BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,471 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

UNIVERSE

Posted by anthonynorth on June 6, 2010

Theme Thursday, Microfiction Monday & ABC Wednesday
With Thursday Thirteen news & more prompts below
Try my Paranormal Flash now!

cults-1

GURU TONY

Welcome to my weekly magazine post. Watch
it grow thru the week. You can opt to read the essay,
current affairs, themed mini mag with fiction & poetry, or just
read the lot. Here’s hoping you enjoy your visit. Plenty
for everyone here so do call again next week.

MICROFICTION

Fiction: The mirror didn’t lie. The geneticist
had always been an ass, but he’d love to know
which gene produced the long ears.

UNIVERSE

Is the universe out there? It certainly seems to be – after all, we feel
its effects all the time; and science certainly seems to be learning lots
about it. But is this really the case? Well, most of the mass of the
universe is currently classed as dark energy or dark matter – mainly
because we haven’t the slightest idea of how it works without
inventing something yet to be found. It’s the same with Big Bang. It all
began with the expansion of a singularity. Yet this singularity is nothing
more than a mathematical point of infinity. In reality, our understanding
of the universe has moved on very little since the days of gods holding
it in place. Indeed, the history of our knowledge of the universe seems
to go hand in hand with our changing view of our culture and society.
So maybe the true reality of the universe exists only in our collective
minds.

CANDY

Fiction: When the health evangelist realised
society had a weight problem he decided
Candy was to blame. But the authorities
decided changing it to Dontdy was a
little extreme.

Eye On the World
Essays on everything from science
to religion, politics to crime

newsflash

EURO NEWS: Eurovision Song
Contest. The team that made Kylie
come last. They’ll come in top 5? They
should be so lucky.

BRIT NEWS: Lib Dem govt minister David Laws quits
over £40,000 payment to partner in expenses scandal. At
least it’s not Tory sleaze.

BRIT NEWS: Survey says average Brit family spend 49 mins together
per week. Such are the pressures of modern life to keep us apart.

WORLD NEWS: Are US govt talking to Hamas secretly, as their leader
claims? Possibly. At some level everyone talks to everyone.

BRIT NEWS: Govt could face European court if it doesn’t give
prisoners the vote. Rubbish! In committing crime they
forego that right.

BRIT NEWS: Cameron wants more openness in govt.
Of course he’d say that, but openness always
leans towards the good news than bad.

BRIT NEWS: Some 180 civil servants earn
more than the Prime Minister. Another
example of ridiculous overspend
of ‘prudent’ Brown.

mummy

READ WITH MUMMY

The Magazine Post with a gentle hint of horror

One Single Impression
Sunday ScribblingsFriday Flash 55
Three Word WednesdayThursday Poets’ Rally
Writer’s Island

OUBLIETTE

Pushed down the hatch into the pit,
Never get out, no matter how fit,
As time drags on it’s a forgotten place,
What happens is surely a terrible disgrace …
So many years since I imprisoned him there,
I daren’t go and look – his eye sockets will stare,
Reminding me of a terror let free,
Skeletons of mind too fearful to see

FLASH 55 – THE SCHOOL

Fiction: It was certainly an unusual boarding school. The teachers were
very good and cost nothing at all. Of course, the headmaster was
pleased with his recruiting methods. He often trawled ‘up there’ during
his séances. After all, there were plenty just floating about, doing
nothing. And the kiddies always stayed in bed on a night.

UNFORGETTABLE

Unforgettable – that’s her song,
She obviously thought we belonged,
Followed me everywhere I went,
Eventually my anger I had to vent,
I lie awake, now, most of the time,
Trying to hear that damn clock chime,
How she died – such a fright,
Now she sings that song all night

THE NOBLE UNDEAD

Fiction: Since he was last staked the noble undead one had declined in
people’s imagination. A new world was coming. Science was advancing,
and how could superstition survive this onslaught of reason? And
without superstition he could not take bodily form again, his memory
condemned to be hidden from culture. For he lived on fear, and if
people no longer knew how to fear … ? He thought long and hard about
this as he roamed through the ether. One day he found himself in a
book filled study, and it occurred to him that imagination now existed
in words; and if imagination was there, why not fear? He looked at the
man sat at the desk and made his decision. He entered through his ear
and soon found a comfy place within his mind to think. And as the man
called Stoker began to write, the undead one knew he would rise once
more.

