BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    September 2007
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Archive for September 8th, 2007

FINDING A PLACE

Posted by anthonynorth on September 8, 2007

fighters.jpg Okay, you’re 20 years old and full of life. You actually live in one of the most beautiful, serene places on the planet, but that’s boring. You’ve already gone off to the big city in search of adventure, but that was a dead end.
That was how I felt at 20. I had to get away. I remembered an ex-girlfriend – a forces kid, staying in the area – and she spoke of an interesting life. So I made the decision. I, Tony North, was going to join the Royal Air Force.

I’d seen all the films.

It seemed such an exciting life. See the world, and all that. So off I went, to York, my local city, to find the Careers Information Office, where I knew you had to go to join up.
Now, I know York quite well. I’d been there a lot. But it is such an ancient city that, although small, it is a rabbit warren of tiny streets. So could I find the place? Afraid not. I searched high and low, asked plenty of people, but to no avail. So what was I going to do? How was I going to realize my dream?

I decided to phone them up.

Exiting the phone box, I felt good. I’d used my initiative. They’d like that. And armed with the information, I found it easily.
For a time, I hovered outside, just like a jump jet. Was this what I really wanted? Of course it was. I needed the adventure. So I took a deep breath and walked inside.
The sergeant behind the desk looked an interesting fellow and I was sure we were to get on. He offered a wry smile. Said: ‘Are you the fella who just rang to ask where we are?’
Great. He’d appreciated my initiative. ‘Yes,’ I said, beaming.
He leaned forward. Grinned. ‘You’re not wanting to be a navigator then.’
Oh well. The initiative would come, I was sure.

© Anthony North, September 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

Posted in Memoirs | 10 Comments »