BEYOND THE BLOG

I've moved to anthonynorth.com

  • Introduction

    I've now moved to a new website and blog. Click 'Anthony North', below.
  • Stats:

    • 711,475 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Calendar

    September 2007
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

DAY OF LETHARGY

Posted by anthonynorth on September 12, 2007

people-20.jpg The other day I had one of those days. I got out of bed and thought: I’m not really with it today. Today, I just don’t want to do a lot. I just want to chill out and let the world go by.
Of course, there are things to do, and certain things must be done. But in the main, I think when someone feels like this, they should listen to what the mind is saying and go with the flow.

Days of lethargy.

That’s what I call them. They don’t happen too often, but when they do, you won’t get much out of me. And as long as they don’t happen too often, they are the most important days of your life.
We need days like this to refuel ourselves; to take stock of where we are in life. It is as if all the crap has built up and it is time for a minor rebellion to flush it out – a kind of cerebral irrigation.

An important pressure valve.

That’s what it is. It is a time when the mind is reaching overload, and pressure is building up, and we just need to let out the steam. It is not laziness, but therapy – and vital to our continuing well-being.
For if we let the pressure continue to build without letting it out, this is when life just builds up until we crack, or explode. For the price of the occasional day when we drop out, I think it’s worth it.
And you’ll find, on the day following, you’re vibrant, refreshed, and ready for anything.

© Anthony North, September 2007

Have you clicked Diary of a Writer on Blogroll? Meet me, up close and personal.
Click Tony On, on Blogroll, for my current affairs blog.
If you like fiction, click Fiction Page on Blogroll for my short stories.
Check out the pages. Find my Links on Eye On the World.

4 Responses to “DAY OF LETHARGY”

  1. True, true true! Some work days are just blah for me and I just say so – “Hey, I’m not up to par today, so don’t expect a whole lot.” Or some weekends all I want to do is take about a hundred naps and read a book in between naps. So I do.

    Good advice Anthony! I should hang a sign on my door at work that says “Day of Lethargy” and see who notices.

  2. anthonynorth said

    Hi OB,
    Yes, I’m sure a lot of people – achievers especially – feel such days are alien to them. But this is rubbish. We all need to chill. As long as it doesn’t become a habit, of course.

  3. poseidonsmuse said

    Hi Anthony. I would agree with you completely. If anything, it’s the achievers that need to take more time out for themselves…”fresh horses” afterall, tend to run a little faster in the long run…

  4. anthonynorth said

    So true, PM. And of course, with the achiever, he/she will feel so guilty afterwards that he will be unlikely to repeat it soon. Thus, the ‘day of lethargy’ is kept for those rare times when it is really needed.
    Long live the day of lethargy!

Leave a comment