BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

Archive for August 20th, 2007

NIGHT OF TROUBLE

Posted by anthonynorth on August 20, 2007

chef.jpg Son No 4 is an artistic type. He gets bored of it now and again, but if he put his mind to it he could be a great artist. However, he also has a love of food. He was once asked, jokingly, if he dreamt of food on a night. His serious answer was: ‘yes.’
Hence, it was inevitable he would become a chef. He’s 21 now and doing well, living away and chefing in a hotel to his heart’s content. He works hard and enjoys the occasional night out. And he did this last Friday night.

A spot of bovver

On his way home, he stopped to talk to a couple of girls, when along came some other men to cause a bit of trouble. Son No 4 did what a gentleman does and attempted to defend them. It was then that he was thumped in the face.
The next thing he knew, he was coming round in the ambulance. His face was a mess. A couple of animals, it seems, had decided to kick him unconscious whilst on the ground. And this happened, not in some city out of control, but a sleepy country town.

The state of things

The thugs obviously ran off. The police may get them – maybe not. I quite often write about crime, and how it occurs and what lies behind it. I never try to excuse, but understand. For now, my understanding is gone. I don’t like cowards.
As for Son No 4, I could say he was lucky. There’s no lasting damage and he’ll be out of hospital soon. But ‘lucky’ would have been if he hadn’t been assaulted in the first place.
Vital, though, is to keep a sense of humour. And as I remarked to Yvonne after he had his brain scan: ‘He’s got one then.’ I try to bring all my kids up with a strong sense of humour. It can carry you through so much.

© Anthony North, August 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

Posted in Crime, Society | 9 Comments »