BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

Archive for August 10th, 2007

WHEN BLOGGING ISN’T BLOGGING

Posted by anthonynorth on August 10, 2007

people-20.jpg I began blogging nearly 8 months ago now – or rather, I didn’t. Oh yes, I began placing posts on a web log, but it wasn’t blogging. Rather, I was placing my own ideas regarding concepts on my blog.
This isn’t blogging as such. By a strict interpretation, blogging is posting elements of yourself for others to read, to analyse, to digest.

Getting there

I suppose I began to move in the direction of a real blogger when I began my ‘Tony On’ category. The posts were shorter, slightly more personal, but still the subject was current affairs, not me.
Then, a fortnight ago, I took the plunge. I began ‘Diary of a Writer’ – and it was to be about me. And straight away, I realized I was moving from ‘me’ to concepts again.
When I began this pseudo-blogging-proper approach, I also began commenting on other blogs, and am now in the process of hopefully meeting new friends. But I’m decidedly uneasy at times.

Stiff-upper-lip

This is tied in with my seeming reluctance to be a proper blogger. You see, I’m a Brit and I’m in my fifties. In many ways I’m an archetypal stiff-upper-lip sort of guy. I’m good at giving advice, but ‘opening up’ doesn’t come easy.
I don’t know whether this is normal? I don’t know whether it is good or bad? I seem to have gotten through life how I am, and I’m satisfied with this. Still, I’m trying.
I just hope people don’t find ME ‘trying’ as I discover the process.

© Anthony North, August 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments »

TONY ON OBESITY AND OTHER NEWS

Posted by anthonynorth on August 10, 2007

THOUGHTS FROM A COMMON MAN
News and comment LATEST: Why do we dislike the obese? … PLUS … Ray of hope for the Koreas; not so shiny for Brit pubs. What’s all this about Dawkins?
POSTED EVERY TUESDAY AND FRIDAY … from a real voice of Britain and the world.

people-11.jpgOBESITY – WE GO ‘YUCH’

A team from the University of British Columbia has ‘discovered’ that people who observe fat people feel disgust. This is due to the wiring of the brain, prompting the same reaction as encountering rotten food.
In other words it is due to an evolved reaction against disease. However, if this is an evolved function, does this apply to all cultures – even those who celebrate obese people – and to obese people themselves looking at other ‘fat’ people?
Somehow I think not. Obviously the answer to explain why this is so will be due to people’s perception of their own prejudices. In other words, human conduct can repress this natural evolutionary urge.
The problem with the theory is that it is based on an evolutionary paradigm, but attaches a non-evolutionary element to explain where it fails. But couldn’t the answer be much simpler?
Basically, people instinctively react to differentness – it is natural, social prejudice. And accepting this places the onus fully on the individual to fight his prejudices, rather than giving them a get-out clause by saying it is evolution, and not my fault.

© Anthony North, August 2007

STINKING BRITISH PUBS

British pubs are beginning to stink. So says brewers Mitchells & Butlers, who are working on introducing new fragrances into their public houses.
Of course, it had to happen …
read more

KOREAN SUMMIT

North and South Korea are to hold a summit at the end of August. This ground breaking announcement is seen as a sign that the ‘pariah state’, North Korea, wants to come in from the cold …
read more

RICHARD DAWKINS

Mister Richard Dawkins is about to air a new series on UK television – ‘The Enemies of Reason’, in which he will rubbish everything New Age. Oh dear, that will upset some people. No, I’m not talking about the series – yet – but my use of ‘mister’ …
read more

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for more current affairs.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Inde-Pol

Posted in Health, Society | Leave a Comment »