MESS

A scene of carnage, such a mess,
I look down feeling such distress,
Serial killers, ghosts and ghouls performed,
This charnel house is not the norm,
It’s so hard not to step on all the gore,
I’ve dropped my horror DVDs on the floor

pen

BRIT NEWS: Union says British
Airways face a summer of disruption.
With strikes and ash, being hit hard. BA &
BP – are they on way out?

BRIT NEWS: Is UK doing enough to protect major sites
during Olympics? Most likely not; which is the problem. You
can’t have 100% security.

CRIME NEWS: After 12 shot dead by Cumbrian spree killer there’ll
no doubt be a kneejerk reaction to gun laws again. Always leads to
bad law.

GREEN NEWS: UN report says we should eat less meat/dairy products
to ease climate change. Abstinance never good message. It’s ignored.

HEALTH NEWS: Council of Europe says some experts who urged
stockpiling of swine flu vaccine been paid by Big Pharma.
Why am I not surprised?

BRIT NEWS: MP urges local councils to publish spending
over £500. Very good idea. So much wastage
here there’d be riots in the streets.

© Anthony North, June 2010

Try my Pictures of Life, a novel

Follow me on Twitter

143 Responses to “UNIVERSE”

  1. Brian said

    The more I read about science the more I realize that the universe is probably a painted dome with holes punched through for light.

  2. Hi Brian,
    A good point. Mindst you, this would make it part of a multiverse, as we’re left with where the light and paint came from 🙂

  3. Nessa said

    After reading Universe, I think, once again, that science is just like religion.

  4. Hi Nessa,
    Definitely a different initial methodology, but, yes, I’m convinced it then formulates just like religion.

  5. Stan Ski said

    You know what they say about donkeys 😉

    All the ‘men of the world’ would struggle to explain the Universe.

    We had a teacher who we nicknamed ‘The Ghost’ because of his lengthy, unexplained absences.

    I’ve never needed to use an alarm clock, however early I have to rise.

  6. Hi Stan,
    Some very true words there 🙂
    That’s one interesting teacher.

  7. Carina said

    I see that you found the mysteries of the oubliette more interesting than the common pride of Icarus. Understandable! But what will you do next week? =)

  8. Hi Carina,
    Ah, I do a weekly post, so I’m well ahead. Icarus is on my previous post.

  9. The microfiction had me laughing. A fun version of an updated Frankenstein! Great stuff, Anthony.

  10. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it 🙂

  11. Loch Rob said

    Anthony, I like you poem OUBLIETTE. It has a dark sinister feel. Well crafted.

    I too enjoyed the microfiction. All smiles this morning.

  12. Hi Rob,
    Many thanks. I like doing dark now and again.

  13. I started reading at the top and then had a good laugh from your MICROFICTION. Thank you for posting. After I comment I can come back and finish reading:-)
    Gerardine

  14. Hi Gerardine,
    Thanks for that. I hope you enjoy the rest 🙂

  15. wordwand said

    amazing stuff today.I’m really surprised at the amount of time brit famiies spend together; it’s really alarming.well done anthony.

  16. Jane Doe said

    Great Flash 55 and Unforgettable as well! Those were my favs, but it was all good. You always pick such interesting news pieces.

    Have a great day!

  17. Hi Wordwand,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it isn’t much time is it?

    Hi Jane Doe,
    Many thanks. much appreciated.

  18. william said

    lol 49 mins together a week aint it sad, not like the old days family had dinner together every night, no tv, great post friend 🙂

  19. Hi William,
    Thanks for that. Yes, family meals were so important – and increasingly rare nowadays.

  20. Pat said

    Re MFM–The geneticist was looking in a mirror, so I assume he had the long ears?…Oooh…experiment gone horribly awry. Clever caption!

  21. Hi Pat,
    Thanks for that. And I’m sure they’ll get longer.

  22. James said

    •When the souls are connected with one another egoistically – for their own sake, they perceive this world.
    •When the souls connect with one another for the sake of bestowal, then within that connection they reveal the spiritual world, the world to come.
    •The life that we reveal within our egoistic connections with one another is referred to as our current material life.
    •The life that we reveal within a proper connection with one another is referred to as the revelation of the Creator. We will feel the Upper Force, the Creator, the same way as we feel the air around us. He will connect us with all the other parts of the universe.

    Therefore everything depends on our connection with one another – whether it is egoistic or for the sake of bestowal.

  23. Hi James,
    Yes, connection is vital, no matter what outlook on life you have.

  24. Oh, wonderful one! I love it, Anthony! Hope you have a great week!

    Sylvia

  25. Hi Sylvia,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

  26. Bill said

    Great MfM, I wonder if the Scientists really know what is happening sometimes. You know what they say about Critters with Big Ears??

