
I looked into Julia’s eyes and I could see that she sensed it, too. These late Summer days had become so important to us. She was a sun worshipper and I’d spend hours watching her soaking it up in her swim suit. It was a tranquil time, alone, joyous during the day and passionate at night, with nothing to disturb us in these brief respites.
But soon Winter would be here and it would all change. Both of us wished it could be different, but knew it never could . There was too much to lose. So it would continue like this, year in, year out, the late Summer dashed when Winter comes.
And eventually came the day. I packed. Departed. Returned to my other life – as John Winter, her husband, arrived home.

© Anthony North, November 2008

delta-snow

A WINTER’S TAIL

Brrr! It’s cold,
my bones are getting very old,
the frost, it bites,
never, ever, any respite,
snow falling, at first a hoot,
then like frozen parachutes,
storm troopers of winter’s siege,
a massive, mighty blizzard krieg;
Shelter comes so easily,
blazing fire so good to see,
warming my body through and through,
flames protecting from winter flu;
Although it looks so beautiful,
so good, the occasional winter’s lull,
but not so good as the winter’s tail,
until it comes, I will prevail,
and when it’s here I will sing,
hurry soon, dear Spring

(c) Anthony North, November 2008

proudbookworm5

My friend Jamie at Duward Discussion has passed
on this Sexy Reader Award, which I accept and pass on with grateful thanks – although
my attire is much more traditionally male 🙂

Rules: Pass it on to five other bloggers, and tell them to open the nearest book to page 46. Write out the fifth sentence on that page, and also the next two to five sentences. The closest book, not the coolest, or the one you think will sound the best. THE CLOSEST.
The closest books to my desk are quick reference. So … Conspiracy Theories by David Southwell & Sean Twist:

Among those 50,000 photographs taken by the Viking probe, Frame 35A72 carried the biggest surprise; a picture of a giant face in the Martian soil …. While the world sat stunned by the image, NASA quickly downplayed any possibility that this face was anything more than just a natural rock formation, the accidental creation of wind and erosion, and most defintely not a deliberate work of art by long-dead Martian hands. As independent researchers continued their investigations …

Please don’t feel pressured to take part, but this time, I pass this along to my friends at:

73 Responses to “TONY ON SHOP, WINTER & MORE”

  1. Your parents’ shop indeed was very special. You just don’t find that anymore and it’s a shame.

    What happened in Mumbai is a terrible tragedy. I don’t know the answer, but staying one step ahead seems very difficult. You are right, over-reacting is not the answer.

    Thank you very much for tagging me with the Bookworm meme, but I did that one this morning. Here’s the link: The Bookworm Award. Don’t hesitate to tag me in the future as I usually play along.

    Have a great day and weekend. See you Tuesday. 🙂

  2. Rinkly Rimes said

    All great stuff, but I loved the Winter’s Tail!!! Because it reminded me that, in the old ‘English’ days of my life, people used to warm their tails by the coal fire. Oh I suppose it was only men!!! Ladies wouldn’t have been so indelicate!

    You’re a terrifically prolific writer and your standards don’t seem to drop because of that!

  3. Hi Anthony, thanks for passing the baton on to me. Sounds an interesting prompt and I’ll have a go and post it on my bloggage!

    I like your ‘shop’ story and the fact that you can remember being pushed in your pram. Impressive!

  4. lillyasia said

    I agree with Rinkly Rimes, all great pieces.

  5. Chris said

    Hi Anthony,
    Shop reminds me of small biz versus Big Biz: social gatherings versus depersonalized queues or ‘people’ v’s ‘numbers.
    The more that over regulation increases the more likelihood, I think, that we may move either to roboticism or revolution, neither prospect would probably bother the terrorists too much.
    “Welcome”. I don’t know Anthony, I like sipping cups of tea. Which do you think is more preferable?
    Sanity: A world in which terrorism, poverty and child abuse exists.
    Insanity: “One flew over the cuckoo’s nest”
    or
    Unsanity: Sipping cups of tea with Alice.
    That Winter’s Tail certainly put a spring in my step!!

