BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,476 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

THOUSANDTH POST

Posted by anthonynorth on July 15, 2009

Including Three Word Wednesday and Totally Optional Prompts.
Have you had a go yet?

computer-lap-top1

BLOGGER BARD

Well, another milestone reached. This is my thousandth post since
starting this blog in Jan 07, and while I may have occasionally run
out of energy, I’ve never run out of ideas. The blogosphere is an
inspirational thing – in more ways than one. I’ve said before that
blogging allows us to live in two communities. First is the local where
you physically live, which can so easily be insular. The second is the
virtual, which opens up a global world of ideas and understanding.
The world is better for it.

Eye On the World
Writers’ Tips
The ‘Y’ Files

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Govt wants to
stamp out discrimination against
‘northerners’. That’s right, keep those
sissy southerners in check.

BRIT NEWS: Britain has become ‘cold place’ for Christians
as equality laws are wiping out faith. A shame the govt doesn’t
class Brit culture as equal.

BRIT NEWS: You will no longer be forced by
the boss to retire at 65. Good, but such
voluntary ideas lead to the slippery
slope of raised retirement age.

pen

WHERE WENT THE LIGHT?

Blinking light no longer there,
Black mice scurry, turn and stare,
Time is changing, going fast,
Rocks approaching, they are vast,
Waves pound, bringing strife,
To this shipwreck of a life

ERROR’S COST

Fiction: It didn’t always go right. Oh, he knew what he was doing. She
was sat by him, listening to him – adoring him. The drip, drip, drip of
insinuation came from his hypnotic voice, and when it seemed right,
he took her. Over the following days she re-lived it over and over
again and felt so good, so complete, so totally as one with him. But
when she saw him in bed with another, and another … Maybe the sulk
should have warned him, and the growing anger in her eyes, but as
the drip sent the juices through his body, it was doubtful he would
survive. Close by, the police put the commune on suicide watch.

GET THE RHYTHM

Get the rhythm, swing the hips,
In the mood to meet those lips,
Music thunders round your soul,
Electric, making you so bold;
Rhythm is such a spiritual thing,
Get hooked and your life will sing

© Anthony North, July 2009

Follow me on Twitter

52 Responses to “THOUSANDTH POST”

  1. Congratulations on your milestone. I am glad you are here being an inspiration.

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  3. stan said

    1000 posts! Great innings!

  4. Fantastic! Congrats!

    Intriguing last line in your 3WW!

  5. Happy 1000th post. It’s a great accomplishment.

    If the retirement age goes up I can see that being a good thing for those who want to stay active doing some work but I can see the downside too.

    Where Went the Light? I think everyone has a shipwreck or two in their lives- past and present. Hope all is well. Have a great day.

  6. Congratulations on 1,000 posts! That’s a very impressive milestone. Here’s to 1,000 more…cheers! :~)

  7. Hi Stan,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Linda,
    Many thanks. A cultish story from me this week.

    Hi Michelle,
    Many thanks. There’s a suspicion here that they’re slowly working towards increasing retirement to 70. It’s a goverment one should never trust – too many shipwrecks.

  8. Hi Fledgling Poet,
    Thanks for that. I certainly won’t be giving up blogging, so another 1000 is a real possibility.

  9. ThomG said

    Wow, 1,000 posts. I forget to keep track of stuff like that. But congrats. I’ve become a regular reader, even if I don’t always comment, but your words do provide thought and inspiration. Well done, Tony.

  10. Twilight said

    Congratulations on 1000 posts, AN – and a thousand QUALITY posts which is important to stress in your case! 🙂 I’m into the 950s now, so before the end of the year I’ll be joining you in the – what can we call it – k-blogging, or something?

    LOL! “discrimination against northerners”. Really? How does that work then?
    And who is “a northerner”? Anybody born north of Watford?

  11. Hi Thom,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated. It’s the WordPress site admin page. It counts the posts for you.

    Hi Twilight,
    Many thanks – and I look forward to you joining in the k-blogging club.
    As for ‘northerners’, I nearly complained to the BBC the other day. The weatherman, a map on the whole British Isles behind, classed Yorkshire as ‘central’ 🙂
    My Brummie wife wasn’t amused by my comment.

