BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

TONY ON BIG, WAX & MORE

Posted by anthonynorth on August 18, 2008

Including ReadWritePoem and Manic Monday.
Have you had a go yet?

Welcome to my Monday Magazine post.
Regular readers will know I have a thing about ‘big’. The bigger an organization is, the more dictatorial it can become. Well, now it seems BA and AA are to cooperate to grasp the lion’s share of trans-Atlantic air travel.

Good for customers, they say.

Really? I rather think it is good for them, for now they will really squeeze smaller companies out of the market. And that means the death of competition. But ‘big’ is getting bigger in other areas.
A major think tank in the UK has just advised the millions of residents of northern cities to migrate to the south east, ‘cos their cities are beyond revival. Welcome to the Super-Metropolis of London, where everyone will disappear into obscurity!

Just as Russia flexes its muscles in Georgia, a new warning comes.

Moscow reserves the right to attack Poland with nuclear weapons if it hosts the new generation of US rockets. Bluff? Most likely, but bluff can be a dangerous thing.
During the Cold War I supported nuclear deterrence. Indeed, I was in the forces for nine years during the period. But this was a lesser evil due to the way the world was following the end of World War Two.
Today, things are different – or they could be, if we let them. Russia, by its very nature, is paranoid over its defence. This is due to the lack of geographical defences on the way to Moscow. Hence, corner a rat, and it bites.
The west has continued to try to stretch NATO eastwards. This was bound to raise the temperature in Russia. World War Two is a long time over. What is going on today is a game of bluff and counter-bluff more reminiscent of the insanity that led to World War One.
Don’t forget my Tuesday Essay. Next Magazine post, Wednesday. See you soon.

© Anthony North, August 2008

A LITERARY MIND

I sit here, thinking – in my usual space,
my mind’s eye takes me to another place,
where the books about me speak out loud,
of writers, ancient, so very proud,
of characters, creations, denouements great,
of moral dilemmas to relate;
Poe and Hardy and Dickens, too,
Shakespeare, Lawrence, take me through,
stories that come from mighty minds,
as brilliant plots begin to unwind,
genres proliferate as they write,
space trips, detectives, no respite,
as genius is portrayed in glorious prose,
love stories, tragedies, heroes repose,
within the pages until read,
coming alive as your mind is fed;
Inspirartion, one and all,
constantly they do enthrall,
the wannabe writer such as me,
surrounded by literary divinity

(c) Anthony North, August 2008

******************************

WAXY WITCH – Horror Fiction

Waxy and Wane were sisters of the Moon. At least, that’s what they liked to call themselves. But most people would just class them as a couple of eccentric old witches. Complete with long black skirts, pointy hats and craggy, warted faces, they certainly looked the part.
Waxy was definitely the dominant one of the pair, Wane less confident and more the practical joker. Such as the time she added her smalls to the cauldron. At first Waxy thought they had produced ectoplasm, but it turned out to be the addition of washing powder.
‘You really must take it more seriously,’ Waxy used to say. To which Wane would reply, ‘but it’s only in the mind, anyway’ – which was definitely not what Waxy wanted to hear.
The latest commission had come in on the night of the story, and Waxy had worked hard on the effigy. Wane had selected the subject’s nail clipping and lock of hair from the National Witchery Database, and the waxen model was taking shape perfectly around them.
Finally, they were ready. Holding the effigy in one hand, Waxy cast the spell and added the flame. Red hot drops of wax began to plop to the floor.
Suddenly, Wane shouted: ‘Oh, hoot!’
‘What?’ replied Waxy.
‘Wrong samples. They were yours.’
Waxy looked at the dripping effigy, a look of horror on her face. Slowly, green steam seemed to rise from her, beginning with her feet and rising upwards. And as the steam rose upwards, Waxy’s body dissolved downwards, hissing at it fell.
Finally, a distorted, manic face peeped out from the pointy hat on the floor, and in a final fizz, she let out a blood curdling scream and was gone.
Wane looked on in horror. ‘Just kidding,’ she said.
It seems it may well be in the mind, of sorts.

© Anthony North, August 2008

29 Responses to “TONY ON BIG, WAX & MORE”

  1. That idea about encouraging people to move from northern cities to London – crazy for so many reasons, what are they thinking?

  2. Hi Crafty Green Poet,
    Everything has to be ‘big’ nowadays – and centralised. Think of all the hospitals they can shut in order to have super-hospitals down south? And it works the same with everything.
    And it’s the exact opposite of diversity, which we should be following.

  3. Brad said

    Oh, I really enjoyed this post in its entirety. Waxy and Wane have left me with a bit to ponder.

  4. This is extraordinary:

    A major think tank in the UK has just advised the millions of residents of northern cities to migrate to the south east, ‘cos their cities are beyond revival.

    I wonder if the think tankers flew in on AA or BA from some other corner of the world to deliver this expertise.

  5. Hi Brad,
    Many thanks for those kind words. Yes, I think Waxy will have to be able to rejuvenate herself. I’ve a feeling I haven’t finished with her yet 🙂

    Hi Sandy,
    I don’t know about flying in from some other corner of the world. More a different planet, if you ask me 😉
    Sheer madness.