  6. lucy said

    chock full of fun! your blog is always so fun to explore!
    a winters tail is just perfectly pleasing! congrats on a deserved award!

  7. stan said

    Lovely childhood memories.

    I visited the Taj Mahal Hotel, Bombay – as I think it was still called then – during my stay in India 10 years ago. A tragic event to bring back fond memories.

    I think we have the right to know about such things, hidden by politics.

    Scary mind game.

    Winter? Cold here is (yesterday) a chilly 26.4C max daytime and a bitter 22c min overnight!

  8. Anthony –

    I enjoy my visits to your blog… there is so much I take away. You write right well!

    …rob

  9. Good morning Sandee,
    Your comment was gobbled up by the Great WordPress Comment Eater but I saved it from certain oblivion 🙂
    I must have had one of those ‘moments’ yesterday. When I visited you in the morning, I didn’t even see you’d had this one. Oh well, I’ll put it down to fuzzy neurons. Then again, you’re worth two.

    Hi Rinkly Rimes,
    Thank you for those kind words. They are much appreciated. Yes, I often like to warm the rear by an open fire, AND I’ve noticed ladies rarely do. I put it down to the fact that the female rear is usually hotter than the male’s anyway 😉

    Hi Andy,
    You’re welcome. As I remember the memory, I must have been a toddler, sat on top of the pile of papers and going along for the ride. And I honestly think it was my first real memory.

    Hi Lillyasia,
    Thank you very much. Such appreciation makes it all worthwhile.

  10. Hi Chris,
    Yes, Big Biz BAD!!! Small Biz good 🙂
    I think I’d prefer Unsanity, and not just because I like tea. I once wrote a short horror story – must dig it out one day – including a scene where the antihero arrives at the Tea Party. The Mad Hatter is stirring a casserole as the antihero asks: ‘Where’s Alice?’
    He offers him a spoonful.
    Now what does THAT make me, I wonder?

    Hi Lucy,
    Thanks for that. I’m so pleased you continue to enjoy it here. It provides a warm glow that will get me through winter.

    Hi Stan,
    Now those are temperatures to raise my temperature 🙂
    It’s strange how tragedy and fond memories can click like that.

    Hi Rob,
    Many thanks. From you, that’s a much appreciated compliment.

  11. I like the parachute simile in “A Winter’s Tail”

    Very interesting reading!

  12. Hi Linda,
    Many thanks. Yes, those freezing little paratroopers cover everything.

  13. B. Roan said

    Your winter poem sums up my feelings perfectly!

  14. Linda may said

    I love that you shared your early memories here, newsagents are still special places in small towns, the hub of the main street, where all the stories are circulated, both news and local.
    Mumbai, just horrid, so far 2 aussies reported killed and possibly 4 of the total tally. What makes those terrorists minds so twisted? And in Thailand, fun and games too.
    The Welcome poem is good, thought provoking , possibly a little bit of us all in there, and a warning.

  15. Twilight said

    Nice to read of your childhood memories, AN. I have similar ones of small biz as my parents had a small bakery and shop in East Yorkshire (Dad baking, Mum serving in the shop).
    Another world!

    The newsagents’ shops were my favourite place to go when I was young – comics, magazines, and sweeties! Shops like that don’t exist where I live now in Oklahoma, we get the newspaper flung onto the driveway from a passing van. Alternatively you can put cents into a machine outside a supermarket and receive a newspaper.

    On the positive side though, we have the internet which makes up a little bit for the losses! 🙂

    Dreadful, dreadful news from India. Let’s hope against hope that it’s not the start of another round of madness.

  16. Hi B,
    Yes, I think it sums it up for many.

    Hi Linda,
    It’s good to hear those shops still exist in some communities, but they’re certainly few in many countries. Yes, I think we all have a little bit of the mind-states I refer to in the poem. As for Mumbai, absolutely terrible – and there are rumours circulating in the British press that some of the terrorists may have been British.
    I hope to God it is not so.

