BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

SCATTER BOOKS

Posted by anthonynorth on July 16, 2009

Including Friday Flash 55 and Booking Through Thursday.
Have you had a go yet?

people-172

TONY’S MUSE

What to do with unread books? Well I suppose you have to define
‘unread’. Apart from novels, etc, Him Outside has hundreds of
anthologies and reference books. Hence, most are partly read, or
partly unread, depending on your mentality. So his unread read books
are with the rest, surrounding him in rickety bookshelves, overflowing,
chaotic and about to fall upon him, sending him to readers’ heaven.
Now, some think you can tell a person’s mentality by his bookshelves
– untidy shelves, untidy mind, etc. Well, he cheats.

Eye On the World
Writers’ Tips
The ‘Y’ Files

newsflash

BRIT NEWS: Exam boss says continual
e-testing of pupils may replace written exams
in our schools. But as with all computer systems, will
it be too rigid?

HEALTH NEWS: As swine flu set to reach epidemic scale in UK,
media descends into contradiction. Is this info-crazy world
making things worse?

BRIT NEWS: A warning that housing market won’t
stabilise ’til 2020. Maybe it never should.
Houses are for living in, not
propping up Big Biz.

pen

IT’S TRANSPARENT

Little ghostie, body clear,
See right through it, far and near,
Transparent in its spectral form,
Created from a psyche storm,
Ghosties racing through the mind,
‘Til the answer can be divined

FLASH 55 – THE NEWS

Fiction: He was new to journalism, and when he put down the phone
his heart raced. He scribbled erratically and then rushed into the
editor, excited by the news he’d just received. ‘A scoop!’ he said. The
editor put down the latest celebrity snaps and read the notes. Then,
looking up, he said: ‘News? How quaint.’

A YEARNING

I want it, I need it, must have it now,
To my desires I always bow,
Yearnings simply get out of control,
Willpower, commonsense, cannot console;
This is the story of so many of us,
Demands causing so much fuss,
Which is why the media is about satisfying desire;
They’ve got us hooked – our souls for hire

© Anthony North, July 2009

Follow me on Twitter

46 Responses to “SCATTER BOOKS”

  1. Glad I’m not the only one with untidy shelves!

  2. Hi BooksPlease,
    Yes, they become uncontrollable after a while.

  3. Melody said

    I definitely need more shelves for my unread books, but first I need more room for them!

  4. Hi Melody,
    Both my wife and I are big readers and you can find bookshelves in practically every room, the hall, landing … all over the place.

  5. Mae said

    To be crushed to death by toppling books is the fate that awaits us bibliophiles.

  6. Dot said

    Thanks for visiting my blog! My other book shelves in the house are quite untidy but the TBR pile is always kept together!

  7. Hi Mae,
    It is indeed 🙂

    Hi Dot,
    You’re welcome. I try my best to keep order, but I always fail, I’m afraid.

  8. Veens said

    🙂 Thank You for visiting. You already know my answer! 🙂

  9. Julia said

    I need to buy more bookshelves and maybe put my unread book in there….but heck, some of my keeper books need to be on shelves too 🙂

  10. Hi Veens,
    You’re welcome 🙂

  11. Hi Julia,
    I’ve tried the ‘buy more bookshelves’ angle – I find it makes you buy more books 🙂

  12. Shari said

    You are right about the reference books – they are the sort of thing that I keep dipping into, and so they are a little hard to label. Not that I have many reference books here – too expensive in this part of the world!

  13. Jo said

    I just need more space to put more bookshelves. If dd they’d end up overflowing though

  14. Hi Shari,
    Yes, they can be expensive, but if you look around for deals, you can get them quite cheap. They are the lifeblood of my writing.

  15. Hi Jo,
    This is usually the case. An avid reader can’t abide space on bookshelves 🙂

  16. Novroz said

    Thx for visiting.

    I am usually unorganized, but when it comes to books I love seeing them line up one another with the other books from the same author

  17. Hi Novroz,
    Yes, it’s nice to see, but I never quite manage it, I’m afraid 🙂

  18. The News made me think how some people can be really excited about something while another isn’t as amused. A yearning couldn’t be more accurate. BTW, I have 3 bookshelves and all of them are full of books. But, not so much untidy. Hope all is well. Have a great day.

  19. Twilight said

    “our souls for hire”…..great line, AN! So true too, in so many contexts too.