  27. Dee said

    great stuff Anthony!
    I prefer gazing up at the universe with child-like wonder on starry nights – to trying to figure it all out.

    totally agree about prisoners and the vote. I always thought you lost your rights once you were convicted. It would seem I am wrong.

    I am staying away from that school – though I have seen a few students who may have been demons….

  28. Peggy said

    Anthony;

    Loved your take on the the picture. I would wonder too, if I had huge ears!
    Really enjoyed it.

  29. shakira said

    Hahahahaha…so true…SPOCK came to mind. LOL
    well done, Anthony.
    hugs
    shakira

  30. Monkey Man said

    The science of the universe is quite interesting with all the theories of dark matter and dark energy and expansion fast or slowing down. It must be nice to get paid for offering up far flung ideas that can be neither proved nor disproved. Great read all the way round. Including your 55.

  31. Carina said

    You genuinely made me laugh out loud with your DVD mess. I love it!

  32. And which of us, like your geneticist, has not made an ass of himself at one time or another? Splendid one, Anthony. I also liked your ghost teachers in Flash 55. And how can I be one of those 180 civil servants?

    Thanks for all those interesting thoughts.

  33. marja said

    Indeed we don’t know much yet about the universe. Thinking about the universe and where it all ends is quite incrompehensive. I loved your unforgettable poem Original and funny

  34. Thom said

    LOL Wonder which X or Y Chromosome got mixed up 🙂 LOL. And your 55 is just excellent 🙂 Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂

  35. Zephyr said

    Hey AN, is this post a spook special or what? The School and Unforgettable reinforce the spook theme too.

    Loved the Microfiction and the DVD mess!

    If the Brit family spends 49 mins a week together, the average is not bound to differ too much in other countries either. It is indeed scary to think that the family is on the endangered list,so to speak!:(

  36. Hi Bill,
    I agree. The problem is they think they DO know – which is even scarier.

    Hi Dee,
    Thanks for that. Loved your comment about students and demons 🙂

    Hi Peggy,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Shakira,
    Yes, and he was scary at times, too.

    Hi Monkey Man,
    I like the way you described the job. Nice one.

    Hi Carina,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it 🙂

    Hi Michael,
    Very true. Most of us have been there. And in the usual civil servant speak, I couldn’t possibly answer that 😉

    Hi Marja,
    Yes, I think the true reality of the universe will always evade us. And that’s a hope as well.

    Hi Thom,
    Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated 🙂

    Hi Zephyr,
    Many thanks. I like to indulge in a bit of horror once a month. Keeps the cobwebs out of the mind. Yes, the family is increasingly endangered, and it’s wrong.

  37. Oh those geneticists — they’re beginning to think they can explain EVERYTHING! But sometimes, a donkey is just a donkey!

  38. Hi Southlakesmom,
    You’ve certainly got that right 🙂

  39. Nessa said

    We were thinking along the same lines in our Microfiction.

  40. Hi Nessa,
    Ah, great minds, and all that 🙂

  41. Wonderful microfiction!

    help me rewrite Greek tragedies

  42. Twilight said

    The universe, the Big Bang, singularity – and all that…..I somethimes wonder, AN, whether our universe (and there might be others too) is the remains of a former gigantically humungous body or world which blew up, our known universe being the bits and pieces of it. There will be other similar universes, from similar blow-outs, and maybe even some gigantic humungous worlds still around – somewhere. 😉 Basis for a sci-fi story? It’s probably been done already.

  43. Mama Zen said

    Only 49 minutes a week? And, we wonder why our kids have problems!

  44. Hi Gautami,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Twilight,
    I like that 🙂 I did do a story recently where the bits of the universe were part of a huge galactic body. Does that count?

    Hi Mama Zen,
    Yes, exactly.

  45. Old Egg said

    Horror DVDs do tend to go over the top. You will probably have to get the carpet cleaned now. It is finding out where the ghosts and ghouls have disappeared to that will be the problem.

  46. Quilly said

    Microfiction — lol! Proof his father was an ass!

    55 — again, lol! Write that one and eclipse Rawlings in popularity.

  47. Hi Old Egg,
    Indeed so. I’m hoping they won’t start shaking the house.

    Hi Quilly,
    Thanks for that. I’ll do my best.

  48. jabblog uk said

    I read all your words, Anthony, and found myself nodding agreement again and again.