    Hi Twilight,
    Oh, I used to love the old-style bakers. Indeed, everything about the old-style small town enterprises. Daily visits to the bakers, grocers, butchers, newsagents … and each with a character all their own. They brought people out into a community – and then to the tea shop … Oh, and later, the pub 😉
    Yes, the internet does do a good job on the ‘community’ line, especially since blogging took off. A sometimes magical thing.
    As for Mumbai, the nearest thing to war except war itself.

  17. I enjoyed the image of your childhood. I could well see the small boy on the pram and the shop. Those corner places are important and wonderful.

    I enjoyed your “welcoming” poem, too. I hope when I slide down the rabbit hole that I find a friendly place at which to buy my sweets and newspaper!

  18. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Well, I don’t offer newspapers any more, but I’m still in a friendly place – wherever my mind takes me on this blog 🙂

  19. Being used as reference, I am honoured.

  20. Hi David,
    And I’m honoured to have you comment on my blog. Are you enjoying my work?

  21. marja said

    Hi Anthony You really are a writer (and a reader) You can basically write about anything I loved A winters tail the most and like the comparison of storm troopers of winter’s siege a lot.
    I lived above the shop of my parents as well in the centre of a town. I don’t have so much good memories though they always had to go down to work and you always had to smile to everybody because the whole town knew who you were.
    Keep warm marja

  22. Thanks for passing on the award! I’ll try to get in shape for it…:)
    I loved the story of your parents’ shop – so many of those lovely places have disappeared and it surely doesn’t appear to have done us any good. The terrorists are a breed unto themselves, I guess – kinda like bad politicians. I’ll be glad when they’re gone. Winter poem is neat and rings a bell, and the fiction caused me to laugh out loud – hadn’t a clue what was coming…Welcome is true as true can be – nice work!

  23. Selma said

    I love the story about your shop. My husband’s shop is the centre of the community in many ways, so I could relate to what you said. It is a shame, however, that most of the shops theses days are so impersonal.

    I enjoyed all of your other pieces of writing, but in particular, your ‘Winter’s Tail.’ Excellent!

  24. Hi Marja,
    Thank you for those kind words. Much appreciated. Yes, such shops can be hard work, and it’s not always rosy, certainly. But looking back on it with those tinted glasses, I can see the sense of community about the whole thing, which I feel is missing today.
    I’m keeping warm. Although it’s a sharp frost out there this morning, and I think I’m coming down with man-flu 🙂

    Hi Tumblewords,
    Many thanks, and you’re welcome. I’m not sure we’ll ever see an end to terrorism, but there’s maybe a hint of pessimism in my view on this. Apart from a lull in the late 90s, I cannot remember a time without terrorist bombings and murders on the British mainland since the beginning of the 1970s.
    It is a strange, cruel world we live in at times.

    Hi Selma,
    I always appreciate a kind word from you. You are so kind. Yes, if a community declines, the services it provides will also decline. Give me a large number of small, peaceful, diverse communities any day to this terrible, impersonal thing called a global community which super-capitalism cons us is the way to be.
    My father used to say something that colours many of my thoughts on this subject: ‘If we all walked the same way, we’d never meet any bugger.’
    I hope everything is well with you, Selma.

  25. melvin said

    i would like to change the aspects of thought a moment. i drive a semi truck abour 340 days a year. i look out my windshield at things i have passed a number of times before, yet i always see it differently… perhaps its just the way the sun shines on it that day, but everything seems different each time i see it. often i drive at night, because less traffic to deal with and less destractions of the sites, then i get time to think. i find this the toughest time to drive as i find it most difficult to zero in on a single memory or thought, so i turn on the radio and listen to music, which in turn brings up old memories and old thoughts. truckers are forced to take at least a 10 hour break after a maximum of 11 hours of driving in a 14 hour period. then i go to sleep and often dream the same dreams i have dreamed for years. lol

  26. melvin said

    btw tony your story was great, nice to see that deep imagination can still be written so vividly 🙂

  27. Hi Melvin,
    Thanks for that reflection. Yes, what we see is always coloured by how our mind sees it. An important point to remember.