  12. Happy 1000th post Anthony. That is indeed a wonderful milestone.

    Have a terrific day. 🙂

  13. Jim said

    Hey Anthony, congratulations on the 1K. No, you haven’t hit the wall, YOU WON’T, not you.
    Thanks, too, for the Thinking poem down one. You can see I’m way behind. Been thinking too long, like your poem. It is great! :-0
    ..

  14. Hi Sandee,
    Many thanks. And it’s been fun getting here 🙂

    Hi Jim,
    Thanks for that – and for the faith in me.

  15. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    Your blog always has so many interesting pieces to it- you’ve shown us your diverse areas of interest & your intriguing take on so many subjects. I can’t imagine your running out of ideas any time soon. Happy 1K! 🙂
    Liked ‘Where Went the Light?’. From an allegorical point of view I have been in that place more times in my life than I want to remember. As a survivor- each new time carries with it the experience gained from the past- not making it any easier to face but having a certain knowing that I can probably survive this time too. Well done, sir.

  16. Hi Linda,
    Thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated. Yes, the idea of survival grows with each knock back. At least, that’s how I’ve found it.

  17. i’m not sure the world is better for blogs, even though i have one–i’ve had my heart broken reading one that i wasn’t supposed to find.

    always interesting thoughts and work, anthony.

  18. Reader Wil said

    Congrats on your thousandth post! You are a prolific writer.

  19. Quilly said

    Congrats on 1000 — and welcome to the Club (I am sure Dr. John will send you a badge).

    Faith is being wiped out all over the earth using one pretext or other. It is difficult to gain world dominance when people have faith in something greater and good.

    Johnny said: “Get rhythm or you’ll get the blues.”

  20. Hi Quin,
    Thanks for that. I guess a blog is like any other tool – the intent lies with the user. In the main, though, I think the general trend is positive.

    Hi Reader Wil,
    Many thanks. I find writing such a pleasure – at least, the finished article. It’s been an addiction for over a quarter century now.

    Hi Quilly,
    Thanks for that. It feels like an achievement. Putting your comments together, I guess the world is dancing to a new rhythm.

  21. James said

    Heres to next 1000, gratz Anthony.

  22. Hi James,
    Many thanks. And I plan to make it.

  23. Carlos said

    Nice 3WW post. Funny how we both had similar topics – a couple. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  24. Hi Carlos,
    Thanks for your comment, and you’re welcome.

  25. andy. said

    Cool 3WW fiction!

    Congrats on reaching 1,000!

    Wasn’t it Radio Rentals, that said: Around a million renters, can’t be wrong?

    Nicely Tony!!

  26. lissa said

    Happy 1000th! That’s a lot of posts & words

    ERROR’S COST – great story, I like the drip, drip, drip – works really well in the story — for some strange reason, I feel the need to repeat that word a few times

  27. floreta said

    grim love!
    and i love music too. it’s like my religion. so very much a connection to ‘spirituality’ there. dancing is like prayer

  28. Wow! That is great! Congratulations on the 1000th post! It is an amazing achievement!

    Here’s to many many more such milestones!

    Rhythm is great … 🙂

  29. Travis said

    Well done! I should check my post count. I think I’m approaching the 1000 post milestone as well.

  30. angie said

    wow–is this really your 1000th post? your fingers must be tired! 😉

    great read as usual! I love ‘drip of insinuation.’ good stuff.

  31. Congratulations on a 1000 posts!!

  32. Donnetta Lee said

    Wow! 1,000! And still truckin’. Always neat to run over here and read your posts. Rhythm? I sure could use a little rhythm. Need to get serious about a writing rhythm! D

  33. Jeeves said

    Congrats on 1000th post…

  34. Hi Andy,
    Thanks for those kind words.

    Hi Lissa,
    Well before I went on online I wrote something nearly every day for a quarter century. It’s an addiction.

    Hi Floreta,
    Yes, the connection between music and spirituality is well known, historically as well as in the present.