  49. Hi Jabblog,
    Thanks for that. It’s good to know.

  50. I do so agree with your statement here! “So maybe the true reality of the universe exists only in our collective minds.” Great post for the day/week!

    You always give me something to think about, Anthony, and I do appreciate that. Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Sylvia

  51. PattiKen said

    Great stuff, as usual. I especially love the unique approach to the boarding school. I’m sure the teachers were grateful to find meaningful work in the “near-after.”

  52. Reader Wil said

    OUBLIETTE : I saw one in the yard of a castle in France! How cruel man can be, but some people should deserve to be put in an oubliette and forgotten. However I am against capital punishment and this is capital punishment.

  53. dustus said

    Anthony, enjoying your writings. In particular, your style of short fiction is amazing. The stories about geneticist and the evangelist were my favorites. Also like the poem “Mess” very much. Thank You.

  54. Hi Sylvia,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi PattiKen,
    Thanks for that. Yes, it certainly beats hanging around haunting people at random.

    Hi Reader Wil,
    Yes, I’m against capital punishment, too. And they were frightening places.

    Hi Dustus,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  55. Linda Goin said

    oooh…remind me never to stalk you re: unforgettable!

  56. Actually, I’m comforted about how much we know we don’t know. Think about 5 or 6 centuries ago when we “knew” the sun revolved the earth. If that’s the case, then surely, we must be the only sentient beings in the universe. But, no, we go around the sun. There are billions of other planets going around millions and millions of stars, so the likelihood is that there IS life elsewhere, even though we have no way to discern for sure.

    On behalf of the ABC Wednesday team, thank you! – ROG

  57. ‘Unforgettable’ or ‘Universe’ …. both great ‘U’s. And I suppose the Universe IS Unforgettable, even if it’s completely Unfathomable!

  58. naquillity said

    nice post Anthony~ i especially liked the school and unforgettable. hope all is well.

  59. Universe is a cogent look at known and unknown. Great short!

  60. Hi Linda,
    Oh, I’m a lovely chap really 🙂

    Hi Roger,
    This is only true to a point. I deal in so many fringe areas where science ‘knows’ it’s rubbish. A’ways dangerous.

    Hi Rinkly Report,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Naquillity,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi Tumblewords,
    It’s a subject very close to my heart.

  61. I’ve spent a lot of time over the years pondering the nature of the universe, and being alternately terrified and reassured by my conclusions. Ultimately, I can’t decide if we are parasites living in or on something so huge it’s imcomprehensible to us, or maybe Delenn from Babylon 5 was right; we are simply a manifestation of the universe, trying to figure itself out. LOL!

  62. Hi Jay,
    I think Delenn may be right. She was a clever Nimbari/Human hybrid.

  63. Regarding “Universe,” Yes! I love the idea of reality existing only in our collective experience. Ha! Put that in your test tubes and boil it. (sorry) I think science exists to eradicate magic. Remember the wonder of the world through a child’s eyes? Dandelion seeds scatter to the wind and mesmerize children. We grow up and poison dandelions, dang weeds. Thank you science for giving us the tools of our plunder.

    Here I am ranting. Why? Because it’s summer, and I don’t have to be in school! Thanks for getting me thinking this morning Anthony. You rock.

  64. Hi Brenda,
    Thanks for that 🙂
    Yes, science has taken so much of that wonder away from us. A great shame.

  65. Mess hits it right into the head!

    the anguish of anger

  66. Hi Gautami,
    Yep, that’s how I see it.

  67. shakira said

    I love you The Noble Undead and especially UNFORGETTABLE. truly is it..bravo!
    hugs
    shakira

  68. Looks like he has the short straw. Yes I know it’s Wednesday but my employer unreasonably expected me to work on Monday and Tuesday so no time free except to sleep and even that down to 5-6 hours! Inspired by Shakespeare this week. My Micro Story

  69. Hi Shakira,
    Many thanks for those kind words. Much appreciated.

    Hi Me A Writer,
    These employers just don’t know how important blogging is, do they?

  70. […] Beyond the blog:https://beyondtheblog.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/universe […]

  71. Lilibeth said

    Kneejerk law is usually bad law. You’re perceptive. I’m not so sure that old Bram wouldn’t shiver if he thought his masterpiece was inspired by a quietly-whispering undead. he he.

  72. wordwand said

    hi anthony, I’ll be glad to have you read my poem here http://wordwand.wordpress.com/

  73. you are like a commercial break that i actually enjoy in the middle of my day

  74. I especially like the voting criminals dilemma.

  75. Hi Lilibeth,
    Yes, I think he might be worried by that 😉

    Hi Wordwand,
    I’ll be along.