  28. Hi Melivn,
    You posted that last comment as I was replying. Many thanks. Your words are very kind.

  29. melvin said

    also wanted to post a thought about the police. wasnt long ago, president bush was pushing to get rid of illegal immigrants (forgive my spelling). thousand of illegal immigrants stormed the streets in protest. they came by the bus loads, all to voice thier displeasure of the presidents push to get them deported. thousands in the streets waving signs and yelling ‘we have rights’ and the news panned across this huge mob of people. but strangely enough, there wasn’t a single protester being arrested for being an illegal alien, put back on that bus, and sent back to wherever they came from. thousands of people who broke our laws, all in one place at the same time, and it never dawned on a single police officer to take advantage of the situation and arrest them…i find this totally funny

  30. Hi Melvin,
    If a demonstration is not handled properly, it turns into a riot. Had the police tried mass arrests, chances are they’d have needed an army division to sort it out.
    I recall a Muslim protest in the UK, where some had placards preaching racial and religious hate and violence – an offence. No one was arrested. The police filmed the whole event, and later identified some of them.

  31. melvin said

    tony if you have msn, would you kindly add me? i am melman1964@yahoo.com i have a few questions to ask, and that would be an easier place to ask them.

  32. Hi Melvin,
    Sadly, I don’t do msn. I suffer from cfs so am limited to how much time I’m online without tiring myself too much. If you wish a deeper conversation, click my ‘About’ page at top of site, and you’ll find my email address.
    The conversation will be slower than msn, but at a pace I can handle easily.
    I hope that’s ok.

  33. “Oxygen of stupidity” is the right phrase. 170 dead for what, exactly? Nothing in the world justifies slaughter. Period.

  34. Hi Sandy,
    This is very true. Nothing justifies it, ever! At least, not in civilised minds.
    I just wish certain western governments would stop using it to increase control over us, including my own.

  35. melvin said

    sorry to hear of your illness, i hope that doctors are able to help some. i sent you an email no rush to reply though

  36. Hi Melvin,
    Thanks for that.

  37. sue said

    Wow, Tony — your thoughts about the terrorists achieving their goals through our giving up of freedoms for security is spot on! Indeed, indeed.

  38. Brian said

    All you have to do is drive through a small town in America to see what has been lost with the big box stores.

  39. Hi Sue,
    Thanks for that. It seems to make so much sense to me. How the politicians don’t see it, I don’t know. Unless they’ve become that greedy for power.

    Hi Brian,
    It’s exactly the same here in the UK. It’s a kind of death. Good to see you commenting again. Keep it up 😉

  40. Alisa said

    I enjoyed your poem. Nothing is better than ‘winter’s tale’ I like the beginnings of seasons best.

  41. patois said

    The return of John Winter would definitely send you running. Nice tale.

  42. Hi Alisa,
    Many thanks. Yes, the beginning of each season is good. The change is fulfilling, and it’s not quite that extreme.

    Hi Patois,
    Thanks for that. It sure would, wouldn’t it?

  43. Really neat OSI poem, I kind of pictured my brain looking a lot like my attic!

  44. Hi Deborah,
    Many thanks. I suspect mine varies between an attic and a sewer 🙂
    After all, my villainous stories must come from somewhere.

  45. Quietpaths said

    I really enjoyed the piece on your folks’ shop. The OSI poem is funny but walks a little too close to home. Thanks for a great read.

  46. Tammy said

    What a wonderful place to grow up, but I’m very sorry you lost your mother Tony. HUG

    I’m worried India will start sending troops to Pakistan border and create bigger problems. Maybe the new government in Pakistan can be more effective in flushing out terrorists. Lets all help them work out the Kashmere issues.

    Loved your winter poetry!