    Move your chair out of range of those bookshelves at once, AN! Reader’s Heaven isn’t missing an angel just yet. 😀

  20. Hi Michelle,
    Yes, as my father used to say: if we all walked the same way, we’d never meet anyone 🙂

  21. Hi Twilight,
    Thanks for that. Sadly, as they surround my desk, if I moved too far, my arms wouldn’t reach the keyboard 😉

  22. Well, then I’m a complete mess when it comes to books. They are everywhere. In one of two book cases. Stacks here and stacks there. Many unread, many partly unread or partly read. I’m a mess for sure. I like it that way too.

    As for the media, you are spot-on. Excellent!

    Have a terrific day Anthony. 🙂

  23. Hi Sandee,
    We seem to have the same approach to books 🙂
    Thanks for the kind words about my words about the media.

  24. Quilly said

    Do you know that since I quit watching TV, I no longer have that burning need to shop and get the newest and latest can’t-live-without-them things. It seems they are perfectly live-without-able if one doesn’t know they exist. Fancy that!

  25. Hi Quilly,
    Well, I could brag. Because of cfs, watching TV is about all I’m good for by night time, and I STILL don’t succumb. Then again, before I had cfs I did. I guess the non-consumer in me was rather forced 😉

  26. Linda G said

    Hi Anthony,
    I’m a ‘bookie’ too & I also now live in my parents home so I inherited their life long gatherings. It’s hard to decide which ones to keep as when I move I will be downsizing alot.
    I also save magazines & art catalogs that are special & have a ton of video tapes from my Mom. I’m procrasinating now- but soon I’ll have to make my choices.

  27. Dr. John said

    Find a good cause and donate them. That’s what I’m going to do with the books filling all of my shelves . I think I’ll start sometime next year.

  28. Hi Linda,
    Oh, those choices can be difficult. I’ve occasionally had a cull of books prior to my many moves, and still regret getting rid of some of them.

    Hi Dr John,
    We have donated quite a few books in the past, and will no doubt do so in the future.

  29. shraddha said

    i can relate..

    it was good to catch up with your blog after our vacation..i have finally updated mine too..

  30. Hi Shraddha,
    Thanks for that – and I hope you enjoyed your holiday.

  31. Fandango said

    WE thought you humans gave up on real news long ago. You seem to agree.
    Well done flash 55

    Ours is posted.

  32. Lou said

    Lots of good stuff today..but your 55 cuts to the point. Well done!

  33. Hi Fandango,
    This is very true. After all, we never hear about you, either 😉

    Hi Lou,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  34. Akelamalu said

    Ah books, books and more books – our office is like that!

    Loved your 55 Anthony – some newspapers are more interested in what celebrity has fallen out of a taxi drunk these days than news!

  35. Hi Akelamalu,
    Thanks for that. Yes, celebrities appear to be more important than real news today. How uninformed many are becoming because of it.

  36. Dr. John said

    I like the way you incorporate your feelings about news coverage into a great 55.

  37. Hi Dr John,
    Thanks for that. Yes, most news coverage nowadays is terrible.

  38. G-Man said

    Excellent 55 Tony…
    These days it’s difficult to discerne the difference between News, Hype, Sensationalism, and Fluff..
    Thank you for another fantastic contribution, thank you as well for also helping me out today. Have a Great Week-End…G

  39. mona said

    yea, by the time you have moved two steps, its already old news!

  40. Real news, what’s that? Does anybody know anymore? A newsworthy 55! All three pieces are excellent.
    I really like, It’s transparent and Yearning…very different but both equally good reads. 🙂

  41. Lulda Casadaga said

    I enjoyed your tribute to the media…I had visions of Jimmy Olson running into Mr. Whites. (Superman tv of the 50’s) …see even my comment relates to medium. 😀 Have a wonderful weekend!

  42. Vicki said

    I enjoy all your writings so much!!!

    You have amazing talent with words!

  43. Hi G-Man,
    Thanks for that and you’re welcome. Yes, media is in quite a mess.

    Hi Mona,
    Indeed. It all moves so fast, and then gone.

    Hi Eaton,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

    Hi Lulda,
    Many thanks. An early media representation you bring up there.

  44. Hi Vicki,
    Many thanks for those kind words. They are much appreciated.

  45. CJ said

    Re: Flash 55. Great post.

    “How quaint” is about what I think our supposed “news” networks think of news. As the last few weeks have proved, no one cares about the economy, war, health care —while “The Gloved One” has top billing around the world.

  46. Hi CJ,
    Thanks for that. Yes, the priorities are all worng.

Leave a comment