    Hi Unprecedentedintellectual,
    Thanks for that, and welcome.

  76. suzicate said

    Your microfiction gave me such a chuckle I had a hard time being serious to read your poem and by the time I got to the end of your post, I was still chuckling at the first one…I just can’t stay focused!!!

  77. brian said

    dontdy…lol. smart authorities for once…happy tt!

  78. Hi Suzicate,
    Thanks for that. I can see I’ll have to put the chuckle at the end 🙂

    Hi Brian,
    Yes, indeed – with or without the apostrophe.

  79. Kris said

    There is a lot on!

  80. TD said

    I continue to enjoy your philosophical musings the most. How little we know about the universe. About the ocean. About the mind. And how much so many purport to know. I’ll stick with Socrates. I can claim only to know that I know very little.

  81. curtisbell said

    How macrocosmic. Great job!

  82. soulintention: signed .............bkm said

    You have outdid yourself Anthony, a most enjoyable read…..indeed… loved the microfiction…..all a pleasure…..bkm

  83. Hi Kris,
    Yes, but they’re all short and you can choose between current affairs or fiction/poetry. Doing that, it’s down to a couple of hundred words – an average post length.

    Hi TD,
    Thanks for that, and I think you’ve got it about right.

    Hi Curtisbell,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Bkm,
    Many thanks for those kind words.

  84. Gaurav Sharma said

    Nice works……use of such beautiful words is really inspiring .Learnt alot

  85. Hi Gaurav Sharma,
    Thanks for that. much appreciated.

  86. sandy said

    oubliette did it happen to you ?

  87. Hi Sandy,
    Ah, totally make believe – although a psychological process I think many go through.

  88. The Noble Undead – Inspiration to write comes in many forms. I never considered possessions though. Very creative little piece.

    Mess – Enjoyed the humorous end. I do hope the Horror DVDs are ok.

  89. As usual some great food for thought. Thanks Anthony.

  90. Carina said

    I like the idea of the undead rediscovering their entrance to humanity through words. Well, as an idea you understand. Not because I particularly want to be reintroduced to the undead!

  91. trisha said

    Unforgettable – that’s her song,
    She obviously thought we belonged,
    Followed me everywhere I went,
    Eventually my anger I had to vent,
    I lie awake, now, most of the time,
    Trying to hear that damn clock chime,
    How she died – such a fright,
    Now she sings that song all night

    just awesome 🙂

  92. shyam said

    hahaha… I totally loved your microfiction! 🙂

  93. Hi Jay,
    Thanks for that. Yes, the DVDs are okay, and thriving thanks to Stoker 😉

    Hi Adelle,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

    Hi Carina,
    Ah, that’s the beauty of fiction. It’s unde… – I mean, unreal 🙂

    Hi Trisha,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

    Hi Shyam,
    Thanks for that, and welcome.

  94. Brenda said

    Hmmm. 180? That many civil servants make more than the Prime Minister? Very sad, but I bet all governments have that kind of stuff going around. Makes me want check out the Tea Party movements in my own area.

  95. Hi Brenda,
    I know the feeling.

  96. Actually, in practical terms, the universe really does only exist in our collective minds. After all, which of us will go off past Pluto and return to describe it?

  97. Hi Alice,
    Very true – even though many scientists think differently.

  98. Jingle said

    love your take on theme Thursday…

    I value your contribution in Poets Rally,
    make sure to visit and comment for 18 poets that are NEW to you…thank you in advance.

  99. Hi Jingle,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  100. betsy said

    Candy…haha…no matter what you call it, people will eat it. 🙂

  101. Hi Betsy,
    Yes, they certainly will.

  102. Jingle said

    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/06/jingles-june-follower-awards-week-1.html

    Happy June,
    Award 4 u on blogger account.
    Smiles!

  103. lissa said

    UNFORGETTABLE – like this one, it was fun to read

  104. The one about the mirror made me chuckle. I’ve been there…
    I have to agree about prisoners not having a vote. They’re there in punishment. Voting is one right they should lose.

  105. Hi Jingle,
    Thanks for that.

    Hi Lissa,
    Many thanks. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Shelley,
    Many thanks. Yes, punishment should be punishment.