  47. Hi Quietpaths,
    Thanks for that. Yes, I think we can all walk close to the implcations in the Welcome poem.

    Hi Tammy,
    Many thanks for the hug. It’s strange that we so often don’t appreciate community until we look back and see it is gone.
    The problem between India and Pakistan is, indeed, serious – especially now that they are nuclear powers. Hopefully this will cause a little bit of commonsense if the terrorists are proved to be Pakistani.

  48. Geraldine said

    Wow, another jam-packed post here Anthony…where do I begin. Loved your take on the Welcome prompt. The trip down the rabbit hole is one we’ve all been on, I fear. LOL

    Your winter poem was great too.

    How do you find the time? Impressive work.

    Hugs, G

  49. Jim said

    Hi Anthony, I came for your OSI but as usual I like your other stuff too.
    Your peom on welcoming reminded me of the Eagles’ song, ‘Hotel California.’ Looks inviting but you can’t leave after you get in–the rabit hole to Hell for sure!
    Do you recall Mark Twain’s poem, “Punch Brother, Punch?” The first person telling his tale, a train conductor, finally dislodged an unwelcome ditty he had going round and round in his head.
    Your parents seem very special yet in your mind. I enjoyed reading it and am sorry that your mother died so early in your life. Mrs. Jim’s father died when she was seven, it had a lasting affect her outlook on things.
    ..

  50. Raven said

    Always so much to ponder in your posts. Wonderful to hear the story of your parents and that sense of community. It really is sad that such places are fewer and far between these days. I agree about Mumbai and the over-reation to terrorism. I have long felt that those who should know better use even lesser terrorist acts as an excuse to engage in their own brand of terrorism.

    I loved your welcoming poem.

  51. Sandy said

    The shop sounds wonderful. I miss that part of living in a small town. Your poem made me think of what I keep in my head, thanks for that.

    it is snowing here right now. Winter has come home, and not John!

  52. Hi Geraldine,
    Thanks for that. Yes, that rabbit-hole is often inviting us to fall in.
    It really doesn’t take that long to do these posts. Two magazine posts a week with up to six pieces, taking about ten minutes each – that’s only around two hours writing a week, plus maybe another hour for the essay I post on a Thursday.

    Hi Jim,
    Yes, I can see the connection with Hotel California, an excellent song. I suppose we don’t notice what bereavement means when we’re young. Of course it will have an effect, but it’s only with later wisdom that we connect.

    Hi Raven,
    Many thanks. Maybe one day we’ll resurrect the old sense of community. I do hope so. It’s so important. As for the over-reaction to terrorism, there are so many failings in today’s western politicians.

    Hi Sandy,
    There are many happy memories from my youth, and obviously many that are not happy, but it is when we compare that time with now that the shock comes concerning what we’re leaving behind.
    It is certainly better to have Winter without John 😉

  53. Thanks for such a poignant post today. It is truly a shame that the small family owned businesses of the world have been slowly crushed by big business.

  54. Hi My Autism Insights,
    Many thanks. Yes, it’s a great shame – a tragedy, even.

  55. maryt said

    Congrats, Anthony, on the sexy bookworm award! I’m sorry to hear your attire doesn’t match the young lady in the cartoon…

  56. Hi Maryt,
    Only on special occasions 😉
    (NOTE: That really was a joke, folks)

  57. I love the reminiscing that I’m reading about all of the little shops in towns. I think that our society as a whole has changed with the dying out of said shops! It’s sad. Great post!!

    Happy Manic Monday ~ My Shopping

  58. Jamie said

    My my. So much interesting stuff and so little time in making the monday rounds. It is impossible to explain to children that atmosphere that existed when there was a “main street” to a town and a favored gathering place that all the neighbors visited. Loved the poem. I’ve often said that one of the oddest places to visit was my brain. It would seem that yours is filled with some interesting by ways as well. On Martian things, how about what looks like a statue sitting frozen in the sands … just a rock outcropping ? Sure it is.