    Hi Just Someone,
    Many thanks. And I’m also well into planning the next 1000.

    Hi Travis,
    Thanks for the congrats. WordPress counts them as you go for you. It’s useful.

    Hi Angie,
    Thanks for that. I think my fingers have the biggest muscles on my body 🙂

    Hi Sarah,
    Many thanks.

    Hi Donnetta,
    Thanks for that. When the writing hits the rhythm, it just flows.

    Hi Jeeves,
    Many thanks. much appreciated.

  35. Leo said

    hey anthony, the story for 3ww was like “wow”…
    liked it a lot! very different…

    congratulations on your 1000th post…
    soon the 2000th shall come! 🙂

  36. lostmermaid said

    congrats on the 1000th post !! changing 3 blogs, i have lost count of my posts !!! and i just cant stop reading the lines :

    “The blogosphere is an inspirational thing – in more ways than one. I’ve said before that blogging allows us to live in two communities. First is the local where you physically live, which can so easily be insular. The second is the virtual, which opens up a global world of ideas and understanding. The world is better for it.”

    Wish my REAL friends could understand my blog addiction 😉

  37. Hi Leo,
    Thanks for the kind words. The road to the 2000th begins 🙂

    Hi Lostmermaid,
    Thanks for the congrats. I guess you have to blog to understand it. And you’re right – it IS an addiction.

  38. Melanie-bd said

    Congratulations on your thousandth post Tony. You surly earned it. I have one problem with your site. I never know where to post a comment. I get lost in all that is going on. Wanted to tell you how good it is to read your words again. I enjoy reading all of your work and the “dream on” is excellent.

  39. Hi Melanie,
    Thanks for the congrats. Much appreciated. Yes, I guess it can be a bit confusing with the kind of magazine post I do. Sorry about that.

  40. Way to go! One thousand posts to keep us entertained and our minds from rust! Good job… I’m going to pull up my rocker and read the next thousand. I’m thinking there are worse addictions than blogs. Always enjoy your work – and provocative thoughts.

  41. paisley said

    congrats on your 1000th post tony.. you never cease to amaze me with the broad spectrum of your posts.. i hope i am here to view your next thousand as well…

  42. Granny Sue said

    Congratulations on your 1000th post. you and i started blogging at the same time, I think. It is a good outlet, and I’ve met interesting people out here–like you.

  43. jadey said

    Hey there Anthony,

    I hope you are having a terrific day and I sure hope you have a wonderful weekend. I truly have to say I think that the news is definetly blowing the swine flue epidemic things out of proportion. As for bookshelves revealing the mind of the owner not so sure I agree with that I have met many intelligent people who don’t even have a lot of books or the books they do have really wouldn’t reveal how intelligent they are lol. As for your 55 eager journalist with a boss who seemingly needs to be dazzled with far more than just news lol. Great 55 love your posts. Take care and have a great weekend.

  44. Hi Tumblewords,
    Thanks for the kind words. I hope to be around for another 1000 🙂

    Hi Paisley,
    Many thanks. And I look forward to seeing you as the journey goes on.

    Hi Granny Sue,
    Yes, there are many interesting people in the blogosphere – a delight.

    Hi Jadey,
    Thanks for those thoughts and the kind words. And you have a great weekend, too.

  45. Sorry for congratulating you so late!

  46. Hi Gautami,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  47. Jane Doe said

    Congrats on the 1000th post! Love ‘Get the Rhythm.’ It’s so energetic and alive. A wonderful poem.

  48. Hi Jane,
    Many thanks for that. A lovely comment.

  49. pieceofpie said

    congrats tony… haven’t been by lately or blogging… it is good to blog…**smiling**

  50. Hi Pieceofpie,
    Thanks for that. Yes, blogging is good. I’m certainly addicted.

  51. Congratulations! and here’s for another 1000 more comments 🙂

    Indeed, the Internet might just be the greatest thing that happened to Man… after Tequila 😉

  52. Hi Red,
    Thanks for the congrats. Although I must disagree with you about Tequila.
    Beer!

Leave a comment