BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    September 2007
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Archive for September 24th, 2007

THE WORLD IS WHAT IT IS?

Posted by anthonynorth on September 24, 2007

I recently placed a comment on the Daily Grail about the nature of the reality we experience. It prompted me to write a post about it, and when I thought about it, I couldn’t say it better than the comment. So I post it here.

Think of it like this.

The world is what it is, but imagine a world where every human thought has been removed. If you do so, the world is still what it is, but you wouldn’t care that much. You’d be on your haunches, scratching your fur, looking out only for the next meal.
To me, the world is like a blank canvas, into which came abstract thought, and always ready to be filled by abstract thought. Those thoughts comprise our religions, our arts, our sciences, our politics, and the world could not be what it is, to us, without them.

They make it so …

With them, we sculpt the world, adding meaning, adding passion, adding what it is to be human. Often, this involves mind-models of everything from other-worlds to dream about, to scientific theories of how we think the world works.
These ideas lead to consensus, and through this the thought transcends the mind and, through human action, we shape the world as our mind views it at that time. But is this a delusion?
Possibly. But it is nonetheless the process of our existence upon this world that is what it is – but spiced up by the abstract.
The world IS what it is – which is a blank canvas so we can make it what WE think it is.

© Anthony North, September 2007

___________________________________________________

Fiction Xtra – THE HOUSE – A ghost story

Consciousness was beautiful when it came. Just when that was, I’m not quite sure. I have no memory of my foundations being laid, and only the most fleeting memory of my walls growing. I do remember the light blinding me as my windows were completed, and I have a memory of cosiness and warmth as my roof was finished. But really, consciousness only finally came true with the plumbing and electricity. Maybe I was only whole after being connected up with all those pipes and wires. But regardless, I was soon complete and knew myself …
read more

_____________________________________________

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

Posted in Society | 14 Comments »