  106. A strange school indeed, very well suited to a 55! Have a great weekend and week. 🙂

  107. Hi Eaton,
    Thanks for that. Yes, not a school I’d have liked to go to 🙂

  108. Hi Anthony…I haven’t been here to visit you in I don’t know HOW long!!! Your 55 is eerie…with a SCI-FI flair…I love it. You never cease to show how talented you are with your thoughts written.

    Here As always scroll down below my Friday Show N Tell. Have a great weekend!!!

  109. Hi Hootin’ Anni,
    Thanks for that and it’s good to see you back.

  110. brian said

    yeah, i might stay in bed too. smiles. nice 55.

  111. Nessa said

    That’s sure is a wonderful ghostly teacher roster in your school. The next Harry Potter movie comes out in November.

  112. D.S. Lear said

    loved it all but the microfiction..that one produced a much need laugh!

  113. G-Man said

    Tony…
    You have take on life thats marvelous.
    Many of us feel exactly as you do, but you happen to put your musings down on paper much more succinctly.
    Thanks for playing, thanks for visiting, and please have a Kick Ass Week-End…G

  114. Hi Brian,
    A good place to be – especially there 🙂

    Hi Nessa,
    Thanks for that. Yes, and not many to go now.

    Hi D S Lear,
    Many thanks. I always try to inject a littler humour.

    Hi G-Man,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  115. It’s a Harry Potter 55. Well, except the kids don’t stay in bed there.

  116. Hi Alice,
    Quite true. These little kiddies do exactly as they’re told 😉

  117. Akelamalu said

    Not quite Hogwarts the school in your 55 but very nearly. 🙂

  118. Clever one. I like a teacher with spirit. Hammer Horror for me today. My 55

  119. Hi Akelamalu,
    Yes, a close parallel 🙂

    Hi John,
    Many thanks. I love those old Hammer films.

  120. Dee said

    Tony, I loved your take on the Noble Undead – What a cool way to think of Bram Stoker writing!

  121. moondustwriter said

    Loved your Flash 55 – I wonder if that’s where alot of head masters get their teachers (or warm bodies)
    Candy is always to blame!!!

    Thanks Anthony for encouraging so many of us

  122. Hi Dee,
    Thanks for that. Glad you liked it.

    Hi Moondustwriter,
    Many thanks. Much appreciated.

  123. shakira said

    Your 55 is very powerful…
    you are truly a master with words!
    hugs
    shakira

  124. Hi Shakira,
    Many thanks for the kind words.

  125. Love what you did with oubliette, Anthony. Thanks.

  126. hmmmm… science… i’m no good at it.

    but this was interesting 🙂

  127. Hi Sandy,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Dancingfreak,
    Many thanks for the comment.

  128. Amity said

    what could that be Anthony? the one you pushed down the pit and afraid to take a look lest you’d see a skeleton…hmmm…let me just guess…:)

    thanks for your constant support in my blog…i appreciate it very much!

  129. Hi Amity,
    Ah, his name is metaphor 🙂

  130. Amity said

    Now I know…:) Thanks Anthony…:)

  131. I loved your take on “oubliette”…very cleverly done! And “The School” also gave me a shiver…

  132. Responding to your take n the prompt..

    Good to leave the skeletons there.. but haven’t you remembered them here today..well, wash your head off them..

  133. Hi Sweetest In The Gale,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

    Hi Ramesh Sood,
    You could certainly say that 🙂

  134. shraddha said

    that is very nice take on oubliette…such a hard word..

  135. Hi Shraddha,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  136. Your theme Thursday is infinitely better than mine. I loved it.

    55 Flash Fiction Friday: Two Ships Passing In The Night

  137. Hi The Thirteenth Crossing,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  138. Spooky oubliette! I remember seeing the ‘blood runnels’ in European castles sometime back and shuddering. Cold dark places. But I didn’t see any eye sockets. 🙂

  139. Hi Tumblewords,
    Ah, the eye sockets were a necessary Poeism 😉

  140. Loved the Universe piece. I’d not thought of it like that, but I think you are right. I doubt we’ll ever know very much. We are just a speck in the great big universe.

    Have a terrific day. 🙂

  141. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

  142. Jim said

    This is the third time lately that I’ve run across the theme, “I daren’t go and look – his eye sockets will stare.”
    The first involved locking a co-tennant in a staircase in a novel, ‘Drood,’ by Dan Simmons, and next a little girl locked her little brother in an obscure pantry in ‘Sarah’s Key’ by Tatiana de Rosnay. Now your very nice poem.
    ..

  143. Hi Jim,
    Thanks for that. It must be a running theme 🙂

Leave a comment