  6. christine said

    Your poem expresses well the love of books, the reverence for the classic authors, and our desire to emulate them.

  7. Hi Christine,
    I love the classics. I came very late to reading – and writing; not until my late twenties. So I caught up with a passion!

  8. Brian said

    Good afternoon Tony. The think tank brings to mind an image of a giant hand holding Great Britain in the middle and shaking the population from north to south.

    Thanks for the laughs with the ‘Waxy Witches’, maybe if we think hard enough, Fay will go away. 🙂

  9. Hi Brian,
    I just hope that hand isn’t Waxy’s 🙂
    Get rid of Fay?!!!
    Could I stand the human condition without such myths and legends?

    UPDATE:

    I think I’m cracking today. All the talk of wtichery, I thought you meant Morgan le Fay. I forgot about the tropical storm – which definitely is no myth.

  10. Ivanhoe said

    Oh here is my weekly dose of poetry :o) And a story about witches on top of it? Thanks, Anthony!

  11. Hi Ivanhoe,
    You’re very welcome 🙂

  12. Selma said

    I want more Waxy and Wane. Please don’t tell me that is the end…..

  13. Hi Selma,
    I have a strong feeling Waxy may have the ability to rejuvenate herself.
    Ha!!! Doctor Who has nothing on me 🙂

  14. Twilight said

    Waxy hoist with her own petard eh, AN? Loved it!

    Re northern UK cities – what a cheek! I love those cities, they surely don’t mean Leeds, Manchester, Preston, Hull….etc? London is just a characterless mish-mosh, no soul. Grrrrr!

  15. Hi Twilight,
    Yep, those are some of the cities they mean. Ridiculous. I’m bringing Waxy back to life to deal with a think tank, I think.

  16. I’m glad you aren’t done with Waxy yet. I like her heaps. It’s that mischievous part of her that intrigues. I agree that Waxy could take care of the think tank quite nicely.

    As to Russia…the world is getting ever smaller isn’t it? Everyone has their own axe to grind. Us little folks just sit and watch. Frightening most of the time.

    Have a great day Anthony. 🙂

  17. Hi Sandee,
    Thanks for that. I’ve just thought – I might make Waxy go into politics. After all, it does get supernatural at times, doesn’t it?
    Only a year or so ago we heard of God reversing what’s in the Bible and talking to the Bush 😉

  18. Waxy and wan! Interesting…..

    plunging in the tunneled abyss

  19. maryt said

    Anthony, I love your poetry and your witchy, waxy story! AND I hope you didn’t watch that video on my wax post for Manic Monday. 🙂

  20. Brian said

    And speaking of witchy, do you think BA planned this right after Open Skies was enacted? Or could it be the Heathrow problems? Big Business has always waxed and waned depending on lots of external factors. When crude oil starts running out, what will power the next generation of planes? I suppose we can always go back to the days of wind powered ships, but it will certainly change things. Coal and nuclear won’t work for flying and I do believe that hydrogen was already tried.

    Yes Tropical Storm Fay is churning closer to Key West and will probably be a hurricane by nightfall unless the center veers into South Florida instead of tracking out into the Gulf of Mexico.

  21. Hi Gautami,
    Yes, they just popped into my head. Bewitching 😉

    Hi Mary,
    Thanks for that. Your post, today, turned me quite waxen 🙂

    Hi Brian,
    To me, the answer is in ceramic engines and, for sea crossings, ground effect craft. New tech where prototypes exist, but Big Biz won’t touch.
    They’re both eco-friendly, and do not require big systems to build or operate. Which answers why Big Biz won’t touch them.

  22. Annamari said

    I liked the poem, but I spend to much time with books anyways. I am aiming to get that white sand and dark hips out of my dreams now…
    But Waxy and Wane. Definitely, a very good black humour short story – I had to smile quitely because I am at work and I can not confess to liking it for it will kill my reputation.

  23. Annamari said

    PS-I meant :geting the white sand out of my dreams and in my real life…

  24. Hi Annamari,
    Ah, my previous comment about dreams 🙂
    Thanks for the kind words about the story.

  25. Travis said

    Hard to tell if Ms Wane was sly or daft, but either way she’s out from under Ms Waxy now. Nice story!

    I think we’re due for a return to urban living for a lot of people. It’s beomingless cost effective to live so far from work. But as you say, big business is the winner one way or another.

  26. marilyn said

    And you said MY take of wax was original?

  27. Hi Travis,
    Thanks for that. And yes, Big Biz always seems to win. And the simple fact we conceive it as winners (business) and losers (consumer) shows there’s something very wrong at its heart.

    Hi Marilyn,
    Many thanks. I take it that was meant as a nice comment 🙂

  28. Katie said

    Loved your poem about reading literature–one of my favorite ways to spend a spare moment, too.

  29. Hi Katie,
    Thanks for that. Yes, a very enjoyable pastime.

Leave a comment