  59. Hi CrAzY Working Mom,
    Many thanks. It is sad indeed.

    Hi Jamie,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it’s difficult to explain to the younger generations what community really means. They can belong to one, but they don’t get that they shape you. THAT is now thought to be down to individuality alone.
    As for my brain, it scares me sometimes 😉

  60. marilyn said

    Wow. That’s a really neat childhood memory.

  61. Hi Marilyn,
    Yes, it almost seems like another world nowadays.

  62. I came by to check in and stopped to savor your usual mix of memoir, politics, and poetry/story. And so found your challenge. My closest (and newest) book was Orson Scott Card’s Characters and Viewpoint. Page 36 was very short, just containing this quote (and seeming VERY apt for your post). Thank you!

    “But the stories that astonish us, the characters that live forever in our memories – those are the result of rich imagination, perceptive observations, rigorous interrogation, and careful decision-making.

    “When it comes to storytelling, invention is the mother of astonishment delight and truth.”

  63. Travis said

    You can spot those community gathering places in small towns. I was just in a small town visiting my sister for the holiday, and I spent some time in such a place.

    The places themselves and the people who run them are central to the well being of a community.

  64. Hi Bluebethley,
    Thanks for that quote. It’s a good one.

    Hi Travis,
    It’s good to see they still exist in some places. Sadly, I feel they are becoming few and far between – especially here in the UK.

  65. gabrielle said

    I loved the memories of your parent’s shop. My dad owned a barber shop in New York City. Both mom and dad worked 14-16 hours a day. Located blocks from Columbia University, it was also a gathering place, for students, professors and residents of the Morningside Neighborhood. Something so intimate and soothing about a shampoo. I do think that people are growing weary with the pace and anonymity of “modern” life. Glad to see a revival of localism, especially around food.

    On Mumbai and police state: I understand that this attack is now being dubbed the Indian 911. Interestingly, it is not the first terrorist action in India, but it is the first to target an elite haunt. I worry that India will find itself compelled to follow the 911 model, which leads to endless foreign wars and occupations and the restriction of domestic civil liberties. Feeding into a senseless cycle of violence and fear. I don’t know what terrorism means anymore.

    When Winter Comes: an interesting twist on the Persephone story.
    Winter – such a wonderful time for tea and biscuits, a good book and of course exploring the dark corners of the rabbit hole.

    Thanks for your kind words on my Wild Goose Scoops Moon and for leaving a trail of bread crumbs. So glad to have discovered your blog.

  66. Hi Gabrielle,
    Thanks for that considered comment. Yes, small business and community used to go hand in hand. It’s terrible that it is getting rare. I, too, hope India doesn’t follow this route.

  67. ..a clear snapshot of the mind-the osi poem..many thanks..

  68. Hi Zoya Gautam,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  69. Hi there, Anthony!
    The Duward Discussion is a scream! Thanks for this fun thing…

    Liked your ‘welcome’ poem too…dark little morsel!

    Thanks, as always…

  70. Hello Anthony,
    Thankyou for bringing fond memories of all the little family shops back.Objects of the past,but who knows,there might come a time again when we can go and buy a half a pound of broken biscuits at the corner shop.
    In Thailand these little shops that sell everything still exist.One of the reasons why I love being here.

  71. Hi Beth,
    Thanks for that. I do like ‘dark’ now and again. Okay, a lot 🙂
    In poetry and fiction, anyway.

    Hi Diamondsandrust,
    Yes, those shops were marvellous. And they understood what modern business has forgotten. Business is about profit and SERVICE.
    They need reminding.

  72. pieceofpie said

    great post tony… enjoyed the community store aspect…mumbai, it is a shocking reality of today’s worldwide force of terrorism that touches all of us bringing us closer and closer to big brother…one of the best parts of alice is the tea party!!!…delightful story and poem of the cyle of seasons…

  73. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. I’m pleased you enjoyed the post. Yes, Mumbai was terrible, but we must resist the tide of BB.

Leave a comment